Cats Lovers??

Hi Eunice

My wedding is already over!! It was last October. Glad that everything is over, now I can eat and eat and eat.....

halo curly,

wahhh....over oredi ar?? how was it? where did u hold ur wedding? yah lor, me now gotta cut down on food
thinkin of gettin slim10 but frens told me not to, juz in case got side effects. haiz....

Eunice,
Oh ok, so Boxing Day is 26th Dec!

Nanook likes to bite also, he'd grab your hand with his two front paws and he would start kicking and thrashing with his hind legs, and he'd start attacking our hands... I dun encourage him to bite me of course, so when he does, I use another hand to hit his butt. I remember feeding medicine using a little syringe, and he tried to bite me too. Then when I got the mixture in, he'd try to spit it out, shaking his head left to right.

Glad Orange's better! I'm sure Junior will take care of her too! You're quite lucky, to have two beautiful pets and that they get along.

halo lollipop,

yeah, im really thankful for havin 2 spoilt brats
orange's eyes r changing colour i think. they used to be blue n now they r more like grey.

my hubby deals with orange's biting behavior in another way. whenever she tries to bite him, he would purposely push his finger further into her mouth. she would then try to get rid of the finger n after some time, she wouldnt even want to bite the finger even when u place it in front of her mouth

Hi Eunice

I had my banquet at Marina Mandarin. It was great but of course during the preparation period it was frustrating which I'm sure every couple has experienced. On the whole everything went well, except some minor hiccups like this guest doesn't take chinese food (?!), people who were supposed to help were MIA (dispite receiving big thank you red packets from us)..... But it was a great night, even my colleague who dislikes chinese wedding dinner enjoyed it.

Well, glad that Orange is ok now. Really envy you having a dog and a cat!!

halo Curly,

glad to hear tat ur wedding went well
well, hope u dun mind answering some questions i hav with regards to my wedding preparation
say, now tat im abt 9mths before my wedding, what m i supposed to hav done har? ive booked my bridal package n wedding dinner, got my WG n EG is currently under planning. wat else m i suppose to do?

Hullo Eunice,

If Orange's eyes are changing colour, she's growing bigger!

Sheesh, I do the same to Nanook when he bites me too. Sometimes I'd also shove my 2nd finger into his mouth and "played" with his tongue, until, he cannot take it and he pushes my finger out. His tongue's quite rubbery!

Eunice, I'll send you an email re the wedding preparation.

lollipop, Nanook's tongue is rubbery?? Snowball's is like sand paper!! She had her 2nd vaccination last night. She was a little nervous but was very brave. She's so different when she's at home; always bouncing about. In the clinic, all she wanted to be was in the cage. The vet was quite surprised that after her 1st vaccination, she was her usual self as we were told that she would probably be quiet after the jab. Needless to say, when she got home, she was everywhere.

Eunice, already emailed you. I think it's better to restrict to cats talk here!!

Wonder if you would include Junior and Orange in your photo shoot? I think it'll be very cute.

Curly,
Everytime I bring Nanook to the vet, when we sat him on the examination table, he'd come and huddled close to me... I think cats are generally nervous when we bring them to the vet... and I took comfort in Nanook's gesture... he knew I was his owner... instead of going to my mum.

Hey, when your cats yawn, can you see if they have a black patch on top of their mouths? Nanook has one, but some cats dun.

lollipop, Snowball is always nervous and she'll starting shivering.....

Black patch?? Never notice. Will try to look next time when she yawns. I wonder if that black patch would make a cat clever??

Hullo Curly,

I dun really know the significance, but a Malay colleague (who has 8 cats!) told me the black patch means luck. lack patch or not, I still love Nanook... *Awwwww*

='o'=*

Same here, patch or no patch, Snowball will always be my baby.... She bit my lips last night, now there's a tiny little hole at the corner of my mouth.

halo lollipop,

now tat u mentioned it, she does seem much bigger. hope she wont grow too fast
i love to disturb her in her sleep or gently step on her tail

halo Curly,

ive thot of gettin junior for my photoshoot. he's easier to discipline whereas orange is too naughty
she keeps biting my feet. think i gotta apply medical oil on my feet liao
must check to see if she got black patch oso heheheh....

I wish I cld include Nanook in my photoshoot, the problem is, he's too afraid of strangers. Think he'd either hide at one corner or he'd end up tearing my gowns.

Sigh... he's a part of me, and both of us love him so much.. pity.

Eunice/lollipop, I was kissing her and maybe she wanted to return the kiss..... Anyway, it's not as serious as you think.

Never seen anyone who included their cats in the photoshoot..... I suppose dogs are easier to work with. Talking about bitting/scratching, I never had so many scars on my legs and arms in my entire life (credit to Snowball).

Awww.. Snowball's trying to return you the kiss...
I think these scars will go in time to come.

Sorry, got to rush off now. Going home already. Chat with you gals tmr.

I do hope the scars will fade eventually.....

Checked on Snowball last night, she has the black patch.

Now, almost every morning, Snowball will wake me up. She always manage to sneak into the room..... She is very clever - she knows exactly what time we go to work. Always waiting for us to open the door so that she can dash out.

Isn't it funny that not all cats have the black patch? Initially I thought Nanook was queer to have something black on top, before I heard the comment from my colleague. She has beautiful cats!

Nanook waits for me at the door everyday, when I go to work and when I come back. He'd meow and meow, asking me to feed him, pat him. Yes, he also likes to dash out of the door to walk along the main corridor.

I wonder why too??

I don't mind having Snowball strolling at the corridor but if she runs, I don't think I can catch up with her.....

err....has anyone tried walkin ur cat with a leash? do cats hav training school?

I won't mind Nanook walking along the corridor, but I will discourage him from doing so if he already had his bath. Moreover, I live on the 14th flr, and there are "holes" where he can peer out. I'm only worried if he sees anything which caught his interest and he'd jump down...
*touch wood*

Never tried!! Ever thought of but my hubby said it would look silly.... Not too sure about cats training school?

Eunice,
I only used the leash on Nanook once. I had to use it then as I was afraid he would run off. It does look a little silly, but pple frm States and other countries do walk their cats.

I nvr bring Nanook down already. He's strictly a domestic cat.

Training schools? Perhaps you can check with Pet Lovers, I think they do haev such programs lined up.

halo lollipop n curly,

my hubby oso think leash is funny

will ur kitten n cat come when u call them? i would like to bring orange out but im afraid tat she would run away. do they recognise owners like dogs do?

this afternoon when i go home, i saw a cat perching outside a window on the second floor of a block of flat. my first instinct was to call fire department
but saw tat the cat seemed to be very relaxed so i guess it prolly does it often. it's amazing how it managed to squeeze thru' the window grilles tho'

It all depends on Nanook's mood. If he feels like it, when I call him, he'd come to me. I'm his slave...

The strays outside, most of them will respond when I make "tsk tsk" sounds.

If I were you, and if I were to bring Orange downstairs, I make sure I put a leash on her. I dun want to cope with running after her, and later losing her.

My hubby always let Snowball wonders about when he's at the corridor. He said that each time she would wonder further..... Not too sure if cats recognise their owners like dogs. But I think Snowball does recognise us and people she sees regularly like my brother.

Any idea if you decided to migrate, what are the rules and regulations for pets?

We brought Patches downstairs once as we wanted her to have place to run about. We had a leash on her but it was the wrong leash. Cat's leash should be those that is worn on the body.

When we put her down, she was so scared of the unfamiliar environment and she struggled out of the leash and ran into the drain! We were pretty shaken because we thought she was lost to us forever! We traced the whole drainage system and there was no sign of her! But by sheer luck, we found her squeezed into hole with her tail showing. After a few hours, she wiggled her way out but we couldn't reach her. She got scared again and wiggled into the hole again.

After 8 hours of wait, she came out of the hole and this time I had a bamboo stick to block her from entering the hole and when she jumped out, my sis caught hold of her and brought her home.

From that day onwards, we never brought her downstairs again.

If you ever want to walk your cats, just be careful.

Patches also likes to dart out of the house whenever we opened the door. She likes to take a stroll along the corridor and rolls on the floor. But she gets bolder and goes further after each time.

There was once when we couldn't find her and could only hear her "meowing" for us. We managed to follow her cries and found her 3 floors below us.

When she saw us, she was so happy and ran towards the direction of our home, never realising that she was on the wrong floor. She actually ran into someone's else home! We chased after her and saw that she was frozen in her tracks. She realised that the "home" was different. When we called out to her, she dashed towards us and we carried her back home! Sigh... another silly episode of Patches.

From this, I realised that my cat can't count!

Wow Chin Leng, what adventures your Patches had! So lucky to have traced her. I don't think I can live without her any more.

Chin Leng,

I had similar experience. It was last Christmas when my dad, despite many warnings never to bring Nanook downstairs, defied me. After feeding Nanook at 6am that day, I went back to sleep. Thinking I had to go to work that day, he came in to "wake" me up at 8am. I ignord him. About a couple of min later, my mum came into my room and asked if Nanook was there. I told her no, and she said she couldn't find Nanook anywhere in the hse. I was wide awake then, petrified. We cldn't locate my dad and I had this very strong gut feeling he had brought him downstairs. My mum went downstairs and I searched the staircases, calling him. I stayed on the 14th flr, and I cld hear my mum calling for Nanook. My worst fear came true. My dad didn't apologise for his mistake, and all of us were, needless to say, angry with his actions. Nanook was hiding under a drain, and it was drizzling that morning, and he just had his bath the previous day. He was shivering, and meowing piteously. To make matter worse, he was under some concrete pavemnt, and there was nothing we could do to bring him out. Thank God the drain had no true-holes, otherwise he'd have run off and I'd lost him forever. I was very worried, and I cried like mad. I know crying wouldn't help anything, but I was so desperate when Nanook didn't want to come out. Guess he was too shaken. But unlike you, we managed to pull him out one hr later. I wrapped him with a big towel and brought him home. Nanook was back. And yes, we bathed him again.

What a Christmas.

Yes, the leash you were mentioning, holds the front paws too right? It makes the cat more secure.

halo gals,

hehehe... lucky for me, i got an 'orange-detector' called junior
tink the leash u guys mentioned is the harness? the one which goes over the 2 front paws n wraps abt the body?

curly,

u migrating? tink pets would need to be quarantined. my fren bot a dog when he was in aussie n when he came over, his dog dun even need to be quarantined. apparently dogs from aussie n NZ dun need to.

Eunice, I'm not migrating (yet). But my hubby has no intention to settle here long term. In any case if this happens, I would want to bring Snowball with us. I can't bear to part with her. Even in the office, I have to tell my colleague stories of Snowball at least once a day. Wonder if she gets bored already....... See how Snowball is already so much part of my life...... I'm sure it's the same with you.

hi curly,

ur hubby not local issit? where does he plan to settle in?
me never tell stories abt orange to colleagues cos too busy with work lah
only tell to u gals cos u will understand better

i love seeing her n junior waiting at the stairs for me when i come home. i oso love the way orange sucks on my hand before she falls asleep
me n hubby always call her our "xiao char bor"

Hi Curly,

Is that you on the front cover? Now I understand why you ask about migration

By the way, both of you look good! Congratulations! How did you make it to being on the cover? Just curious?

Hi Eunice

My hubby is English. His dream is to settle in Sydney.... But at the moment, I told him I want to stay here. I'm not too good at adapting to changes.

At work, no matter how busy I am, I always tell my colleague; must let my excitement out!!

Hi lollipop

Yes, that's me!! Thanks for your compliment. I emailed Chin Leng a few of my pictures some time ago. I was very surprised when I saw myself on the cover as I wasn't expecting it. So when your wedding pictures are ready, you can email Chin Leng too.

I am now uploading my wedding pictures but it's gonna take some time..... Will let you girls know when ready.

Hi Curly,

Australia is a nice place, and compared to Singapore, it is more relaxed. Pple there are not concerned about money, they dun work and slog....

My ex-colleague, whose bf is a Scottish, has already bought a pc of land in Australia, and construction in underway. Her future hse will be bear the beach, and there are three huge supermarkets! I do envy her lifestyle... it's something that I have always dreamed of, but never will fulfil.

Upload your pic and show them to us ok!

Well lollipop, I agree that Australia is a nice place but I just can't bear to part with my family and friends.... Anyway, it's not gonna happen so soon. We ever discussed about getting a house in Australia but always talk and no action....

Yah, I guess parting with family and loved ones is the difficult part. My wedding's this Oct, and I, very much am full with anticipation. However whenever I am reminded that I won't be staying with my family, I feel sad... I know I can still keep in touch with them, and that I know visits to my Gramps' place will still continue, just hope things won't change.

Anyways, chin up! You are not going to migrate anytime soon, so try not to think about it first. Just be happy! It's afterall a Friday! Woohoo!!!

No worry, I'm sure you'll enjoy married life. Is Nanook going to move to your new place?

Yeah!!! It's Friday!! Looking forward to the weekends.... Going to watch Algeria tomorrow!!

halo curly n lollipop,

on my side, my hubby would oso like to migrate to aussie due to their laidback lifestyle n cheaper housing n cars. however, me still a bit apprehensive abt it. frankly speakin i thot NZ would be a better place to migrate to. never heard of racism there before, hav u?

if we r migrating, we hope to be able to bring our families along
n pets oso!

at this very moment, my 2 precious brats r sleeping. take a look at them
these pics r taken just 5 mins ago

3759.jpg

3760.jpg

would juz like to share with u gals a nice pic of orange
as u can see, her eyes r no longer blue but grey. wonder wat colour her eyes would be

say lollipop,

how on earth did u manage to take such nice pics of nanook?? ive had so much difficulty tryin to even catch a decent shot of orange. she's always jumping abt n by the time i snap a pic of her, she'd move
this is one of my rarest pic of her

3761.jpg

Nanook is definitely moving with me. He goes where I go

Nice pictures! Ever wonder why cats sleep with their paws tucked in?

Eunice, I didn't take those pictures. Most of them were taken by my FH, who's better with the camera than me. Anyways, Nanook likes to have his picture taken, so no prob for me!

These pictures, they are soooo cute! Looks like Orange has a long tail too! Oh my God, I think I am going to get diabetes.... they are so sweet!

Eunice, Orange and Junior are so beautiful!!! Same here, never managed to get a nice picture of Snowball..... She's always jumping everywhere! By the time I snapped, she probably had turned her head around. Last week I took 3 pictures but she moved!! So I gave up..... Wished she's like Nanook.....

I wish Snowball is as "hiao".....

Hey, you know what? I'm not scared to leave the windows open any more. I have been observing Snowball whenever she goes near the windows. She's just curious about the outside world. I did a cruel experience (a friend did it and told us) by putting her out of the window and she cried. I suppose this shows that cats are clever animals.

Mebbe tom cats are more "hiao"?

I wouldn't dare to take the chance, because I know Nanook will still venture out... it's riskier because the ledge is very narrow, and we stay on the 14th flr...

Hello everyone,

I am a cat lover too! Those pictures of Orange are adorable! How to put a picture in the forum? I have 2 persian cats and I have a feeling the female might be pregnant, how to know for sure, what are the signs?

On browsing the archives I noticed there are some concerns about cats getting out of windows. I put this black mesh on my windows as my cats just love to sit on the table in front of the window, but I was concerned about them getting out. The pet shop sells it very cheaply and although it is a little unsightly on the windows, I would rather have that than one day find my cat has taken a dive out the window. Would break my heart.

Please put some more pics on the forum. Would love to see them.