Cats Lovers??

lollipop

Hi Eunice,
Thanks for sharing the pictures with us! I didn't know Junior is a collie! With these two beautiful creatures, I'm sure you will be filled with endless joys.

Some feel declawing is cruelty. Without them, cats feel defenseless, especially if they encounter "trouble" and need to protect themselves. Personally I wouldn't agree to it. Discuss with your husband.

Scratching post? Umh, Nanook doesn't even sniff at the scratching post I bought eons ago! He'd much prefer crushed paper balls, and plastic bags. He loves huge plastic bags, and he would go inside the bag and hide inside for as long as he likes. Otherwise, he'd chase his tail while he's still inside the bag. He's a weirdo. My weirdo. *smiles*

When Orange is bigger, and when you know her better, you would know what toys suit her and what toys you know she'd play with.

I have heard of cats eating dog food, but dogs eating cat food?! Sheesh. that's very sweet, very endearing too! The way he "protects" Orange, his possessive ways... so sweet!

Send us more pictures if you do have any.

And if anyone is reading this posting now, have a happy, prosperous, healthy and successful horse year!

lollipop

Hi Curly, Eunice,
How are your cats doing?

Feeling very very tired and sleepy.
yawn.gif

curly

Hey lollipop, enuice!! Hope you girls had a good CNY. Me?? Burnt a big hole in my pockets...

Snowball is doing fine. I just realised that she gets very scared and defensive if someone she doesn't know gets near her. I had girlfriends, nephew and niece visiting and she got really fierce. She was getting ready to attack and was quite scary. I suppose she must had been badly abused.

She's also climbing everywhere!! Her favourite spot now is the window! There were a few times when we caught her walking along the window grills..... So now, most of the time we keep the windows shut.

She loves to play on my bed especially when I move my feet or hands around. She'll be jumping everywhere trying to catch me.

Very busy at work as my boss is travelling tonight>

lollipop

I guess Snowball is wary of strangers. At least she doesn't hide behind the TV cabinet like Nanook. Guess she take time to adjust to strangers.

CNY was ok, quieter each year. We bathed Nanook on the first day of CNY, he smelled very nice and clean but come 2nd night, the pleasant smell's gone.

I remember when he was much smaller, he'd jump to the TV cabinet, and he would go to the speakers, and forced his way into the window grilles (very near to the speaker) That made him sandwiched btw the grille and the sliding window.. and he would climb and climb.. but he won't know how to come down. My Nanook does silly things all the time, but provides great entertainment!

Since Snowball is so hyper,must remember to close your windows. I get heart-attacks everytime he ventures outside the window of my parents' bedrm.. there is a parapet, and it is quite narrow, and we stay on the 14th flr!

eunicetan

halo lollipop n curly,

orange's doing very fine now. she sleeps with junior now n then
. she would just curl up beside him under the bed n goes to sleep
. they play well together too. junior likes to lick her n she likes to grab junior's ankles n nibble at him

orange has no problem with strangers tho' n she juz simply likes to hide n suddenly run out to surprise us
she tends to jump n hop more often than runnin tho'

however orange's got a problem. there's something wrong with her eyes
her right eye seems to be constantly tearing n she has a little difficulty keeping it open. there is oso some dried yellow crust next to her eye
can anyone advise me on wat to do? ive used a wet cotton pad to wipe her eyes n now hoping tat her condition will improve

lollipop

Hullo Eunice,

Junior and Orange are sooo lovable!

It's good that Orange is not wary of strangers, perhaps she knows Junior will protect her, and that she's safe under the watchful eyes of Junior.

I nvr quite believe that dogs and cats dun get along together. The show, "Cats and Dogs"? Well, I didn't watch it partly because I can't identify with talking animals. Another reason, well, they make the cats so sinister, so evil!
And dogs and cats fighting!

The yellow crust could be the eye wax. Wiping with wet cotton pad is a solution, but does it get rid of the crust? Is Orange still tearing? Once Nanook's eye also teared quite abit, and we used cotton pads to dry it, but still the tearing continued. He was also sneezing and we brought him to the vet. The vet told us he had cat flu and gave us some eys drops. After a few days he was ok. Suggest you observe her eye. If the tearing wouln't stop, mebbe it's time you visit the vet... could be a mild infection.

Hope Orange gets well soon.

curly

Agreed with lollipop!! Orange and Junior are so lovable. I am so tempted to get a puppy but I don't think I can handle it....

I hope Orange will be better soon. I remember when we got Snowball, she had something like that. One of her eyes was very teary and around it was a bit pinkish. I used cotton wool to clean it and after a few days she was alright.

We let her sleep with us last weekend. But as usual, she was hyper active - jumping all around. And in the middle of the night, we could feel her biting our ankles or licking our lips. My hubby is strongly against it as he says we might end up having fleas on our bed.....

curly

Not too sure if you already knew about Friskies Championship Cat Show 2002, @ Singapore Expo Hall 2, on 10 March. Will be going!!

lollipop

Aiyoh, Curly,

You really have a hyper-active cat! When Nanook sleeps with me, he'd be at the foot of the bed, and sometimes, he would put his head on my leg for leverage, support. He does bit my ankles, but not when I am asleep.

When you bring Snowball to the vet for her second vaccination, ask the vet to check for fleas. Dun think dosmetic cats have got fleas but sometimes you won't want to take any chances. That way, your husband doesn't have to worry about fleas when she decides to sleep with you again.

Tks for informing me about the Cat show. Do you know what time it is? Does it have any info in any website?

curly

lollipop, she's really hyper active!! We really don't know how to calm her down.....

The vet already checked for fleas on her very first visit - found only one. But I will ask the vet again.

You can check out www.collecthings.com for more info. If I'm not wrong, there's no time indication. We'll probably go around 2pm.

lollipop

Curly,
I think it is cats' nature that they love to jump around, hop around... hyper.. even after neutering Nanook, the vet told me he'd be more affectionate, and will be "lazy", but he is still the same "crazy", always bump-onto-things Nanook

I will visit the website when I have got the time. If I go there around the same time, suggest you wear a placard so I know you are "Curly"!

curly

lollipop, I suppose they are born to be wild!! Can't be help then. Just hope Snowball won't do any more damage.....

If you're there, just look out for someone with no makeup, messy hair, shorts and t-shirt! hahah.....

lollipop

Hi Curly,
Why dun I wear a red hisbiscus on my right ear so you will be able to identify me from the crowd?
Idea huh?

pegsfur

Hello all cat lovers,

I once saw a little kitten with eyes barely open, abandoned at the staircase & kept meowing. I don't see the mother or any of the siblings around. I assumed some stupid brat must have got the kitten there for fun. I brought it to my hse but don't know how to calm it down cos it kept crying .... furthermore, my doggie was utterly jealous & tried to start a fight.

I had no choice but to call the spca reluctantly. When spca arrived, as usual, they tried to coax me into keeping the kitten but I can't becos firstly, I don't know how & especially when it's a small kitten. Secondly, my doggie is at loggerheads with cats ....

Can anyone tell me what to do when similar things happened again? I don't want to call the spca cos they r going to put them to sleep.

eunicetan

halo pegsfur,

frankly speaking, short of finding another home for the kitten, there isnt much u can do.
Here's some info i found:

Cat Welfare Society - do check out their merchandise to support their funding.

here r some links - which may help you to look for new homes for stray cats.

my orange's eye is still not fully recovered yet but is improving slightly. i've started using the diamond energy water to clean her eyes n hope it works. she's so dear to me now
every morning i wake up to prepare for sch, she would sit at the foot of the bed, lookin at me intently at everything i do. me beginning to think tat she's learning how to be a human
she oso started to sleep next to my neck, sucking on my skin n giving me love bites!
junior has oso become more tolerant of her n doesnt disturb her when she's sleeping
im juz so happy to be around them

say lollipop n curly, y dun u attach some pics of snowball n nanook for me to see oso?

pegsfur

hi yunise,

What i mean is where to get help immediately? I can't keep kitty at home becos of my peggy. She simply can't stand cats.... which is why I resort to calling the spca.

Are there any society like spca but doesn't put animals to sleep? I hate the tone of the spca people ... That lady from spca, u know what she said? She took the kitten from me & said,'so poor thing ..... u want to keep it? When I explained that I can't, she immediately said 'ok lor ... it'll most prob be put to sleep.

Aiyoh ... at that moment I just hope someone wld come immediately & bring the kitten home ....

p.s. Have u watched 'la bi xiao xin' series 3? I just bought it yesterday

eunicetan

halo pegsfur,

maybe the spca lady was tryin to make u feel pityful for the kitty so u'd keep it?

me not really sure abt where to get immediate help leh.

har? got la bi xiao xing 3 liao?!! wahhh...muz go n buy oredi!
issit still as funny??

lollipop

Pegsfur,
Many said the association puts them to sleep because there are just too many stray cats around. Have you tried asking your friends whether they'd love to have a new companion at home? If the kitty is still at your place, and if you really care for it but can't keep it because of Peggy, why dun you bring it to the vet, have the vet to clean her up abit, and then go to the pet stores to put up ads? I'm sorry, I can't think of any other means... I can't keep another cat because Nanook is such a jealous cat...

Eunice, glad that Orange's eye condition is improving. Diamond water? I think my gramps is using that too!

Gives you lovebites?! Cool! I won't allow Nanook to sleep next to my face. He's too big! He usually sleeps at the foot of my bed, but there was once he was lying next to my butt. I didn't have any space to move around at all. I had to push him to the foot of the bed and he made the "dun-wake-me-up" sounds! My dad's so afraid I'd crush him.

You didn't rec'd the photos of Nanook? I thought I sent to you before. Ok, you wait, I send to you later.

curly

Diamond water?? What's that?

Ever since I had Snowball, I am more and more interested in cats. Always looking at cats pictures..... We wish we could adopt more kittens but I don't think we can manage it.

By the way, we hurt Snowball twice (nothing serious) when we tried to pull her in from the window ledge. I hurt her leg and my hubby hurt her tail. Poor Snowball!! I wonder if we had to live in "an oven" since she loves the window so much....

Eunice, I will email you later.

lollipop

Eunice,
Sent the pictures to you already! ='o'=*

Curly,

Nothing serious lah, if she is not limping and doesn't show any signs of pain and discomfort.
There was once Nanook jumped up to the stove, and at that time we were boiling water. Being a bozo, he still walked around that area, needless to say, his fur was a little burnt, and he ran amok, I was trying so hard to catch him and put some cool water on him but he kept running around the house, and there was this burnt smell. It was hilarious yet worringly at the same time. Thank God his burns were very superficial, and no harm and damage done. Now he'd think twice about jumping.

Which window are you referring to? Your room or your living room? What about air-cons?

curly

Hey lollipop

No harm done but she was crying a bit at that moment, so we were very "heart pain". She jumped onto the stove once but I quickly brought her back to the floor. Can't imagine if the stove was on!!

She just loves to sit on any window ledge. Whenever she has the opportunity, she'll dive straight to the window especially when we just got home and open the windows. So now most of the time, we just leave the windows slightly ajar, so that she can roam freely without us having a heart attack. We don't have aircon in the living area, moreover it's very windy at my area.

lollipop

Hi Curly,

Last evening I saw an adult cat, it has a black patch on its nose and immediately I was reminded of Snowball. That cat has got black patches on its body too!

It is true that having a cat at home, there are bound to be some restrictions, like we have to be reminded to close my parents' room door otherwise Nanook will venture in and sit on the ledge.

It's better to take precautions, lest we suffer heart attacks, yah?

curly

There was once when I saw a black and white cat near my place and I thought it might be Snowball's mum or dad. I played with it for a while and went home to get some biscuits but when I return, it was gone.....

Yes, I totally agree with you. Don't think I can afford to lose her now. She's just like my baby!!

Yeah, we either close the door or windows of the room to prevent our cat from jumping onto the ledge. Our cat is now about 3 years old and it has grown quite a bit and it is finding difficulty in squeezing through the window grilles.

But our cat will still leap like an arrow thourgh the grilles if she sees birds resting on the ledge. There was once when she did that, she was stuck!

To be on the safe side, we still close the windows.

pegsfur

Maybe the reason why yr cats like to sit on the ledge is becos they longed to see the outside world? Do u think it's possible?
I've often heard of people saying their cats like to venture outside the house ... some return after satisfying their curiousity, some don't.

eunicetan

thanks curly n lollipop,

ive received ur pics

lollipop,
ur Nanook very big hor? i love his beautiful body colouring esp. his white chest n paws
beri beri nice! i like the pic of him on the washing machine best

curly,
think ur snowball abt the same age as my orange, abt 3 mths old issit? ur kitten is so cute with a 'moustache'
wat food do u feed her with? im now feeding orange wet n dry food from whiskas.

today orange n junior were playin catching with each other
so funny to see junior running away from orange
then when my hubby fell asleep on the sofa, orange jumped onto the sofa to sleep next to his neck n junior oso slept on the floor next to them. it was such a heartwarming sight
i wanted to take a pic of them but too bad my camera's battery is dead

lollipop

Hi Pegsfur,

Perhaps that could be a reason, but I'm afraid once Nanook sees any bird, he'd want to catch it and ..... *shivers*

Nanook is a strictly domestic cat so I try not to let him out of our house often unless he walks along the main corridor. This morning, he saw 2 mynahs outside, adn he walked out to the corridor, I chased him in because I didn't want him to try leaping! He protested, naturally.

Eunice,
I love his white patch too! I call Nanook the tuxedo cat because of that white patch

You like the one on the washing machine best? Sheesh, that photo was the one of the very few which were taken by me!

Good day!

curly

Hi Eunice

I think Snowball is slightly older than Orange. She's about 13 to 14 weeks old. We feed her with both can food and biscuits, mostly with Iams products but it's a little expensive, so sometimes we buy a cheaper brand (don't know what brand). Anyway, my hubby insisted giving her the best....

It's really great to see cats and dogs living in harmony. Would like to see Junior and Orange in "person".

Pegsfur, Snowball loves the outside activities. Whenever a bus or car passed by, her ears will automatically get "lifted up". Because of her favourite pass time, we have to sacrifice for her....

lollipop

Last night Nanook slept with me.... I love it when he sleeps with me. But this morning, he's so naughty, he woke me up at 5:20am! And when I ignored him, he put his wet nose on my lips!

eunicetan

halo all,

may i know if it's a must to feed my kitten n dog with the furball remover cream? i saw a posting on cats eating a type of grass to remove their hairballs, may i know wat type of grass is tat? can i grow it myself?

my kitten absolutely loves her whiskas wet food n even junior follows me ard when he knows im feeding orange with it
yesternite, i left an opened packet of whiskas wet food which was tied tightly with rubberband on my table. when we came back, my sis-in-law was complainin tat someone (or somecat/dog) had brought the packet into her room n opened it n made her entire floor dirty n oily. till now, we still dun really know which one of them did it but i'd guess it's most likely to be my dog

lollipop

Eunice,

I dun feed Nanook with any grass or hairball remover thingy. Cats eat grass when they are sick or when they feel the need to get the hairball out of their system. I won't know what type of grass, perhaps you'd like to check with the vets?

BTW, I know how you look like. I saw your posting (ROM pictures). You look very sweet! Have you gone through the ceremonial wedding yet?

curly

If I'm not wrong, the green helps the cats to digest. Was at the pet store today and saw some, can't remember the name though.

hwey

I like cats too but have not been keeping one. Do cats scratch furnitures? If so, how do you stop them from destroying your newly bought furnitures?

eunicetan

halo lollipop n curly,

hmm...think i'll hav to do more research on this on the internet. will tell u gals of the results. btw, did u noe tat white cats with blue eyes r born deaf?! me found out this fact when reading up on cats.

awww....me look sweet ar? my hubby looked at this n go
hehehe.... me going to hold my dinner on boxing day

curly

Hi Hwey

Unforunately cats do scratch (to sharpen their nails). I notice that Snowball's front nails are sharper than her hind nails. She's scratching a lot lately (on my sofa and big arm chair - old ones). It's one of our reasons putting off buying a new sofa. I made her a scratching post but she doesn't really use it, so we'll be buying her a proper one tonight.

Hi Eunice

White cats with blue eyes are born deaf? Such poor thing....

Saw

curly

Sorry Eunice, don't know what happen! Anyway, saw your pics too, very pretty! I had my cheongsam made by your tailor.

lollipop

Hi Eunice,
Your husband should feel proud hearing compliments about you
Erm, when's Boxing Day? I'm too lazy to check the calendar.

How's Orange's eyes? Does the Diamond energy water help? My uncle mentioned by drinking the water, will make you lose weight. Is it true?

Hi Hwey,
Are you planning to adopt a kittie? Well, kitties do scratch. In fact, we have already thrown away our sofa due to Nanook's scratching. Here are some ways to discourage them from scratching:

1)
You can keep trimming their claws, the front ones more impt.

2)
You can get scratching posts. When your kittie is still very young, you must train it to use it. However, seems like most of our cats do not use the posts, and has resorted to using the furniture instead.

3)
Or you can get the cat repellent. Heard Feliway is quite good. It's selling at retail pet stores, about $30+ for a small bottle. You just have to spray on areas which will discourage the kittie to scratch on.

I have tried the repellent, but not Feliway. It works for awhile, but it's rather oily, and the smell did put off Nanook for awhile, but not long after, he started scratching again. Sigh.

White cats with blue eyes... hmm, think I heard that somewhere before. Pure white cats will have different coloured eyes, one side blue, another side yellow. Seen a stray pure white before, it looked so cute! But quite dirty...

eunicetan

halo curly,

such a coincidence! aunty judy was recommended by my colleague n i placed her contacts in this forum. i was quite happy with my gown except for the machining part which wasnt really tat good. my colleague said tat it might hav been done by aunty judy's worker

when's ur wedding har? how's ur preparations going along?

eunicetan

halo lollipop,

boxing day's the day after christmas

orange's eyes r alrite now. i think it's the kitty litter which affected her eyes. i used the brand catsan. now tat ive switched the brand to happy cat, her eyes r alrite. dunno if the diamond energy water helped as well cos i do spray the water at her eyes when she bites me
as for it helping to lose weight? i dun think so lah! me drink oredi oso like tat