Cats Lovers??

halo Faces,

glad tat u liked the pics of orange
to put up a pic, juz make sure it's of jpg format n less than 50k in size.
type /image{name of pic} but make sure u use a backslash (\) instead of a forward slash (/)

my fren has got a male persian cat as well!
where is this petshop tat sells black mesh? can it be used at the door gate as well?

Hi Faces

Welcome to the cats lovers family!!

Your cat's pregnant?? How exciting!! Just crazy about kittens - that was why I couldn't resist Snowball.....

Hi there everyone

Ok, I will scan my pics and try to post them here.
I will be taking my female cat to the vet on Sunday for a check-up to confirm whether she is pregnant or not. Will let you all know once I know ok. I sure hope she is, it will be her first litter.

Eunicetan
I bought the mesh at the pet shop at Serangoon Garden, but I saw it at DIY shops too. I put it on the windows and on the front door gate. I cut it to fit. Use a strong scissors as it is rather thick and difficult to cut. You will have to buy extra fasteners though as there is not enough provided.

Thank you all for the welcome gestures.

Hi Lollipop

My tom's name is Murphy and my queen's name is Mischka. Yes, I bought them here in Singapore. Mischka turned one year in January and Murphy turns a year next week. I got them when they were 10 weeks. They are not the flat faced persians, but the round faced ones.

Hey lollipop, Eunice, Faces

I wonder if you celebrate your pets' birthdays?? I was thinking to do one for Snowball when she turns one but we don't know her exact birth date.... My hubby said should do it on the date we found her.

Well, we celebrated Mischka's birthday by buying her some chicken liver, she loves it! We also bought her a new toy.

For Murphy, dunno yet, he is a very fussy eater, perhaps just get him some catnip.

Oh yes, wanted to ask you gals, I often get muscle spasm and have to rub some mentholatum deep heating rub on my aching muscles. Murphy smells it a mile off and then comes sniffing it and starts to roll around on the bed, rubbing his chin and face on bed and he drools so much it's like little droplets of saliva from his mouth, really very wet. Is this the effect of catnip too? Could it be harmful to them? I of course don't let him come into direct contact with it, but just the smell gets him like this. Once day I was bleaching some whites and a drop of bleach must have got on the old floor towel but dried up in the meantime leaving just a white spot. The next day he was rubbing himself on the towel, rolling on it and drooling too. Is this normal cat behavior to certain smells?

halo curly,

it's not a bad idea to celebrate her birthday on tat day which u found her. as for me, the vet told me tat orange was born prolly end of last yr or early this yr so i just set it on 31st december

Hullo fellow catlovers,

I dunno when Nanook's bday is, but if I were to celebrate for him, it would also be the day I picked him up. Umh, no, I dun celebrate with him because I am always pampering him, massaging him, playing with him...

Hi Faces,
Nanook reacts strongly to chlorine too! My mum uses chlorine to mop the flr sometimes and he would roll ard the floor... getting high. he doesn't react that way to catnip though.
I think it's normal, but dun quite know if chlorine is harmful... try to discourage them.

Nanook is about 4 this year, judging from the time I picked him up. I hv nvr regretted my decision. He's brought me so much joy! Mine's a tabby btw... big tabby.

Hey girls, did you go to the cat show yesterday? I went and it was quite interesting. Cat welfare organisation (?) was there and they have lots of cats and kittens for adoption. They are so adorable! Was very tempted with one of the kittens but have to adopt as a pair. My hubby wasn't too keen as Snowball is already a handful!

I wanted to go, but my mum said we should make our way to my grandmother's place instead. I was disappointed initially, but after FH checked the events that are going on during these few days, he couldn't find any notice about the cat show, and in its place was some furniture show or something like that...

Sigh, perhaps some other time... oh, was there an entrance fee?

Actually there's a home fair at hall 5 (till 17 March). The cat show was at hall 2. Entrance fee was $2.50 each.

Curly!

I saw the pictures of your wedding album!!!! Very nice! Dave looks handsome while you pretty!

I like the Tango1, the one with you holding a fan across your fan and Dave biting a stalk of rose.

Is your gown from Divine Couture? You look different, comparing the pic from ROM and the actual day. Prettier

HEy girls!

I am thinking of getting a cat! Can anyone tell me what I should look for when choosing a cat? Or what do i need to do?

halo gals,

tell u wat my orange did yesterday.

my father-in-law bought some fishballs n left them on a plate on the table in the living room downstairs. he placed a food cover (those net kind) over the plate. so i went down the stairs, took one n ate it n wherever there's food, junior will always follow me. n wherever junior goes, orange follows too. so i gave a little bit of fishball to orange. she played a while with it n then ate it. then i went back upstairs to my bedroom to surf the net.

5 mins later, i saw orange at my feet playing with .... a fishball!! i didnt know whether to be amused or to be angry with her. how on earth she managed to bring the fishball up the stairs is beyond my hubby n me cos her mouth is too small to hold onto the fishball. i scolded her n picked her up n told junior to eat the fishball. then i resumed back to my web surfing.

a short while later, my hubby told me tat orange is going down the stairs again. so i took a cane in my hand n followed her down the stairs. sure eno' the .... cont' later. hubby waiting for me

Hi lollipop, I will answer you at the other thread.

Hi Translucent, are you thinking of buying or adopting? I was at the cat show yesterday and there were lots of cats and kittens for adoption.

Hi Eunice, Orange is so funny! Couldn't help but laugh as I read. My colleague finds it funny too.

Hi Curly,

I'm thinking of buying. Hmm never really occured to me that I can adopt them.
So what do I need to know about cats?
SO they scratch on furnitures? Or pee anywhere and anyhow? DO you need to toilet train them?
THanks!

Hi Translucent,

Getting a cat requires alot of commitment. Even though cats are more independent than dogs are, we need to spend time with them, to play with them.

If you are thinking of adopting, check whether the kittie has been vaccinated and dewormed. I guess the first stop you can try is SPCA. There are lots of strays which are very beautiful also. Those strays which are already neutered or spayed, have a yellow collar.

You need to get cat litter, pref those in clay form, (clumping sand) a scoop, some liners and a cat toy.

Hi Eunice,
Nvr underestimate what cats can do! They are so smart. Nanook even knows how to fetch crushed balls of papers. But hey, that was cute! *pat Orange*

Hi Translucent

As you can see, lollipop is a better advisor as I had my Snowball for only 2 months.

If I'm not wrong, I think Eunice ever posted cat welfare org website here, anyway it's http://www.catwelfare.org/oldsite/index.html Check it out. However, I think it's not updated. The profile they had at the cat show is very recent, they have cats/kittens which they picked up only this month. They are really adorable. You might like to consider.

Hi Curly,

Dun make me pai seh leh... even though I had Nanook for 4 years, there are still certain things I am not aware of... we learn from one another, ya?

Translucent,
The thing is, you can never know everything about cats. They amaze you! Sad to say, they do scratch furniture, which is why, it is essential to train the kittie at a young age to use the scratching post. They will bite and they will kick at your ankles, but all in good fun. That's one of the many ways to get your attention.

You can train your cat. Actually kitties are easier to train than cats. Have the tray ready and after feeding the cat, bring it to the tray and let it sniff on the litter. The kittie will slowly learn how to use the tray to pee and to "poo".

Thanks girls,

I'll go get all that I need for my kitten first and i'll come back here again to seek advice. ;)

I'll chk out both SPCA and the petshop, see which cat caught my eye first lar.

as i was saying, i followed orange down the stairs n sure eno' she jumped onto the chair n then onto the table. somehow she had managed to push the food cover aside n there were many tiny oily paw prints all over the table. i got angry n used the cane to smack her backside. she wasnt scared n tried to scratch at my cane. i smacked her a few more times n then she ran away. i covered the food back n then went back upstairs to observe her behaviour secretly. n believe it or not, she again went to the table n i quickly came down n gave her some more smacks. after tat, she never dared to climb onto the table again.

errr.... i know all these smacks sound cruel but trust me, she was not hurt at all, maybe juz her pride

Hi! I was at the cat show. My hubby and me thinking of getting a cat as well. I am thinking of adoption but my hubby is worried that those cats that are up for adoption may not get used to life in an enclosed flat and cage (when we are working) cos they have been out in streets for too long.....

Hi eunice,
I discipline Nanook with the cane too, though my mum and sis said I did not use much strength, I was just patting him. Anyways, yes, cats are defiant. I tried warning him not to be naughty, pointing the cane at him. He'd just try to grab hold of the cane and bite the end of it. Sometime dunno whether to get angry with them or laugh. Cats can get away with murder, as what one forum user told me

Hwey, mine was a stray cat and was accustomed to the "street" life. I guess you can call it fate, because Nanook was the first cat I brought into my hse. Cats are very adaptable, and when your husband adn you are away at work, they can fend for themselves. They are very independent. They sleep during the daytime, and when you are back, you just have to feed them dinner. Of course you have to leave some fresh water and biscuits for them when you are not around. Even though they are not hungry, they will still eat. Quite the glutton they are.

I discipline Snowball by smacking on her backside. No effect with 1 smack. 2 smacks, she will cry.... so no more smack.

Last Sunday, I left the toilet seat up for just a few seconds and guess what? She jumped straight into it! I just bathed her the day before.

Hey lollipop, I really regret feeding Snowball with canned food. Now, she won't even look at biscuits. Bought her some cat treat last weekend, thought she would like it but....

It's ok, Curly, I fed Nanook canned food when he was very young too. He eats only fish, even when there is lamb, chicken or liver, he wouldn't touch it at all! He's rather spoilt, comparing other strays which will gobble up the food anyways.

How many times do you feed Snowball? Twice? I feed Nanook twice. In the morning, we will give him dry food, and at night, we will give him wet food mixed with dry food. Perhaps you can try mixing, encouraging her to eat the biscuits. Slowly, you can give her lesser fish, more of the biscuits.

Oh, the toilet incident... Nanook's quite clumsy also. Once he was playing with me, everywhere I went, he would run beside me and when I went into the toilet to wash my hands, he came crashing into the bathroom, jumped on the vanity top and saw me, and alarmed, he tried to retrace his steps but fell into the bowl as well! But only his hind legs and tail were wet. He then tried scampering out of the bowl and ran away from the scene. Think he must be really embarrassed.

It's me again. What do cats eat huh? Besides those package food, do they wat veggies or sausages etc?? When I buy the cat, they will be vacinated already and deworm? Or I have to do it myself?

I'm gonna get a kitten. I think it is easier too being a newcomer. GOnna name her Buttercup! ;P

Hello catlovers

Sorry I have so many questions huh.

I am not living with my family now. My housemates are mostly not home until evening. Do you think I should leave her in my room or outside? (We close and locked our rm dr everytime we are out.) I am afraid she would pee on my bed and on the carpet everywhere either I leave her in my rm or outside! Good idea to enclose her in an area first when we are out til she is toilet trained??

Translucent,
You must have loved the Powerpuff Girls huh? One of the strays which I "christened" is Chocolate Peanut Buttercup!

Tyr not to give the kittie anything salty. It will cause them to shed fur. I know they do eat scrambled eggs. Never feed them milk. They will have stomach upset. never leave the canned food outside, must store them in the fridge. Nanook had a bad case of vomitting when I did that years ago. Our suggestion is try not to give the cat canned food in the early stage, as the kitten may grow dependent on it.

If you are buying a kitten frm a reliable source, best is check with them to find out if the kittie has been dewormed and vaccinated.

Congratulations! We trust that you will have endless joy with your new companion!

lollipop, we feed her twice a day but more often over the weekends. My hubby likes to feed her with canned food. Most of the times, I'll mix some biscuits but she will only eat them when she got nothing else to eat. My pet store has ran out of the Iams kitten biscuits, hopefully they'll stock up soon.

I bought a carrefour in-house brand salmon for her and she loves it. But it's not for kitten so, I try not to give her too often.

Curly,
Looks like your hubby really pampers Snowball huh?

Why dun you try Whiskas dry food? You can try the Ocean Fish or Tuna & Anchovy. Nanook loves them.

Translucent,
Actually it is cruel to restrict the kitten's movements, however kittens tend to scratch the furniture.

When you have your kitten, after feeding him/her, bring her to the litter tray and let her sniff on the cat litter. From then, it will learn how to pee and poo in the tray, and you dun really have to worry about it leaving its trail in the living room.

Kittens need alot of attention. Does your hse have an excess balcony? I used to tie Nanook to a leash and leave him in the balcony. He'd still be able to eat, drink and the litter tray was within his reach too.

Hey lollipop

We both pamper her but I'm more fierce towards her.

Whiskas dry food? Is it biscuits with lots of shapes? As Snowball is still a kitten, I try to restrict her to kitten food only.

Thanks lollipop, will look out at the pet store.

You said cats eat scrambled eggs, hmm.... maybe I'll let Snowball try. I ever feed her with smashed hard boiled egg, she had hiccups after that!

Just visited 2 petshops! They said no kittens!
Tis is not the season? duh. Hve to wait till Oct then there will be more coming in. ~scratches head~ Buy cats also got season mah?

My house don hve balcany. But the laundry area is quite big for her to move ard i think. It is abt the size of a normal HDB balcany. Hmm think when i get my cat i'll do that. Tie her to a long leash ard that area.

I think i'll go other petshop tomorrow and hope they will hve kittens this time.

Wow Translucent, you acted real fast huh?? Not too sure about the season. I always go to Pet Safari at Simei; never seen young kittens either. Maybe they still need their mothers....

I was quite lucky to pick up Snowball when she was 6 to 7 weeks old. Why don't you consider adopting one since there are so many strays and they need people like us to give them warmth and love? It's just my opinion.....

Translucent, some strays are nice and cute too! Curly, Eunice and I picked up beautiful strays.

Erm, sorry, I make a MISTAKE. Not scrambled eggs, but diced hard-boiled eggs. Oops. Sorry.

That area you were describing about should do the trick, just remember not to restrain its movements and place everything within her reach.

Ha Curly

I dont mind adopting if one caught my eye. Just that the SPCA is quite far from my place.;) Lazy to travel so far and the weather so hot! I'm melting here.

So u didnt buy your snowball too huh? I'm in Perth now. Cannot find any strays here.

Lolli, I dont know much abt Powerpuff girls. But i got the name from my fav. song.;P "build me up buttercup". ....build me up, buttercup, dont break my heart...heard of it?

Oops Translucent, didn't realise that you are not staying here. Snowball was a black and white stray. Tell you what, I'll send picture of her to you later.

Translucent,
You are in Perth?! Think you can't find strays there. My sister went to Australia couple of times but once she saw this very cute kittie selling at $50.00. She was so tempted to buy.

Erm, no leh, nvr heard of that song b4

lolli that song was in "Something about Mary".

Yar, cats here costs ard 50-70 i think. I saw a black Persian cat for $78. But I don't like black lar. Quite frust cos now that i made up my mind to buy a cat, there arent any. So sad.

Lolli, your sis wanna buy a cat back to spore? ;P
I only heard of pple buying dogs frm here. hehe. It is cheap here u know.

Curly, You still have my email? I asked to see your pictures yest. Serious, you look really great. And the Tango, aawwww! Marcus is brillant! Which studio is he with?

hey curly,

the pet symphony owner told me tat it's alrite to give wet food which r not meant for kittens to our kittens. it's only the dry food which must be specifically for kittens. so i bot a variety of wet food from whiskas (the foil type) for orange n problem now is she oso finish up the wet food leaving behind some of the dry food

any idea which brand of dry food is the best? or which kitty litter is the best? im thinkin of changing her kitty litter cos happy cat gets very stink after some time n the catsan is too coarse.

Hi Translucent/lollipop

Wow, cats and dogs are so cheap in Australia!! All the cats and dogs are so expensive here.... Thank god I found Snowball, she's priceless. Right lollipop??

Translucent, I had already sent an email, check it out. Thanks for your compliment again. Looked great because of the makeup.... Now like housewife already. hahaha..... Marcus' studio is called Picture Box (www.picturebox.net). My colleague used him the year before and happens that he's tied up with my bridal shop. He's really fun to work with. I think I laughed until I cried.

Eunice, thanks for the info. Will take note of that. Not too sure what brand is the best leh. Lollipop, any comment? For the litter, we use Star Litter (I think), in beads form. $12.50 for a month's supply. I change her litter tray every 2/3 days; wash her bum and paws every time she goes toilet and bath her once a week, so not that stinky.

Hi Translucent,
My sis went there for a holiday, and she didn't buy any kitten back because Nanook is already a handful. Plus, he is a jealous cat.

Never watched There's something about Mary, so really dunno the song. Sorrie.

Eunice,
I know Iams is a good brand, but very expensive. What about Science Diet? I used to feed Nanook with the weight maintenance Science Diet dry food, trying to keep his weight in check. He's 8kg! But it didn't work, and his weight remains. So no point buying that food anymore.

As for sand, have you tried Snappy? I think it is about 8.5kg and selling at $12-$13+. Quite good, no smell. Clumping effect, very good.

Curly, yes, Snowball is priceless, and so is Orange and Nanook! *cats touched, shed tears*

wahhh... u wash snowball everytime she goes toilet?? me never bother leh
as for bathing, i bathe her as n when im free

$12.50 for a mth's supply is pretty expensive n i worry tat orange will play or swallow the beads

Hey Curly

Is your snowball tryin to do a somersault in one of the pictures? Sooo cute and sooo tiny. How I wish I hve my kitten now. She must be a joy to be around.

Lolli your cat and my FC(Future Cat) shares the same name? Chocolate Peanut Buttercup sounds yummyyy.:P~~~~~~~~ How many cats you hve altogether?

Excuse me, what is wet food? What does it consist of? I am really blurr when it comes to pet.

Yes!! Our Orange, Nanook and Snowball are priceless!

Got to wash her bec she always step on her pee leh and sometimes on her poo (stink man)....

My hubby buys Iams most of the time. We tried Science Diet and Whiskas as well. So far, she likes the Carrefour one best....

Eunice, don't worry about swallowing the beads. Snowball loves to play with them and she looks really comical when trying to remove the beads from her mouth.