Calling all Malaysian brides/grooms

yah...my mum said beter distribute our ang pao, so they hv carry one big bag, haha...but i won't carry one lar, troublesome...

Think i will count in hotel room den (not sure staff can wait us mah)...heard some rest allow u pay next day morning, but still feel unsafe rite...

See Peng, Dracy and Jas, get a VIP room from the restaurant then get a few uncles or cousins that is not fr the main table to hold the ang pow.
This is the practice on my cousin's wedding recently, we get off the banquet around 9.30pm about 2 last dish. I was helping out on recording the ang pow amount on a small booklet, then 2 uncles and his 2 siblings help to open up all the ang pow, 1 uncle guard outside the VIP room. After that call the banquet manager to the VIP room and settle the bill. Basically the bride and the groom will not handle all the bill settling. Have to hand down proper communication for those who is responsible to settle the bill. Get close relatives or siblings.

tlc, best is your parents don't hold any ang pow..that was bad experience my aunt encounter. So after that case, any wedding occasion on our family, we will organise a group of ppl to hold the ang pow. And another advise, don use nice paper bag. Use cheapo plastic bags
ppl will not aware that is actually ang pow inside.

Hohoho....Anne, thanks ur advise & great ideas!! i tok we count the ang pao after diner in hotel room ourselves ler...my coll did tat. But tihnk urs better.

Yah...ur advise indeed useful ler...hv discuss wif my hubby, but must get somebody trustworthy to handle ang pao ler....

Good morning gals,

Thanks Anne, Your advise is really useful. Most probably we will use the ang bao money to settle bills also.

If possible don't bring your ang pow to your hotel room to count especially u guys are in JB. U might not aware some couple kena targetted and got robbed in their hotel room. I seen cases reported on newspaper some time ago.

Best is take out all the ang pow $$ before the dinner end. Or seperated your ang pow to a few ppl holding on it and ask them to bring the ang pow to your house and pass to your parents after the dinner or next day.

marilyn, your news came very late de..our super mummy susan discharge today.
probably late afternoon or evening u will see her coming in to post liow..wahahaha

Haha...Susan really is brave & lucky mum! Hope i can b like her too if next time...

Anne, thks ur sharing, lucky u told us BTB, else i really din noe so many such case, oly heard one/two case b4 in m'sia...one in Sg Hyatt?? summore if i not wrong...wah, so scary ler...then muz b very stress tat day, oledy so busy stil hv worry those ang bao, really troublesome hold diner ler! ...hv ask my hubby & eldery opinion.

hehe..marilyn, we were so gan cheong the other day when she is having mild contraction at home and still din go to hospital.
so when she admitted, we keep following up with her and khai jin. finally on 9-11 GyAnn came out to see the world.

dracy, having wedding dinner is quite troublesome actually..u can imagine I went thru 2 banquets dinner at 2 different places. Really tired after all the occasion.

u have to plan well on who co-ordinate on certain itinery on your big day. Trust me, u don have the time to rush here and there..coz make-up and dress up will take some times liow.

oh ya, another tips on tea ceremony ang pow if u had your ceremony before wedding dinner. Do not keep any ang pow at home. Ppl will "marked" as everybody is out and all the ang pow and gold keep at home..will have break-in especially in MY home.

Better dun give gold, very scared when relatives give us gold will also request us to wear on the spot.
Ang Pao is better, easier to carry around...

Jas, wear on the spot can be quite fun also leh! If u wear, take pic then take out, not so bad. If wear & never take out, imagine yourself with so many necklaces, rings, bracelets, so cartoon, kekekekekekeke....

mrc, finally u r back! Very busy lately? When did Susan finally get admitted? On 8/11 or 9/11? Can't wait for her to "check-out" of hospital and check-in here with her story, hehe...

Wah...so many things to think hor, me oledy very headache for fetch my outstation relatives & accomondations liao!

I wil hv tea ceremony in hotel at morning b4 go groom site. Hmm...den hv to think where shld i place le...but of course hv place at home rite, cannot go bank in safe box.

Hey, it's rude & no respect if u take out golds ...later ur relatives see y u din wear on they feel like unhappy...normaly elderly wil gif golds one...

Lucky we oly hv both parents & my grandparents during tea ceremony not many autie uncles...saw my fred wear so mnay heavy gold necklace with modern white gown, bit funny...

Jas & PPP, wil u hv a bag to store all tea ceremony ang bao? mayb hv distribute into few safer place too... golds store in house oso dangerous hor...

Ping, Susan admitted around 1am+ on 9/11..she still can hold the contraction on 8/11.
I called her around 8+pm on the 8/11, she told me most likely will get herself admitted around midnight.

Bravo to her...she really can handle contraction well with the help of laughing gas.

I talked to her yesterday..she sounds OK..able to handle and her GyAnn sounds very cute ler. Can't wait to visit her

anne,
yalor..i was also one of the person to ask khai jin to send her hospotal..susan such a relax mummy.. if i were her, i already zoomed down to the hospital..haha...

Ya Jas, agreed with u that having gold as gift is real horrible! My dad sounds to his siblings that don't buy gold for me. And maybe they also knew that I got a lot from my mom but I don't wear them. My mom used to work in wholesale jewelleries importer office.
I got full set of jewelleries fr my mom as wedding gift, so tea ceremony, my mom and dad just use empty gold box to present to us. All the jewelleries that my parents gave and my granny gave already in the safe

Hmm..my tea ceremony ang pow on that Sat night my mom appointed my eldest aunt to take care. So my uncle records name on the ang pow and my aunt kept it..so that night they bring all these ang pow and kept in their home safe.
AD morning tea ceremony's ang pow, my mom allocated his bro to take care..plus my passport and my hb passport, all pass to them. Coz my parents gotta travel to my in-law's place too..nobody will be at home.
My uncle stays near-by, he has my house key, so he guard our house for us lor by coming in to monitor twice a day or so.

very troublesome hor..no choice lor. In MY those robbers like to marked on ppl's house with wedding occasion to break in.
And my dad also inform my neighbour to keep an eye for us.

anne,
when are you all going down to visit her? i have assessment this coming monday and then i have 6 weeks break! yeh!!!
may be i will pay her a visit next weekend..may be will "jio" zann along..

marilyn, susan's pain tolerance level is high..that's y she still can stand the contraction. Well, is actually good planning for her. If she admitted early, hospital will drip her to speed up contraction or maybe if >10hrs in labor room, they will make her go for emergency c-sec.

U will zoom to hospital..if me i'll zoom too!~ and I will ask for epidural at the same time :P
I'm very lousy..cannot take pain at all!!

Zann will be going next week I think. She is now enjoying at genting

I'll be seeing her only after her confinement period. I was told and advised by Kame not to visit confinement mummy and bb till bb full month. Got such pantang ah?? I ask my mom, my mom said she dunno!

Irene will be going tomorrow.

i also never heard before leh... i think ok lah..just abt 1 mth ago i went for a MJ kaki's full month celebration.. i saw a pregnant lady also leh.. her parents in law also quite pantang person but they never say anything leh...

aiyah, susan so strong, may be the BB also very strong like her..hehe..

i told jeff abt susan not taking epidural and he said i should do that too.. then i say, ya ya, you give birth then you know how painful!! i'm taking too! but might ask for a lighter dosage so that i have the strength to push it out.. if no pain at all, cannot feel anything and might have difficulty pushing it out..

yalor, susan seems like very experince..waited and see before admitting herself
may be i should be like her also cos i dun want to go for c-sec!! i want natural birth and see jeff cutting the umbical cord!not sure if there's such practice in spore..hehe..that's what my brother did in KL and i think it was so sweet of him and must be a marvelous moment for him and my sister in law.. the father beaming with pride with his new born...hehe..

Yalor, wear all the gold stuff with the modern wedding gown like very funny hor. Then how ya? Anne, ur dad good hor, sound ur uncles aunties out not to give u gold jewelleries. My mum oredi insist me to wear the jia chuan that she is gg to buy for me. But she ask me to choose myself then she pays. At least something i like.

Bravo, Susan! Really very brave mummy. Think my turn i will want to take epidural too.

Marilyn, good to have a long break from ur course, like schooling days.
Since start working have not experience such long leave oredi. Sigh...

tlc, think the ang pao will be held mostly by our parents lor, inside their pocket or bags. Better dun put all in one bag. My hubby has 2 brothers got married oredi, so they actually very experience on after-wedding counting ang pao event. The siblings will do the work. Someone open ang pao and count, someone record and me and hubby will tell them who those ppl are. Actually hubby was suggesting pay the bill by credit card first, then cash in all ang pao using the ATM machine. Of cos, need a few big guys to jaga him to ATM machine.

ya ya..i also keep the ang pau for my elder brother when he got married.. after a few dishes, my younger brother, his gf and my then hubby to be went up to count money for them..hehe..it was quite fun!

marilyn, brandon bet with me that susan will hold till the end without epidural,unlike me :P so scare of pain..wahaha

eh, when they administer epidural to u, while u r about to push, they will reduce to let u feel tha pain and urge to push. off course won't numb all the way till give birth lar.
wow..hb cutting umbilical cord? think this is not the practice here rite?

now is time for me to convince myself to take epi c-sec, means only half body numb and i'm fully awake when gynae cut me!! my gynae wanted me to go for that..is sort of like he decides for me..KNS
imagine during the c-sec i can hear all the equipment sounds???? faint!! and brandon also get a chance to see me inside OT!! gosh..

Jas, i think if my dad din sounds to his siblings they also knew that ang pow will be better choice for me coz they knew my mom bought a lot of jewelleries for me and I only wear them once a year during CNY..the rest of the time always kept in the bank safe.

Oh, your mom wanted u to wear the jia chuan ah? I only wear those matching jewelleries from BS.
Lucky my in-law never ask me to put on whatever they gave me, or else I *faint*

I think not a worry for u coz ur hb's bro got experience handling it..
for 1st timer, really havoc! a lot of preparation and co-ordination..gosh..tough job :P
After my wedding, me and hb were grumbling that we shd go for honeymoon instead of having such a troublesome customary.

Anne, now we oledy start grumbling tat we shld opt out wed diner then juz HM! Act, our parents r ok wif tis...but we din really ask & practice, den juz follow to hv customary lor...tot to hv tis q fun while gif nice memory later..

yeah man,, imagine hearing your gynae slicing your tummy to open it..yucks!! scary!!! and hb seeing the inside things!! only those with strong heart can take it mann!! so erxin mann...

abt epidural, that's what my SIL told me leh.. she said may be her anestatist no experience or wat, give her a strong dose until she feel nothing at the bottom.. she has no strength to push and in the end, BB heart rate drop, so immediately send for c-sec! her collegue later also told her abt the dosage of epidural.. and you know what i think i read in 8 days that vivian lai also ask for that but she kinda regret cos she said it was very very painful with the little epidural..haha...

and another ex-collegue told me told me that i need to ask for injection few hours before popping out. she said she put 1 hr before delivering but her BB pop out before the epidural took effect! waste of money she said..haha

Anne,
Why yr gynae wants u to go for epi c-sec leh? I heard that giving birth naturally has benefits for mother & baby, so unless it's dangerous for u, can consider trying for natural birth hor!

Anne & mrc,
I'm sure when the time comes, u won't zoom to hospital one. u will be just as relaxed & calm as Susan too! Zooming to masukkan all the food & drinks u won't be able to eat during confinement would be a better idea! Kekeke!
I asked Susan to faster eat & drink whatever she wants while she still has the appetite becoz towards the later stage of labour u won't want to eat or drink anything liao...

jas,
my break is school break lah..not on leave..still have to work but i dun need to stay out till 10pm every night liao... after work can go home and rest and weekends can play MJ..hehe..so long never play MJ man..

hmm...sounds scary ler...dun understand how can bear pain without epidural! muz ask susan story liao...some ppl juz easily 'pop' then BB out liao...heard tat dun wear tight jeans too often especially low waist type.

how we noe need injection onot at initial stage? unless u cfm dun wan bear the pain...normalyy need how long for it to take effect?

Ping, remember I just done my operation in Apr? That's the reason I have to take epi c-sec this round coz my gynae said risk of my old wound burst while pushing is 1:100. Not worth taking the risk.
I wanna GA c-sec, but gynae not encourage
he insisted that I have to go thru epic c-sec!!

Marilyn, we can hear only..cannot see in the OT lar. They will use something to block our view.
Maybe hb can see..wahaha..that's y my gynae said daddy faint nvm, he got stand-by bed next to me :P

About when to administer epidural..hm..I heard is before the dilation goes beyond 5cm. The total dilation is 10cm in order to push bb out.
For me, I dunno how they gonna administer epidural for me coz it might not go thru spine for c-sec. Will check it out when the date draw nearer.

Ping, u so funny..eat whatever we can before giving birth. maybe is true lor..during CF, alot of things cannot eat hor..especially me who gonna go thru c-sec!!
So now on I can eat more..since c-sec, bb big also nvm..wahaha

dracy, if u cannot take the pain on the initial stage, can start to ask for epidural liow lor..they will give the dosage according to your contraction level. There is a CTG machine to monitor the contraction level. Then when u about 9-10cm dilated, they will reduce the dosage so that u able to feel and push to give birth.

jas,
MJ = mahjong ..my favourite game..wahaha...

anne,
got such thing one har..how come my SIL never said that ler..she said only inject once which is through spine.. mm...new technology or wat?

Jas, u can opt for white gold if ur mum dun mind, beter to match wif WG & will wear more often later mah...but izzi ur mum wil pass the chia juan & help u wear on w serve tea? or pass to u early? After bot the jia juan hv keep at home til AD ler...

Wah, mrc really like 'tai tai' lar.. haha~

Anne, oic, so u can't opt for natural birth. Then u shld take epi c-sec mah! It's the closest to natural birth as u can feel ppl pressing on yr tummy, tugging & pulling yr bb out, then u can hear yr bb's first cry! Then u'll be able to see yr bb immediately, can even bf since u will be awake!

Jas, u wil buy in Sg or JB? me mostly wil get here cos Sg gold jewellery quality beter...hv u buy gold stuff from MIL yet, or she wil buy for u? mayb we can go look look survey togeter hor, keke~

Anne, wat's diff between GA c-sec & epi c-sec? any site effect? c-sec take longer time to recover & mum wil feel more weak compared to nature birth ler...Looks like Hv to start class now..haha

Ok, me back liau from hospital this afternoon. Thank you for all the well-wishes.

Had lots of food before admitting myself, ha ha ha .. yeah Ping, I took your advice on this. I had a long labor to be exact. 24 hours of mild contraction on 8-11 and additional 11 hours in the labor room. Luckily didn't admit myself earlier as every hour laid in the labor room cost money.

I took the laughing gas and pethidine, had about 1 inch of episiotomy cut.

About cutting of the cord, gynae did a very speedy job in cutting the cord but she left some and Jin cut the leftover, he said the cord is very rubbery and not easy to cut.

I was very alert the minute after GyAnn came out, then felt very groggy and sleepy again due to the pethidine.

I still feel like 5 months preggie, big tummy is still there.

eemm .. what else shall I share? Feel free to ask, ok ..

hi gals im letting go of my Ang Pao box for just S$8!!!!

and heres the link to the ANG PAO BOX:

http://www.kodakgallery.com/ShareLandingReg.jsp?Uc=cgaqhux.uqrhnw9&Uy=ou51ku&Upost_signin=Slideshow.jsp%3Fmode%3Dfromshare&Ux=0&UV=449196841115_21763764409

Measurement: 31cm x 23cm x 16cm
Special Feature: The TOP is removable which would come in handy for helpers to take out the ang-paos as compared to those w/o top types in which its usually ripped open by helpers.

Interested parties can email me at [email protected] for more details.