Bangkok

purple_rain

Ohh... I also hope nothing happen... *weep*

if u dun mind, we can exchange number. keke... Thou we do not know each other in real life, but in SB forum... =}

elisasutiono

I'll be going to Bangkok on 31st of March, Tiger Airways night flight. A bit scared too, but, going ahead anyway. Will be staying till 3rd April in Baiyoke. 1st time to Bangkok and riots some more. Hope that nothing would happen. Anybody taking same flight?

summersnow

hi purple rain, sabby,

dun worrie too much. i believe the shopping areas shld be okie. u might have to bear with the traffic, dat's all. perhaps u can chk with yr hotel front desk staff if there's any places u need to avoid before going out. u might want to grab a copy of their english newspaper every morning too (not sure if yr hotel provides).

if it makes u feel better, u can choose to register yr name with the singapore embassy too.

purple_rain

I will look at the positive side, but 1 thing that cannot deny is the traffic, moreover, I'm staying in Baiyoke Sky that makes it more inconvenient.

But do heard from news that major shopping centres are affected by the rally, their sales dropped tremendously. Perhaps, from this, can get good bargain... kekeke...

icy

purple rain, sabby,
From what I suspect, you can still shop around in those areas, I think more people would only join after office hrs. They should be crowding outside.

Anyway I dun think it is a good idea to go physically to singapore embassy, cos sometimes there might be a bit of rally there.

On the ligher note, Enjoy urself, and perhaps you can take some pix of the rally.. if they are peaceful.. not that you can see this in Sg.

sabby

haha .. purple .. same sentiments .. not much tourist so many they will give us betta bargins ^^ i pm-ed u my number

icy, christine
Thanks for the "encouragments" :p i m actually more worried that on the 2nd april i cant catch my flight in time due to the jam .. sigh .. btw icy is the midnight sale for siam paragon on wed ?

elisasutiono

icy, christine,

Is there anyway i can register my name with Singapore embassy online?

I heard that Baiyoke hotel is not near any BTS, would it be very inconvenient to travel around since there's riots?

andreal

Hi elisa,

yours is baiyoke sky or baiyoke suite? Usually its easy to travel ard thou no BTS but not sure hw bad the riot are affecting the street? guess if able to travel by BTS might be easier

icy

Hi saddy,
Where are u staying? think the reception at ur hotel would be able to advise. They can always go by the expressway.

Yah, as mentioned on newspaper http://www.nationmultimedia.com/2006/03/28/headlines/headlines_30000363.php They having sale in Siam paragon and emporium from 6pm to 10pm. I cant find much on their own website.

Hi Elisa,
Here the singaporean embassy website in Bangkok.
http://www.mfa.gov.sg/bangkok/ perhaps you can call to check.

I am not very sure, i guess you have to check out with the reception when you get there. Perhaps they can suggest, which is a better wat to travel.

bloomiey

sasa: Forget about walking to BTS if you are staying at Baiyoke Sky/Baiyoke Suite. You can just walk down to Big C and Isetan for the distance you walked to nearest BTS. If you are going Isetan, then i would recommend you walk out of hotel to Pratunam market, along the way, you can walk to Pantip plaza, Platinum Mall thereafter Big C & WTC, further down would be Erawan Shrine, follow by Siam Paragon, then MBK (About 1hr+ slow walk for me).

Just a note, There are cheap tuktuk available early morning abt 9am, 10am outside Baiyoke Sky for 10 or 20baht to MBK, the condition is you MUST go jewellery factory which is opposite MBK. Probably start you journey from there down to Siam paragon then to WTC would be better.

I think there is an online registration for registering at embassy. I did that for my previous trip just for the fun of it.

Oh yes, Forgot to tell you abt Baiyoke Sky, no free newspaper unless you staying in Superior Suite. Anyway, the room/repair service there sucks, staff can't really understand English well, asked them abt VAT refund, they knew nothing. No Free internet, internet charges are high are business centre. They won't bother to come repair anything if there is anything in the hotel room that is spoil. Check your room condition immediately after checking in, make sure everything is working, otherwise request for change of room immediately.

elisasutiono

Hi Yanling,

Thanks for the info. Will take note of that ;p Looks like there's going to be a rally near Siam Paragon, probably would be a lot of traffic jam then.

andreal

hi sasa,
so elisa also u lar hehe. We tried walking from Eastin Hotel to Chit Lom BTS, ard 20-25mins? Well mayb from Baiyoke Sky might take 35min? It all depends how fast u walk etc :p We did that outa fun and curious to see what are the shops or facilities along the way. So u see if you can affort the time as well companion willing to walk?

Hmm btw yest nite heard channelnewsasia reported that shopping malls will be closed for 2 days..hmm hope the situation get beta.

icy

Yeap, Siam paragon, Siam discovery and Siam centre will be closed for 2 days.Zen and Isetan will be opened. The rally will start at 3pm today.

murakami_ne

Fisrt of all,I would like to inform some news bout riots in bangkok.They gonna move from Siam paragon area in April 1,2006.therefore,Siam paragon gonna opening again in April 1.Moreover,They gonna have the FIRST SUMMER SALE in April 1,2006 During 6pm - 10pm.GO GO!

Ok now this time i would like to recommend the pitch stop for sit back and relax during shopping spree along the Siam Area.There has plenty of restuarant ,cafe and fine bakery shop along siam ,sukhumvit and thonglor area.I would start with Siam Area first.because,it's the center of shopping place.it might useful for u gals

FIRST OF ALL HERE'S MAP OF SIAM SQUARE
"http://www.bangkoknavi.com/map/mapsiam/mapmark.html"
I will use some number of the shop in this map..you can serch it

let's start with

1.Le Notre Cafe
-This is original Cafe and confectionary shop from France.The Cafe has well known in France and Canne.It has got here at Thonglor,langsuan and Siam paragon mall.It's really Chic cafe and popular among celebs and A-list folks.They serve the best bakery especially Dark chocolate.I would recommend you guys to try some cake and confectionary here.

Recommended : Volute ( Dark chocolate stuffed with Chocolate mousse and Hazelnut biscuit and some crunchy nut) , Douceur Noisette ( popular menu** Dark choc 3 layers with Chocolate mousse)
Price range : 85 -125 baht for bakery
Located : Siam paragon Dining paradise floor (Underground)
http://www.bkkmenu.com/recommend/lenotre.html#

2.Whittard of Chelsea
-The original Fine Tea shop from UK.If we talking bout Best TEA in Siam Area,I would recommend this cafe.They have variety of Fine tea,Instant Tea,coffee,and Cake.I would recommend Fruit Instant Tea with Tea cake.If you need to act like British,This place is cool for TEA TIME.

Recommended : Fruit Instant tea ( Rasberry ,Mango etc ) ,Tea Cake ,and Banoffi
Price range : 75 -125 baht
Located : Siam paragon Dining paradise floor (Underground)
www.whittard.co.uk

3.Mango Tango
-Mango mania?? Must place to sit back.This shop is located among the buzzling street - siam square soi 4
It's really popular among the tourists,Teenager and Mango mania.They served many stuff which made from Mango Such as Smooties,Ice cream,Pudding etc.Moreover,I would recommend "Mango with sticky rice", " Ice cream Chou chou flavor,Tirumisu,Mango,Moji etc.It's very popular menus during Summer season.

Recommend : Mango with sticky rice ,Puddin, Smoothie mango with Jello,Mango cha cha cha ( various tropical fruits topping with Mango sauce,Fruit salad,Mango aloha etc
Price range : 35 -135 baht
Located : Siam square Soi 4 ..Number 9 (as map above) , or Mango tango BAR at Thonglor area
http://www.bangkoknavi.com/food/restaurant.php?id=15
http://www.nihonshokken.co.jp/thai/0504.html

4. Banana Banana
- For Banana's Lover.you gonna fall in love with this shop.It's located at 2 floor Lido Movie cineplex,Siam square.It has well known from bangkokian teenagers for 4 years.They have got many stuffs which made from banana such as Banana Milk shake,Banana waffle,Banana dipping with cold chocolate,Banana Crape,Banana fried covered with sweet powder and honey etc..let's try

Recommended : Banana Milk shake,Banana waffle,Banana dipping with cold chocolate,Banana Crape,Banana fried covered with sweet powder and honey etc
Price range : 25 - 135
Located : 2nd floor at Lido cinema complex ,Siam square (notice the conservative Cinema opposite to Siam center)

5. Iberry Ice cream
- Iberry is a home of ice cream potpourri. Whether it is Italian style ice cream- tiramisu- with an elegant bouquet of alcohol the moment it touches your tastebuds; or Japanese style ice creams- green tea, black sesame and white sesame- with herbs scents as an aroma therapy. There are also American style ice creams like cookie ‘n cream, chocolate chip, and banana and c heese for those who prefer rich and creamy texture. Health conscious fans who prefer lite ice cream could enjoy scoops of sorbets from around the world like strawberries, raspberry, blackberry, blueberry and kiwi.The signature ice cream of iberry would have to be Thai tropical fruits such as Ma-dun, Tamarind (Mak-ham), Santol (Gra-ton), Gooseberry (Ma-yom), Lynchee, Wild Orange (Som-jeed), Durian (Turian), Mangosteen (Mahng-koot), Mango (Ma-muang), and Coconut (Ma-prao). Khun Pla, iberry marketing executive, would like to introduce these Thai savory sorbets which rotate seasonally for the community to appreciate and enjoy. iberry sorts for the best combination of sources of fruits, types of breeds, and stages of ripeness.

Recommended : Depend on your Flavor
Price range : 135 baht
Located : Siam paragon dining floor and Siam square Soi 2

6.Vanilla Industry
- It's not just only Vanilla flavor.There has many style of Cakes.Moreover,They also have cooking workshop available for u gals who like to bake.This shop has 3 floors located at Siam square soi 11
They also have many cute stuffs for sale in the cafe.Talking bout Bakery.I would recommend" Heavy Chocolate for 80 baht" for beverage " Iced mint Chocolate for 60 baht ,Peanut butter choc shake for 130 baht..And the BEST menus is "Strawberry with fresh vanilla creme"

Recommended : "Strawberry with fresh vanilla creme"
Price range : 60 -300 baht
Located : Siam square soi 11
http://www.bkkmenu.com/recommend/vanila_industry.html

7. Kanom ( in thai mean " Dessert")
- Nothing interesting much Except The BEST EVER TART EGG -WHITE.U gals whom don't worry bout cholesterol.Go for it

Recommended : Tart Egg-white , Pies Mushroom,Egg-white cheesecake
Price range : 15 - 80 baht
Located : Siam square soi 3 ( Number 36 as map above)

8.Smootie and Juice Bar
- healthy drink is good for power.Healthy beverage is in trend among teenagers in BKK.so i would recommend this juce bar.they has got tons of fruit drink.i cannot recommend.but I'll give u some populars drink.For example, Flu blaster ( Orange,banana and strawberry),Freshy ( Green apple and lemonade),Sex me up ( Watermelon)
This shop is competitor with Smootie mania shop at Silom which I heard some our forum mention about here

Recommended : Ultimate detox (Carrot,green apple and lemonade) ,Fruit salad (Fruit salad with honey and yogurt)
Price range : 65 baht
Located : Siam Square soi 2

9.Mont Milk Bar
- It's all bout Bread and Milk.It has known for many years.If You like Thai Ice tea with Thai custard Bread.I would recommended this shop.They have got plenty menus.Milk,Ice creamand Bread.Their Bread with various mix such as Taro,Thai custard,sugar with butter,Corn soup,chocolate etc..it's getting along well with milk..RECOMMENDED

Recommended : Stir Bread with Thai custard and Green tea or white milk, Thai Iced tea,Red milk etc
Price range : 12 -30 baht
Located : 2nd floor MBK mall (Pathumwan princess side)

10.HAY ice creme
- Hay is homemade ice cream.The original shop come from Thonglor area.Now they have another branch at Siam paragon.This Ice creame shop is not Like Swesen Ice cream at Siam center.But it has got speciality Ice cream.The best recommend I would say "Mixed Berries Granita ".Or special menus like " Croissants ice cream" (Croissants stuffed with Vanilla Ice creame with Chocolate fudge and Icy powder.Or for those who like Toblerone.Thay also hast toblerome cheesecake which is really the best

Recommended : cake Fudge & Karamelly , Strawberry milk ice cream,Thai iced tea ice cream etc
Price range : 75-200 baht
Located : Siam paragon Dining paradise floor

Ok let's take a break for Bakery shop along siam area for now.I have got a plenty of place to recommend.I'll post more next time.I will show you more about CHIC and Trendy Bakery shop at Thong lor area next time.I hope you guys enjoy..Try to visit those place..I would say you would fall in love with it

got any question about Directions..feel free to ask anytime
To be continue

elisasutiono

Hi Andreal,

Yeah, sasa == elisa hehe. 35 minutes arh, i guess i can still can walk bah...(n shop along the way ;p).

WOW, i m just in time for Paragon sale. Yeah yeah, finally i my spirit got lift up a bit. Haha

Hi Macky,

Thanks for your detailed recommendation. Would you mind if i can print your post to bring along with me to Bangkok? I m sure my fiance will be delighted. haha.

andreal

Hey Macky,

wow...in the morn see your post sure made all of us wake up hehe. So nice tt u sharing w/ us, will try to look out the ones u listed as well inform my frens. Keep it going

icy

yah, i heard the rally will end this morning and then depending on the situation, they might come back on 7th april.

dazednconfused

HI...

My folks are presently in Bangkok. Here's what they had to say.

Peaceful demonstration under the Siam Square BTS Station a few days ago. Lots of people...Like ants. But no violence at all. The shopping area is back to normal now. Nothing threatening.

My thoughts:
They remain the same. Thailand is largely dependant on tourism. Hence, the people know that if they scare off tourists, they will only be crippling their economy. Generally, the Thais are very peaceful. I've always enjoyed my trips to Thailand. And will continue to do so.

mist

dun know how bad with the situation at bangkok persist leh.... me going on 14 april. dun know to cancel trip a not.

i think News last night indicated that they will stage another rally on 7 april again....

purple_rain

Hi Mist

Not to worry abt the rally, jusy keep yourself updated on the news & aviod going to rhe areas that are having rally.

when I was there last week, Rally started, thou I wanted to go Siam Sqaure, taxi refused to take us.

I have encountered several unhappy experience with the cabbies there. On one occasion, I wanted to go Chinatown, alrdy told the security guy at the hotel to inform the driver we are going Yaowarat by meter, & we got in. In the cab, the driver refused to on meter, my bf & i keep telling him meter, meter & he shook his head. then we say no & wanted to get down. He then on meter reluctantly & said BTS several time but we said no, no chinatown. When we saw a BTS station (Payathai). He stopped his car, off his meter & asked us to get down! We were so shocked & just got off the cab. It's so ridiculous... Luckily, a cab came by & agreed on meter to Chinatown. Another similar occasion was to Chatuchak.

purple_rain

Day 1 : Reach Baiyoke Sky ard 2pm, went to shop around in Pratunam area as rally in Siam Square. Wanted to seafood market at sukhumvit but cabby said rally, road closed. went to another seafood rest near florinda hotel which was expensive!

Day 2 - Pratunam again, MBK. Did not go Siam Paragon, Siam Discovery as closed. Night - Suam Lum Night Bazaar, did not buy much as read from forum that things at Suan Lum are more expensive than Chatuchak. Had dinner there which used coupon.

Day 3 - Chinatown, lunch at Hai Wai Tian, did not shop much at Sampheng Lane as quarrelled with bf & headed straight back to hotel =(, (planning to buy many accessories there) haiz... Late afternoon to night - (walked from Baiyoke Sky to siam area, damn far) Isetan, Siam Paragon, Siam Square, MBK again. Dinner at Nam Sing... haha... eat like a king & queen but pocket burned a hole

Day 4 - Chatuchak.

I made a silly mistake, the flight back to SIN was 1645 (BKK time), I thought was SIN time & reached Airport real early at 2pm (BKK time) cos scare of traffic jam. Yet the flight was postponed to 1815, spend 4 silly hours at the airport.

bloomiey

Purple Rain: Yeah very far from Baiyoke Sky to Siam Paragon. BKK Map are inaccurate in term of scale/proportion.
Which food and bird nest is better? Hai Wai Tian or Nam Sing? How much ya spend at Nam Sing? I wanna go eat dinner there too...

icy

Mist,
It will all depends on the election results, it should be out tomorrow.

Purple Rain,
Well, it seemed a bit werid for these few days for me as well, the taxi are lesser and they are all asking for higher price. It is the first time in the stay here that they want to bargain for price. I wonder if it is becos of the election and people are staying in.

For all,
Just updated a few places I been to last weekend since i also record in my blog for record purpose. :p

Pantip plaza is like previous Sim lim with LOTS of pirated movies @100baht each and games. Not much to shop, but i know some of my crazy ex-IT colleagues like to buy CD-R and DVD-R from there becos it could be cheaper.. but seemed like SG IT fair can be even cheaper.

I also went to Platinium Mall, a lot of clothings and accessories there. Earrings are sold at 10 baht each!! It is a wholesale shopping mall but it is more for the younger one with lots of colourful T-shirts and dresses.

Kobe Steak House is located at 460 Siam Square Soi 7. We tried the Bangkok Beef Set [350 baht], the beeft cube is very tender and juicy and it comes with a starter of teriyaki prawn, butter mushoom and veggie. We love the buttered mushroom but the beef cube have to be eaten hot to be nice. **** The fried soba is too sweet and comes with little noodle but lots of cabbage and bean spouts. * The teriyaki squid wasnt very BBQ, the insides wasnt removed at all.

We proceed to Mango Tango to have our dessert. Our order - Mango Tango with extra sticky rice [130 baht]. Mango Tango comes with Mango, Mango ice-cream and Mango Pudding. The ice-cream and pudding is quite ordinary, i actually prefer the sticky rice, it had some dried mango bits on top which makes it crunchy, sweet and it is fragrant with the coconut milk. Yummy.. Overall.. ****

Next time, I will just order the Mango with sticky Rice.

We also tried Nara Restaurant at We decide to try this Nara restaurant located at Erawan Bangkok, Basement 1. The ambience there simply look great. It is very classy and the service is very good. We told them that we want all the dishes to be just a bit spicy and it all turns out well.. just nice enough for us to take it. Thumbup!

Strongly recommend Nara's coconut ice-cream [65 baht] - This is the BEST coconut ice-cream I ever taste!! It is not those creamy form, but it is like a sorbet with lots of coconut bits and it is service with some red ruby around it. *****

purple_rain

Hi Yanling

I tried shark's fin at both restaurant & bird nest (4th grade, hee...) at Hai Wai Tian. Bird nest can't really tell good or bad cos 4th grade. Shark's fin at Nam Sing is better.

Tried bird nest, shark's fin & fried Hong Kong noodle at HWt, cost 865B.

Shark's fin, crab with glass noodle, BBQ "big head" prawn cost 850B.

I ate alot of roadside stalls, wanton mee, pork sausages, corn, fruits... Spend more on food, also tried MK steamboat...

mist

hi purple rain,

thanks for the update. hmmm, seems like you miss some places due to the rally.... you still go to Chatuchak right? got anything great there?

oh, the taxi drivers are keeping low profile as well ah.... hmmm, think i need to be careful when i go there too.

hi icy,

thanks for the update. my friend recommended me to go to the Condom restaurant, hv you tried food there before? she say decor of restaurant is very cute, and they even give free 1 condom after dinner. :p

purple_rain

Hi Mist

Yes, I went to Chatuchak. It's very big, i just keep going round & round, hee... Things are cheaper than Suam Lum Night bazaar.

Just be more alert when taking taxis, The drivers are really notorious during raining days. When I was at Suan Lum, it was raining so many ppl wana take cab back to hotel. All the taxis we flagged request for flat rate, they refused to take us if we asked for meter, this implied to all other tourists too... We got no choice & bargain for 100B back to hotel where from hotel to Suan Lum is abt 80B.

The taxis outside MBK too, the rain just stopped & taxis were queueing by the roadside instead of the taxi stands, the Q was super long. the taxis even asked for 200B back to Baiyoke Sky which normally is abt 40B - 50B! Then my bf bargained with tuk tuk for 70B, really got the shock on how they drive tuk tuk, really exciting... haha... but cant stand the exhaust smokes...

bloomiey

Purple Rain: Wow, you are lucky! You manage to get a tuktuk back from 70B. Noon or night? I last went MBK, they refused to fetch me back to hotel and all tuk tuk wanted at least 120B and above at night. And you ate those few food at Namsing and HWT for such high price? Food is way too cheap in BKK... So what you bought at Chatuchak?

icy: Where is mango tango located? Forgotten to write down in my itinery. The next time i go, i must try it too. All mango stuff?? any other fruits? Food?
Need some recommendation from you for food as well. Any place sell nice food, No Beef, Non-Spicy or little spice other than street hawkers.

purple_rain

Hi Yanling

Cos the menu of Nam Sing & HWT are all above 300B, somemore i ordered food like shark's fin, crab & prawn, mayb will be expensive, nevertheless, we enjoyed the food at both restaurant.

I bought 3/4 pants at 99B each, cheap lingerie (average 40B per pcs), a big kitty bag to put all my things...

mist

hi purple rain,

wow, looks like a real bargaining with the taxi drivers hor?? I think it is easier for me, cos i will be staying at asia hotel, can easier take BTS. the food at Nam sing is a must try?? seems abit pricey though... hehehe... anyway, i see how first lah.

wow, lingerie so cheap huh?? me a fan of nice and sweet lingerie one leh... where you get them huh??

purple_rain

Hi Mist,

As long as u insist on meter,will be fine, unless night time when taxis are on igh demand, which i think they will always insist on high fixed rate.

I bought lingerie at Chatuchak under the No's brand which has several stalls in Chatuchak. Thou is not kinda brand but still comfy. They have many designs ranging from sexy lacy to cutie...

Hi Susan,

Suan Lum is open every day during night time. It's just an alternative to Chatuchak weekend market but things are slightly expensive, be ready to slash the price by half...

purple_rain

Hi Stanley,

It will be better to go on weekends as all stalls are open, do go in the morning as it can be very hot & crowded, walking in the lanes.

bloomiey

stanley tan: Chatuchak is a weekend market open only on Saturday and Sunday Early Morning til 6pm only.
Friday morning til evening is for wholesalers, not many stalls open for sale.

Ugly duckling: I heard the rides are old, not very suitable for adults play cos the rides are that thrilling. It caters more for kids. Its far from Bangkok town. Further than airport to bangkok hotel. So its advisable to book from dreamworld to provide transport or take a transport via bus and mrt.

icy

Mist,
You should be talking abt the cabbage and condom restaurant, i havent go and try yet. I have a restaurant guide here, according to the guide:

Cabbages and condoms, Thai, 10 Sukhumvit Soi 12 BTS: Asoke MRT: Sukhumit. Open daily, lunch & dinner. Indoor and prettily lit garden areas. Service can be a little slow but the food is worth while. Declious whole chickens. percentage of the profit goes to population control and AIDS charities. (Free condoms instead of complimentary sweets!) Handicraft in compound is open during restaurant hours. Good for Visitors.

I buy lingerie from Isetan, they used to accept Isetan card discount here. wacoal is very much cheaper. But i recommend trying on every piece as Thai cutting ehem is a bit werid for some.. it is more 'outward pointing" LOL.

Yanling,
Mango Tango is available at Siam Square, top of Emporium and Thonglor. They all sell mango desserts and drinks. For the one at siam, you walk along the main road of siam (if u coming from MBK), once u see Boots, turn into the small road (should be soi 4). I had tried Hard Rock Cafe here, not very fastantic and the price is ex.

What food are you looking at?

For thai Restaurant, Bann Khanitha & Nara is very good. Bann Khanitha is located at 69 South Sathorn. It is an award winning restaurant, very popular among tourists. Opening: 11-2pm & 6pm-11pm pricing is around 700 baht for 2.

Stanley,
I have an oudated guide here, it states that the pet section are opened all weeks. Section 25 and 26 are opened on friday afternoon. Section 25 and 26 are items like antique lamps, chinese silk pottery etc.Peninisula plaza is over at Chitlom and Chatuchak park is far away at Mo Chit.

purple_rain

Hi Snowy casper

I do not know the exact address but Hai Wai Tian is at Chinatown near to White Orchid Hotel, Nam Sing is at MBK 3rd floor. I could not find Nam Sing in Chinatown so settle with HWT.

purple_rain

Hi Snowy casper

I do not know the exact address but Hai Wai Tian is at Chinatown near to White Orchid Hotel, Nam Sing is at MBK 3rd floor. I could not find Nam Sing in Chinatown so settle with HWT.

bloomiey

Purple Rain: Ah!!! You missed that Nam Sing @ Chinatown? Its just a right turn after the Hai Wai Tian.
Beside Hai Wai Tian is street hawkers selling those seafood and bbq stuff right? On the right turn, 1st or 2nd shop is Nam Sing. About 2 to 3 shops away only...Anyway its good that you didn't go there try. I think the food there isn't that good as compared to MBK Nam Sing. Only went there for bird nest. The bird nest drink they served was as good as yellowish plain cold water. :p

icy: Thanks for the recommendation
Is it near to Hard Rock Cafe?

snowy_casper: There isn't any BTS near Chinatown. Unless you are prepared to walk from MRT to Chinatown. Might get lost... i dunno, haven't try. From the info i found, the nearest MRT is Hua Lam Phong Station.