Bangkok

bubble

Anyone went to Bangkok for shopping ? Just wonder when is their sales period , where shd we go for shopping, any hotel near shopping area ?

Thks.

dap

Hi bubble

not sure about Sales period but everything is so cheap there that it seems anytime is sales time. When you go Bangkok, "top up" your lingerie at MBK shopping centre, shop at Chatuchap market on sat and sun for great deals and also at Pratunam wholesale market.

jes

bubbles

the usual and cheaper hotel that is available in most travel agent is Asia Hotel. the location of this hotel is good, near shopping area (walking distance) and near Mrt. the hotel is abit old as compare to others but its still ok.

sawadikaaaaa

i recommend world trade centre
more things to buy!
nice hotel to stay in will be Sol Twin, but not near to town, but wat the hell, taxi's so cheap!

jes

but beware of the taxi driver...they will 'chop' you if you dun fix a price with them first before you board even though they are meters taxi.

twinkle

Hi bubbles,

I've been to Bangkok many times...
I can say its a good place to get cheap and nice things...

There's this 'Holiday Inn' hotel, opposite the World Trade Center. Won't say its really near... But within walking distance to World Trade Center and Zen shopping center. Its quite cheap there, if I'm not wrong its only $30 per day. Should be 3* hotel lar.
Another place, if I'm not wrong either 4 or 5* hotel, also very near to the World trade center is Amari Watergates... Its very classy... If I'm not wrong, slightly more expensive... about $90 per day... Not very sure about the rates now... cos the last time i was there was last year Feb... somemore, i was on business trip then... so its coporate price... but its definately more luxuries than 'Holiday Inn'... got gym, sauna, etc...

Shopping places to intro:
1) MBK
lots to shop... something like s'pore far east plaza... bags, clothes, shoes, cosmetics, even giodano...
but this place can't really bargain lor... but things there also relatively cheap...
2) Siam Center (next to MBK)
there's this sports shop... something like world of sports kind... selling some cheap and nice sports items... i would think Addidas there very cheap... comparing in S'pore... actually most places... Addidas (real ones) quite cheap lor... worth buying...
3) Cha Tu Chat market
Its an open air market... something like Pasar Malam alike... very big place to get souviners... there's different sections in the market... clothes 1 side... souviners 1 side... pets (goldfish... even roasters...) 1 side lor... But only opened on Sunday... Its definately a good place to get cheap and nice souviners for frens over there...
4) Pratunum market
Its more like an wholesale market, where you get cheaper clothes, cos its directly from the wholesalers... There's also this authentic jersey shop there, where they sell relatively cheap but authentic jerseys...
But beware cos that place is rather crowed and small... may tend to get very warm as time past...
Also, there's this shop selling cheap soft toys... Inside the shopping center like place at Pratunum, there's also cheap cosmetics available... if you dun mind no brand blusher and eye shadows... there're all very cheap there lor...
But becos its a wholesale market, its close early olso.... should be around 5p.m. lar... dun go there too late if you wanna grab something nice and good...
5) World Trade Center
Its something like Isetan kind... clothes there also quite cheap lor... but not as cheap as in those wholesale market... Levis there also cheaper...
6) Zen (next to world trade center)
Another shopping place like Isetan kind... can shop shop lar... may get nice and cheap branded stuffs... clothes... shoes...
7) Central (at Silom)
Also similar to Seiyu kind... Things there are okie lor...
8) Sogo (Opp World Trade, near to Planet Hollywood)
Things there are quite expensive... Similar to local Sogo...
9) Pat Pong (near Silom)
Its like night Pasar Malam... more like nightspots... but beware not to kanna chop my those stall holders, cos they tend to set prices higher there... bags, watches, clothes, belts... mostly authentic...
10) Chinatown
Din go there before, cos its too far from the central... but heard from colleagues... similar to s'pore chinatown lor...
11) Planet Hollywood
Opp. world trade, on the stretch of Sogo... just walk all the way down...
Havent tried the food there b4... but heard from colleagues not very nice... but can try lor... shldnt be too ex....
12) Hard Rock Cafe
Opp. MBK and Siam Center, quite abit of distance opp lor... need to walk for awhile...
Food there is nice and cheap... Very big serving also... if you are not a big eater like me... can share 2 ppl with 1 set dinner...
13) Another shopping place but cant remember its name
Din really shop there, cos there's no air con... quite crammed... something like far east... juz smaller...

Things that are worth buying/trying:
1) Undergarment
Almost all brands (wacoal, triumph, etc...) much much cheaper than in S'pore... definately worth stocking up.

2) Sharks fins
Very cheap and alot... there's this Thai Sharks Fin restaurant in Sogo... Another place is Chinatown... Not sure of the exact location, but my colleagues mentioned that its more and cheaper... Comparing to S'pore... ex and little... this is definately worth a try...
3) Addidas
Like I've mentioned above, worth buying lor... relatively much cheaper...

Oops... hope I'm not too loso... such a long msg... :p

twinkle

Yes... yes... b4 you board the taxis, muz make sure they turn on the meter... muz tell them to turn on 1st b4 u board, else they might really 'chop' you...

twinkle

Oops... another place missed out...
Big C
Its something like Giant or Carrefour in S'pore... can get foodstuffs, etc... even cooked food there...
Its very near to the 'Holiday Inn' hotel... Opp. World Trade Center.
From world trade, you will be able to see the big sign board 'BIG C'...
Not very near... but within walking distance from World Trade...

bubble

thks for the info.

Twinkle - do u book the hotel here or in Bangkok ?
Most of the time where did u stay ?

Is it easy to take cab in Bangkok at nite ? Once, i went and found that it's real difficult.

Any place to buy things for house ?

twinkle

Hi bubble,

I book the hotel thru my travel agency where they get the ticks for me also. I always book "Holiday Inn" if I'm there myself. Else 'Amari Watergates' if its on business trip.

Cabs... quite easy mah... but muz make sure they turn on their meters b4 u board.

Also, when buying things, try to bargain abit for best deals.

Things for house? U mean deco? or household items like pillows... bedsheets?

sawadikaaaaa

generally i think book thru agency here will be a better deal
for eg, i went in jan for only $290++ something, add some other costs is exactly $333, inclusive of hotel, transfers and air tickets. cheap cheap lah. let the agency take care of everything

luzon888

Hi Bubble

Do not board any cab or Tuk Tuk just outside the hotel cos the driver will always suggest to bring u to somewhere else to shop where they can earn commission. Walk further away from the hotel to get a cab, like what Twinkle has mentioned earlier... turn on the meter once u board the cab.

U can get nice curtains (button-type loop), plates, chopsticks, zen design lamps, candles... etc... at Chatuchat, the weekend market. It will definitely be more convenient if u're staying at Asia Hotel which is next to the MRT station. It's abt 5 or 6 station away from Chatuchat... just check with the hotel concierge. Asia Hotel is quite affordable if u don't mind tourist class or 3/4 star hotel. There's even a Thai massage palour just next to the hotel and it's abt 400batt excluding tips. You will need it after your shopping at Chatuchat.

Happy shopping!

twinkle

Hi bubbles,

Relatively speaking, the things are cheap there. For home deco, like wood stuffs (more common in Thailand) will depend on the type you are referring to... some can be very cheap... some can priced high also...
But 1 thing in Bangkok, you must bargain for the best price. Cos being a tourist there, they'll definately qoute a higher price 1st b4 they slash it down.
For home deco, you can look for some at chatuchat market... else, if the place is still around. i remember seeing one of those home deco shop opp. the world trade center... its not exactly nice, big shopping center kind... but can definately get nice tradition deco and souvieniers there.
Suggestion, you go to the chatuchat market 1st, then look at other prices...
i remembered there's a very nice furniture shop at pat pong... along the road side... my uncle bought a sofa there... there's a couple of nice furniture there olso, maybe you can go there take a look...
else... along the road side, there's also some stalls selling some deco...
but impt thing is muz bargain, else you might kanna chop...

jes

in bangkok there's this 'tradition', usually if you are the first customer for the day, they will usually 'give in' to your bargain price, cos they believe this is a good start for the day.

so if you really want to buy something, go early in the morning.

Chutuchuk market is the beat to shop for their variety and price, there are household stuff there too. MBK is relatively more expensive then Chutuchuk market.

sawadikaaaaa

would like to ask u girls...... for those who bought bulky furnitures, how did u guys send it back to singapore?

tigerlily

Everyday is a sale period. *LOL*

I really love Chatuchuk Market!!! they've got like everything and anything! We bought very nice ready-made curtains there, and the wooden utensils. the MRT goes straight there.

you MUST bargain no matter what... unless it's really very cheap already.

Siam International is a very nice hotel, and very centrally located. If you want THE BEST... go to THE ORIENTAL. It's was voted one of the best in Asia. 6 star hotel. The service is supposed to be even better than the Shangri-La.

ilyena

If I have these choices of hotel to choose from..which one is the best in order to maximise my shopping expedition?

Pathumwan Princess / Amari Watergate / Novotel Siam Square / Montien patpong / Montien Riverside / Le Meridien President

twinkle

Hi sawadikaaaaa,

The last time my uncle bought a set of sofa... he got the shop owner to deliever from him. Think have to pay the postage fee... It'll come a weeks after you return to S'pore. U state the date. But make this this shop is really reliable kind lar.

astrud

i having some thots of buying a day bed fr Bangkok? Anyone has any recommendations?

i noe that some of the shops will have it shipped to S'pore at a cost. Will they play us out by not sending it? I noe of ppl buying carpets, paid for everthg and it never arrived. Anyone knows any reputable furniture shop to recommend?

Appreciate your help!

lcp

anyone knows how much thai silk costs in Bangkok and where can get good thai silk? Is it a good material for making a dress?

tigerlily

HI LCP,

thai silk is a very good material for making dress. BUT you cannot wash it!!! once you wash it, the shape goes.

el

Anybody has any idea where to get cheap air tickets to Bangkok? Went to several websites but the tickets are not as cheap as they claim to be.

linda

Luzon is right. Normally the internet airfares are much more ex. Go to any tour agencies and ask. Chances are you get something like $288 onwards...probably taking Scandinavian Air (SAS) and staying at BKK Palaace or Asia Hotel.
If not try Finn Air. Both flies Mon, Wed, Fri at night abt 9pm. Reach BKK abt 12mn our time.

duchess

There is this hotel opp WTC, named Arnoma Hotel.
My Boss always stay there when he goes business trip. So it shld be quite good cos he quite fussy type.

Another hotel is pathumwan princess, my hubby stay there before and he said security quite good.. got security people petroling in case of whores looking for business.

Hotels in BKK is relatively cheap, so try stay in better ones cos you won't get those rates in elsewhere.

For wholesale markets, it is right next to a hotel named BaiYoke Sky (which is the tallest hotel in BKK, told by travel agent) right next to it.

Good buy there are T-shirts and those pack of 6s kiddy shoes in a range of different size for age 1 to 8 years... at wholesales price. Imagine 6 pairs of footwear for the price of 1 pair in Singapore.

Sure great buy for giving out to relatives kids and friends.

By the way, since nobody mention abt the trafic, I'd like to say that in BKK, all roads are 1-way.
If anyone told you there's a sale in whatever jewellary, don't be taken in.

Last year we were there.. A man told me and hubby the a jewel sale is going on, today tax is x%, tomorrow tax increase.. must buy... then give us route instruction. we decide to pretend "gong gong" follow the route and along the way, met another man "so kind" as to point us to the right way when we decide to U-turn back when we tot safe to u-turn.

Anyway, we did get to the shop but out in 2 minutes, but we also gain cos when we try to find our way back to the shopping belt, found a local resturant with very good price menu...

Enjoy your trip in BKK, I'm going too in Aug or Dec.

dreamer

i'm going to bkk in aug & the hotel for the pkg is Narai hotel. anyone heard before? hmm...seems like the weekend mkt is really interesting, but i'm going there during weekdays
sigh......

how abt spa? is the price reasonable?

twinkle

Hi dreamer,

Other than the weekend market... you can also visit the wholesale market... 'Pratunum', the MBK - 'Ma Boon Kong' shopping center... Siam Square... along the streets you may also find some interesting things lor...
You're not staying till weekend huh?
Not sure abt spa... but heard the massage there is good... quite pro...

dreamer

hi twinkle,

no my stay there is fr. monday to thursday. i also heard fr friends that the thai massage is cheap. have you tried before? anyway thanks for sharing

twinkle

Will be going to Haiyat this weekend.
Always been to Bangkok, but no Haiyat.
Anything I should look out for over there?
Any nice and cheap things I can get there?
Where to go?
I'll be staying in Lee Garden Plaza.
Pls share your comments.

twinkle

Hi dreamer,

Ya... the massage is cheap and good...
I din try it thou, scared pain...

But many of my colleagues tried it b4...
Say its bery good... can song(1) jing(1) gu(3)...
Can really remember the price... but definately much much cheaper than in s'pore...
But muz beware lar... cos some of this massage palor not really decent one... Muz check b4 going in lor...
So... when are you going over?
No problem lar...
Things you can get at the Sunday market, can also get else where lor...
Juz that outside, the variety might not be as much and the price might be slightly higher...
But in BK, most things are relatively cheap lar...

jes

i've tried the thai massage twice when i was in bangkok, its abt $20 plus per session and its a good experience....sometimes i do feel like i am performing some acrobats ;p
your whole body will feel 'relax' after the massage, and its not that painful..usually the massager will know your tolerance level. but if you really feel pain then you can tell her.

ling

Is Bangkok dangerous to go? I intend to go for honeymoon and its only 2 of us goin is it danger cos some of you say hv to let the guys go up the taxi first sound so scary??

Is it very polluted there ?

Is it a nice place for honeymoon?

Is there any hotel with spa package which is worth it ?

ling

Shld we book the hotel and ticket separately or go for agency? Which is the best agency?

sorri like too much question :p

cos i first time been there! and not familiar witht the rates. cos most agency tat i ask is abt 500++ it is expensive?

Actually many major cities have their fair share of danger. But as long as u exercise some common sense, u guys will do fine. My hubby and i have been to Bangkok a few times by ourselves and we had alot of fun eating and shopping there. I didn't even hear of the taxi stunt at all! But we usually flag taxis at hotels n major department stores so we didn't think twice abt who shld go in first. The most we probably got cheated abit when the taxi took some long route to get bk to our hotel. Just beware of pple walking up to u and trying to get u to go to some jewellery shop w cheap bargains. Quite a number of cases of Singaporeans getting conned into buying inferior gems. We just ignored those touts and went ard by ourselves. No problems at all.

Polluted? Erm, it can get quite dusty and some areas can smell but that's the charm of the city! If u stay ard the shopping district of Siam Square, MBK, World Trade Centre, u probably will be too distracted by all the shops to care abt anything else

Oh, we actually did go to Bangkok for our honeymoon...we planned it together w a trip to Koh Samui..so it was a shop, eat and beach resort honeymoon. Really nice after a hectic busy wedding day
It depends on what u want for a honeymoon lor. Personally we loved it! And it wasn't too expensive either.

How long are u planning to go? I think a 4D/3N trip will cost ard $500+/pax depending on the airline & hotels u choose. U can get cheaper packages if u choose cheaper (ie later) flights n hotels. But if its ure honeymoon, just splurge a little lah..that is if u can afford it

dreamer

hi twinkle,

i'm going on the 5th. so you are going haiyat, is it for shopping, beach or sightseeing trip?

hi ling,

dun worry lah just be careful & dun talk to strangers. my trip to bkk is three hundreds plus but its a nite flight.

ling

Halo Alhana,

Thanks for all ur info.
at first i was thinkin of goin to phuket but heard fm agency tat it was a monsoon season.(im goin on 1st week of Oct). So decided to change to bangkok but not familiar there!

U went there for honeymoon! Koh samui was a nice place, Im lookin for beach resort and shopping honeymoon. When u went there? Wat was the price that u pay for these 2 places? I was planning for 5D4N for 2 places eg:Bangkok & Koh samui. If only bangkok i will go 4D3N.

twinkle

Hi dreamer,

Ya... me going there to pray...
Then shop shop abit lor...
Heard the things there are far more cheaper than in BK. But the place there is not very big. I'll be onli going there for 3 days...
Btw, you should get the undergarments there... very cheap... Adidas(the real one) there is also alot cheaper... probably becos its manufactured there...
U're on tour group or free and easy?

B4 you board the taxi, make sure the driver turn on the meter... Then should be ok lar... Dont travel anywhere alone lor...
There still quite ok lar... As long as you dun anyhow follow ppl anywhere should be alrite.
Btw, u on tour group or free and easy?

ling

Hi twinkle,

Im on free and easy. Do you think oct is a good time to go bangkok and Koh samui or phuket?

Which hotel shld i stay which is convenience for me? I want to go MBK, WTC, hmmm and the weekend market.

kas

hi hi, can i join in the discussion? Me also going bangkok next week. So excited abt it!! Looking forward to all the shopping & eating. Not really a shopping person but the things in Bangkok are just so cheap that i cant resist. Must go there to get undergarments too. Real cheap! It's also my 1st time there but all my frens already telling me so much abt the place.

hi Ling, you can try Sunny Holidays at Bugis Junction. I got my ticket there for less than $500 for a 4D3N trip by Thai Airlines. They specialise in Thailand trips, so should be quite good. Their service is not bad too.

ling

girls,

if you are going to bangkok, can go to eat at this resturant. should be at region hotel(can't really remember the name.) anyway, the resturant is call spice market. it is really very nice. you can never get this type of food in singapore. you can catch a taxi there. My bf and I eat about only s$100 for that good food.

But do not go to their Thanying resturant. the food is no good.

there is another resturant which is call condom and cabbages. the food is ok also.

actually, the things at chuptochup market are not that cheap. i remember the photo album (you will see alot) with elephants popping out cost me double the price that i can get from world trade centre.

as for pat pong, you can get t-shirts there. there is a whole lot . we bought a lot of t-shirts(those with funny verse) and one cost something like s$2-3. and those children t-shirts with thing popping out (like fish, crocodile, giraffe,etc) i bought it for 80baht each.(i think i bought 10pices of that for my nephew.) (cos' i know that in holland village, they are selling for s$19.90 for that t-shirt)

twinkle

Think Oct should be okie... Cos now bery hot...
U can stay at the hotel opposite WTC, Arnoma (cant remember the spelling, but should be this pronouciation) or slightly further, also opposite WTC, near to the Big C (supermarket), its called Holiday Inn... Relatively cheap and very accessible to many places.
If yr hotel is near to WTC, its quite accessible lor... Very near to the sunday market... I think it onli took me less than 15mins to get from my hotel (Holiday Inn) to the market.
Also quite near to the pratunum market... if u dun mind, can walk abit to find yr way there. (Best get a map)
Else, juz get a cab lor... cos its very near onli.
For MBK, slightly further... but distance wise also ok. can get there by train or cab lor...
If u wanna stay near MBK and SIAM Sq, I think there's few hotels there... Siam Hotel...
But best I think you stay near the WTC... cos its more accessible there lor...

Yes, I've heard tt Oct is the monsoon season in Southern thailand. U can chk out the local tourism websites for more weather info. I believe places like Phuket, Samui n Krabi will have their own tourism websites filled w useful travel info.

During my last visit to Bangkok, I stayed in Novotel Siam Square. Quite a nice hotel (think its 4 stars) in a v good location. Its right inside SIam Square (which is filled w small shops selling trendy clothes, youth oriented goods etc) and just a few minutes walk to MBK. Pathumwan Princess is also a good option. Its connected to MBK so v convenient. Other nearby hotels I've stayed in included Siam Inter-Continental (think no more already though) and Arnoma (opp WTC). If u wanna go to chatuchak, think u can either take cab or just take the MRT and walk. should be q easy.

I went to Samui in March and the weather was perfect beach weather. All sun and blue skies kinda weather. I think Dec-Mar is supposedly one of the better periods to go if I'm not wrong. My stay in BKK that time was free coz my friend paid for our hotel stay as her present to us. The Samui trip was also arranged by her (she's a Thai) but we paid. It was ard $1.3k for the 2 of us, incl return domestic flight (Bkk-Samui-Bkk) for a 3D/2N stay. The air tix to Bkk fr SIN was ard $315 each (we took SQ). Quite pricey actually but the hotel in Samui was top notch. It was a very exclusive all-suite hotel w its own private beach. So i guess the whole trip cost us ard $2.5k incl expenses.

m2m

Just some experiences that I would like to share:

Taxi - Even you make sure that they have turn on the meter, if you do not give them the exact fare, they will not refund you the change. Always ask the hotel staff for small change and GIVE THEM EXACT.

WTC - Nothing much, just some isetan type shops. A pair of jeans is about S$80/- in one of the shop. Not worth it if you are bargain hunter.

Ma Boon Krung - Very cheap shoes. About S$6/- each for a nice sandal!

No worries about travelling as a couple. I am making plans to visit Bangkok again!