Bangkok

starris

hey can I check with you where can I get good and cheap home deco stuffs from BKK? I think in the newspapers some weeks ago, BKK was featured as one of the top 5 shopping districts and there were some furniture shops feature too...but I lost that article
Can anyone help?

dottyback

Hi mist i oso almost booked the trip from Zuji but by the time i wanna book the dates i wan dun haf oreadi..so bobian lor..hehe so wad time is ur flight?

purple_rain

Hi Mist,

U can reach there by taxi but will encounter trraffic jam cos the roads in chinatown always get congested. Cos heard from forum, if go chinatown, muz try shark's fin & bird nest at HWT & Nam Sing, so I did tried HWT at Chinatown & Nam Sing at MBK. Bird nest so-so cos 4th grade (100B), shark's fin at Nam Sing is good! (250B/small). If i go BKK again, i muz try the roadside stalls mentioned by yanling especially those seafood... I love SEAFOOD!

Hi Starris,

Try Suan Lum Night Bazaar & Chatuchak weekend market, they sell deco stuff like paintings, table lamps, lightings, etc...

Hi Sasa,

The Dim Sum buffet is like those push trolley... If u wan, den the waitress will push over & u choose what u wan... Apart from eating dim sum buffet, u also can eat their international buffet, also have roast duck, roast meat, char siew & wanton mee stall, the price includes everything, but not much variety on the int'l buffet. I can say that the dim sum buffet are freshly made, the ingredients are always with prawns which is fresh.

bloomiey

Back back...

starris: Suan Lum has some nice "designer" styled lightings, furnitures & deco shops. Not sure the price. Someone bought Zen lighting from there too.

Purple Rain: JB has cheap seafood too. Did you go there too? Satays cost RM0.40, Stingray RM8. etc.. They are nice and cheap alternatives too.
Ah.. 4th grade bird nest is what type ah?? I ate 3rd grade bird nest with gingko nuts @ NamSing Chinatown @ 300baht. Quite good.

Gonna try out the tim sum buffet @ Baiyoke Sky. Got fried spring roll? Char Siew Bun? Desserts?

purple_rain

Hi Yanling,

JB seafood also nice. Once we, 6 ppl order 1 whole table of dishes only RM100, eat until very shiok...

4th grade is 100B only, only bird nest with rock sugar. Cant see the difference whether is good or bad grade... haha...

I try to recall the menu; god char siew bao, har kow, Chicken's feet, pai gu, seaweed roll, shrimp ball in sauce, siew mai, crabstick with minced chicken & prawn, somethin like siew mai but the skin is transparent (nice), fried prawn dumpling.... still got more, but i never order...

mist

Yanling: thanks for the info. maybe i also can check out haiWaiTian. hehehe... aiyo, my excited cos flying off next friday liao....

Purple rain: hmmm, how much does it cost to go chinatown by taxi huh??? hehehe.... dun wanna get "chop" by the drivers there man... ;p

Serene: yah, when i book that time, i'm on waiting list for both flight and accomodation leh.... actually asia hotel is not in their package one. Then when my flight is confirmed, they offered me Twin towers. but i dun want cos too far, then they gave me Asia loh. hehehe

dottyback

mist hehe i nv stayed in asia hotel b4 coz all the previous times i went i stayed in novotel siam square..i like the location alot heheheh

starris

How abt the "shipping back". If I want to buy huge items like painting or lounge chairs, how do I ship buy or carry back?

bloomiey

Btw, for Bangkok Taxi, the meter won't move if there is a waiting time/traffic jam. The meter only move by the distance travelled. As stated inside the taxi, there will be extra charges incurred if there is a heavy jam. Getting there from Baiyoke Sky/MBK is ard 60-80baht

starris: Normally bulky items are being post back thru delivery service...

mist

Serene: Then maybe we will "meet" each other at Asia hotel loh!! hehehe..

Yanling: i thought meter will still jump even though got traffic jam? btw, how long is it from the airport to asia hotel huh?? you know? I hope the traffic will not be crawling.

bloomiey

mist: By Taxi, I think about 20mins or less if no jam. Definitely not more than 180baht by meter (No Jam). Oops sorry, the meter still jump when there is jam/waiting. Just that the driver might ask for more money for jam.

purple_rain

Does anyone book Asia Hotel thru Asiarooms before? Cos it seems that Asiarooms only offered 1 rate as other hotel bookings website have several room types such as Cabin, Superior & deluxe. I was afraid if booked thru Asiarooms, the hotel will give cabin room with no windows. Anyone care to share?

gigi20

do you think its still safe to go bangkok now? all the political unrest and protests... was planning to go in may but not so sure how the situation will be like... anybody just came back??

bloomiey

Purple Rain: Yeah I noticed that too. Their type of rooms available is limited. A hotel room with no window, facing 4 walls is boring. Try Bangkok City Inn
hee.. seems quite good to me. When your next trip? ;lol

gigi20: You outdated already... . Its only rally, anyway its over for now. Going on end of may might be safer abit probably..

purple_rain

Hi Yanling,

I want budget hotels near to BTS, either Asia or Samran Place. Thinking of going in Aug or Sep, haha... now just browse for fun only

duckling78

Hi Purple

which hotel did u stay the other round i have not book my hotel yet although i have my ticket thinking of asia but as what u say i do not wantt a hotel with no window and he cost much compared to other hotel.

As for bangkok city inn quite cheap but hor heard that the place so so only since only 2 star.

Me thining of bankok Palace but not sure accessible a not...Is it near BTS?

sputnik

Was thinking of gg BKK in Jun. For those who just came back, is it very hot there now? Worried that it will be very hot in Jun as well.

purple_rain

Hi ugly duckling,

i stayed in baiyoke sky but not near to BTS, thinking of staying Asia or Samran the next round.

Bangkok Palace is not near BTS too

icy

heelo..
now here very quiet already, quiet town now with very little taxi becos of the water festival tomorrow. So happy as I coming back to sg at end of this mth. :D

purple_rain, found ur answer for visa? perhaps u wanna call the thai embassy in sg for help. I bought 1 way tix here, also apply visa, but more becos of the dependent pass.

Sputnik,
The hotest mth here is April-June, but expect more sudden rain during june.

ugly duckling,
bangkok palace not near any BTS at all.

bloomiey

Wow... today news.. Thaksin is gonna make a comeback after his worldtour... They aren't going to quit... Rally gonna start again..

Bangkok City Inn may seem 2* but the rooms are nice.

icebaby0

Purplerain,

If you don't mind walking abit, then take samran place cos that one confirm got WINDOWS. You don't have to worry like Asia Hotel whether or not book got windows. What's more, the price is cheaper by almost 30-40% (savings of 600 baht onwards per night) compared to Asia room.

But of course, if you want convenience and a buffet breakfast, then Asia hotel will be a better choice.

purple_rain

Hi Icy,

Thanks, will try to look for more info.

Hi Icebaby,

Is Samran Place near to BTS? heard that Samran Place is just beside Asia Hotel

purple_rain

Hi Icy,

Thanks, will try to look for more info.

Hi Icebaby,

Is Samran Place near to BTS? heard that Samran Place is just beside Asia Hotel

icebaby0

Purple_rain,

To me, I feel it's nearby...walking distance from BTS. About 7 mins if u walk like it's a stroll (I went with my parents + 3 yrs old son....so have to walk slow. My dad timed 7 mins!)

I guess my opinion is, if u stay at samran you save more than 600 baht a night. 600 a night you can take more than enough cab if you are too lazy to walk. (i.e. MBK to Samran is only about 40-45 baht) I guess that's how I do the calculation.

icebaby0

Oh...at the BTS at Rachachewi (i.e. staircase walking upwards), there is a small massage place. Nothing fantastic abt the place just a small shop but the leg massage was pretty good. 1hr - 180 baht done by "males". That is if you are staying near Asia or Samran and decide to relax and go for an inexpensive leg massage and nearby.

mist

i just came back from bangkok yesterday. hmmm, for my trip, still quite okay. No riots. it's the songkran festival last weekend, so alot of thais are splashing water at pple like no one's biz... hehehe...

also yesterday was cloudy and drizzled abit, and pratunam was closed on sunday afternoon. we didn get to shop there... and yeah, over the last weekend holiday, alot of pple leh, singaporeans, taiwanese, chinese from china, and ang moh... very crowded at chatuchap. Lucky we went in early morning.

oh, i also went to the cabbage & condom restaurant, hmmm, ah beng is quite right. the price for the food is so so only... not really worth it loh... i also went for a massage near the restaurant, not bad leh... very shiok. i took the acupoint full body massage. Very good after 1 whole day of shopping.

Purple rain: Asia hotel got no windows meh... so far the rooms i passed by, all got windows leh. yeah, there's actually a skytrain linkway directly to asia hotel, so dun need to walk in the hot sun. hehehe...

ice: i didn know there is a samran hotel there... hmmm, maybe can give it a try next time. :p

serene: how's your trip? good?

icy

seemed like samran is a new hotel here.

I dun dare to go out during the day time on songkran, cos have to waterproof everything. It had been getting rainy here in bkk soon.

mist

yanling: well, they use the water gun to spray, but they didn splash the water on me... they consider very lucky liao... i'll be all wet if they just the splash the water on me. there were some ang moh staying at asia hotel, came back to the hotel all wet and white face. dun know what the thais smear on their face also... it's for some kind of blessing.....

i went to the King & I spa, quite good leh.... i opt for the Royal thai massage, it's sort of acupoint massage, cost 600baht for an hour, it will be 1000 baht for 2 hours.

dottyback

Hey mist

hehe ya the trip was ok...din buy alot of things as usual coz the fashion stuffs there not really suitable 4 mi..but had loads of fun eating..my thai colleagues n my boss brought me ard eating all the time but i din note down the names :p

was really awed by the Paragon...its like..step in onli i feel tired liao hahaha n the clothes there r gorgeous n ex!

my boss's thai wife said Central World now refurbishing..gonna extend it n make it even bigger than Paragon...cant imagine dat lah

mist

purple rain: oh, i see.... i didn know got such kind of rooms.... ;p

serene: wow, went to so many places ah.... very shiok right?

dottyback

mist hehe no lah i din go 2 many places..the usual shopping mall stretch n i missed out totally on the club scene

guess i will plan 4 the next 1 in oct or nov

bloomiey

apple: yeah you can book now. Actually i think u can book as early as half a year. If you book just 1 month before your trip, the booking might be slightly priced higher especially air tickets provided you can get those last minute backout people to sell you the ticket. Rooms priced are more or less fixed but booked 1or 2mth before departure would be good, Thats provided you are booking on NON-PEAK SEASON (PEAK - SCH HOLIDAY)

foreverhappy

Hi Yanling

Already got my ticket last dec now left accomodation only. I seen that quite a few talk abt sirom recently is that hotel good or asia is better but i want those with window leh.

Any other hotel that is cheap and good in shopping and accessible? thanks