Bangkok

renshen

i think its necessary to take down the spore embassy contact n address if we are really going ahead with the trip.. thanks a lot Obaesom!

my BIL just made a call to his lady fren residing in BKK and she say that everything is as per normal there.. no issues for her even though she is a single woman staying on her own..

her advice is to avoid the north of BKK where the ralliers are gathering.. the tourist and shopping areas are still fine..

so my family has decided to go ahead with the trip cos we oso do not want to incur the cancellation fee as the travel agent is unwilling to waive off..

purple_rain

Renshen: Thanks for ur info! Cancelling the trip will cause many inconveniences, getting refund is the toughest part.

Mirror : I booked baiyoke sky too & going in end mar. So far, i only heard that the location is not accessible as not near to BTS. But not to worry, can take cab to anywhere & must insist on meter. I get all these info from here... Keke...

icy

zen,
check out healthland website here: healthlandspa.com. Sathorn should be nearer to you

Yanling,
actually my friend bought it, it should be liang. :p Smaller than jing bah. I din buy from Nam Sing, actually we went around a few shop and try to bargain and get the lowest price.

Everything seemed peaceful here, it is rally. not riot.

bloomiey

icy: Thanks icy. Will go Nam Sing n Hai Wai Tian to take a look at the price then consider buying anot.

Purple Rain: Latest Afternoon News, the rally stretch out to 2km of the Prime Minister place. Their intention is to jam up traffic til Thaksin resigns, not to create riots. The military leader has also decided not to use any armed forces against these rally people unless fire are set at government properties.
I think if i didn't read wrongly, the election/voting is on Apr 2.

bloomiey

Btw i think anyone who is coming back from BKK taking weekend flights, it might be good if you could leave your hotel 2.5hrs to 3hrs before flight departure cos of the rally which might create a bad traffic jam in some places. Be safe than sorry. Missing your flight gonna cost ya another $200++ for the air tix, not very worth it right....

purple_rain

Jamming up traffic will be terrible, cos normally, BKK traffic is not tat smooth either...

Also read from Yahoo News that their PM has intention to step down temporarily, hope this will appease the protestors.

I will be coming back on the election eve, but weeks before election, the streets will be filled with supporters of their parties. OMG! I think i have choose the wrong date to go. *weep*

dazednconfused

Hello...

I returned from Bangkok just 2 days ago. All places where tourists hangout are fine and not affected by Thailand's domestic affairs. We had a wonderful time in Bangkok, as usual. Visited the weekend market, Suan Lum Night Bazzar, Patpong, Pratunam and all the malls and shopping areas around MBK. We encountered nothing out of the ordinary. I believe there were banners in Thai around a huge park, but only banners. There weren't hoards of people demonstrating like we see on the News over TV.

dazednconfused

On that last note, I must say that though my husband and I had a good time vacationing in Bangkok, our flight there and back was terrible. Never again will we fly with a budget airline. Particularly, with JetStar Asia. Initially, we were thrilled to be able to purchace our air tickets at such an attractive price. Then, there's the reality of the situation. There's virtually no leg-room at all between rows. It was most uncomfortable to be cooped up like we were for the 2-and-a-half hrs that we were flying. All seats were occupied. In other words, we were packed in that plane like sardines are packed in a can. In fact, I think sardines are packed more loosely than we were. We requested for the emergency exit row seats, but of course we were denied as they were already snapped up. Definitely not worth it at all. Our opinion, anyway. We've decided to revert to flying non-budget airlines like SQ and TG. Think it'll be worth the money.

bloomiey

L.S.: u pay peanuts, u get monkeys so can't really expect too much if ya wanna save on budget.

New Budget Terminal at Changi Airport. Wonder are budget flight to and fro gonna start from here? Ah... kinda troublesome to go T2 to take shuttle bus to budget terminal

FYI... Thai Baht currnency has dropped recently... good time to change money during these 2 weeks..

summersnow

hi L.S,

we took jetstar asia too and i find it okie since it is a budget airline to be fair to them. since i paid so little, i cannot expect the plane to be up to par like SQ or TG... as the saying in chinese goes "yi fen qian, yi fen huo". u are juz paying for wat u get... heeheehee... other budget airlines are the same too. cannot expect the planes to be as big as those SQ 747 planes since we paying "peanut rates". heehee...

on the whole, i find budget airlines still okie for short distance trips, but dun think i wana use them for longer trips as like u say, the leg space is amoz non existant at all and i can't imagine me being "strapped" to the seat for more than 2 1/2 hrs... i probably ended up going crazy and sratched my hubby's shirt into strips... kekeke

summersnow

hi yanling,

fr wat i kw, only tiger air is going to use the budget terminal right now. the rest of the budget airlines are trying to stick to T1 as long as they can so as to make it more convenient for their customers...

budget terminal like verie far off like dat hor? and secluded too... it's on its own, not linked to T1 & T2... like verie "leng leng qin qin" like dat leh... heehee...

dazednconfused

I definitely agree. When you pay peanuts, you get monkeys. In our case, we've agreed never to pay peanuts again. We've flown other budget airlines before - Tiger Airways and ValuAir (BEFORE they merged with JetStar Asia). I don't recall feeling as uncomfortable as I did during our last trip. It was extremely stiffling. Almost unbearable. So... Thanks, but no. We'll just catch TG and SQ when they're having their periodic sales.

Purple Rain,

Ya. We had a good time in Bangkok. I'm sure you will also.

bloomiey

Yeah true.. the air is stuffy. Not as cool as normal flight.

Christine: haha lucky never buy TG otherwise i also have to go all the way to BT for my flight. but i also hoped airasia won't enter BT so soon, at least not before my flight departure. News commented that it looks like expo, low ceiling, secluded from T1 n T2... zzz... i guess not many DFS shop inside as well.
Good luck to those taking TG after Mar 26.. hee..

summersnow

hi yanling,

ya, it is a one floor building which looks more like a huge warehouse to me. hahaha... but news reported dat all the shops have been snapped up. fast hor? dunno hw isit like inside... maybe will go dwn and look see around when i reallie bored and have nothing else better to do! kekeke...

hi L.S,
i took valuair bk, same exp as jetstar, juz dat the whole plane interior looks more cheapo than jetstar and the stewardess were more "auntie" and rude than the jetstar crew. i complained to my hubby then he reminded me dat this is a budget airline... hahaha... then the plane made a few sudden dips which caused me to have nearly a heart attack. i think hor, u oso need some luck when travelling on budget airlines? my trip to bkk on jetstar was fine & smooth, my return trip with valuair was another story...

bloomiey

Christine: Air turbulence ah? The feeling of plane dipping Very shiok right? I only experience once on normal flight, dropped 500m down. Did you manage to go BT take a look?
I thought valuair don't fly to Bangkok? Anyway your booking is still under Jetstar?

summersnow

hi yanling,

dunno isit air turbulence anot leh or was it the way the pilot flew the plane... anyway, i got quite a shock... hahaha... ya, it was supp to be jetstar, but then they announce at the airport valuair helping out... dunno why?

purple_rain

This is my 1st time taking budget airline Airasia. As it is a paperless system, so we have to go to the check in counter to get our boarding pass? How abt coming back to S'pore, also the same?

bloomiey

Christine: No lar.. pilot don't fly plane dipping up and down. Either is air turbulence, plane fly into clouds or plane is about to land so have to make an exit out of the clouds i guess. Then thats your "lucky day". Not many people get to experienced that kind of feeling. :p

Purple Rain: Yes remember to print out the tickets that was emailed to you and bring it along and check in at the counter. Coming back ah.. i forgot got boarding pass anot...

Anyway after i checked into Singapore airport, i dropped my boarding pass while roaming ard the DFS shops. But they still allowed me into the plane as long as you don't drop your passport its fine. Boarding Pass isn't that important cos they have all your info into the computer. Btw, the boarding pass is just a receipt printed size.. those fax thermal roll kinda paper, thats why can lost it easily...

dolphin48

yanling, i always kenna the turbulance thingy..... think it's quite common esp for short flights cos they have to fly thru the clouds.... if longer flights, they will fly higher i think....

bloomiey

Purple Rain: Did they emailed you a confirmation email after your payment? That is the one. Just print that out and pass to the counter with your passport. Thats all. Your trip coming soon...Best is to print 2 copies although 1 copy is sufficient, Cos you need the copy for your return trip too, keep the other copy inside luggage at least won't misplace or lost it!!! Don't Forget. Hee.. i very kiasu one..

Daphne: Not sure about that. But my previous trip to and fro was safe but the plane flew round and round BKK air for some time.. Zzz... waste my time. Btw chatuchak is still avail probably til third or forth quarter of this year. Not so soon closing down. At least Suan Lum is the first to close before Chatuchak.

clearwater: Partying/Clubbing zone is at Patpong near Patpong BTS station. Not sure about areas there, cos i don't go clubbing.

purple_rain

Yanling : I did not rec'd any comfirmation email, but my payment was successful. What I have with me is the itinierary with a reference number & status : CONFIRM in bold.

Perhaps I should email to Airasia to check

icebaby0

purple rain,

When did you book your flight?

The last time I book from Air Asia, it took them almost 2 days before I get the email with itinierary.

That email with the itinierary is the confirmation mail liao.

bloomiey

Purple Rain: Its an attached pdf file in the email and there is a barcode in the itinerary. Booking via credit card is almost instant confirmation, unless you use SAM/AXS/Post Office Payment which take 1 or 2 days to be confirmed. Since your payment is successful, there should be an attached pdf file for print out.

purple_rain

I have a confirmation number on my itinerary but never rec'd anything thru email

I did register myself with Airasia, so I logged in just now & search thru my booking number, it just displayed my itinerary with the flight info, passenger names & status.

purple_rain

I have a confirmation number on my itinerary but never rec'd anything thru email

I did register myself with Airasia, so I logged in just now & search thru my booking number, it just displayed my itinerary with the flight info, passenger names & status.

summersnow

hi apple,

actually, i have heard dat chatuchak & suan lum nite mkt are closing down, but i cannot get any concrete info so far on this leh...

tried asking the stall owners themselves, but they juz give me a blank face... and some of them said "isit??" so, i think, even so, shld not be so soon...

wah... dunno leh... anyone have any concrete news?

bloomiey

Erawan Shrine Hindu Statue was smashed by a mentally ill Thai Muslim...

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/afp_asiapacific/view/199069/1/.html

Purple Rain: I checked the airasia website although the itinerary has a confirmation number but it doesn't comes with a barcode below the confirmation number. Mine has a barcode below the confirmation number. I am not very sure whether the confirmation slip is required anot. They didn't state that you have to print and bring it along, or probably i missed some of the fineprints. How/Where did you pay for your airfare? As far as i know, the final confirmation is via email with attached pdf file. Btw, i did received the CONFIRMED status that you have too. That was before the email pdf itinerary with barcode.

If i remember correctly, they scan the pdf version of barcode at the check-in luggage counter.

Christine: Chatuchak still not confirmed closing down though there are people who claimed that the place was a temporary place which the government rented out cheaply and no dateline was given.

icy

Chatuchak is still there, there is this taxi driver who show us the new chatuchak building, and they are still building it..but seemed like 1/2 way thro.

mist

i'm going to bangkok during the april holiday weekends..... going to book the hotel soon, shortlisted a few, like to hear comments on them:

1)bayoike suite
2)first
3)bangkok palace

anyone got recommendation for hotels? hmmm, not so ex one lah... thanks.

clearwater14

Anyone just came back fr Bangkok? Care to update the status there? am worried about the safety as i will be gg on 24 mar to 29 mar06. if postponed, have to pay penalty to airlines & hotel. pls help... is it still safe to travel during this period?

renshen

hi clearwater

I just came back from BKK..was there over the weekend..

no signs of any rallies or protesting.. no thais hurl bad eggs at us singaporeans either.. it was shopping like nobody biz.. everything was as per normal.. but of cos we dunno what can happen next as things can change..

hope this helps.. i can understand how u feel cos we went thru the same dilema before going over as well..

adr77

Hi mist,

don't bother booking baiyoke suite. stayed there b4 n its quite run down although u got a living room before ur bed room(unless u prefer spacious accom). oso to take note is that the loc is not near to BTS.

purple_rain

Yanling : I think I better call Airasia & ask, else on that day, if I do not have the confirmation slip, they do not allow me to board.

Clearwater : Read news this morning, it seems the anti-Thaksin party are going to have a final showdown this weekend and they are moving over to commercial areas, together with the opposing party for Election. I believe is still fine as many people in this forum had went & nothing happened. Don't worry...

dazednconfused

mist...

I'm a big fan of Bangkok! I like the Grand Diamond Hotel and Centre Point Petchburi 15 (service apartments). Check them out on sawadee.com. Both are situated very close to Pratunam Wholesale Market and are within walking distance to popular shopping malls. The BTS station (Rachathewi) is also nearby.

renshen

hi clearwater

if it helps, i purchased travel income fm NTUC which is the cheapest.. i bought it online.. for group insurance.. we paid abt $16 per pax ..

bloomiey

"Despite these allegations, the farmers plan to stay in Bangkok's Chatuchak Park until the April elections are over." - Extracted from channelnewsasia

This is terrible... Chatuchak will be extremely crowded. Now they are gonna give Thaksin 48hrs to resign, Otherwise.... don't know what will happen next.

bloomiey

clearwater: Yeah... If you wanna get Baiyoke Suite, Getting Baiyoke Sky would be much better. At least its newer than Baiyoke Suite and good buffet breakfast. You can also try Amari Watergate, Amara, Asia Hotel. Have you booked your hotel??

icy

clearwater,
so far rally had been peaceful but they are moving to areas like silom.. and had traffic jam for like 2 hrs. They are proud of their peaceful rally that they feel that it should be in Guinness records