Bangkok

chaoahbeng

I tried the food at cabbage and condom restuarant b4. Actually, I think it is overrated. The food is pretty normal and nothing much to shout about. I think it caters more to tourist as I hardly see any locals there.

It's not bad lah...but not very good either. I would much prefer to spend my time having a relaxing massage at the massage centre near cabbage and condoms. Sorry, can't remember the name. But it is near the alley where the restaurant is located.

And I personally dun find chatuchak market very nice also. True enough, it's very big with lotsa stuff to buy. Have to bargain lah. But the weather is damn bloody hot and it's a bit smelly at some places. Hope it helps.

icy

snowy_casper,
No BTS near chinatown, it is better to take taxi. actually do you know that there is 2 Hai Wai Tian. The original one is over at one corner near Grand China and the nicer and bigger one outside is opened by their children. The tour guide told me that the original small store taste better, but I finished my dinner then and havent got the chance to try.

I manage to get a map online for nam sing & T & K at http://220.232.149.177/forum/files/nam_sing_.img018_t_k_435.jpg.

Anyway, here a chinese thread on the seafood in bkk. I tried the T&K (Green T-shirt, scroll right below) before, they are better with seafood, NOT sharkfin and birdnest. The prawn, claypot crab with tong fen and oyster egg is VEry nice. and CHeap. http://220.232.149.177/forum/viewtopic.php?t=20922&highlight=

Yanling, Nope not exactly.. further down.. you will see a big Boots store then turn into the small lane.

purple_rain

The road in Chinatown is always jammed, even with zebra crossing, the vehicles wont really stopped for u, so have to bit daring to walk over. haha...

Hi Yanling,

I just saw the signboard in Chinese then just walked to it... keke... Didn't see Nam Sing. The HWT that I went is small one.

bloomiey

Purple Rain: See the photo below.. looks familiar right? Hee... On the right of photo is Hai Wai Tian. On the left of the photo is Nam Sing. Very near rite.. hee.. You didnt ate the street hawker seafood there?

359185.jpg

I tried the seafood there. The steam fish was very spicy. Red hot small chillies... The fried squid was nice. my favourite..Price is ok there, not very cheap nor ex. Beggars begging for food there too while i was eating..Some are handicapped

purple_rain

Yanling,

I went in the afternoon =( somemore din even comb whole of Sampheng Lane cos quarrelled with bf & went straight back to hotel after spending 15 mins there... Haiz... If i had a chance to go bangkok again, will definitely go in later afternoon, cos dun wan to miss Sampheng Lane & the street hawker food as u mentioned.

Thinking of going in Sep this year, but still have to discuss with bf again cos spend alot of clothes & food in BKK, now pocket alrdy a big hole liao... hahaa...

bloomiey

Purple Rain: Noon time you went Chinatown, the street hawker food stall haven't open right? Sampeng not much things to buy, even if you buy, i doubt you would buy alot of stuff from there. Probably 1 or 2 soft toy and some small accessories. Went there, thought of buying lotsa things, but nothing much suit me.
Me still planning where to go for next semester or next yr. Preferably with cheap shopping and food. Targetting at Taiwan, Shanghai, HongKong, Chiangmai... You been to these area before? They are either shopping paradise or food paradise.. lol. Need some recommendation. SgBride forum not much info on these location. Only BKK forum here one of the best. haha. How much did you spend in total at BKK?

purple_rain

Yanling: Ya, no stalls opened, the roads were crawling with vehicles. I went there & saw lotsa hair accessories which I wanted to buy.. haiz. Those hairclips which S'pore sells for $1-$2 each but in Sampeng is 1 pack of 6 only $1! Really regret manz...

I never been to these countries before but heard that Taiwan & Shanghai not really cheap in food & shopping, comparable to S'pore...

Transport (All taxi rides & tuk tuk) - SGD48

Food - SGD290 ( i note everything single item i ate, including roadside stalls. keke...)

Shopping - SGD461 (including my bf's & mine, he tailored made a suit)

It seems I spent alot... especially on food. =P

dottyback

hi Yanling!

fwah u like a local in BKK oreadi...can rem so much info..i went there a few times liao but cant rem all these details hehehe

i been 2 chiangmai 2yrs+ ago...i like it very very much..its definitely diff from BKK..very kampong style 2 mi leh hehe coz its more like a suburb area so the ppl there r simpler n more sincere compared 2 commercialised BKK

theres nutting much on shopping in chiangmai..dun even haf a proper dept store at dat time..theres 2 'flea mkt' where they sell most handicrafts tho..n u can actually c alot of tribal ppl roaming ard trying 2 sell their handicrafts in their traditional costumes..they can b quite agressive n sticky..the things they sell useless n ex actually :p

i stayed in Imperial Mae Ping..the 1 Teresa Teng died in hehehe its so called considered 4* i tink but i was not impressed..more like a 3* 2 mi..food generally is cheaper there..n i ate Magnum ice cream everyday coz its so dirt cheap compared 2 SG ahhaha

u muz go 2 tis famous temple up in the mountain..Phra That Doi Suthep temple..its said dat if u din go 2 tis temple..its as if u nv been 2 chiangmai..a tour guide brought us there n tell us stories abt the temple along the way..even on the way up..theres actually 99 turns..n u muz take a short elevator ride 2 go up 2 temple..its really amazing n tranquil..its strange but it felt so serene once u stepped into it hehe..alot of beautiful buddha statues n i rem the 1 i liked was a big jade statue..veli nice! will go 2 chiangmai again if i haf the chance

purple_rain

Apple: i went 4D3N, dun take me as an example cos i tink i spend too much liao... Dun really consider when come to eating as long as it is nice.

We went massage on 2 consecutive days, 250B/hr. Bought a few pairs of jeans, lotsa tees,lingerie, eat lotsa roadside stalls.

I record down every minor things that I spent on so as to track my spendings. Also got a shock when adding up the total. keke...

foreverhappy

Hi purple did u anynice things relates to wedding in BKK. Like favours? my friend intend to ask him to help her source so i tot also ask u all then mayb i can get some also.

bloomiey

Serene: Thanks for some valuable info. "Phra That Doi Suthep temple..its said dat if u din go 2 tis temple..its as if u nv been 2 chiangmai.." - This sentence ring a bell in my mind, heard many people say it, but without tour guide, i don't know how to get there and back.

Purple Rain: I, myself, spend abt S$450 at Bangkok on my previous 4D3N trip. Dunno what i spend on, probably on those pork floss stuff. Didn't even get to eat shark fins nor any nice restaurant food. My money seems not well spent. Your job is accountant ah? lol. everything also calculate.
As for Taiwan & Shanghai, not sure abt pricing for food and shopping, definitely not as cheap as Bangkok, can't dig much info on that. But 1 thing for sure is the food especially in Taiwan, extremely delicious. Taiwan pudding and tarts!!! Bought some T-shirts at Chatuchak, all of them shrink smaller n smaller after each wash.. arrghh.. from fitting became super tight fitting.

Serene: Cos i went internet did some search for images and location. Been digging at the internet for different countries stuff. Need some recommendation before i begin to dig another country info.

apple: Sampeng can get some wedding favors too...

purple_rain

Yanling: I also bought lotsa 'Kao sai", egg roll with floss, dried mango & cuttlefish, cost abt 1300B (so expensive). My luggage to BKK only 1 set of clothes & undergarment, my skincare products, that's all, the rest I bought at BKK. Haha... maybe tats why I bought lotsa clothes, lingerie & shoes.

Btw, do u have any bad experience with BKK taxi drivers? I encountered a few...

dottyback

Yanling no worries
i oso cant much details abt chiangmai liao since its been a few years back hehe but the onli thing i rem was the temple..u can actually arrange 4 a chinese speaking guide 2 bring u there in a mini van 4 half a day..it wun costs much i guess

Purple Rain hehehe i same as u..whenever go BKK bring very little kekeke i rem the laz time i went..i bot so many toiletries n sanitary pads LOL the 1st layer if open the luggage all kinds of brands machiam greeting mi wahahahah i was so afraid they will ask mi open luggage in airport coz i claimed 4 VAT hahahha

bloomiey

Purple Rain: Nope. All the taxi drivers are fine except for airport to hotel, which the taxi driver after several request then turned on the meter. Where you bought your pork floss from? Which shop? I bought mine from Chinatown Porky pig Lim Zheng Xiang. But the shop beside Porky pig have more customers leh... Got buy the dried durian chips??? Very nice too... taste the same as durina but quite ex. Dried mango are nice too...

Need some feedbacks from those who bought lingeries and clothes from Chatuchak... Do they shrink after washing?

icy

Yanling,
Mine become out of shape after washing. Anyway Thaksin resigned last night, so i guess no more rally. :D

purple_rain

Yanling: I think I very unfortunate, met a few taxi drivers really sux man... so did not have a good impression of BKK taxi drivers but do have 1 or 2 are kind & helpful... =)

I do not know the name, but the shop got a lot of ppl so I just walked in. I did not buy durian chips but bought dried mango.

I bought lingerie from chatuchak, still testing so do not know if they shrink... keke...

icy

Yanling,
I think should be permanent, for now. Then someone take over, but he might come back again during the next elections, he leave that open. and he is still the leader for his party.

purple_rain

My bf has tailored made a jacket & trousers for 3500B = SGD145, is that expensive? I did saw some places which advertised something like for USD189, u can get 3 shirts, 2 pants, 2 jackets (Roughly like that, alrdy forgotten liao)

bloomiey

Purple Rain: i think it all depends on the material of the cloth. Different material diff price so can't really tell.
Ah.. Thai baht currency increased!!!

purple_rain

Yanling : u still remember those big plastic bags, u did asked sailormoon abt the size & price? I bought 1 large hello kitty print at chatuchak, real big manz... only 100B, also have burberrys signature print look-alike, same size but 120B.

I might go BKK in Sep or Oct, (hee... just came back, alrdy start planning for next liao) but this time round, will be more careful in planning not to spend unnecessarily. However, definitely not to miss massage, food, shopping especially in Chatuchak, Pratunam & Suan Lum. I'm more to bazaar than shopping centres.

bloomiey

Purple Rain: Flying on airasia again?? I hoped to fly by Tiger Airway/Singapore Air.. Haha my second trip is next mth. Still considering whether got third trip towards end of yr for X'mas. If got, I will take the cheaper range of hotels or apartment. Saw from previous posting that apartment are nice and big, prob no room service!!! That bag hor, the smaller size 1, that day at NATAS Travel fair, UOB giving free to their credit card holders. Orange color, quite colorful and nice too. Did you go/get it? I gonna get a cartoon 1 at Chatuchak/Pratunam probably. Got a phobia of Chatuchak clothings already. All of them i bought shrinked til very tight... I am too scared of tickle... so never been to massage.
Oh yes, how was your experience at Baiyoke Sky? Any problem with the room? Smelly? Spoilt? Choked water? Dim lights?

Your poor bf will burn another hole in the pocket again.

dottyback

beng sibeh kpo lol not only pads lah tampons oso wahahahhaha tink i bot 1 year's supply sia sibeh ho chio...its so dirt cheap there so i cant resist lorrr

Yanling i bot some beach shorts at chatuchak..end up oso din tahan veli long

purple_rain

Yanling: Should be by budget air again, I'm quite comfy with Airasia esp the timings, unless other budget airlines have promotion. I will choose budget hotels this time round, but Baiyoke Sky is great, if really no choice then choose back Baiyoke Sky. I did not go to NATAS fair wor...

As for the bag, Chatuchak has a few stalls that sell it, In Pratunam, just outisde Baiyoke Sky (right side) has 1 stall (seems like is a pick up, lady seller, more designs)

I'm very satisfied with Baiyoke Sky. I stayed on the 50th floor & the view was spectacular! Thou need to change elevator from ground to lobby, lobby to room but there was no wait at all (cos read from some comments & reviews that the wait was very long). The corridor lights are dim. Room service was fast cos my toilet bowl got stuck, so i informed them before I go for massage near the hotel for 1 hour. When I came back, it was done & even make up the room. I love the breakfast, thou is the same spread every morning, but u will still be looking forward to it. I went up to the revolving deck at 84th floor, it's so windy... I even experienced something creepy... hee but dun wan scare those who wanted to stay there... Really, nothing to worried abt, i tink is just my luck... LOL

bloomiey

Purple Rain: Airasia has the widest variety of timing flying to/fro Bangkok as compared to all the airlines.

Yeah Pratunam outside right hand those push cart, I remember that auntie cos we asked the price, then see see, think think, then walk off already. haha..Sampeng sell them too.

U stayed at 50th floor?! So good? U can just use the staircase climb 1 floor up and take the sky zone lift isnt it? I guess some guest are just impatient. The waiting time for lift isn't that long. Did you take the hotel glass lift??

Share with me leh.. what creepy things you encounter?? PM me.. hee.. very interested.

purple_rain

Yanling: I will defintely buy those bags again, to store my things at home, it's very big & can just dump everything in it.

I requested high floor.. ermm... all along, i took the sky zone lift to my room. Sad to say, i did not take the glass lift, i din know, till i read e info on the hotel but also din go & explore... Where is it huh? keke...

PMed u liao... LOL

bloomiey

Purple Rain: okie thanks. will go try when i am there.. haha...

As i say, probably the higher zone corridors have dim lights. Lvl 30+ corridor lights are bright so i hoped to get it on my next trip.
The glass lift is located outside the buffet or 1 storey above the buffet level where you can take photos of those tuk tuk, hotel models. The glass abit dusty with scratches..

Hows ya toilet lighting??? I stayed in junior suite, toilet big but lights as dim as corridor lightings.

dottyback

hi mist

yup! but i taking evening flight coz no more earlier 1 liao but i cum back late flight oso dats y i took it heehee

i taking tiger..u leh? where u gonna stay?

purple_rain

Yanling: I did went there to take photos but did saw a lift, isit straight down to lobby? If yes, i tink i missed it. aiya...

My toilet lighting is okay, i stayed in the cheapest room (standard), i'm satisfied with it, the room & toliet are spacious with bathtub & cubicle for bathing

bloomiey

Purpla Rain: Yes.. thats the lift down to 1st floor. FYI: you can squeeze quite a number of people inside junior suite room to save even more $$$. 1 king size bed,1 single bed, 1 sofa.

Serene: Tiger flights slot very limited 1. They don't publish all the available flights in a day. Thats y always too early or too late flight especially those promotional 1s. If you stay in those 5* hotel, then very lugi.

Anyone going BKK in May???

elisasutiono

Just came back from my Bangkok trip. Stayed at Baiyoke, they upgrade me to 57 floor without paying extra $$. haha. Not bad, just that the corridor lighting a bit dim for my liking. Would like to recommend the message to all those staying at Baiyoke. They are giving 50% discount for in-house guests from 8 am to 3 pm. I did a 2 hours message for 883 bath before proceding to airport. Hehe.

Would like to recommend platinium fashion mall to all. Its good and cheap there. I bought fiance's shirts at S$8. I saw the same dress which i bought in Suan Lum for 550 bath (before bargaining. I bought the same dress for 600 bath after bargaining hard. Sigh. So forget about Suan Lum, its stuffy and not much things to buy if you are looking for clothes.

purple_rain

Hi Sasa,

Welcome back, i also stayed in Baiyoke Sky from 29 Mar to 1 Apr...

I did saw the massage for in-house guests but it seems a bit expensive, I went for massage just beside Baiyoke Sky for 250b/hr.

Share ur experiences here...keke...

bloomiey

sasa: haha.. didn't know theres such a person like you to prefer dim lightings. You are lucky too getting upgraded free to skyzone. Did they upgrade you to junior suite? What stuff u bought at chatuchak and MBK?? got go eat at Chinatown seafood? NamSing? HaiWaiTian?? Any nice food you ate would like to share?

The massage there is quite ex considering outside charges abt 500 or less. Platinum mall i think charges 200baht/hr for massage.

Purple Rain: PM ya...

elisasutiono

Hi Purple Rain,

i stayed from 31st March to 3rd april. 250 bath??? Full body or leg message? Aiyah, i should have gone to that. Which shop did you go to? I didnt see any full body message around baiyoke le. Sigh.

Btw, any gd restaurant to recommend around the hotel? Cant seems to find any nice restaurant to eat tom yam kung or fried rice. I keep eating the hotel room service food.

bloomiey

sasa:Yeah full massage. Leg massage cost abt 60baht-100baht. I don't go massage but pass by those shops at Platinum Mall lvl 2 or 3 i think.
Haha.. u really 1 of a kind... lol. People all eat out at Foodcourt or restaurant. You order room service food. how was the food anyway? MBK has so many foodcourts, restaurant. Siam Paragon and Siam Square too..!!!

Oh ya.. did ya gers happen to see Baiyoke Sky lobby selling those nice cakes at abt 24baht per piece.. anyone tried?

purple_rain

Hi Sasa,

250B for full body massage, they also have foot massage. At the hotel entrance, turn left & walk down, like shophouses. The name is Chan Masage (not chang massage as mentioned in this forum. LOL)

I tink there's no restaurant around the hotel, but i always buy roadside stalls at pratunam area. Before i proceed to the airport on Sat noon, tried the dim sum buffet at Baiyoke Sky. 350B/pax

dottyback

Yanling ah nor..i oso heng heng saw 1..actually oreadi book 4 Thai airways + Pratunam Park hotel is abt $418

then my sis saw Tiger next day ad...plus Asia hotel $322 nett..so we took dat lor...

actually got 12+pm flight but by the time we cfm left evening..since coming back at 8pm i dun mind lor hehe

purple_rain

Does anyone know how VISA works when purchasing 1 way trip? Cos in website,
they state that you have to carry visa if you are booking only 1 way. But
they didn't state whether you need visa if you purchase the other way
from other airline. Any idea about this?? Need visa for purchasing
different airline ticket for 1 way?

elisasutiono

yanling: haha, didnt see your post before i post the previous one. I am not sure if its a junior suite, but, its quite big with 1 king bed and 1 super single bed. Yeah, guess i am quite lucky. I made my booking trhough asiarooms for high zone, king bed no smooking. I reached there then they said only low zone, twin bed and smoking floor. So i just told the lady to check for me if there's any non-smoking one, then she upgraded me to skyzone. haha.

I ate food court at platinium mall, the tom yam soup, very yucky le. The room service food also yucky. 1st night we order seafood fried rice, came roast duck fried rice. 2ns night order tom yum coz my fiance dying to eat tom yam (ok only) and i ate lobster bisque (dun try). So the best thing i ate throughout my trip is the nissin tom yam cup noodle on the plane when i came back ;p

I didnt know message outside so cheap. I went to 2 leg messages, 1 near Novotel Eissei Message (1 hr 300 bath) and another one near baiyoke (1 hr 250 bath). So i thought 900 bath for body message should be ok. Sigh. Guess i need to do more homework. haha. But still the aeromatheraphy message is good lah, and the ambience not bad as well.

Puple Rain: How's the dim sum buffet good? I ate the oishi grand at discovery, its so so ex 700+ bath per pax. Almost same price as spore. Heart ache arh.

elisasutiono

Actually i prefer Siam Paragon to MBK le. I went MBK bought a set of BSC undergarment, 930+ bath. I went Siam Paragon bought another set its 830+ after 5% tourist discount). And they carry more range and sizes also.

Bought lotsa clothes from chatuchak, haha. But till 1+ i cant stand the heat liao, so went back hotel sleep for an hour before proceeding to MBK.

Spent quite a lot this trip, no $$ liao
Haha.

mikeling

ya! mi gg to BBK on May, i hv booked the hotel(baiyoke sky) through agency, it a superior rm, don't know spacious anot!??!! mm, hw u all upgraded the rm without any extra charges$$$$$$$.

elisasutiono

Yanling: I went Shanghai last year during winter time. Gd experience, didnt buy much, but, spent around 800 excluding airfare and acc. I stayed at fiance's coz condo, so no accmodation expenses. Food wise, i'd prefer Shanghai to Bangkok. Ate lotsa good food there. Famous xiao long bao in yu yuan area is the best. Eat during winter lagi shiok. Haha. Beijing duck in Quan Cu De also not bad. We ate full dinner (seafood, roast duck, dessert, etc) only SGD$30+ for 4 people (and its a fomous restaurant).

mist

hi serene,

oh, i see. i took the package from zuji travel, taking garuda flight and stay at asia hotel. it also includes airport travel and complimentary city tour. we pay $618 for 2 pax. then maybe i will see you at hotel!! hehehe... ;p

hi yanling,

hmmm, you planning to go shanghai huh?? me went Jan last year.... oh, the massage is good there!! it cost abt S$12, full massage. :p very shiok. shopping in shanghai okay lah, if you go xiang yang cheng, alot of imitation goods. but must bargain loh... can reduce price by 70%. that time, i went to suzhou, wu xi and nanjing, then back to shanghai again. My friends are working there, so we stayed at their accomodation.

hi purple rain,

seems like cannot reach chinatown easily hor? the food is nice there huh?? which one is nicer, NamSing or HaiWaiTian??

hi beng,

bloomiey

WOw.. 4hrs never check forum.. got so many new messages... lol.

mist: Take cab to is the best Chinatown. Unless you wanna walk and explore around then take MRT down.. Roadside stalls outside HaiWaiTian is good. I tried the Red Shirt stalls.. gonna try the Green Shirt stalls probably on my next trip. NamSing @ Chinatown doesn't seems good to me. Go there eat bird nest enough liao... Street Hawkers, the prawns are big..

Yes i am planning a trip this yr or early next yr to either Shanghai/Taiwan. Still hunting for info... Taking F&E or guided tour... Need to know the distance and how convenience is the MRT to some good attractions there. Can u PM me? Don't wanna get banned for flooding this BKK forum with some other countries stuff..

sasa: Yeah they upgraded you to junior suite sky zone. Standard room only have either 1 king size bed or 2 single bed. Thats good cos that room cost quite alot esp in sky zone.

zen ling: Hotel rooms upgrading all depends on your luck. Your room is either the size you booked or bigger. It never goes smaller. Triple sharing usually get upgraded to a suite room fyi. Twin sharing is depending on your luck. Upon checking in, pls remember to inform counter staff whether are you going to extend your check out. Baiyoke Sky provide FREE extended check-out up to 6pm subject to room availability!!!