Bangkok

bloomiey

noscon: Depends on which hotel you stay? Some hotels allow extension up to 2pm only. For mine at Baiyoke Sky, they allow extension up to 6pm without any charges. Extra charges have to checked with individual hotel.
500THB Tax is payable after you check in your luggage before proceeding to custom for all departing international flights

sailormoonwt

hey ladies

back frm my BKK trip
....wow~ really had enjoyed ourselves to the fullest man...not enough time to cover all shopping malls but managed to cover most of the popular markets...if only i hv more time to shop *wink* We love the chatuchak wkend market the most...bgt a few house deco items... *smile* as for food ... wah piang ooi... no time to eat all i wan wor...specially the dessert...BUT, i still managed to go to the places which was recommended by forum pple for our meals...there's one mango sticky rice at this Thai restaurant Baan Khanitha (MUST GO) which we planned for our second day.... Oiishi ne` *slurp*

tis trip i hv is rather adventure for us cos we missed the last flight back....the highways were closed for the King to use & we all were stuck in this stupid jam for an hr which by the time we reach airport, the boarding gate oredi closed...though the plane hasnt flew off yet.... & the flight we took was the last flight so no more SQ flights wor...checked with other airlines..gotta pay $270 per pax for one-way ticket... end up, we asked for a super low budget hotel & stayed in for one night... the hotel really super damn lok kok....worse than hotel 81...old furnishing...dark dark one....managed to take some photos but the last few couldnt upload leh... ..well, my last nite spent there was miserable...counting by hrs one.... nevertheless, it was a good experience ... haha... very memorable indeed for both of us.... *wink*

Christine : hey...i didnt manage to buy any bear bear back...cos i only manage to see one at Sampeng mkrt but the lady refused to give me discount cos its wholesale price...unless i buy 3 or more...so i tot ovr the next few days when i go other place to shop .. can get one loh..end up, no bear caught my attn.. but i got take many photos lah... u can PM me..i can send u the pix..

BKK..... a city tat nvr sleeps... we gonna miss u ....... esp our fav chatuchak wkend mkrt.... e` thai mango sticky rice.... e` warmness of thai people who came to our rescue when we were so helpless & lost for our missed flight back home... providing us with info on budget hotels for our 1 nite lodging... & finally e` fast & swift funky colours cabbies in Bangkok! Laew phob gan mai, Bangkok! (see u again, Bangkok) *wink

noscon

thanks yanling for your advice.

recently there was some news abt the thais protesting against temasek buying over some shares from the thai PM in bangkok. Is it still safe to go to bangkok now?

wilderia

Hey ladies,

i'm bk... Reali dun feel like coming bk.. Life in BKK is like paradize.. You spent money like nobody's business... Then again becoz i'm not spending my own money.. HAHA...

I was so amazed by my wonderful shopping energy.. I can't imagine i could covered most of the major shopping areas eg: MBK, Suan Lum, Sampeng, PatPong, Pratunum market, Chinatown, Khao San, Siam Paragon, Sukhumvit (Clubbing & Food)
within 4 days...

My poor Fiance was moaning like hell...His legs hurts.. haha... Well, here he goes: WOMEN...SHOPPING.. Cannot be separated..Poor HIM..

Yanling: Thanks so much for the useful tips given before my trip..So sweet of you..

There's someting i wish to add. Abt getting a taxi at the departure hall, i supposed it's only good for those arriving BKK at certain peak hours.. As for my case, i arrived BKK at ard 6 plus, taxis are no where to be seen.. you would have to be fast to snap a cab before other tourists. we juz went crazy chasing after cabs coming at our directions.... Cabbie took advantage on this situation and rack up the price to 500B.. I was so mad & hungry..but at last, i got a offer of 300B.. Lucky me..: )

icy

Christine,
Just be careful if you will be here next tuesday,they are having daily demonstration at Sanam Laung and will match on the Government house again next tuesday.

I will staying neat Phloen Chit BTS at Chateau De Bangkok Serviced Apt.

LS,
So far when i take MC it is all my meter, i guess it is better now. :D

Oh ya I heard sticky rice at Mango Tango is nice, check out at Siam Square.

icy

to add on, Protestors had hand a letter to our PM through the singapore embassy to request Temask to withdraw, and at 9am this Thursday, 5K protestors will march from Lumphini Park to Singaporean Embassy to ask for a reply.

sailormoonwt

the Mango Sticky Rice @ Baan Khanitha *thumbs up*

our shopping bags !! bgt them @ Chatuchak Wkend Mkrt ... must grab one to dump all yr shopping stuff!!!

summersnow

hi sailoormwt,

welcome back! wah, wat an experience u have! i hope we can make it to the airport in time for our flight! i dun wish to be stranded there and having to find a lok kok hotel to stay in for the nite. heeheehee...

hey, where is this Baan Khanitha rest? is it near siam sq area?

aiyoh, u got me all excited man! nevermind, i go see if i can find any teddy bears to buy anot.

btw, is it raining in bkk these few days? i checked the weather forecast for the next few days, not gd leh, tunderstorms are forecasted. oh no! i realie hope for a nice and clear weather man!

hi icy,
thanks! nope, i be back on sun liao, so shld be fine then?

summersnow

hi icy,

juz manage to c yr update. wah, like getting worse arh? lumpini park? isn't dat where suan lum nite mkt is? so does it mean cannot go suan lum mkt liao?

little_a

hi, i intend to visit bangkok from 28 April - 1 May 06.. Dun noe how to go about booking tickets and accomodation.. need some recommendations..

sailormoonwt

Christine, the restaurant is at:
36/1 Sukhumvit 23 Soi Prasan, Bangkok, Thailand
http://travel.yahoo.com/p-travelguide-191501667-bangkok_vacations-i
(look under where to eat)

u may wanna take a cab there... easier & cheaper loh.. for us, we walked there after our massage at Kings & I SPA .. asked for directions & was guided by some warm thai pple around .. not accessible by trains wor...

the weather there is hot & sunny ... dun wori, there wasnt any street riots during our stay there...everyting was PEACEFUL!!!

hey...u going tis wkend, christine? mm...if u wanna buy bear bear...check out at Sampeng Mkrt (alot of shops selling at wholesale price) & suan lum night bazzar (only 1 shop got sells bear) ...
can i lobang u to buy back for me?

icy

Christine,
I think should be fine, I am looking at singapore news website. there dun seemed to be much news abt the rally.

yah, just next to suan lum night market. But i think since they are marching in the morning, it should be okie to go there at night time.

so far, i havent exactly see the rally myself, it is supposed to be peaceful rally bah.

summersnow

hi icy, sailormoonwt,

thanks for the assurance! i quite paranoid one, dun like rallies and riots. kekeke...

aiyoh, i so excited now u kw? cannot wait to go!

sailormoonwt,
sure, if i see cute bear bear, i'll get it for u. i flying off tomorrow morning. cannot work now... so excited liao! cannot wait!

deep_dreamer

I will be going to BKK in around end of March.
Thinking of staying in FIrst hotel because the location & price is a gd bargain.
Need your advise before i book the hotel.
Maybe do you have gd & cheaper hote to recommed?

deep_dreamer

I will be going to BKK in around end of March.
Thinking of staying in FIrst hotel because the location & price is a gd bargain.
Need your advise before i book the hotel.
Maybe do you have gd & cheaper hote to recommed?

deep_dreamer

I m going to BKK in March.
Thinking to book First hotel in BKK. Can u advise me whether is gd or not?
Or go u have other cheap & gd hote to recomend?

nelle

christine, I guess I will be at MBK and around Siam Square area tomorrow and Fri.
Let me give you my mobile, 9688 4946. Can sms me if you are at the airport. Look forward to say hello to you!

bloomiey

sailormoonwt: Did you go into the small lane @ Sampeng lane? There are shops inside which sell just 1 bear bear. Along the streets there, mostly sell in bulks of few. Haha.. u really go and buy that big bag. Its durable. Thats a medium size bag right? How much u bought it? Need to know the price, then probably i can go Pratunam and get if its cheaper than chatuchak.
Oh ya.. the mango is sweet or sour?

sailormoonwt

yes, Yanling..i did go into small lane @ Sampeng Mkrt..but like i say, the lady refused to give me any discount unless i buy three so i tot mayb over the next few days i can get other bears somewhere else loh...but end up, over the nxt few days...those bears i see not as nice as the one i saw @ Sampeng one...*soooo sad*

the bag i got it at Chatuchak...there is only one stall tat sells the cutiest shopping bag...frm this young fat chap.. there r bascially 3 sizes...i got the medium size for 90thb...cheapest liao...u go MBK, they selling @ 160thb wor~~~

for those going BKK, go chatuchak mkrt as yr first station & buy tings which u saw the moment u like them....dun be like me ooh...regret later...in fact, chatuchak really sells alot cheaper as compared to suan lum & MBK ... *wink*

christine : u hv mail Ü

bloomiey

lyesha: Firstly you need credit card to book your rooms & air tickets.
http://www.asiarooms.com
http://www.sawadee.com
http://www.precisionreservations.com
You can book from either of the 3 trusted websites above.
Before booking rooms, get your air tickets first. Try to do it asap so that the rooms won't be fully booked. Probably 1mth - 3mths.
Air ticket - Budget Airline, No promotion, Cheapest you can get is from AirAsia
http://www.airasia.com

Otherwise, for others, you can try,
http://www.tigerairways.com
http://www.jetstarasia.com

Non-Budget Airline
http://www.cathaypacific.com
http://www.singaporeair.com/saa
http://www.finnair.com

For full package, you can try
http://www.zuji.com.sg
But its tough to get 1 cos its quite cheap too.

Christine: Enjoy yourself.. Happy Shopping... Drink more water too... Kinda warm weather, easy to fall sick.

bloomiey

Deep_dreamer: For hotels, you can try,

Arnoma Hotel (Beside Big C, if i am not wrong)
Holiday Inn Bangkok
Baiyoke Sky Hotel (Pratunam Market, Longest buffet breakfast in Bangkok)
Amari Watergate (In Between Pantip Plaza & Pratunam)

Pathumwan Princess (Beside MBK)
Novotel Siam Square (At Siam Sq, Opposite MBK)

Other hotel i am not sure,
Asia Hotel

purple_rain

After heard wat sailormoon said, realli regret to go on wed - sat... haiz. I have to make chatuchak my last stop means that I will have to restrain myself from buying too many stuff 1st, den 1 shot go chatuchak buy...

sailormoonwt

hey purple rain...dun be okie... there r still other nice markets like pratunmam mkrt & other shopping areas as well tat u can check it out... rem the Thong Lor Area i told u? tat's a chic & trendy shopping area which i could make it *so sad* u can check out the place too!

Chatuchak area, u cant get nice tops like those in Far East...so u might wanna get them at shopping malls or other mkrts instead... Chatuchak sells nice handmade leather slippers/sandals...ladies bags...home & deco stuffs...wedding flavours....

cmmon' i m sure u will enj your trip to the fullest one !! u oredi plan so much & do research so much...must LOOK FORWARD to it OKIE

icy

Deep_dreamer,
I saw some promotional package with thai airway sunny holidays, which seemed like cheaper than arranging hotel and air tix by urself. The Natas is coming soon, you can check it out.

wilderia

Deep_dreamer,
i was staying in Bangkok Palace when i was there last week. The hotel was fantastic. From the rooms to the service staffs..Superb!
It might sound unbelievable for a 3 & 1/2 stars hotel, but it's true from experiencing it.

You can book from http:www.asiarooms.com.
Enjoy your stay..

tweetie

I am gg BKK nxt week. Any suggestions for good massages.

Let's relax looks not bad and classy but a bit on the pricy side compared to Health Land. So i no idea which one to try although my heart seems like to Let's Relax.

Tweetie

icebaby0

Sorry...urgent question.
Where in Bangkok (lane or area) where there is wedding gowns and salons?
My fren is asking.
Hopefully can get the response today or tomorrow. Thanks loads girls.

duckling78

I have already book my tickets to BKK in july. have not book the hotel when should i book the hotel.

I see that the hotel rate is quite high in marchis it due to march school holiday? Does that mean that after the march holiday the prices of the hotel will go lower. For your advise.

duckling78

hi katc

Issit accessible for bangkok palace or it is situated in ulu place.

I am looking at which hotel to stay now and my fren recomennd asia...

bloomiey

Ugly duckling: As far as i know, this year hotel rates have increased slightly from last year, February & March are peak season, many tourist visit Thailand. During the month of May, tourist are low at Thailand as well as Chatuchak!!! I saw this info at some websites. They have seasonal months where some days of the years are peak with visitors therefore hotel prices increase.

little_a

thanks yanling..
I have read the archives and it seems that Pathumwan Princess is located at a prime location .. Since May is an off peak season... I think I will go in May then

bloomiey

lyesha: yeah i love pathumwan princess location and hotel standard too. But the price is kinda expensive. I would rather save on accomocation to take cab and spend more on food & clothing.

duckling78

hi Iyesha

I booked last year where air aisa is giving free tickets.

As what i understand from other member here they usually say DIY booking is cheaper. but the prob is u never come with free half day tour and did not come with transfer. However it seems that taking taxi inBKK is ok then not a big prob i think.

bloomiey

lyesha: just a note... usually or almost all the prices listed in agency for free and easy & full package price excludes airport tax, fuel charge and insurance which may seem cheap initially until you requested for the full price.

icy

icebaby,
I saw some bridal shops at Siam Paragon, they should be more ex since they are over there. Saw some shops at MBK tailer-made wedding gowns, but i dunno how their skill is like.

lyesha,
from what i see, it would be cheaper to purchase online if the budget airline have promotion, if they charge u at normal price especially for weekends then get package from agent might be better.

abt getting packages or DIY.. i suggest one must do lotsa homework first... for e.g: for my coming visit, various travel agencies quoted me at least $770 for jetstar with asia hotel.

i DIY the trips and found the following after some recommendations from friends around:

1) Thai airways $155/pax. tax = $21. total is only $352 booked via zuji...
2) asia hotel is $70/nite booked via asiarooms. total is $210.

nett total is $562 and its soooo much cheaper than getting from the travel agency. of cos i do not have free transfer but even if i pay 300 baht for the taxi fare, it is still sooo much cheaper than getting from the agent....

bloomiey

minssy: i am very interested in how you booked thru zuji, how long does it takes for confirmation? Did you try booking the full package from zuji before?

hi yanling,

hubby booked online from their webbie. just keyed in the particulars etc.. then he got the itinerary almost instantly. then next day, he got a call from the zuji asking how he would like to collect the tickets. he opted for delivery and the following day, the courier sent to us in the evening! ultra fast!

i did not get the full package though...but service with zuji is good! as far as our interaction goes

wilderia

wilderia

I'm not sure whether you gals are interested in this..

On my trip to BKK, i discovered this nice and cosy Thai restaurant - 11 Gallery which can be found in Sukhumvit soi 11.

Within the area, the concept inspires the opening of a Thai-style restaurant, featuring the homely local décor.. The overall ambience creates an impression of the real Thainess for both foreigners and Thai looking to conserve the Thai essence. The restaurant has two floors. The ground floor is a open floor with a high ceiling. The furnishing consists of Thai utensils and decorations, such as the fish mobile made from coconut leaves, fiddles, bird cage and the triangular cushions which are just right for propping you up while reclining in the breeze of the afternoon. The sound of Sepa chanting or easy listening Thai instrumental music in the background lulls you into a mood of total relaxation. Upstairs there is a verandah just right of a party. (tis paragraph is copied in their website)

http://www.11-gallery.com/about_us.htm

Food are nice and affordable. We spend ard $550B (S$23)for dinner before proceeding to Bedsupper Club..

http://www.bedsupperclub.com

food in Bed supper is extremely expensive.. unless you are willing to spend ard S$53 per person, if not, i wld suggest you to get your dinner before entering the club. Entry before 10pm is free, afterwhich is 500B per person.

As for feasting in Chinatown.. Haiz..I felt tht i'm cheated by the quality of bird Nest.. The lunch @ Hai Wai Tian is great.. but not as lucky as in NAM SING.. We took the 500B Bird Nest, and struggling to finish the STALE Bird Nest. I dunno how to descibe the taste to all, it was a total disappointment.A waste of $..Regretted not having Bird Nest in Hai Wai Tian.. Haiz...

Anyway, I'm juz FA LAU SAO.. Wanting to share my BKK experiences with all.. Hope i din annoy anyone..:p

bloomiey

KatC: Did you make advance booking for bedsupper club? Hows the food? U ate your food in Hai Wai Tian and bird nest in Nam Sing??? Didn't you complain to them about the stale bird nest?