Bangkok

hi yanling,

my trip is from thur - sunday.. not that bad lah

hi purple rain,

its at the west side where emporium is. i suggest you look at the map so that you can plan your itinerary better cos you will have a much clearer picture of where you wanna go

bloomiey

353308.gif

This is the map of Sukhumvit I found. Its 1 of the longest stretch of road about 10km with many Soi (Street).
Seems like there are quite alot of hotels, clubs & pubs over there.

wilderia

Hi Yanling,

I supposed you dun nid to book in advance to dine at BedSupper, the restaurant was almost empty when i'm there.. Haha.. Ghosttown...Maybe i'm there early.. Reservation can be made in their website. A cozy plc for chill & relax..

As for the stale Bird Nest.. Well, i'm juz unlucky though..dun wish to ruin our holiday mood.. and their serving staffs are not interested to serve us, they are always chatting at the corner.. So disappointed..

dazednconfused

HI...

Bangkok depends on tourism. The people there are mostly in the service industry. Hence, I'm quite sure they know that it will do them more harm than good to start an uprising of any kind. Thais are very gracious - more so than we are, I think. I love Thailand. And I'm looking forward to my trip there (again!) tomorrow.

cima_yv

Planning to go BKK again this year. Never been to Sampeng. Please advise how to get there?? Near where ?? BKK Sky Train can reach?

summersnow

i'm bk fr bkk! the trip was GREAT! have had such a gd time juz shopping & makaning.

hahaha... we spent so much time in siam sq, pratunam & chatuchak dat we dun have time to go chinatown... it's shop, makan, shop and makan again for us. pure shopping madness... heehee...

hi lyesha,
i stayed at pathumwan princess. love the hotel, the room is great and spacious! mine is a deluxe room btw. the bed is verie comfy, gd to have a gd nite sleep in aft a whole day of shopping. but the rate is on the high side, if u dun mind paying more, this is a gd hotel to stay in. we kept going bk to mbk to grab some stuff since the hotel is next to it. it's like if u miss getting someting today, u can still get it tomorrow since yr hotel is juz next to the shopping complex. heehee...

fangy

Due to some unforeseen circumstances, 2 of our frds are unable to go BKK with us from 21st Mar - 24th Mar. I am negotiating w Tiger airway to transfer the tics to a third party. If successful, anyone interested to buy? $100/tics (inclusive of all tax). [email protected]

summersnow

hi purple_rain,

i think there's one shop in mbk, 6flr, aft the food court area. dat shop does customization of caps, shirts etc, u might want to chk it out. but the cost is not dat cheap...

bloomiey

Yvonne: No BTS can reach Sampeng. The nearest is HuaLamphong Station but have to walk uite a distance. Haven't tried walking under the hot sun... Its near to Chinatown. Best is take cab there. Close @ 6pm.

honeybear

Yvonne,

Best is u take a cab there. Cab fares are cheap in bkk. I've nvr took train at all. Sampeng is a lane that is inside chinatown. Juz alight from chinatown, walk in n u can ask ard where sampeng is. I'm bk from bkk 2wks bk. Went Sampeng.... All the wholesale centre there.
If u r a fan of Hello kitty n Doraemon, Sampeng a heaven place for u.
U can find lots of kitty stuffs there. Bt be prepare to buy by dozen. coz the $ is far cheaper to buy dozen than 1pc. Best time to go juz before noon where all the shops hv opened aldy. Happy Shopping! I oni managed to shop in 1 lane, coz juz afraid to get lost. Its really a big street place to shop!

miralyn

Hi Yanling,

Thks for sharing your itinerary.

My trip is postpone cos hb dont feel safe when riots happening

However thks to all who provided info/tips, will archive & bid my time to make the trip.

bloomiey

Miralyn: No problem. Anyway the its a rally, not a riot. Peaceful for past few days, probably riot coming up soon, nobody knows. But i don't think it affects any of the main town area and Chatuchak.
Good News is you can wait for Thai currency to drop since rally starts and economy unstable and currency drop.

winnie: Mostly those dozen pieces or bulk pieces are for those accessories and stationery mostly. There are quite a number of Soft toys sold by per piece. Btw its a long small lane, not a big street. Thats very misleading.. lol.

bloomiey

Purple Rain: Nobody knows what happens next? When Thaksin supporters meet with Anti-Thaksin protestors. Hopefully continue to be peaceful rally. Anyway all these rally happens either on weekends, early morning or after working hours. Relax... *wink*

summersnow

hi purple_rain,

i guess it shld be fine. at first we oso verie worried, esp on the second day when the headline of all the newspapers we saw was abt the bomb explosion at one of the general's hse. imagine our shock when we were reading the papers while having breakfast at the hotel.

then we oso thot of skipping places like suan lum as it is near lumpini park and it was reported dat a there was a few small explosion there too. but we chked with the hotel security and he assured us dat it's safe to go.

so we went, and it's safe! juz like normal days i shld say. i did not see any trace of rallies at all nor hear abt them, except fr the papers and news... heehee...

purple_rain

Hopefully...*Pray*

2 more weeks to go, still gathering info on shopping, relaxation & food but never keep myself update on news... Haiz

renshen

can i check if anyone knows how i can arrange for a mini-van or any transport while i'm in BKK with my family (total of 7 adults).

we do not wish to take cab cos it will means separating in 2 cabs and we are all women.. so jus want to play safe in case the cab drivers get up to no good..

i tried to email my hotel - Asia Hotel but they are not responding.

Pls help to provide me any information if you can!

Many thanks in advance!

sereneli

Hi Renshen,

I took a van (negotiated the price with those available at the airport) @ 1000baht for 6 adults....exclusive of toll of less than 100 baht.

renshen

Hi Serene

Is 1000 baht for the whole trip or just for 1 day? Need to pay for their petrol?

So u just went to the airport and negotiated with whoever is available?

But i have airport to hotel transfer provided.. jus that i need transport to shutter us to shopping places..

appreciate your advice! thanks.

sereneli

Hi Renshen,

It's for the transport from Airport to Hotel. I did not check for transport within the city area as I met another 2 friends there, so we took 2 cabs or tuk tuk instead.

sereneli

Hi Renshen,

It's for the transport from Airport to Hotel. I did not check for transport within the city area as I met another 2 friends there, so we took 2 cabs or tuk tuk instead.

renshen

Hi Serene

Thanks for your clarification.

For a moment i thot it was transport for the whole day to shutter us everywhere we want to go.. heehee..

is it safe for us to spilt into 2 cabs cos my aunties are all old folks.. only 3 young pples in our group..

afterall i think the old folks will prefer to stick together.. so i would greatly appreciate if anyone can provide me the rates or contacts or information on renting a minivan for the whole day..

sereneli

Hi Renshen,

To me, it's quite safe cos I usually just travel via taxi when I am in BKK.

Maybe you can split 2 young + 2 old, 2 old + 1 young to sit in 2 different cabs.

bloomiey

renshen: There are a few agency in Bangkok offering such services. Full day package with driver to ferry around. I try to check the price for ya prob tomorrow. But FYI it doesn't come as cheap as taking a taxi running ard.

purple_rain

This is the latest news report from Thailand

"Thaksin said he would declare a state of emergency if necessary, which could bring troops onto the streets of a country with a long and relatively recent history of military intervention.

"We are prepared to declare a state of emergency if required," he told reporters on the campaign trail in the northeast".

What if he really declare state of emergency. means we can't go to thailand?

bloomiey

renshen: The rate for a driver and a minivan to cater for your 1 Full day transport cost 2000THB.
Bangkok is a safe country other than those rally which has been going on. There are lotsa kind souls out there, much more friendier than Singaporean. There was once when i was outside Isetan praying those elephants and 4 face buddha, a kind soul came approaching me teaching me how to pray and what kind of things to pray for, etc... But just take note that some cabs and tuk tuks are greedy for money but not all. There are definitely black sheeps around everywhere.

renshen

Hi Yanling

Thank you for checking for me. How can i go ahead to make advance booking with them?

I'm really grateful to you for your help!

bloomiey

renshen: Hi, i have checked out there are quite a few car rental companies which provide driver at additional cost. You can try Hertz which is an international car rental company. Or alternatively Petchburee car rental company which has minivan avail. They are quite famous car rental companies. Check it out.

http://www.thairentacar.com/drivercost.html

Advanced Booking Online might be required.

icy

I went with my hb colleague yesterday to Chinatown yesterday she buy xue yan at 9000 baht for 2 jing, I wonder if u all know the price and whether this is cheap?

I tried Divana Spa for a 3hr package at Sukhumvit Road, it is a very nice experience, the service there is quite personalised. I also went to Chao Phraya Princess River Cruise for buffet dinner, the dinner wasnt fantastic but it is a nice romantic experience to cruise down the river under the candle light dinner, and we are lucky to get the first seat at the upper deck which oversea the front of the ship. :D

For security,
today is suppose to be the showdown. They will stay at the govt hse until Thaksin resign.

It is unclear at this stage if the current protests will succeed or if a standoff between Shinawatra critics and the prime minister will
continue. There are fears that violence may break out if both sides continue to maintain a hardline stance and a compromise is not reached.

The anti-Shinawatra protest actions in Bangkok have been largely peaceful and have not directly affected the security and safety of foreigners in the Thai capital so far. However, foreigners are likely to be affected by local travel disruptions. The current protests are affecting Bangkok's main roads including Ratchamdamnoen Avenue and roads leading to the Government House.

bloomiey

Purple Rain: There are quite a number of seafood market in Bangkok. Kinda expensive, not worth it. There are a number of people tried it from this forum as well as advise from some Bangkok people.

icy: Roughly how many pieces is 2 jing? Thats almost $400... Doesn't seem cheap, i got no idea about it. Anyway its red bloody nest, so should be expensive. was thinking of buying some too if its cheaper than SG.

icy

Yanling,
Yeap, me also not much idea. haha but I guess it is okie becos i buy a cheap & simple quality - broken pcs, dong hu yan in sg and already cost $120 for 1 jing.

The Shui Yan cost like 3500 baht for 1 Jing. it all in whole pcs.

adkltg

well.. juz a note for those planning to go BKK. Be careful if anyone approaches u to intro u go temple. Its a plot to ask ppl buy jewellery. Juz a pc of advice in case got cheated.

i juz came bk frm BKK anyway... everythings quite alright there so far. As for nxt week and upcoming mth, nt so sure

renshen

can i check if anyone is planning to cancel their coming trip to BKK due to the unstable political situation?

personally im rather concerned about the threat of state of emergency.. if it is declared then we tourists will not be able to get out of there unless with our embassy help right?

aside to Yenling, thanks for your recommendation. I've sent email to the rental company to enquire on the charges.

icebaby0

renshen,

I just came back yesterday.
No problems...place is as per usual.
In their Bangkok post, they do tell u where they are going to have the "riot" (pretty funny)...but i think it's licensed.

Anyway, it's good shopping.

FYI: Good money exchange can be found in MBK. (When u take BTS, the floor that u walk into Tokyu, then walk to the left exit. Exit shld be facing Bata. There is a small money exchange there. Rates on Monday was 23.73. When I changed money at chinatown in Singapore last Thurs, it was 23.8)

bloomiey

No worries, There are quite a few money changer at MBK. The rate is worst than Singapore mostly.

icy: 1 jing = 300grams, 1 liang = ???
i got no idea about these kinda stuff. you bought them in Nam sing right?

zen: Enjoy the marvellous wide spread of buffet breakfast every morning. *yummy* Where you book your hotel room from? Price?

renshen

just to share.. i found that the exchange rate for thai baht is better at golden mile complex than anywhere else.. i managed to get 23.92 there..

obaesom

hi renshen,

For emergency while in Bangkok.

The Singapore Embassy in Bangkok
129 South Sathorn Road
Bangkok 10120
Tel: +662-286 2111, +662-286 1434
Fax: +662-286 6966, +662-287 2578

purple_rain

Anyone will be going to BKK this 2 weeks? Heard that e rally is getting worse...

Agreed with renshen...I'm oso very worried. Cos it seems that Thaksin will not resign & he's ready to declare state of emergency.

obaesom

Embassy of the Republic of Singapore - Thailand

Chancery 129 South Sathorn Road
Bangkok 10120

Telephone 001-66-(2) 286-2111, 286-1434

Telefax 001-66-(2) 286-6966

Homepage http://www.mfa.gov.sg/bangkok

Working Hours Mon - Fri
9.00 am to 12.00 pm
1.00 pm to 5.00 pm
Sat & Sun - Closed

Other Information

Emergency Contact: 001-66-(1) 844-3580

mirror

i'm going to BKK over this weekend. first time there. just like to get some advise from the seasoned traveller, how's the situation like over there? safe to go?

thanx in advance!!