Bangkok

fat

Hi Schnauzie, initially that's wat my travel agency told me that its was full and chances are pretty slim...i will be going on the 3rd Feb. But juz today....they called me again and told me that is available! So therefore my trip is confirm and will be paying my remaining bal this Sat. Yeah!!!!!

ribenaberry

Zenn, I will be there as well during your stay. Which shopping area u intend to comb? Now quite confused duno should go Chinatown or Pratunam first before gng JJ Mkt.

What's ur shopping list?

ohstrawberry

hi, passby

Frankly speakly, i dun wanna tried oil massage anymore. I will still prefer leg massage or thai massage with i can wear a pyjamas. Anyway if you like spa, i will recommend this spa, Nibhana Spa, which loved by alot of Hongkong ppl : http://www.nibhanaspa.com/
If i had the chance, i will definately try this spa, however the price is slightly on the higher side, so i must save more money first.....

blueroti

i just came back from bangkok and stayed in centrepoint petchburi. it was a pleasant stay - the room is clean and they've cable as well so if u're bored, u can tune in to HBO, CNN, BBC etc. n their chambermaid won't come a knocking early in the morning wanting to clean up your room. there was one morning when i slept till about 11 plus and nobody knocked on our door. security seems pretty tight too. if i want to nitpick then my only complaint is that the bed is abit hard and there's not much variety for breakfast. we took cab most of the time and usually we'll tell cab driver it's opposite pantip plaza so that they won't send us to the wrong centrepoint - there're a few centrepoints in bangkok.
i paid about $76 per nite booked thru' sawasdee.com - it comes with a kitchen. cheaper than asiarooms. the room is really quite big.
would recommend it.

doreal

Hi blueroti

Am happy for you that ur stay at centrepoint was enjoyable. May i ask about the bedding arrangements, as in are there 2 twin queen-sized beds in the rooms, or just 1 double bed?

zenn

Hi Rebena,

So coincidential! Which hotel you booked?

Mine oni 3d2N so dun think can cover all. Targetting at Chinatown (nv been there b4), Suam Lum, Central, Pratnum, MBK and Siam sq area. Where is JJ mkt?

marilyn_chh

zenn,
ok thanks.. but i read somewhere that the food is good! now i'm thinking if i should go to Kuang or the restuarant below..

SEAFOOD MARKET AND RESTAURANT
(89 Sukhumvit Soi 24 , Sukhumvit Rd.,)

zenn

Hi mrc,

Ya food is nice and price reasonable but I cant remember the exact location. Someone mentioned abt seafood at Suan Lum is nice too. Tryin to find somewhere convenient....

When you gg BKK?

marilyn_chh

Zenn,

Going during the Haji holiday (7-10th Jan). Not exactly cheap cos i booked it too late.. Got my tickets from Jet star and Tiger seperately at SGD270 with taxes..Not cheap right? but the timing is quite good. Staying at DMA pavalion cos we wanted to be near Pratunam, the wholesale market..hehe..

Going there with a girlfriend. Gonna be a girlie trip with lots of shopping, mani-pedi, dining and drinking and massage.. Hehe..

Are you going soon too?

blueroti

if you're looking for a good massage, suggest you try Marble House in Siam Square. we paid about 300b for an hour - the masseues were really good! they were so good that almost all the customers there gave them tips when they left. my husband said it's the best foot massage he ever had. he was really exhausted by the time we went for the foot massage and his feet were killing him coz' of all the walking. but after the foot massage, he was rejuvenated! and we also asked them to include shoulder massage at the end of the session.
so thot u guys might be interested in trying Marble House since it's at siam square - so u can just drop by after all that shopping in siam square instead of travelling to healthland etc.

zenn

Hi mrc,
I am going end of feb. Ya ya massage is a must :p

Hi bluerotic,
Where exactly is Marble Hse? Along the st or inside shopping mall?

jule

mrc,

I will be there same period as you too.

blueroti,

I see at sawasdee, there will be increase in rate for Centre Point 2006.

blueroti

hi zenn

marble house is along the street - there are quite a few massage parlours in the same stretch. think it's near novotel hotel. it may not look as nice as the other shops but the massage is definitely better. we tried a nicer-looking one with better ambience and it was not very good.

marilyn_chh

jule,
it's a hot period..haha..i think i'll expect to see lots of singaporean there

gals,
it should be safe for 2 girls to travel by cabs around BKK right? My hubby is a little worried and told me to take the public transport instead.. but public transport not so convenient leh..

blueroti

hi zenn

yes, u can walk there from MBK and it closes pretty late. i was there until about 10.45pm.
and u can walk from MBK to siam square, siam paragon, siam centre, siam discovery centre...that's what i did. i find siam paragon quite awesome - it's really huge! and i tried this ice-cream place at the basement called fudge and co. or sth - had the monkey business (peanut butter ice-cream, peanut butter, biscuits and peanuts) ice-cream which was really good! and for the guys, they can go ogle at the sports cars eg. lumborghini - they've a few showrooms on the upper floor. and there's kinokuniya too. the supermarket is also incredible - well stocked with gourmet food and all.

destitonia

just came back from bkk... shiok shiok..the weather there is damn cool..much cooler than singapore, was a bit cold in the morning and night, so if you cannot tolerate cold, must bring sweater..chatuchak best place!! bought so much things there.. we spent both saturday and sunday there..still miss that place.. suan luam night market also nice.. same price as chatuchak but less crowded, neater and of cos cooler..but i think chatuchak got more hidden treasures --> cheap cheap stuff..99B for one backpack..

also the people there are so cultured, you seldom hear people talking loudly on the BTS or in public..so impressed with thais..got one time, we were on the BTS, then one grp of singaporean family came on board and talk so loudly that i feel so paiseh..they dun realise they are the only one who are talkin so loudly..disturb the peace of the BTS..

those of you who want to go dreamworld, for me, i think its quite worth going, especially if you have kids. Me and hubby enjoyed ourselves there..and will go there again if we go bkk again..i stayed at arnoma and booked from the counter at the hotel lobby, 700B per person..think it will be best to book the package, cos very far from city. And no cab from there to take back to city..

one word of advice, there are a lot of tricksters there still..there will tell u this place close that place close, that place open only at 3.30.. ignore them..luckily read information from here so never get cheated..hubby nearly believed one guy cos he looked so sincere..remember : every place is opened EVERYDAY..hehe

Also, one thing i notice is that there are few toilets and rubbish bins in bkk..much lesser that singapore but the streets are clean

mrc : i think it will be better to take the BTS. Frankly the traffic there is quite horrible! BTS fast and convenient and safe..and there are still drivers who try not to use the meter..must be careful if you really take cab..

blueroti

hi destitonia and all

i juz came back from bkk too! yes, the weather is really cool. i was so surprised!
and yes, chatuchak is better than suan lum altho the latter has some unique stuff - we came across a few vintage shops and almost bought the clocks. there's a big food centre there too but the food is so-so.

but think the food at the papaya restaurant (next to macway tailor) at siam square is the best! we went back twice! n altho there's always a queue but it moves pretty fast. wait is only about 10 mins. the thai papaya salad, chicken wings, the tom yam/pork bones soup, the spicy fried fish are really yummy! and prices are reasonable too.
we went to cabbage and condoms but didn't think the food was that nice. the papaya restaurant is definitely better.
and yes, take the BTS if you can. we spent most of the time taking cabs and getting stuck in traffic. we noticed some of the taxi drivers tend to turn off the meter very quickly when we reached our destination so that we won't be able to see how much it is. so suggest u take a look at your fare when you almost reach your destination.

estben

hi destionia,
the weather there is cold??? Thanks for the update, tonight i shall pack a sweater. Travelling tomorrow so very excited............ Merry Christmas to all
i will update my trip when i come back on monday see you all around.

marilyn_chh

ester,
safe journey and have fun!

destitonia and blueroti,
BKK is cool? oh..my gf told me that too but i thought she's lying.. i went there in october last year and it was hot hot hot..hehe.. is it like air-con temperature 16-20 degree?? still cannot believe leh..

mm, safer to take BTS ah..i'm thinking of going sampeng (near chinatown) and Sukhimvit area.. Got BTS? morever my place not very near to BTS.. Staying at Dma Pavillion, Pratunam area..

Aiyah, how ah?

blueroti

hi mrc

yeah think it's really about 20 degrees or lower at nite. i didn't even dare to wear my sleeveless tees! n if u visit siam paragon, it's even colder there! the air con there is super strong!

i was also staying in pratunam n i took cab most of the time. but for certain places like sumkhivit, we took the BTS from siam (at siam square) after shopping at siam square/MBK to avoid the traffic jam wh can be really bad during peak hours. i also took the train from suan lum back to central since it's pretty fast.

marilyn_chh

blueroti,
really? ok, i must take note to pack my cardigan or sweater cos i'm afraid of cold..

thanks for the tips. then i will plan in such away that we go shopping MBK and mani-pedi in siam square, then take train from Siam station to Sukhumvit. Is there a Sukhumvit station?

blueroti

hi mrc

if u r taking the skytrain from siam, then u can stop at Asok station if u're going to cabbage and condoms/times square/robinson (that is soi 12, 10).
if u're taking the MRT, u can stop at sukhumvit station.

think Asok skytrain station and sukhumvit MRT r connected so doesn't matter whether u take the skytrain or MRT, u'll arrive at the same place.

but if u're going to sukhumvit from suan lum, u can take the MRT from lumphini station. it's only a few stops before u hit sukhumvit.

zenn

Hi blueroti,
Is papaya restaurant near marble hse too?

Hi destitonia,
Is there any good massage area near Arnoma hotel?

blueroti

by the way, for those who're buying lingerie, suggest u get it from tokyu in MBK coz' u get 10% of your purchase in coupons in return which u can use at the tokyu itself, incl. the supermarket and cafe (but excl. McDonalds).
i spent my coupons at the cafe and supermarket.
the wacoal at siam paragon doesn't give discount tho'.

and oh, for those who like beef noodles, there's this beef noodle place at siam square which is quite good too. it's a kopitiam but u see more locals than tourists there. it's located right next to a big carpark. the rice with chicken is not bad too. the beef noodle serving is pretty small tho' so what we did was order the rice with chicken on top of that. the chilli sauce is quite good too.

and i tried both MK and coca steamboat restaurants - think coca is still better tho' abit more pricey i think. coca is located right beside/behind novotel - ask around if u can't find it.

if u like donuts, u can try mister donut - think it's better than dunkin donuts.

blueroti

hi zenn

papaya restaurant is next to macway tailor - think it's pretty near marble house, can't really remember. but there's another papaya and fried chicken restaurant in the same stretch - that's not the one. the papaya restaurant has a thai name which i can't remember but it's literally next to macway tailor.

blueroti

btw mrc, the bangkok airport is also pretty cold. i was wearing my sweater then.

and for those who're interested in airasia,
just wanted to share my experience with you.

i flew to bangkok recently on airasia - it was pretty ok, there was no long delay and service was ok. i read about the plane being delayed for a few hours on the forum - ours was only delayed for about 30 mins. on the flight back, we're on time but the crew decided to wait for 2 passengers who're 20 mins late which caused the delay. and by the time the plane took to the runway, it has to wait for other airlines to take off too. so, we arrived half an hour after the scheduled time.

marilyn_chh

blueroti,
thank you for the tips! Will definately bring a cardi or shawl along.

I thought the MRT and BTS is the same..mmm??? anyway, can i get the MRT/BTS map from the airport?

i like wacoal bra! so, i should get it at tokyu MBK is it?

oh yeah, i'm thinking whether should i get a prepaid card like Orange or one-2-call instead of using my Singtel roaming. What about you?

blueroti

hi mrc

yes, u can get the MRT/BTS map from the stations.
it's actually different - one is a skytrain and the other is a MRT. they ply different lines but converge at certain stations like siam.

i bot my wacoal stuff from tokyu but not sure if any other places offer better discounts.

my M1 subscription offers free auto roaming so i use this cheaper service they've when i call home.

btw, just to clarify - for marble house, we only did the foot massage wh was good. not sure about the body massage tho.

and oh for those pp who like toasts, u can try Mont in MBK. it's on level 2 i think, next to MK restaurant. they offer toast with kaya, chocolate, peanut butter etc. or u can have steam bread with kaya/choc dip. quite nice.

zenn

I remember someone mentioning abt taking taxi from arrival hall instead of departure? Can someone pls explain? Also, how much would it cost from airport to Arnoma?

blueroti

hi zenn

m not sure abt taking cab fr arrival hall. we took a cab at the taxi stand outside the departure hall. there's a sign that says we've to pay 50b to the cab driver excl. the cab fare. we paid standard 300b for our journey from airport to pratunam.

hi aquarius
my husband made 2 pants and 3 shirts for $160 at Macway tailor (siam sq). but the cut is not that great. we had to ask them to alter the pants again coz' it was not fitting. we went back the next day to collect.but we saw a satisfied customer who made a suit there tho'. so guess it all depends on your luck. the other tailor u may want to consider is ambassador. my husband's fren made his shirts there.

paopei

Hi Destitonia, the Dreamworld package 700 baht, is it include lunch, snow city etc? Can you tell me muchmore what is it incl? From what time u go and go back hotel what time? Sorry ... first time go Dreamworld, so want to know more details ... thank u so much. Any photo to share? Thanks a lot

diamond42

I have just came back from BBK and noted that the service level of the sales people there seemed to drop a bit as compared in the past.

And we also noted that prices are more reasonably priced in street bazars and chatuchak market as compared in the past. In other words, not much bargaining is required.

BUT for those interested to go to chatuchak market, PLS AVOID MBK first. Because a few stuffs we bought in MBK was a lot more expensive compared to chatuchak market or even the stalls in the street bazar.

There are a lot of stalls that open at 5pm daily outside the WTC area. Enjoy your shopping there and items are much nicer than MBK.

For those who loved shopping and planning to visit siam square, isetan, zen, BIG C, Siam paragon, pls take note that all shopping centres closed at 9.00pm sharp daily.

For isetan card holders, you may want to bring along your isetan card, flash it upon payment to enjoy a direct 5% discount on your purchases.

We took Airasia there and our flight was delayed for at least 45 mins! The landing and taking off was quite smooth though.

Upon arriving at the airport, we went out to the arrival hall where there were a lot of people asking whether do you want to rent a car, van or minibus to bring you to the hotel. Just ignored them and walk straight out of the arrival hall where there is a public taxi stand.

Just follow the queue and then tell the counter girl which hotel u are going, then the counter girl will issued a receipt and tell you the price you supposed to pay upon arrival at the hotel.

And dont forget that if the taxi driver asked whether to go by toll/ highway or normal route, if no jam, go by normal route. If there is jam, go by toll/ highway whereby you just need to pay 20 baht PER CAR not per person. Don't get conned by the taxidriver.

diamond42

And for those who are staying near Pratunam market, there are two shops that have massage services.

1. Lavender Spa
1/3 Petburi Road
Soi Petburi 15
Rajchatavee, Bangkok 10400
Tel: 02-653-9396, 01-8438226
Opening hour: 9.00 am to 8.30pm

Their foot massage is excellent! Cost us $300baht for 60 mins.

They would wash your feet in rose water with salt and asked you to lie down on a bed and covered you with blanket before starting the foot massage. At the end of the foot massage, they would throw in a neck and shoulder massage.

BUT they dont have private rooms for facial or foot massage. Lavendar Spa is those open concept type.

When we were there, we saw a singaporean couple doing facials and after their facials, we saw them tipping the therapists. So whether to do tipping or not, depends on yourself. BUT it is not strongly encouraged in Bangkok.

2. Fuji Massage
703/11 Opposite Pantip Plaza
Petchburi Road
Tel: 02-2552160
Opening hours: 11.00am to 23.00pm
They offers a range of services like Thai traditional massage to Foot Reflexology. Pricewise much cheaper than Lavender Spa.

Foot Reflexology only cost 250baht for 60 mins but it is only a difference of 50 baht so depends on your own comfort level, decide which one to go.

kckc

Zenn,
When are you going to BKK? U staying at Arnoma Hotel? I am going on 28 Dec for 4 days.

Destitonia, same as Paopei, i would like to know 700B to Dreamworld, what does it include? It is good, i will reserve from Arnoma upon arrival as my 3yr old son is coming with us.

Esther, share with us your experience when you are back.

MERRY CHRISTMAS & HAPPY NEW YEAR TO ALL!

diamond42

Hi Ribena,

You should go for Pratunam market first because Pratunam market is the wholesale market of Bangkok where you can get all clothings at wholesale price. But do take note that in order to enjoy wholesale price, you hv to buy in bulk of 3 pieces or 6 pieces.

Pratunam market open as early as 8.30am and closed ard 4-5pm daily. Be very careful with your wallets, bags in Pratunam market.

Eg. Crop short cardigan that is currently in fashion in SGP only cost you $300 baht for 6 pieces. You can mix the design of the cardigan and the colours as well.

For chinatown, unless you are familar with the area, otherwise you may not be able to find the sampeng market that is very popular in Chinatown.

Sampeng market closed at 5pm daily. So if you interested to walk the sampeng market where there are tons of accessories to buy from, go chinatown early. Be wary in Chinatown too as even though most of the people in Chinatown speaks local languages like cantonese, hokkien, teochew or mandarin, they tends to prey on Chinese too!

diamond42

For those interested in going to chatuchak market, be very careful there especially along the area where there is a junction to proceed to the next section of chatuchak market. Because the junction is always very crowded as people want to cross over to the next section and also there are two directions of traffic flow. We personally encountered two pickpockets there. My hubby felt someone touching his back pockets twice and when he turned back to look at the person, it was an uncle wearing specs holding a small plastic bag in his hands. When the uncle saw my hubby stared at him, he quickly walked away.

Next, we saw a plump woman performing the same act on a lady in front of us. Best to put your wallets in front of your jeans/ pants pockets. And hold tightly to your bags.

There is a new section in chatuchak market next to the MRT station. Yup! MRT station not the BTS station. Both should be newly opened as they were not there when we were in bangkok last year.

The new section beside the MRT station sells much nicer stuffs that appeals to tourists. Prices are not either too pricy or cheap however they rejected any bargaining.

Inside chatuchak market, there are a few stalls that sells 3/4 pants - something very similar to the 3/4 pants we seen in Ness Boutique or GG5 Boutique. Material ranges from very good to very poor. Price starting from $100 baht to $350 baht.

For those keen on birkenstock sandals, there are plenty there in chatuchak market. Price ranges from $150 baht to $250 baht. Standard price after bargaining based on 1 pair should be $170 baht. Of course, the more u buy, the cheaper it is going to be.

For those who are in the midst of setting up love nest, chatuchak market have a few stalls that sells very nice household items like sofa. Very nice but did not check the price as these are not on our shopping list.

Comparing the chatuchak market last year to this year, we noted that the ventilation in the market is so much better and some of the stalls have fitting room. And the stuffs they selling there moved towards korean, japanese and hongkong fashion.

Shoes are very cheap there. Shoes like those selling in Far East Plaza, Isetan Wisma under the brand Mondo and DMK are selling at $199 baht each pair.

And pls remembered that no matter whether is it clothings or shoes, as long as you like it, grab it and hold onto it, then proceed to bargain asap. Never wait as we noted that the shop owner would just sell it to anyone who can make the payment fastest regardless if the buyer is local or tourist.

diamond42

And if you are booking First Hotel located at 2 Petchburi Road, Bangkok 10400. Do take note that there are TOWER wing and MAIN wing.

Pls do not request for corner rooms. The rooms in the corner are SO MUCH smaller compared to the rooms along the corridor. But as we were unable to book the Tower Wing, we are not sure about how is the room like in the Tower Wing.

For food, do drop by S&P restaurants located in Pantip Plaza or Isetan Level 5. Very nice and good thai foodfare, reasonably priced. MUST try the deep fried fish, pepper and garlic spare ribs, Seafood green curry, chicken in yellow curry. Very very yummpy!!

If you are keen on Japanese food, then go for the Japanese restaurant in WTC, opposite the Mr Donut shop.

For facial, can go to Kose beauty centre located in Isetan level 2 or 3 next to the section selling lingerie and book yourself a 90 mins facial that cost only $27 to $60 depending on your needs.

For Kose facial, need to make reservation for service at 0-2255-9826. Service hour: 10.00am to 9.00pm, Booking hour: 10.00am to 7.00pm.

I did not do any facial becos the air in bangkok is so polluted, like waste of my money because after facial, i still need to walk along the street facing the polluted air. :p

diamond42

Oh yes...opposite WTC, there is this shopping centre called BIG C. Inside there is also foot massage service as well as upper body massage.

Opposite Pratnuam market, there is a NEWLY open shopping mall named THE PLATNIUM Shopping mall. You can check it out. Something like MBK but more on clothing.

marilyn_chh

diamond,
thanks for all the tips especially on the timing. will be staying at pratunam...wah, now i must reschedule all my shopping trip liao since i want to shop at pratunam and chinatown.. :p

How's the ambience at Lavendar SPA?

diamond42

Hi Mrc,

I suggest you early morning ard 8.30am go to Pratnuam market then by 12.00noon or 1pm, you should be done. Then return to hotel put down all your shopping bags, then take a cab down to Chinatown.

Lavendar SPA have open concept whereby when you look inside the shop, you will see 4 or 5 bed where they do your facials and foot massage for you.

They also provide the aromatherapy body massage so i believed they have individual private rooms.

There is not much ambience to talk abt in Lavendar Spa. Yes..there is soothing music and dimming of lights but it is really not the typical spa you are getting in SGP. I would say Lavendar Spa is just a very modest shop selling basic spa services only without having you to travel all the way to healthland etc etc.

diamond42

Hi Mrc,

If you are going to Chinatown, ask the cab to drop u down at WHITE ORCHID HOTEL, then from there walk straight down whereby you would pass by a chinese restaurant or kopitiam selling Char siew, roast goose or roast chicken rice etc etc, go inside and hv your late lunch. Order their fried rice, shark fins and their noodles in soup. Very very nice too!

Once you are done with lunch, exit the restaurant, go straight down and you should see sempang market.