Bangkok

For those going Pratunam market, dont forget to try the Famous Wanton Noodles nearby. Very very nice but must wait for place to sit.

Wishing all of you a Merry Merry Christmas and A HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!

wow, diamond,
you're my saviour!!! i was wondering how to go chinatown..hehehe.. now i have a clearer picture of my itenar.. :P

yeah, sampeng is one of them.. heard the accessories is cheap there..

oh, i want to try shark fins and bird nest..so, i should try at the restaurant/kopitiam you mentioned lah? just say white orchid hotel is it?

Hi blueroti,
So we have to get the taxi driver to agree at 300baht b4 getting up the cab? Confused by why some have to pay toll whereas some is standard rate...

Hi KC,
Yes ve booked Arnoma and going end feb. You booked Arnoma too?

hi zenn

u can just go to the public taxi stand outside the airport where's there's a lady who will write u a receipt but there's a sign at the stand that says that you must give cab driver 50b. it seems that 300b is the standard fare. when we took a cab to the airport, the cab driver off the meter and said it'll be 300b.
so i guess if any taxi driver is going to quote you more than 300b then dun take the cab.

you have to be firm with the taxi drivers or they'll just "eat u up". there was a driver whom i encountered who wanted to charge us 80b for our ride from siam square back to pratunam. we refused coz' we know it's roughly abt 50b so in the end he agreed. but when we reached our hotel, it was only 40b but he wanted 50b but we just told him the meter says 40b and only paid him that then.

i went to pratunam market but not pratunam centre. pratunam centre is like a shopping mall.
but i went to platinum mall tho - it's quite organised where you've 1 floor for men's wear, another 1 for women's clothes and bags. i bought 2 bags from there - the retro kind - wh. i didn't see anywhere else. can try bargaining but they won't give u much discount. they've a food court at the highest level. it's a pretty new mall so very different from pratunam mkt.

and if u're looking at buying jeans, u can try pratunam mkt but they're local brands or brands u've not heard of. alternatively, can go MBK to get the jeans which cost about 650-900b. most of them are diesel or levis jeans - probably imitations. but they look just as nice. in fact, they've alot of designs for guys, more than for the ladies. my husband and i bought a pair of jeans each from Camp SLR world jeans which is located at B10, 6th floor. if the jeans is too long, most of the shops there offer alterative service which is free of charge. u can get it back in 15-30 mins. i paid 650b for my jeans and my hubby paid 750b for his. we tried bargaining but they refused. the shops on the 6th floor offer cheaper prices as compared to those on level 1 - probably coz' of the location.
think the jeans are worth buying, esp. for the guys. my hubby bought 2 pairs of jeans from MBK 2 yrs ago n they still look ok.

oh 1 thing abt pratunam mkt - they don't have fitting rooms so quite difficult to try anything. unless u're wearing shorts and a tee then u can just try it on easily.

hi blueroti, i bought the clock! the very zen clock! we have been without a clock in our home for three years cos we can't find anything we like at all in singapore.. when we saw that clock in chatuchak, we fell in love with it immediately..

zenn, near arnoma i dunno got good massage or not..hotel itself has but ex, 600b for 1 hr. In big C itself also have, 250b for 1 h but good or not i also dunno....we went to chang massage at siam BTS station. You wont miss it, can see the sign Chang Foot Massage from Siam BTS station, wont miss it...i tried thai massage..shiok!!

Also just for additional information, there is a whole stretch of bazaar from chitlom station to arnoma hotel..but i dun think they open everyday..i was there from thur to tue..mon night the street was empty..think they open from thur onwards..not sure also..wanted to do nail painting (50b for 10 nails) on the last night- monday, then saw the whole street empty..sigh..

and one more thing, if you happen to be staying at arnoma, MUST order the room service at least once..nice food, nice setup..be in for a pleasant surprise

paopei and KC : the 700b includes lunch, buffet style, but simple food..good enough, dun think you want to waste too much time eating while you are there either..700b does not include entrance fee to Snow City..Snow City need to pay 180b per person..remember to wear long pants cos they only provide sweater not pants..hubby and i went in bermudas and shorts..shivering inside..700b also does not include go-kart..at the entrance, the person will give you discount coupon for go-kart, 100b for each ride after discount..also, games (like those in singapore pasar malam, hitting cans, throwing ball) not included in the 700b also.. the rest of the rides are all included in the 700b. Can sit on the rides unlimited times..we went on viking 3 times!! best thing, no queue there!! hehee..

Thanks blueroti & destinonia!

Destitonia, how much is the massage at Chang Foot Massage? Btw is Siam BTS along Siam Discovery?

Merry xmas everyone!!

Hi sweet,

Pantip Plaza is opp Centre Point Phetchaburi hotel - same side as Grand Diamond and Platinum Shopping mall.

Isetan is inside Central...

hi sweet

isetan can be found at world trade centre which is now known as central world plaza.

hi destitonia

we're still looking for our dream clock tho'...
=OP

MERRY CHRISTMAS everyone!!!

blueroti, must walk till u find ok? we find ours on the second day that we went chatuchak.. i wanted to ask hubby to close shop for the day, go back hotel and rest liao (2pm) but he insisted on carrying on...luckily he did that, cos we just turn into an aisle and there, right in front of our eyes, our dream clock..and a whole shop filled with similar clocks..

Thanks for the info, Destitonia. I think I will call to Arnoma and book the Dreamworld tour. Thanks ... Merry Christmas to u all

Hi MRC,

Yup, just tell the taxidriver to alight you at White Orchid Hotel then walk straight down. Because White Orchid hotel is already located at the end of Chinatown so if you are facing the streets with White Orchid Hotel at your back then turn right and walk straight down where you will see the restaurant after passing a few shops.

The restaurant you wont missed because that is one of the only one that showcase their char siew etc etc. Haaa...haaaa.....

Sorry as we were too excited by the food so i did not take note of the name of the restaurant. :p

Sampeng market is very very crowded so be careful with your wallet.

All shopping malls closed at 9.00pm. No..The clothes in Platinum mall is not cheap at all compared to pratunam market.

Both Pratunam market and complex are places to get good bargains. Even though most of the stalls dont have fitting rooms BUT rest assured because they are more than 100% accurate in getting your waist size, hip size right. And you can get jeans both ladies and guys at $199 baht to $350 baht.

Only places like MBK will quote a price of $600 baht for jeans. My younger brother got "conned" over at MBK for his jeans despite our warning so when he went to Pratunam market and saw the same pair selling at $300 baht, he nearly vomited blood. Haaa...haaaa.....

So to make sure you wont get conned, make Pratunam market your very first stop before venturing anywhere.

Hi Zenn,

Chang Foot Massage charges the below:

1. 300 baht for foot reflexology

The one at BIG C is not bad too. You can try it out if you happened to be there.

Like what blueroti have mentioned, this time round, we noted that most of the taxidrivers will try to bargain with you on your fares upon reaching your destination. Just ignored them and pay them according to what is stated on the meter.

Make sure you insists on meter before boarding the cab.

And also we noted that there are a lot more tricksters on the street this time round. They are very well-dressed and have a good command of english language. They would walk up to you and be very friendly to strike a conversation. Just ignored them and walk away. But they can be very very persistent.

Destitonia,
Do you still remember the stall wHere you bought the zenn clock from Chatuchak market? We are looking for one too.... my house is zenn style and i do not have a decent clock since day one. Hoping to get one in Bkk too!

Paopei, when are u going to BKK?

hi destitonia

haha ok will try to spend more time at chatuchak the next time we're in bangkok. my hubby was too exhausted after having spent 4 hrs there.

oh diamond, that means we got conned too ah...but we didn't see the diesel jeans we saw in MBK in pratunam market tho..

From White Orchid turn right, you will pass 7-11, One goldsmith shop, cross the small road, pass 2 shops... will reach the char siew place.

hi gals, just back frm bkk! cooling there! 22degress ;) sampeng is wonderful! so cheap wholesale accessories ;)

massage at healthland is v good too

thanks diamond!

schnauzie,
tried to go to the healthland spa website but think it's down or something. Heard from my gf it's very popular and need to book in advance. Did you? Wanted to try the aromatheraphy and also thai massage. Is the ambience nice? Also, where is the location actually?

Paopei,
I will go BKK tomorrow for 4 days...still deciding whether to go Dreamworld or not...too much shopping leh.. If got time, then go with the hotel as suggested by Desitonia.

When r u going, KC? I think I most probably will go cause my hubby wants my gal enjoys her trip this time. Last Oct we went there only shop and ate, so this time my hubby insist to go dreamworld. If I go first, will update u later.
1 st day: check in hotel and have nice sleep cause quite late already
2 nd day: Pratunam market,Bobae market
3 rd day: Chatucak, then dinner at chinatown
4 th day: MBK, Big C, Siam
5 th day: Dreamworld
6 th day: Morning try to go nearby place and go airport.

sing_gunner,
i think so if yours is a shopping trip
but like what diamond said, make pratunam your 1st shopping destination first cos it's a wholesale market. but then pls note that you need to buy a minimum of 3 or 5 (depending on the merchadise) to enjoy the wholesale price woh..

my gf and I will surely head there 1st...heheh

hi mrc, thanks. hmm, i'll be arriving very late on sat so only can make it to CTC on sun n that's gonna be our 1st destination. Will go to pratunam the day aft lor kekeke

hi kc, i dunno how to tell you the shop cos i also dunno which direction i went..if i go again, i also dunno whether can find the shop again..what you can try is try to walk to the area selling paintings and house decor...somewhere there..

Hi all i am back...... for those going to bbk ummm weather now is around 20degree rather cold throughout the day not a drip of sweat even at chatucak market. Brought a lot of things back shoes, bags, clothes.......
Novotel is a great location, just walk down the street is the siam square shopping its like bugis village there are simply too many up trendy looking clothes, accessories, shoes!!!!! From work wear to pregnacy clothings too many to choose from. Opposite is siam paragon is just like takashimaya. Prathunam market must go cos things there are relatively cheap as its a wholesale centre. Suam Lum market is a nice cooling place there is a corner whereby there are cars on exihibition really eyes opening, they modify it with lights until wow its really fantastic the doors open in a sliding up method, my husband just cannot stop imagine....... Must bargain we bought clothing from those street walk and ask at suam lum cos want more pieces they charged double the price after bargain we bought at the same price as street market, therefore my conclusion is must really bargain bargain bargain!
I have taken 8 maps anyone interested in those dec'05 map kindly sms me yr address 9027 3388

Hi gals!!! For those going BKK starting tomoro till next few days...do be extra careful coz juz saw the news on TV saying that BKK now is raining very heavily & certain parts of BKK is flooded too...but it didnt state which area of BKK.....

Dreamworld
==========
Bus 538 @ Victory Monument at only 18B (have to cross the bridge and walk in to DW)

DW Admission: 450B
Snow Town: 150B

On return, there are some mini van waiting outside, charging 60B to return to Victory Monument. You can alight anywhere along the route (i think) to shop.

For those been to Sampeng, Pratunam market/complex, what are their opening hours? Since they are wholesale market, do they still sell at one or two unit (@ higher price)? Is it still worthwhile to go there then?

Any nice place to shop for wedding accessories, household accessories,..?

Paopei, pls pm me. Thks.

Hi Ribena,

Sampeng market is the best place to shop for accessories.
So many shops selling the accessories, you would be spoilt for choices.

Hi Zenn,

Yup, inside Big C shopping centre, only one place for massage.
YOu will see those massage aunties holding up the cardboard stating the prices etc etc. Just approach either one of them will do. Their foot massage is not too bad.

hello gals!

me gg to BKK in early jan'06. kinda feeling excited and looking 4ward it...

ask one qn - how much did u bring to Bkk? i dunno how much is enough as BKK is a shopping paradise..hehe

ribena,
sampeng close at around 5. some shops do sell retail but will be higher, e.g. i bought a necklace..the retail is 200 baht but if i buy 3 pieces then each will be 100 baht. same for hair accessories...now i got like 6 different types of hair accessories..each come in packs of 6, 10 or 12. luckily my family got 3 long mane gals to share the loot. but it is realli cheap to buy in bulk. i would say sampeng is one of the highlights of my trip heehee esp when i saw MBK n other malls selling belts tt i bought at 50 baht for 199baht!!!

Hi Ribena, I have pm u
Hi KC, if u go Dreamworld, kindly update me and share the photos? THanks a lot
Hi Esther, thanks for the map.

blue_genie,
when are you going? i'm going next saturday. thinking of changing SIN$400 for 3 nites 4 days..my collegue told me to bring some sing dollar over just in case.. but i think i'll just limit myself at $400 lah.. hehe

snauzie,
wah, belts you seen in MBK is TB199 but you got it for TB50 in sampeng?? i put my trip to sampeng on the 3rd day leh..1st day shopping at pratunam area, 2nd day (SUN) at chatukchat.. aiyah, how ah?? did you go to pratunam market?

hi mrc, i think 3rd day for sampeng shld be fine coz pratunam and chatuchak are also wholesale. but sampeng has the most accessories ;p

i have not been to pratunam