Bangkok

gentasg

Hi aquarius,

Havent move in yet, shd be moving in end of the year...

qoo_grapes

Hi Zenn,

If that place i went is Sampeng.
That time after buying the Pork floss.. i just walk straight up.. then saw ppl selling handbag and dried food. then just walk into the alley.. long long alley selling bags,dried food, shoes, accessories etc..
I saw shoes i like, the price they quote really cheap but sell in dozen -___-
Towel also Dozen
Shower cap also dozen
most of the stuff i asked in dozen. only bags sell at 200bath .. same as MBK

foreverhappy

Can advice which hotel to stay if my intention is to shop there. I thinking of taking Asia but hor a bit ex so i intend to take baiyoke suite hotel.... or is there better recommendation...

foreverhappy

aiyoh i am blur leh if i want to go shopping and need to got to many place a day who can advise me which one to go first how to get there and where to go next and of course what are the place that we can go makan at those place At least i feel this is organised.

Thanks in advace

kckc

Hi Zenn,
I got my room at Arnoma Hotel FOC as i have some vouchers to exchange with the agency.

Gals, for those who have been to DreamWorld, u booked through the agent or go by yourself? I heard some of them say its not worth going? Is it true?

kckc

icebaby,
what aquarium and where ugh?? IF you have any infor, can share share?

PS: My son like aquarium too!

foreverhappy

HI Zenn

Me going 5 days 5 night. Have not booked the hotel cos thinking of waiting for the hotel to be on promo then book. Do you think they willhave promo on the hotel?

I will let you know when i have booked my hotel thanks

paopei

Destitonia, not sure yet ler. If take from hotel about 900 baht/person, 3 person= 2700 baht. Wanna take cab go ourselves but not sure safe or not. And come back the time scare dun have cab.Hm ... how about u? There's new underwater world at Siam Paragon, just opened recently. Will bring my gal go there too later

paopei

Ohstrawberry, c how first cause my hubby wanna let my gal enjoys this trip cause last time she just followed me shopping shopping

fat

Hello....

Im going BKK on the 3rd of Feb...heard about Sampeng place which is quite new to me coz I go BKK quite often...so wondering exactly where's this place thou I know is near Chinatown...but you gals think if I take a cab and tell the driver "Sampeng", do you think they will know the place? As I know Chinatown dun have a MTR station...
Kindly advice...

zenn

Hi apple,
When are you going? I am waiting for reply for Arnoma hotel. Asia-discovery and Sawadee are fully booked for superior room

Hi KA,
I been BKK few times but nv been to Sampeng too. Trying to find out issit worth while -_-

destitonia

paopei, thats wat i worry also..no transport back..but then go with the package, then i have no control over my own time, so also sian..dunno how also..i will be leaving this thur..will let u know when i come back..

duckling78

wow it seems that htere is a lot of place to go in BKK.

Still got shine & palace. SO where is it located and what can be find there.

Hi Zenn & ohstrawberry (ohstrawberry)

Wow i see the archived thread wow u all go BKK so often leh... So nice now familar with the place le. Keke

Me going in July anyone going also then we can see whether the same date a not. keke

paopei

Hi Destitonia, enjoy ur trip. Wait for your updating later hehehe thanks a lot.
Hi KA & Zenn, last time I told the driver Sampeng, he knows ler. But u must prepare to walk and most of the shop sell same things. If u wanna buy hairclips, hairbands, party things, earrings. There are a lot ... till I blur and dun know how to choose. Maybe too tired too and very warm, stuffy. It's like old type market ... just walk and walk. If u nvr go there, perhaps u would like to try ?!!

zenn

Hi Ugly,
Went BKK around once a yr hehe Love their makan and massage! Tho been there few times but there r still places which I nv been b4!

Hi paopei,
My plan is to go Chinatown for birdnest & Sharkin and drop by Sampeng. Any idea how far?

Anyone know which rest birdnest and sharkin is nice and how much?

gentasg

Hi icebaby,

I didnt go to the ocean world.. but think they are promoting that place... saw some "mermaids" giving out brochures..

paopei

Hi Zenn, not so sure about it cause last time I took cab. But after I walked finish and managed found the road out, it's not so far from Grand xxx (the hotel at corner road, forgot the name, I htink grand princess or grand diamond, something like that). U just told the driver Sampeng, they should know

juz_dimp

hey jule, i was tiking of going on that 7-10jan eh...wats ur budget n where u live?u going wif ur frend?or who?
i dun have any kakis at the moment..care to join?hee

fat

Thanks Zenn & Paopei.....guess will chk it out when Im going there in Feb. Since its near Chinatown, than mif the driver really dunno where is Sampeng, maybe will juz alight at chinatown & try to find the place then.

Btw, when I went there few mths ago...I notice Siam Ctr was under some major renovations...does anyone know whether its done already?

mandysst

hi zenn,

nam sing in chinatown is famous among singaporean and hongkonger for their sharkfins and bird nest. though, slight more ex than the other rest.

jule

juz_dimp,
Im going with another 3... Already booked the air tickets and hotel. As the period is over public holiday, the tickets are getting more exp and limited, the same goes for accomodation.

zenn

Hi KA,
Which part of feb you going? I will b going end feb.

Hi mandy,
How big is the chinatown? Is Nam Sing easily found? Also, any idea how much is the sharkfin and birdnest?

icebaby0

jule,

Any idea how much Wacoal cost in BKK? And if it's available at WTC or MBK? Cos I don't intend to go all the way to Emporium (going with my son, who will sleep from 1pm - 6pm everyday, so limited shopping timing).

I am going in Mar'06...anyone going? Mi thought of booking for sept'06 cos near to exam period...so not sure if dh wants to go.

mandysst

hi zenn, chinatown is big! if you want to walk from one end to the other end, it like walking from Scotts to plaza singapura.

Nam sings har. hm.. okie, ask the cab driver to send to you white orchid hotel in chinatown. use that as a bench mark. standing outside the hotel, with back facing the front door of the hotel, to your left. walk until you come to the first left turn. then u will see nam sing. cant remember how much it cost oready. i think shark fins at abt 600baht, two person can share. bird nest, either 200 or 300 or 400 per bowl. something along this line.

hi icebaby,

i dun buy wacoal, but sister went with me last round and she brought. she say it is abt 10 - 20 bucks cheaper. and yes, wacoal can be found in MBK, inside toyku.

ladies, sampeng is a super long lane. use white orchid as a bench mark. stand in front of the hotel, with back facing hotel. opp the road, you will see a bank. siam bank. next to the bank, you will see a lane, walk into that lane, go straight in and u will see another bank and also some shoes shop. then turn right (think it is the first rite turn) and go on and on and on. that is sampeng lane oready. no need to alight in front of grand china princess. that is half wway of sampeng lane oready.

schnauzie

zenn,
taxi driver knows nam sing, u just tell him chinatown(or tell him "yao-wa-rat") nam sing.

will be there next thurs, will try it out with the driver

jule

Wacoal costs abt 500 baht... depends on design. they have more designs in BKK. But for Triumph, not so much.

Toyku, Isetan, Emporium all have. In fact, those with Isetan card, can enjoy discount in Isetan BKK too. Also, if going in group, can combine to claim VAT rebate. think spend 3000 Baht a day in 1 shopping center entitles you to VAT rebate.

I remember the Nam Sing is on opposite side of the Road from Sampeng. Sampeng can be found on the map. I always go ard with a map!

Anyone going 7-10 Jan too ??

kei_ko

i really need help on this... anyone knows where i can check if hotel rooms are still available for the christmas weekend? thanks!

kckc

Any kind souls out there, can advise me:
I have package deal for S$120 (2 adults and 1 child) on the following:
(1) 2X transfer airport pick to Arnoma Hotel
(2) 1/2 day city tour (FLoating market, Wat Arun temple, leather factory and germs gallery)
(3) Dreamworld + lunch (Dreamworld, they say yound children dont need to pay,dont know true or not)
Is this package reasonable? Or rather go on my own better?

doreal

Hi Ohstrawberry and all others who stayed at Centre Point Petchburi 15:

I'm new to this forum but found the posts extremely interesting and informative. I'm using online booking for the first time and i intend to book Centre Point Petchburi 15 for my family trip on dec 22-25, 2005.

My only worry is, i would like for my whole family of 4 to stay in one room, and so far only the studio room with kitchen (www.sawadee.com) is available for booking. DO you guys think its possible to fit a family of 4, given a room of 2 double beds which i read about in Centre Point Petchburi 15's reviews? Is security strict there, that they would forbid more than 2 people in a room?

Thanks so much for answering my questions. Going to book online tonight, if 4 people in a studio is not an issue. Otherwise, have to consider other hotels...*headache*

You guys can reach me at [email protected]. Really appreciate your opinions and help!

foreverhappy

hi kei ko u may want to try the online hotel reservation given by the gals here. There is snother one name precision. But i dun have the link with me now. There is online chat that u can talk to the customer and they can help u check whether hotel is avail

foreverhappy

actually i find it cheaper then the rest leh..

Yah the 24/7 is cool.

I see whether i can get free accomodation tonight if not will book there tomorrow.

icebaby0

mi confirmed my booking for samran place. Cos mi going during the march school holidays. So afraid i won't be able to get any rooms. :p

Kaisu.HAHAHA