Bangkok

zenn

Need help! Beside Arnoma another other recommendation? Prefer clean and convenient. Dunno y Arnoma seems to be fully book for end Feb

Hi mandy & schnauzie,
Thanks for the direction!

paopei

Hi Zenn, if u wanna eat at Nam SIng, actually at MBK has Nam Sing too.

Hi Icebaby, I stayed at Samran too but I go in Jan hehehe Can't wait already

jule

Samran place is behind Asia Hotel. It's more of a budget hotel. I believe each website may be allocated quotas for each hotel. zenn, you can try another booking site or another hotel. In the vicinity, there's Grand Diamond, Bangkok City, Novotel..

zenn

Thanks Jule!

Meaning Samran is walking distance to MBK but quite far from Central and Pratunam?

I stayed in Grand Diamond b4. Don't really like.

Shortlist the following. Can you gals give comment n which is more convenient and not too run down?

1) PJ Watergate
2) Eastin (stayed b4. hotel is clean but abit inconvenient)
3) Baiyoke Sky

We are prepared to spend S$100 per nite and prefer somewhere convenient.

icebaby0

the nam shing at MBK doesn't seem so popular leh. Dare not try. We decided go to Chinatown's one was better the last time we went in Aug. :p

paopei

Hi Zenn, why don't u stay at Novotel or Arnoma? Arnoma is only beside Big C but I heard the room is quite old. Samran is near Ratchadewi BTS, stayed there before. Budget hotel but the room is quite spacious and clean. For sleeping only, I have no problem with it. Normally I take cab to MBK about 50 baht as I lazy to walk to BTS hahaha
Hi Icebaby, nvr tried Nam Sing b4 but last time saw the NS at MBK, should be around 3 rd level (if not wrong). Other than Sharkfin and birdnest, any other nice food to recomment at NS? Thanks

Anybody know what time do the stall at Chinatown start? Thinking to have dinner at Chinatown but don't wanna stuck at traffic jam. So wanna calculate the timing hhahaha tx

kckc

Hi Gals, need your advice on this:

I have package deal for S$120 (2 adults and 1 child) on the following:
(1) 2X transfer airport pick to Arnoma Hotel
(2) 1/2 day city tour (FLoating market, Wat Arun temple, leather factory and germs gallery)
(3) Dreamworld + lunch (Dreamworld, they say yound children dont need to pay,dont know true or not)
Is this package reasonable? Or rather go on my own better?

jule

zenn, I will be staying at CentrePoint Service apartment this time. Stayed in First Hotel and walked to Siam Square before. So to me, anywhere is walkable :p

Amongst the 3, PJ Watergate location best but its budget lodging. Baiyoke has good view and room, but price highest too. Eastin I hear room is clean and price reasonable, however location not good, under the Expressway.. dark roads outside. Baiyoke Sky imo, is quite far in.. I didn't like to walk through the alley to get to the hotel.. But the Pratunam Mkt is at the hotel doorstep.

KC, I know Dreamworld has a package 1000 baht, which includes Pickup from Hotel, Entry Fee and Lunch. To take a cab from Airport to Arnoma Hotel should be 280 Baht - 350 Baht.

The half day City Tour.. I didnt like the leather factory n gems gallery.. They bring u there to push sales..

marilyn_chh

my gf and I (2 of us) going to BKK during in Jan (3 nites 4 days). Will most likely stay in Asia Hotel. Is it save for 2 girls roaming in BKK alone?

This trip will be mostly shopping, eating, massage and meni pedi. Any places to recommend besides CTC and suan lum market which will be in our itenary.. Any kind soul to recommend an itenary base on shopping, eating, massage and meni and pedi??

kckc

paopei & Jule,
S$120 cheap? I got the Thai agency contact from my company ticketing agent and i asked direct for the price.
I dont like those leather and gem factory but it comes in the tour leh... For dreamworld, B$1000 is on the webpage but if you check the price it is actually cheaper. The agent charged me S$30 per adult to Dreamworld (transport, rides, lunch) and says my son 3yrs entrance is free. Only charge his transportation.

Jule, the taxi cost you mentioned, i calculate is about S$25-28...
NOw i am cracking my head whether to take their package or go on my own..

zenn

Hi icebaby,
Baiyoke sky is new but not convenient rite?

Hi paopei,
Arnoma is my first choice but dunno y its seems to be full on the dates which I am going. Unless I am prepared to pay more for Arnoma.

Hi KA,
I am going 26-28 Feb. You booked your room liao?

Hi Jule,
How abt Indra Regent? As compare to the 3 others?

icebaby0

zenn,

Go to www.sawdee.com (click on map of Bangkok), choose the hotel. You can see where it's located. If you intend to travel mostly by cab (if you got more than 3 pax), it's more worthwhile travel via cab.

KC,

As mentioned by the rest, dreamworld per person round about entry is 1000 baht.

Taxi (to and fro airport) = 600 baht (max)
Dreamworld = 1000 baht per pax = 3000 baht for 3 person

Total = 3600 baht = app $150 for 3 person. Compared to the price you are given.

We are unsure whether the price you state S$120 is for 3 pax or 1. If it is 3 pax, it's quite reasonable.

ohstrawberry

Hi, doreal tan si lin

For CentrePoint Petchburi 15, i dun think 4 adults can fit into their room comfortably, but you better check with the hotel directly for advice. If you are 2 adults with 2 children, that will be easier.

passbyonly

Hi Ohstrawberry,

you have tried for thailand oil massage isn't? how's?? siok?
how's the whole process actually?? I'm a bit mountain turtle. think to try it once got chance.

but I heard that, normally people will take bath after massage. will it not convenient since we are lady???
what's abt those couple room? how is the process take place??

hope you dun mind to sharing

jule

KC, you gotta decide if $120 is worth for you to pay. I personally like to go F&E as time is own managed.

Indra Regent was in my consideration of hotel. It is located on the main road, next to Pratunam Mkt and the price is reasonable. I have not personally stayed in the hotel before, but I read the reviews in asiarooms and most are good.

paopei

Hi KC, sorry sorry ... I a bit blur, thought include hotel. That's why I blur how come so cheap. SO it's only the item 1,2,3. Personally I dun quite like the factory and gem tour, waste our time. But the Dreamworld $30 is quite worth. Can I have the agent number, is it Thai agent or Spore agent? Thinking to go Dreamworld too...
I dun think it's quite worth lor for the package. Just my 2 cents, thanks

paopei

Icebaby, KC mention she can get $30/person for Dreamworld and her child is free. So actually $120 is not so worth, somemore item 2, the factory only waste time ... but up to KC to decide. I personally prefer F&E too.
Zenn, did u book thru website or agent? If thru website, u can try other website. Dun like me that day so blur. Tried to book Bangkok City Inn thru Asiarooms but fully booked. I should try other website like Precision. Just now I checked, still have ler. But now ... no choice, booked Samran and confirmed liao.

zenn

Hi Jule,

Review for CentrePoint Petchburi 15 are good too! And its near the famous wantan mee hehe Btw, its near the main road too?

Just curious why you choose CentrePoint Petchburi 15 over Indra Regent?

estben

Hi Zenn,
Actually shopping in bbk by hailing a taxi is very convenient from 1 destination to another. I personally like Baiyoke sky although location not very good but afterall you still have pratunam market and others around the hotel to shop..... Hence distance is not a major issue. The breakfast, the service and rooms are thumbs up!!!

I am so excited next friday i am going to bbk again this time staying at Novotel... looking forward

Anyone changed at at good rate kindly share Tks

paopei

Yah lor,thinking to change somemore cause that day only change $650, I think wun be enuff cause my hubby wanna go here, go there, eat this, eat that hahaha

doreal

The money exchange counters at penisular plaza give good rates at 24.5, that was what i got when i checked it out yesterday.

Hi ohstrawberry, thanks for your feedback! Cos of a tight budget, i am considering other hotels like samran place, bangkok city inn and first hotel (heard tis not veri good). Panicking oredi cos it's less than a week to my departure and i have not booked accomodation! Gee..

doreal

Centrepoint Petchburi 15 is indeed a very good hotel, value for money and comparable to other 4 stars hotels. A pity i am not booking that...

Anyone stayed at The Residence Rajtaevee before? Hows the location and rooms like?
Asiarooms dont seem to offer it for booking. Only asiatravel does.

jule

zenn, you mean the wanton noodle uncle in Sunglasses?? Ya.. ate it the last time. Quite good!

Chose Center Point, cos wanna stay in better room this time.

ohstrawberry

Hi, passby

Actually i feel quite awkward doing the Thai oil massage the last time. It was my first time doing and it was a whole new experience for me. I had booked a couple room to do massage with my hubby, it was oil massage and scrub for me
First, i was asked to take a shower in a transparent glass door bathroom. Then i was asked to lay down on the bed, then tamarind scrub was applied to my body, took shower again, then was massage with oil in Thai style. Don't really enjoy la, cause I feel very pai seh the whole massage as my whole body was exposed, only wearing a paper panty. However the massage did calm me down alittle though.
But after checking with my gal friends, they told me it supposed to be like this, only some spas very good, they will take note of your modesty and cover parts of your body with towel, only exposing the part that they massaging. I guess Thai style is more open bah....
I will prefer leg spa and massage than the whole body massage, guess i'm quite shy too...hahahaha

ohstrawberry

Hi, doreal

I will suggest you book Samran place, I had stayed there and will be staying there again in 5 Jan.Though it's not near to shopping areas but BTS station is just nearby. And i find their service not bad too, quite worth the price you paid for.

Hi, jule and zenn

Centrepoint Petchburi 15 is indeed a nice place to stay. Opposite is pantip plaza and beside is pratunam market, about 15min walk to WTC. The main entrance is in a small lane, but you can go to the street pass thru their minimart. Swensens and Burger King is just at the entrance of the lane,there is also hair salon beside the apartment which you can enjoy a hair wash at very cheap price.
The breakfast is buffet style beside their small swimming pool, so relaxing to have breakfast at their poolside. I really enjoyed the stay in Nov.

jule

ohstrawberry, I been to BKK few times and yet to do any massage there! ha... quite terrified... You can recommend any good spa ?

fat

Hi Zenn, Ive paid my deposit oredi...but still waiting for confirmation on the hotels...Ive choose Novotel Siam as my 1st choice and 2nd choice is Holiday Inn ( near WTC ). Actually wanted Phatuwan Princess which I normally stayed there but all fully booked! Guess Novotel chances also quite slim....

zenn

Hi KA,

I have received confirmation from Precision for Arnoma. Now waiting for Asiaroom to refund me b4 placing booking wif Precision but deadline by this wk.

Anyone had refund from Asiaroom b4? Any idea how long it really take?

fat

Zenn - for seafood, you can try one in Suan Lum Nite market...nice! I also heard another place is where all the staffs there wore roller skates one...but location im not too sure...can chk out these 2 places coz I dun really try BKK seafood when Im there....

zenn

Hi Jule & Ohstrawberry,

I went to Let's relax b4. Not bad just that abit inconvenient... Just wondering any gd spa in the main town itself?

Jule, i been to one seafood rest in BKK quite gd. Must go n search for the address. Let u noe when I find it :p

jule

Thanks everyone

zenn, it's not really a refund. If your reservation is not confirmed, they won't charge you, but the amount is "held" till like 14 days. It takes up your credit limit, unless yours is a debit card.

passbyonly

Hi Ohstrawberry,

thanks. do you have any good spas to recommend? I'm shy too. prefer those spas that will take note of our modesty not so exposing one lah..wahaha

icebaby0

suddenly i am having a lost of memory..where is penisular plaza? near city hall MRT is it?

So tempted to go there change money since the rates is so good.

zenn

Hi Jule,

I checked my credit card n still holding the amount however the status from Asiaroom is cancelled so does it mean they will release the amount?

zenn

Jule, the seafood rest I went is Kuang Sea Food @ 107/13 Soi Rang Nam, opp ESSO gas station. Tel : 0-26425591

Seafood there r cheap n good but I cant remember the exact location cos was brought by travel agent.