Bangkok

blue_genie,
staying at DMA which is near pratunam.. i've been to chatukchat and since my collegue to me abt the wholesale market pratunam, i decided to stay around there lor.. but now kinda a little regret cos it's not very convenient. and now my hubby making noise abt it cos he feel it's not save to travel by cab. now, he makes me a bit jittery..

schnauzie,
what kind of accessories in sampeng?

mrc:
there are anklets, bangles (I bought a copy of the charriot bangle), pearl necklace, earrings(studs, dangling, chandeliers), diamante stuff, costume jewellery, belts, hair accessories, flower corsages.

A gal from another forum went to a stall selling wedding favours but I could not find it..sampeng is too big and i only got there at around 2 plus.

I am gng late feb. who's gng to the wholesale mkts too? perhaps we can consolidate our shopping since we have to buy in bulk instead of one or two pieces?

Btw, anyone going to try the State Tower's open air restuarant? The one that showed on TV hosted by Desmond & Belinda think 2 weeks ago? Found out the restuarant is called "Siroco".

kat,
i've checked out the menu..can faint lor..per person more than $100, i think around $150 plus.. and the new year menu more than TB10000 which is like close to SGD500 perperson!!! if i'm going, i'll probably go there for a drink or 2 and just look at the night scenery.. my gfs went there and she told me the view is fantastic and the drinks is like SGD12-13 dollars.. still ok lah...

Hi MRC - hey!Thanks....wow so expensive man....i rather use those $$$ on my shopping better...kekeke....but will definitely go there for a drink and enjoy the view....so when you goin?

next saturday!! yipee!! but wonder if the flood affected the places like chatukchat, siam square, pratunnam, sukhimvit, sampeng, chinatown(yaowarat), etc...

think those indoor shopping ctrs should be fine but juz worry about Chatuchak only coz few years back when I went..it happen to be their raining season and over there was hell...its was wet, slippery and muddy too...I even need to get a pair of new sandals to change.....but the news disd mentioned that the weather will improve by the next few days....cross your finger hard hard lah.....

Hi mrc,
staying at d'ma is a little not convenient instead u still have to walk to pratunam for abt 5-10mins depending. Tell your husband dont worry transport in bbk is safe!!! my trip in april with my best friend just the 2 gals we go in and out via tuk2 and taxi cos we stay at baiyoke sky just bside pratunam as well not very convenient.However distance is 1 to another in bbk is within easy reach. The drivers are friendly and not like last time dangerous. in fact travelling is not an issue.
I guess the flood is not in the city area, as bbk is very large in scale. I will call my tour agent in bbk to check which part of the bbk is flooded and update u all tomorrow. Don't worry ok i pray for all to be safe, happy shopping and good weather throughout. dont worry if really affected than either defer the trip or cancel. I check with my agent and keep u all updated!

Few days ago i saw on the news that Koh Samui was affected by the flood. Don't think BKK would be affected. Anyway i will be going BKK on mid Jan too. Gonna go dreamworld as well. Anyone going on mid jan too?

esther,
aww...you so sweet!! *muak* hehe...thanks for the prayers and also the map (i sms you very late yesterday nite!!!) and for taking the trouble to contact your travel agent..

i can't defer cos it's budget airline and i din buy insurance.. so, even if rain, bo bian have to go..

aiyah, now i'm a little disappointed hearing that DMA still have to walk 5-10mins to pratunam..
but nevermind lah, my gf and I can really walk and walk and walk..hehe

Yanling,
i guess you can try but risky leh... I dun dare..

hi yanling

i bought abt 3 pieces by puting inside the clothes so far ok, like what mrc mentioned its risky though......

mrc, walking and walking is worth the price when u go back hotel and unpack all the items that you buy guess what very siok ah...ha ha ha U really feel the man zhu gan and kuai leh
even walk till drop dead dont worry u still have SPA, MASSAGE... ask ohstrawberry she is a real spaholic........hee hee

Eh btw, regarding dreamworld... Taking BTS to victory monument then take Bus 538 at where? Approx how long the journey for bus 538 to reach dreamworld? I haven't been to BKK before. Can the bus driver/taxi speak english anot? if from baiyoke sky take taxi to dreamworld cost how much ah?? I can't find the map for dreamworld inside BKK map..

Thank god pratunam market is beside my hotel.. can get lotsa clothes.. *wink*

i'm new here. can anyone please advise me which hotel is better? Siam City or Baiyoke Sky? Siam City is nearer to the BTS rite?

have not been to bangkok for years. planning to go in Feb. is Feb a gd mth to go?

hw abt Dream World? wat's in it? is it worthwhile to go?

Yanling, dreamworld is in the direction of airport..cannot find on the map one..and i seriously advise you to book the package from the hotel..easier..inclusive of round transport, lunch and of cos admission charges.

Christine, whether it's worthwhile or not, it's up to individual's judgement..i have posted some of the comments on dreamworld..you may want to read them..for me, it was definitely worthwhile!

Yanling,
I brought back pirated DVDs before. You just have to look very innocent when you pass through customs hehehe Usually they don't check the bags of ladies like us. But there is no guarantee you would not be found out, so just buy a few pieces to try you luck.

just tell driver: sampeng market (pronounce "some-pen")..it is at chinatown(yao-wa-rat)..most of them know. if really really dunno, then tell him near white orchid hotel..
For stuff sold please read earlier posts, they have been discussed in great details.

Hi Christine, for me I would prefer Siam area coa is very convenient to most of the prominent shopping places and near BTS which its very important! Im also going in Feb...weather wise shld be the usual weather like Spore.

hi mrc, ka,

thanks so much for yr advice! hw abt arnoma hotel then? have not been to BKK for so many yrs liao so now feeling very lost. i muz say dat this thread is so useful! so much valuable information here!

I'm going to bkk in Feb... Still dunno which hotel to book. Thot of going to Hua Hin to stay for 1 night also.. hmm

always stay in novotel siam sq, thinking of staying somewhere else tis tm.

Melodie, u always stayed at Nov Siam Square, right? Have u ever tried their buffet, nice or not? Thinking to try it later

paopei, the buffet spread looks good... more like x'mas buffet spread i think...

i only had bf and lunch at the chinese rest. at novotel b4... nvr try the buffet b4...

Yanling, last year Jan, I stayed @ Pratunam area and took Bus 538 for about 2 to 3 stops (cos the driver/conductor duno english - duno how much to pay, hence free ride haha..) then across a bridge and walk towards the Victory Monument statue. You can ask around to show the way to Victory Monument. There is a 'interchange' kind of stop, waiting for passengers. Onboard the bus, you tell the driver/conductor that you going to dream world (show them the picture) and ask them to inform you when its time to alight. About 30 - 45 mins journey if i remembered correctly. The bus will pass the airport, so if going by taxi, i think surely more than your fare from airport to your hotel. I never regret gng there myself (w/o booking package as its not tt hard to get there and return).

christine,
my collegue suggested me to book arnoma hotel too but it's too ex for me liao, so i din research on it. Not sure if it's near BTS. This hotel must be quite good cos my collegue is someone who minds the interior..hehe..

melodie,
you visited the aleenta link? i posted some pictures there..gorgeous place.. but 1 think 1 day a bit too short lah.. u need 3 hours to go to huahin from BKK you know.. 2 and fro already 6 hours, not much time for you to relax lah..my as well, go for a nice spa in BKK..hehe...

ribena,
wow, you take their public buses?? is it easy?

aiyoh, may be i'm too full now or the pictures too big, make me wanna vomit leh...hehe..but i think i like intercontinental cos the presentation very nice...

Hi christine,
I will be staying at Arnoma in feb. The hotel is pretty convenient. Think I post the map here recently. You might wanna search the last few threads.

Hi melodie,
1 nite is abit too short cos its about 3-4hrs drive from BKK. If you willing to spend Aleenta and Evason are good choice!

Ribena:
Thanks for the info or else i would spend a big amt paying for cab fare there. So did u take Bus 538 again from Victory Monument to Dreamworld? Seems not much of games to play esp Go-Kart have to pay.

esther:
Probably i put them into my luggage bag packed together. At least its much safer than hand carry. hee...

Thank god for the drop in Sing - US Exchange rate. Manage to get cheaper rates for rooms booked.

I have managed to compile a small MS Word document gathered on travelling expenses and shopping places, food, spa, opening/closing hrs at Bangkok from this huge forum. Anyone interested or gonna travel to BKK and need some info can email me [email protected]

Hi all on top of paopei's compilation, i still have bal 5 dec05 map (latest edition) for your trip planning...... interested can sms me yr add @ 9027 3388

Yanling like tamarind said is true act innocent if u carry in yr bag. Mine i slot into clothings on luggage so not as bad. Cos ladies bag they might check but luggage once landed its already waiting for owner at belt liao ha ha.......

Manage to get the reply from my bbk agent, for those going in late dec early jan dont worry too much not really affected as bbk big scale the flood is not at our "happening" places of SHOPPING.

Paopei, novotel buffet spread in my opinion normal only as last week our christmas dinner as compared was a little disappointed.. however baiyoke sky buffet is very sumptuous and taste good. I join their christmas eve gala dinner as they offered a gd price for hotel guest.

Lastly to all "you yuan xiang shi" in this Singaporebrides forum under BBK I wish all a happy new year, good health, prosperous and success in all our undertakings. Be blessed with all good returns

Esther:
how many times u been to BKK? 3 or 4 times?? I have some 3D BKK Maps of 2004 version. I guess its still usable except for that Siam Paragon which is not in the map. Thanks anyway.

Yeah i am going baiyoke sky. Gonna take more photos of the wonderful view. Too bad can't bring tripod as its too bulky. Hope the shots taken are clear. Counting down 2 more weeks to departure. Is there any places recommended to buy bottled bird nest and real bird nest (Can be trusted) other than going NamSing to eat. I saw from website red bird nest is best, followed by SLIGHTLY yellowish bird nest. Those too yellowish are poor grades.

juz received mailer from citibank - when u shop at siam paragon (the new shopping mall), for platinum credit card members, u get 10% discount for regular-priced merchandise at the dept store and for citibank gold credit card, u get 5%.

for those who're buying stuff from there, u may want to use your citibank card. but juz chk with them if it's 10% or 5% coz' for the supermkt for instance, it's only 5%. some of u may want to buy lingerie from the dept store if u get 10%. juz chk with them.

Parkway rate is 24.4

As for birdnesr, Red nest is not the best nest. That is becos blood nest is the final phelgm that the swallow bird produce due to ppl talking their 1st 2 nest. And such, the swallow cough out blood in the phelgm to build.

"Dong4" Yan is the best.

I see a few of us here travelling next week, ENJOY the shopping... Hope to bump into some Singaporean there!

marilyn, zenn...

i'm thinking of reaching hua hin ard 12 then hang ard town? 2pm chk-in then relax in resort & go for spa? spend one full day there and then go back to bkk the nxt day afternoon? gd enuff? i still hav 2 spend 3 nites in bkk hotel.. accomo cost is very high liaoz..

Hi melodie,

FYI there is nothing much in Hua Hin town. Also, you ve to check out the transfer fm town to Hua Hin hotel cos they do charge n the hotels are not near the town.

Generally there issit much activities in Hua Hin so you will just go there rest and relax. But if you are going for only one nite you wont really 'enjoy' cos by the time you reach there are r pretty tired by the journey. You will left with only the afternoon. Next morn you will ve to depart shortly after your breakfast. Not quite worth the travelling...

esther,
got your map! thanks

melodie,
where will you be staying in huahin? if evasom or aleenta, it's quite frm huahin town..abt 30/45 minutes drive??

we spent 3 nites in aleenta and it's just nice..actually can even stay for anoher night there..hehe