Bangkok

jacelyn

Any recommendations for hotel(less than 100 SIN per day) to stay in Bangkok which easy to travel to shopping centres? Which website to book?

thanks....

ohstrawberry

Hi, passby

ya, once u spent 2000baht in the shop or shopping mall with VAT refund for tourist, then u can ask them to write u the VAT refund receipt.
Total u must accumulate more than 5000baht, then u can claim at airport.
At airport, must bring your goods and refund receipt to the customs inspections room (right at the corner of the departure hall), then they will stamp and sign the receipt.
After that you can check in and pass the passport control area, then you go to VAT refund office to claim your money with the receipt. there is a handling fee of 100baht, they will deduct from the claim.
Their rules is No inspection, No claiming of money. So remember to go for inspection first then check in., if not you can't come out once you pass the passport control area.

Hope this is clear for you, can feel free to ask if still not sure.

passbyonly

Ohstrawberry,
tat mean with varies shop receipts in a same shopping mall with VAT refund for tourist is entitled to claim VAT? 5% of refund?

and the accumulate 5000baht must spent is a day? is there any expiry date?

ohstrawberry

Hi, little eyes

Popular Hotels within your range: Asia Hotel(got direct BTS in hotel), Baiyoke Suite Hotel(quite old), Baiyoke Sky Hotel(near Pratunam market), Arnoma Hotel(Just beside Gaysorn, good location), Indra Regent Hotel(near Pratunam market and WTC) or Novotel Siam Square Hotel(quite exp, but gd location at Siam square).
Or you dun mind 2 stars hotel can try Bangkok City Inn, i just stayed there, not too bad.

try www.precisionreservations.com or www.directrooms.com

ohstrawberry

Passby,

Yes, with varies receipt more than 2000bahts spent in a shop/ shopping mall (in a day), u can entitle to the claim.
No need to be 5000baht spent in a day but throughout your trip, total claim form must exceed 5000bahts then you can claim at airport.

ohstrawberry

Passby,
You can also get a leaflet regarding VAT refund at the arrival hall of Bangkok International Airport.
Dun worry, it's quite easy procedure, just make sure have ample time for the inspection before you check in.

princessjen

hi postpet2,

when u oging BKK?me oso book baiyoke sky thru asiarooms..within they same day they replied n send confirmation to me liao..

hi cooldevil,

rem to update us yr trip in BKK n e motorshow..me oso going next thurs cos hb keep insisting to go tis time jus bcos of the motorshow....aiyo buay tahan him

coolgirl76

Hi Pjen
hee hee hee.... my BIL also ... they go there also bcos of motor show......:p

I will try to take some pixs for u all....

Ohstrawberry,

Are we allowed to claimed the VAT refunds from shops/chopping ctrs with the VAT logo or whatsoever? Or any shops will do (as in all shops in bkk)?

ohstrawberry

Hi, skywolf
only shops and shopping malls with the "VAT Refund for Tourists" sign, if not sure just ask the shop ppl.
Most big shopping malls allows Vat refund.
Always remember to bring passport with you for VAT refund. And also must fill in your return flight.

ohstrawberry

Hi, cooldevil

i truly understand your feeling man. Now i'm back i still thinking of BKK everyday. Maybe will go back again in Sep or Dec. hahahaha. Kanna BKK virus liao.

ohstrawberry

Hi, passby

You are most welcome. Anything unsure, just let me know, i will try my best to solve your question.
Or you also can consult the other really experts here.

coolgirl76

Hee hee ohstrawberry
U should give us yr Hp no... so we cannot fin dour way...can cal u fr bKk...

Just kidding lah........ :p

ENjoy yr long weekend!

Oshrawberry,

Oh yah, how long you took to reach frm mkk city inn to airport? I heard their jams are quite bad, so need a rough estimate how long in advance got to start off...

Gam xia, gam xia in advance.

ohstrawberry

Hi, skywolf

I reach the airport less than 25min going by the highway(or tollway they called it), no traffic jam at all. It was 1pm on Sunday. However if you coming back on weekdays peak hour (12pm-2pm or 4.30pm-6.30pm), i will advised you to leave at least 1.5hrs before your check-in time.
And if you leaving at night, it's shall be ok, cause when i reach there(Tuesday ard 7.30pm), the opposite lane(going to airport) very few cars.
Do prepare another 15-30min for VAT refund inspection before check-in.

But i realised when shopping esp to sukhumvit road(near Emporium there), their traffic can be quite bad, thus i advised to take BTS when going shopping, no doubt the cab fare is cheap, but time is wasted on the traffic jam and we know time is too precious for us.

Hope this is useful to you.

Hi Ohshrawberry (sorry, had spelt your nick wrongly previously...)

Ok, will do a rough estimation... My flight back to SG is a night flight... Guess shd be safe... but nonetheless, will factor in extra time needed. Thanks.

mum2b

hi ohstrawberry,
is the Calypso Cabaret show = ah gua show? do i have to go to Asia hotel to book or I can book at my hotel? is the show daily, and what time? how much you paid for this, i heard from this forum dun pay more than 500 baht, but i saw in the internet it's 27US$ (about 1060baht rite?)..so ex? http://www.morethailand.com/packages/thailand_bangkok_culture_calypsocabaret.cfm#price is there any offical price or do we have to bargain for the price? lastly.. worth to see? sorry so many qn.. me leaving this thurs! can't wait...

squidhead

hi sakurasan,

thanks! I heard from my friend that Novotel Siam Sq is not so safe because have to walk though some small lanes to get to the hotel.

Is it true? Btw, how long to walk to BTS from Novotel?

ohstrawberry

Hi, Mum2B

Yes. Cabaret show is Ah gua show.
Asia hotel one is called Calypso. I haven't been to this one. But I been to the one at Sukhumvit road(near Phrom Phong BTS station) called Mambo.
Mambo is in a big stage kind of show while Calypso is a smaller stage. Their performing style is abit different.
The ticket can be bought from the Asia hotel or you can get outside agent(whick may be in your hotel, can try asking) to book for you. Agent booking usually more expensive. I will advise you to go buy the ticket yourself if you have the time.
The tickets is about S$30+, not more than S$40.
There is 2 performance every nite 8.15pm and 9.45pm.

Beside the two Cabaret shows i mentioned, there is also 2 other one namely Golden Dome Cabaret (Ratchadapisek Soi 18, near to Grand Bangkok Hotel) and Ratchada Cabaret(Rathchadapisek, near Robinson shopping centre Ratchadapisek branch)

ohstrawberry

Hi, squidhead

Dun worry. Novotel Siam Sq is safe. It is situated in Siam square where rows of shophouses selling funky things is. This must be the "small lanes" your friends talking about.
Nearest BTS station is SIAM. Opposite Siam Square(cross overhead bridge) is Siam Discovery centre and Siam Center. Nearby is MBK(Mah Boon Krong) Shopping place.

Attached is the Thai address for your reference, can show to the cab driver if they dun know.
265342.gif

ohstrawberry

Hi, Mum2B

If you didn't watch Cabaret show before, it's worth to see it once. Those performers are so pretty even though they not real lady, they also dances very well.
Overall it's enjoyable and you can have a good laugh too.
Enjoy your trip and do share when you back.

ahjo77

HI All

I am abck form my BKK trip and i had enjpyed myself too ..=) n thinking of going abck agin cos HUbby is addicted to the thai massage ...=">
been to suan lum market n its quite a nice place to shop cos more cooling ...def a place to go if u wanna get some decorative stuffs....

I stayed in First Hotel n overall its not bad though need to walk 5-10 mins to the Asia BTS station ...however if u dun mind walking its actually within walking ditance to Central world plaza and MBK

mum2b

hi Ohstrawberry,
my friend saw the one in Ratchadapisek b4, but i'm thinking of seeing Calypso coz it's nearer to my hotel, also i saw it in your itinerary that u posted in this forum b4 (sorry i download without letting u know first.. hehe hope u dun mind).
So for this Mambo u also bought the ticket at Asia hotel, and may I know how much exactly did u pay? did u bargain for the price or it's official price?
for Calypso, i saw in the internet the price differs quite a lot, also for Thai is only 350 baht, foreigner cheapest is 650 baht. is this true?

hi AhJo77,
did u stay in First Hotel or First House hotel? They are different, rite?

sakurasan

squidhead dun worry abt the small lanes - I love them coz they're full of very interesting small shops that sell esoteric stuff...along the lines of Far East and Heeren
The BTS is right behind Novotel - turn right at the hotel lobby and then turn right along any of the lanes running parallel to the hotel. Fantastic location.
Easy walking distance to MBK, Central World Plaza, etc. If you're a Coca steamboat fan, it's right outside Novotel.
And oh yes, plenty of massage places along the lanes too.

mum2b

just wanna share a piece of good news, my hubby bought Thai Baht at 23.55 in Golden Mile Complex today.. maybe it's useful for those going to Bkk soon..

squidhead

read so much about this spa called King & I. Is it good? What kind of massage they have? Do they have private room kind?

Sorry, I don't go for massage so very "suaku". I remembered last time I went for the massage at Banyan Tree, aiyoh, so paiseh, must take off the clothes. Hehee ...

chrysanne12

HI SquidHead,

Which agency did u book your trip with, it sounds cheap and which airline u travelling by.

I booked a few days b4 the NATAS fair, my trip is 4D3N (everything same like yours), the hotel is Novotel Siam and it cost $540.
arrahh....shld have waited for the NATAS fair i guess, cld have saved $140.

squidhead

hi chrysanne12,

King & I massage is located at Sol Sukhumvit 12. The nearest BTS is Asok. Near this massage place is this restaurant called Cabbages N Condoms. Plan to go there since I have heard so much about that place.

I booked my trip with Chan Bros during the NATAS fair. I paid S$360 (per person) for airfare, hotel (Novotel), airport transfers and 1/2 day city tour. Travelling by Jet*Asia as I did ask around other agencies and they quote me on average about $500 BUT travelling by Cathay or Garuda. Another reason why I chose Jet*Star in the end was also the timing. I leave Sing at 9am and leave BKK at 8pm.