Bangkok

arwenwild

hi cooldevil
thanks.. but where is this Chinese Medical store? is it prominent? anything for me to identify it or i can juz asked around when i got there? u remember how much u paid? and do they have birdnest as well?
oops.. suddenly so many qns pop out...hope u dun mind

coolgirl76

Hi chocz...if I'm not wrong that Chinese medicial store is quite prominent too bad I cant remember the name .... actually there are lots of sharkfin stalls u can ask the price before ordering..... depend on the size u order lor.... price range fr 250 to 500 baht....

birdnest mi not expert so cant comment anyway my friends order for mi one...... had it twice ...one taste good the other time so-so only......

When u going?

U can tyr their dumpling soup very nice! :p

arwenwild

alrite thanks alot cooldevil..
its ok.. i'll try my very best to locate that medical store.. hope can have nice meals over there..

me going this friday!!

are u going there soon also?

dumpling soup from the same stall?? or juz easily found in chinatown?

coolgirl76

Ai ya mi going on 25th if not I can jot down the name and let u know....

U can definately see that medicial store one dun worry..... hee hee

dumpling soup near the sharkfin stall.....

arwenwild

orr ok..thanks for the totfulness

ok... hope i can find that medical store..

alrite.. thanks alot.. will go and try. other than these,is there anything else thats yummy there? or cant be missed?

ahjo77

Hi Pple

i would like to check if central world plaza,Central Chit Lom (BTS Chit Lom) is the same as WTC. Which BTS is WTC at ??

ahjo77

May i know how to get to Suan Lum Night Bazzaar

from Asia Hotel ??which BTS?MRT station cos seems like there is some difference or i get confused liao

Thanks a lot mi going to BK on Good Friday Holiday =)

coolgirl76

Hi chocz
YOu trip got half day tour can ask yr tour guide...if not check with the hotel rep :p

Remember each pax is 500baht for ah gua show...dun pay more than that amt....

sakurasan

AhJo88, Central World Plaza is formerly known as WTC ~ this is between Siam Sq BTS and BTS Chit Lom I think. From Siam Sq BTS, you can take a stroll to WTC. Central Chit Lom is a separate shopping mall connected to BTS Chit Lom.

As for Suan Lum, it's better if you take a cab there coz I dun think there's a BTS nearby. There're many nice foodstalls and cafes outside the bazaar where you can have ur dinner before you start shopping

crayonshinchan

ah jo,

Suan Lum u can take train to lumphini station.. but i think its not BTS... u gotta change.. do check with the station control pple.. they are frenly.. and btw, the train line is not that complicated...

we realised that taking taxi is cheaper than their BTS... its just like our mrt, just shorter.. nothing to rave abt.. but go chatukchat take bts is very fast esp from Asia hotel...

ling0

Hi AhJo77

I juz came back fr BKK on Tue and stayed in Asia Hotel!

For Suan-Lum Night Bazaar, u can take BTS fr Asia Hotel (Ratchathewi Stn) and alight at Sala Daeng Stn (3 stops). Fare is 20 baht but in between, u muz change train at Siam Stn....juz cross over. Then fr Sala Daeng BTS Stn, u hve to walk to Si Lom MRT Stn by using the linkbridge....take d MRT fr Si Lom Stn to Lumphini Stn (1 stop)....fare is 10baht. U can see Suan-Lum Night Bazaar once u get out of Lumphini MRT Stn!

For Central World Plaza (WTC), u can take BTS and alight at Chit Lom Stn....if u wanna go Central ChitLom first. But if u wanna go Siam Sq area first, u can actually alight at Siam Stn and walk down to WTC.

Hope these info helps....if u need a map, I can post to u....juz let me know!

Hi ling0,

was wondering if you can share with me the map as well.
cos i'll be staying at asia hotel and would like to visit Suan Lum bazaar...have not been yet.

i'm going on good fri as well but will stay in hua hin a few nights..
seems like lots of gals will be at BKK tat weekend..

ling0

Hi Postpet2

Sure, I've a few copies of d map which I took fr d airport!
Juz email ur address to me at [email protected] and I will post out a copy to u asap!

Tot d map might be useful for those who wanna plan ur itinery in advance......
261076.gif

bestrip

I will be going somewhere in april will like to check if any one know of a store selling addidas products in bangkok???

thanks very much

anyone has a map of chatuchak market?
is there somewhere i can obtain it as well.
i think with it, can save some time trying to navigate ard.

ling0

Hi Milo66
Saw some children/baby clothings at Central Chitlom...not cheap leh...think ard few hundred baht...but I quite like a brand call "Baby Shelter"...very sweet!

Chatuchak hve stalls selling children clothes but not many...not sure whether they hve baby clothings. Bought 2 set of clothes (halter neck top plus shorts/skirt) for my bf's 2yr old niece, very nice and each set cost only 60baht...S$2plus!

Hi Postpet2
I hve a small Chatuchak map but not sure whether it's updated...see if I'm able to make a coloured copy for u...will let u know again, k?

hi pple,

anyone going to Bangkok with 30 March to 3 apr period? I'm trying to find more information. Please msg any tips on the shopping places, lodging and air-tic booking. Thanks!

Hi ladies, thanks a mil for the info..

the website says we can take a copy of the map from the police post. was wondering if its the same as the website..

anyway, ling0, i've mailed you my mailing address for a copy of the map. if you have chatuchak's as well, that would be great...thaks for your help!

mum2b

hi Ling0,
thanks, will be waiting for your map

I'll be going on 31 march to 4 april, now looking for affordable n convenient hotel as well as planning for places to visit. Anybody stay in First House (not First Hotel) @ Pratunam before? How's the condition? I heard that the location is quite convenient..

sgblingff

I'm planning to go bangkok tomorrow with my hubby. Coming back on Tuesday.

I'm staying at President Park. Any comment?

Can someone advice how much SGD to change?

ling0

Hi Sgblingff

R u taking d morning flight 2moro? If u hve time to go Chatuchak, think I saw 1 or 2 shops selling fake branded bags there......

crayonshinchan

hi mum2B,
i went to the damnoensaduak (i think) floating market last Dec... hmm.. if u have nv been to a floating market, then i can suggest u go for it.. well.. of course many pple are goin to tell its not the same as before.. but then, if u don see it now, there might not be another one to see...

anyway, we booked thru our hotel.. Asia.. morning the van picked us up, the ride took like an hour plus.. its very very cooling there.. they will offer u coconut juice while waiting for the river taxi... along the way, nothing much to see.. just feel the cold breeze.. there will of cse be shops where u can visit... u can just tell the driver u want to see something, he will stop for u.. but u cant alight.. u will still be sitting in ur boat.. but a thing to take note though.. nothing is cheap there.. except for the food... then soon u will hit the plc where they make coconut sugar and honey and stuff.. u can go up to shop shop a bit.. after that, u will hit the real market.. lots of traffic jam ;-) but its the fun part.. we asked our driver wat to eat and he intro-ed us to this auntie selling soupy bee hoon... one word YUMMY.. we had something like min jian kuey but smaller and the filling was coconut.. kind of sweet.. the char kuay teow smelled nice too! but too bad, din have chance to try cos too many pple.. the real market is quite small.. its over in less than 10mins.. so must grab every sec u have there... i had no regrets going.. wanted to go back a second time.. but hubby say i siao...

the whole trip took maybe abt 45 to an hour.. they will oso bring u around to see some fishes and let u feed them la.. just play along for some fun.. i have some pics and video of the market.. if u want, i can show it to u.. just give me ur email add ;-)

mashybrainz

I've stayed at Asia Hotel at Bangkok during my previous trip. Very convenient, but totally run-down. Anybody got suggestions on a cheap, nice & convenient hotel? Thinking of going there again for a good shopping trip.

I'm not sure whether the rates for Bangkok is best here. Perhaps somebody who's already done extensive research can help?

Thailand

ohstrawberry

Just back from my BKK trip yesterday night.
Stay at Bangkok City Inn(2 stars hotel), located behind Big C Chitlom,in between rows of shophouses, quite near from BTS station Chitlom(ard 5-10min walk), room is ok though abit dusty, got bathtub. I booked from directrooms.com @$33/night but there is some cork up when i arrived, they say they dun have my reservations, as it's after office hours and they can't locate the agent, they'll still give us a room and let us know the next day. I think they had settled the problems, cause they didn't mention anything after that.
Dun expect anything of their free breakfast, didn't even get a chance to step into the restaurant, so small and so many having ppl having breakfast, still alot waiting at the lobby. Eventually we had our breakfast along the street everyday, cheap and tasty, 20-30baht can fill your stomach already. we had tried alot of street foods, the best is the minced meat omelette with rice(only 15baht),fried meat slice(20baht) is nice and fried banana and sesame ball(10baht each type), missed the food so much now, had put on quite alot of weight though... Hee.........

Upon checking out, something make me very pissed off, they say we took 1 Singha beer from the fridge the day before we checked out and asked us to pay 55baht. My husband and i dun drink beer and all the while the beer and other drinks is inside the fridge, we refused to pay up though it's very small amount. Having counter check several time with their housekeeping dept, they say the housekeeping dept will bear for the mistake they made.
Overall the stay is ok, value for money, just dun expect too much and you will enjoy the stay. Taxi driver dun know the place, if you want i had their address in Thai, can email to anyone who interested.
Near the hotel there is a bridge, cross over, across the road and you reach Pratunam center, cross the overhead bridge in front of it, you reach Pratunam market in no time. Cheap bargains and lots of clothing wholesale there. We even met baby elephant near the bridge, bought the sugar cane from the owner @ 3packets 50bahts and feed the baby elephant, it bowed at us after the feast, so adorable, a pity we didn't bring the camera out that evening.

ohstrawberry

Central World Plaza(formerly known as World Trade Centre) is just opposite Big C. Get the 5% discount tourist card from the info counter at 1st floor before u shop.
Zen is a good place to shop for undergarments (at 2nd floor), VAT refund counter is at 3rd floor. There is a sticker counter discount thing going on, the more u spend, the more stickers u got, and u can use that for more discounts later. However wacoal and triumph only allowed max 10% discounts, u can also use the sticker coupon at Central Chitlom.
B2S is at Central Chitlom 7th floor, selling lots of stationery, files and books. Cheap for the stationery and u can use the tourist discount too.
Famous brand Lin Zhen Siang(selling pork, chicken floss, cuttlefish, etc) can be found at Amarin Plaza(think is 4th floor), they can deliver to your hotel if you buy alot. They helped me to packed in a carton and send to my hotel ard 10pm the same day. Dun buy from outside shop for this brand, it's more expensive, you can also shop at Yaowarat outlet (Chinatown).
shop at Big C for your daily neccessities like toothbrush, toothpaste, shampoo and shower foam. Do remember to buy more mineral water (very cheap!!!) from there to bring back hotel cause Bangkok tap water cannot be drink. We bought back 2 cartons(ard total 24bottles, abt 80baht) to hotel, just nice for our 6D5N. Bottled water can easily buy at the street for 10baht each.

Conclusion : Chitlom BTS station
Nearby is Amarin Plaza(Lin Zhen Siang), Ewaran Shrine(4 faced buddha), Central Chitlom, Central World Plaza(Zen and Isetan), Gaysorn(all real branded stuffs), Narayana Phand(Thai handicrafts)and Big C. Further down is Pratunam Center and Pratunam Market.
All is easily accessible by walking, do wear comfortable footwear(not suitable for old ppl cause need to walk alot) and do try out their street foods (it's nice but not for weak stomach, my husband and I didn't suffer from any stomach problem though)

ohstrawberry

Emporium(near Phrom Phong BTS),u can 5% tourist discount too(at 1st floor info counter), didn't buy from there cause still prefer the Central sticker coupon discount - more discount given mah...), however enjoy the dinner at Fuji Japanese restaurant(4th floor), cheap and tasty, highly recommended!!!!
Suam Lum night market can be accessible by MRT train, alight at Lumphini station
You can take BTS to Asok BTS station to transfer to Sukhumvit MRT station, then travel to Lumphini or
Transfer from Sala Daeng BTS station to Si Lom MRT station, then travel down to Lumphini also can.
BTS SkyTrain Route Map can get from all BTS station.
BTS tickets and MRT tickets is different, so when u reach MRT station, buy from the vending machine, however MRT station name is in Thai, seek other ppl assistance. Bangkok MRT Ticket is a chip form and can scan like our Ezlink card. BTS ticket is like our old type of MRT ticket, the type that must slot into the gate.

squidhead

I booked my 4D3N F&E to BKK during the Natas Fair. Cost is about $400 (including taxes, transfers, breakfast, 1/2 day city tour) for airfare and accomodation at Pathumwan Princess. However agent said that chances of get Pathumwan Princess is quite slim so my second choice is Grand Diamond (near WTC).

Where is this Suan Lum? What do they sell and what time do they open? How to get there from Grand Diamond?

For first time to BKK, any advice on where to go and what should i look out for?

Thanks for your help!

ohstrawberry

Hi, cooldevil

You're most welcome, just like to share with you all of my experiences. Got good thing must share with everyone mah...hee hee hee