Bangkok

ohstrawberry

Hi, Mum2B

Actually for Mambo i booked thru my taxi-driver last time i went to Bangkok(ard 4yrs ago liao), think pay abt 650baht for the ticket, can't remember so well. Definately the price i paid my cab driver is slightly higher cause he would earn commission mah.
It can be true that local thai and foreigners pay different price. And thru different media in getting the ticket also different price, eg like travel agent, they usually cheaper as they get bulk discount.
If you pay ard S$30 for a ticket, it's consider reasonable,if more than like S$35, i think you can drop the idea of watching it.

Hi, passby
I didn't bought anything at Pratunam market, cause when i went there is my last 2nd day and most of my things already bought at Suam Lum, Chatuchak and MBK. Actually the things also quite similar, just the price different abit.
Prefer more of bangkok special craftworks and handmade items, thus didn't really go to see the imitaions.

coolgirl76

Halo
I'm back!!!!!!! Starts to miss the food there liao
I had a great time! Will share more tom ... Took pixs fr the motor show.....

Hi Passby
How's yr trip?

sakurasan

squidhead, there's a tailor right at the lobby area of Novotel. My husband used them twice and he is quite happy with them. This time, they gave him a package of 8000baht which includes a jacket, 2 pants and 2 shirts. Not sure if it's expensive. Workmanship seems pretty ok. This trip, I also tailored shirts and pants and they SUCK!
I think they can't do ladies' clothes. It wld be better if you bring along a pair of pants or a shirt and let them use as samples for yourself.

Outside Novotel (first lane when you turn right at the lobby) there's another tailor called Macways. Heard quite abit abt this place in the other BKK threads but dun know much abt the prices.

passbyonly

Hi Cooldevil,

I ve a enjoyable trip in Bangkok. u?
ya.. me too. quite miss the food there especially the shark fins and bird nest..em... yummy

how is the motor show? u bought many things?

passbyonly

ohstrawberry,

oh i see. the craftworks and handmade items at chatucak. i just bought some chopsticks there. cant shop too long as the time i was there is a raining day.. and it's too crowded.. cant tahan!!!sigh...

coolgirl76

Hi passby
I saw a no of Sporeans but dun know who is who...kekekekek

I had lots of fun ...kekekekek eat, shop, massage....wahahahaha missed the life there manz.....

The sharkfin soup very nice hor...
We went chinatown on the 2nd and last night just to eat sharkfin, bird nest and tang yuan.......

Their roadside stall near our hotel got sell goreng pisang (morning) and Yutiao(night) very nice and cheap.........the fried pork and chicken also very nice........

deathstar

People,

Will be going to BKK the second time in May. Didn't choose the vesak day period though.

Anyway, has anyone travelled in Scandinavian Air before??

Actually booked a trip with Focal travel and they had this promo going now, but will have to travel by SAS and it's at night.

ahjo77

I took tigerairways there nad guess pple who go duirng Good Friday long Weekend also took that flight cos tis was full board..

I went to Sampeng lane,chatuchak,suan lam ,MBK,Central World Plaza 4 shopping .go for foot reflexlogy and massage..

went for Chao Praya River Cruise dinner n its nice n highly recommended...

coolgirl76

Ok here are some of my updates :-
I'm staying at Bangkok city inn - walking distance to WTC and big C.....Tel 662 02 2535372-3
Fr hotel to Chinatown less than 100baht
Fr hotel to Chatuchak abt 80baht
Fr hotel to Robinson abt 100baht
fr hotel to Suan lum abt 60+baht
All by meter taxi dun take those taxi who refuse to charge on meter .... Didnt take their BTS cos 5 of us travelling it will be cheaper if we take taxi (all in 1 cab)

For seafood can try somboon rest near Robinson.... seafood very fresh...but dun order their fried frog leg.... very deep fried liao taste funny -forget where I put it name card liao go home search again

Sharkfin at Chinatown - Go to Cheng Yu CHI tel 66 1 8370057 a few store opp white tower hotel and watson. Just infront of Yaowaraj Clinic. Open fr 7pm to 1.30a.m closed on Monday... This chinese Thai hawker know how to speak teochew :p
300 baht to 500baht

Tang yuan cannot remember where forget to take namecard...argghhhh this stall tang yuan is the BEST....

Birdnest - got to the rest where all the stall wear orange shirt one..... the sharkfin there not so nice.... bird nest not bad... 100baht

For thai food can try Seefah rest. www.seefah.com

coolgirl76

Mambo show cost less than 500baht including transfer if book fr Bkk city inn.
Calypso show cost 550baht including transfer fr bkk city inn.....
I think the rate only apply to their guests. Remember to nego the price..... at first she offered us 700baht

Accordingly to the hotel staff Calypso is more high class than mambo.... I went Mambo b4 liao find it not bad ...haven try Calypso cos no time (I asked the price just incase we want to go)

passbyonly

Hi Cooldevil,

me too. i saw quite a nos of sporean. but dunno who is who wor.
for the roadside stall near our hotel, for goreng pisang youtiao,fried pork,chicken.etc i din try as find their foods seem like not clean le.. but i tried one stall a bridge after the hotel. the fried kway tiao is really yummy...

i hv tried massage near to our hotel too... their services and skills is only so so.
as for me i like the hai wai tien sharkfin soup at chinatown...abt 300bahts too.

did you bought any lmilation LV/Gucci bag from pratunam market?

how is the motor shown at Bangkok Convention Centre?

u got whent for the Mambo show ?

coolgirl76

Hi passby
No I didnt buy any of those items...I find Shenzhen quality is better......
didnt try the fried kway tiao.... cos we had our breakfast in the hotel then all the way shop till night kekekekeke.....
Motor show is much better than sin..... each individual brand got their own performance and models..... we took some pixs but my hubby haven download...

No time to go see ah gua show for this trip
anyway, I went b4 liao not bad.... Like I say earlier I did ask abt the rate, just incase I want to go see..... I brought my frnd to hollywood (pub) they like it...kekekekek We open one bottle of Hennessy @ 1700baht waive cover charge. They do charge for soda, coke and ice if u ordered again.... music abt the same as sin and still got performance....:p

The toiletries at TOP very cheap.... 2 Darlie toothpaste 200ml cost 59baht, Listerine big bottle cost abt $5 and etc.....

oh ya even siam discovery centre also got tourist discount - 5%

Hi sing
Mi and hubby spent abt $900 for 5D4N in Bkk..... Total trip - we spent abt $1400+

@ Zen level 3 cant remember the shop name got massage, facial, haircut, mani and pedicure (I call it one stop store..... kekekekeke)

Foot massage - 250baht
Facial - 240baht (got abit of massage)
Haircut - 200baht (b4 cut wash with shampoo then cut liao wash again -shampoo and conditioner)
Mani and pedicure - I think is S$8each.... cant rememeber the price

coolgirl76

hi sing
It depend where u go and what u want to buy :p

Mi and hubby were thinking of buying oil paint to deco our new place..... went chatuchak saw a few nice ones.... cost abt S$100-150.... we thut can walk ard and try our luck to find cheaper price .... but that was the cheapest lor..... we didnt buy cos too tired and hot to walk back

went to suan lum...nothing much(similar to chatuchak) ... chatuchak more things to see and buy but the validation not as good as suan lum...... If you go at night, suan lum for performance...... can sit there and relax

passbyonly

Hi sing,
i spent abt 450+ for my 4D3N in Bangkok. as wat cooldevil said, it's up to individual demand lo.

Hi cooldevil,
me too. saw one shop selling Zen lights at chatuchak very cheap but didn't buy it at the end. coz, cant remember how to walk bac to the stall liao.

chrysanne12

Hi Squidhead,

sorry cldn't reply earlier, tks for the location for King & I. I booked mine with Super Travels for $540 flying by Thai Airway at the end of April.

squidhead

hi chrysanne12,

no problem! Your trip is more expensive becos you are travelling by Thai Airway. Anyway, since you have already paid, don't feel bad about paying more. Just enjoy yourself. I looking foward to my trip. Every night cannot sleep properly becos so excited, keep on dreaming about makan and shopping!!

squidhead

hey cooldevil,

do you have the address for the somboon restaurant? can i ask what did u have and how much u paid? You mentioned that its near Robinson. The Robinson is it the one near The King n I, at Sukhumvit Road?

Thanks for your help!

sing_gunner

oic...feel like going to bangkok this mth...but heard tat it'll b super hot in apri/may :p see how lah, if i manage to get another fren then will definitely go in apr...

deathstar

erm....

I will be going to BKK from 26 - 30 May soon. Staying at Asia hotel. will be travelling by Scandinavian Air. Paid 328 per pax.

Any of u ppl has travelled by SAS before??

Btw, I have a compilation of where to shop in BKK from one of the girls here. Anyone needs it?

princessjen

wahhh mum2b,

me oso going there later...evening flt..wher u stayg??

hi cool,

looks like u had a great time in BKK huh!!my hb damn kua zhang waba bring video cam to the motor show..duno i got time to go for spa n massage anot??btw, hw much was e entrance fee to the motor show?i told my hb u said is better than in SG,he so excited..

coolgirl76

Hi squidhead
I left the address at home tonite I will update here... keep a look out....
We had curry crab, tom yum soup, frog leg (dun order), garlic prawn, vegi and 1 more dish cant remember liao...total is 1500baht including drinks. abt S$70 for 5 person. or u can try seefah rest.... try the deep fried fish ...very nice!

Hi deathstar
I booked 5D4N for $284 fly by SQ..... now SQ got promo fly to bkk at $98 excluding tax....

Login : www.singaporeair.com

Hi pjen
my hubby also brought V-cam...kekekek same pattern...wahahaha

deathstar

sing gunner,

I booked thru Focal travel at people's park.

yeah, its a damn good deal because SAS is having a promotion now mah. buy 2 nites get 2 nites free. Bad thing is the timing lor. Only flight there is in the night, so u most probably will waste 1 night there.

Calculated liao, if extension of 1 night there in say, Asia hotel will still be relatively cheaper than having a normal 4D3N trip.

That's y i need to check with u ppl who has travelled by SAS before. becoz i still have got my baby daugther to consider. If it's all adults, i wun even call a hoot, let alone those budget airlines... hehehe

mum2b

pjen,
we'll be staying at first house hotel. hope the hotel turns ok.. btw i'm flying with alst flight of air asia, n just received sms from them that the flight will be delayed almost 2 hours!!

deathstar,
wow the summary is so complete! thanks!!

deathstar

yeah... it's ultra convenient. BTS is directly next door.

anyway if u're travelling with 4 kakis, i'd suggest taking cab. easier and more convenient as well. just imagine a whole day of shopping and u have to end up taking the train with the rest of the ppl... sighz....

sputnik

I paid $360 (inclusive of S'pore airport tax) for Bangkok when I went in late Feb 05, fly by SQ for 6D5N at Asia Hotel. If you are booking the hotel separately, you may want to check out the rates offered by the travel agencies, cos we found that some agencies were cheaper than booking online.

One recommendation I have for meals is Fuji restaurant. Serves Japanese food, nice and value for money. Spent less than SGD$15 for me and hubby, eat until nearly exploded.

sputnik

Yah, the food at Fuji is pretty good. Ate there becos of numerous recommendations by my family and relatives. I order a beef set and my hubby ordered a tempura set. Also order green tea which is free flow. When we finished our sets, we were already very full, then they served us complimentary fruits. Ok, even more full. Then they serve us complimentary iced coffee. That's the point we almost exploded.....

Dun know if the fruits and coffee comes with our set or everyone gets it, cos we did not notice it in the menu when we ordered.

dolphin48

Sputnik: Where is this Fuji restaurant?

deathstar: can i also have the list?

btw, anyone know where would be a good place to look for wedding favors? thinking of getting it from there...

sputnik

Hi Dapnhe,

The Fuji resturant has quite a few outlets. One is at MBK, think it is the same level as the food court, 7th floor? There should be another one at Central World, if I remember correctly. This one should be newly opened, cos that time I was there it was not opened yet. There is another one at a shopping centre near Siam Discovery, can't remember the name of the shopping centre. Wat u can do is to go to one of the outlets and ask them for a namecard with the different branch locations. Try not to hit their lunch crowd, cos I passed by there around lunchtime and there was a queue. Also depends on which outlet you go to, i guess.

You should be able to find wedding favors at Chatuchak.

coolgirl76

Hi squid
I cant find the namecard... now looking at the map.....it near Emerald hotel at ratchadaphisek Rd.... u have to walk pass pubs.....it abt 5-7min the hotel

To those who wants to buy pork floss can go Ha Kee Lim Jing Hieng....they have a few outlets - Sogo (4th floor) and Chinatown. Small box @50baht big box 100baht..... If u show them their namecard can less 10%..... thus I suggest u go take name card fr counter then go in the shop again and buy....kekekekeke

deathstar

Hmm.... fuji resturaunt eh??? quite tempted to give it a try this time when i visit Bkk.. kekeke

anyway has any of u tried Nam Seng in chinatown anot?? Seen a lot of ppl giving their comments on 'Haiwaitian' leh, but no one seemed to comment on Nam Seng.

I, for one tried it during my trip last Nov. Not bad I must say. Not only their bird's nest and sharks fin quite good, their 'zhi cha' oso not bad too. Tried their food at MBK and chinatown separately, standard almost the same. somemore they serve cold crysanthemum tea when u makan at their place as well.