Bangkok

ohstrawberry

Hi, Squidhead

You can walk down to ChitLom BTS station from Grand hotel(quite a distance though ard 15min) and take BTS to Asok, then transfer to Sukhumvit MRT station and travel down to Lumphini MRT station, right in front of Lumphini station is Suam Night Market.
I enjoy my visit to the Grand Palace and Wat Pra Keow (Temple of Emerald Buddha)and Wat Pho, from there u can take a tuk tuk or taxi down to Yaowarat(Chinatown) and shop at Sampeng Lane market and eat at the Chinese restaurant there.
You can use the half day city tour to go Grand Place and Wat Pra Keow and Wat Pho there. Save the trouble of taking boat, however i really enjoy taking the boat, u can enjoy the breeze and watch those scenery and buildings.
Be very careful of those ppl coming up to u being very friendly and wish to be your guide or wanted to bring u to friends' shop to see see. No No, they are the CHEATS!!! Just ignore them and pretend u dun know wat they saying.
Just to share, i had this encounter when i going from Grand Palace to Wat Pho, this Thai man followed my husband and I for quite a while after we ignored him, then we went buy some drinks from the nearby store, he pretend to be walking around, when we approaching Wat Pho, he trying to cheat us saying the entrance is not this side, is at the other side. Lucky we ignore him totally and just walk forward, didn't know wat will happen to us if we listen to him. If you got hp with you, you can call 1155(Tourist police) if you find someone keep pestering you.
Always ask for meter fare when taking taxi, before you get into the taxi, say your destination and ask if it's on meter, and let the guy enter the taxi first, then the ladies(for safety precautions). However i realised most of their taxi drivers are good ppl, just dun hire those parked their taxi at road side waiting for passengers type, cause they will keep persuading u to go wat souvenirs shops or restaurants, trying to cheat your money.
Tuk Tuk you have to negotiate the price first, only take for short distance (ard 50bahts - 70bahts)
Be generous with your tips if you think they're good.
BTS is very convenient, do make use of that when you travel ard. Dun flash too much cash in front of alot ppl, you dun know who is watching u. be polite when you go shopping and you realised they will be good to you too.
I saw a group of S'poreans at chatuchak market keep bargaining the price so demandingly, knowing the price is very low liao and keep giving bad comments of the shop ppl like they so rude la, blah blah blah.... No surprise u will see the shop ppl faces turn black la, if for me, i'll chase them again. Thai ppl are nice ppl, be nice to them and you receive nice treatment in return.

ohstrawberry

Hi cooldevil
The first few days i went got rain in the morning, thus not so hot. But rest of the week, it's hot, slightly warmer than singapore now. Drink lots of water, put on sunscreen, if not when you come back, you'll look like Thai too.hee hee....

mum2b

hi crayonshinchan
thanks a lot for the info. can u send me your pix or video to my email [email protected]?

hi Ling0,
just received ur map today! thanks a lottt!!
so excited planning now.. hehe..

riushiki

Hi Ling0
Can I have a copy of your map ?

I am going to BKK next friday :p So exciting .... I will be staying at Twin Tower Hotel. Anyone know how far izzit from the BTS ? I know it's not very near to BTS but for the price of SGD52 for a 4 stars hotel. Quite worth it lah ...

This hotel is near MBK ..

coolgirl76

hi ohstrawberry
mi put sunscreen or not still look like thai ...kekekeke... mi quite tan in person.... when I go bKk always mistaken as thai.... :p

ohstrawberry

I noticed exchange rate is slightly higher at BKK, i changed 23.36 here, then in BKK, rate at their airport is the same, but some money changer at BTS station offered 23.39.
So you all can consider changing there, no need to worry of exchanging money there, money changer is everywhere.

ling0

<font color="0000ff">Hi Mum2B</font>
Dun mention! Hve a wonderful trip!
262548.gif

<font color="aa00aa">Hi Riushiki</font>
Sure, no prob! I need ur home address to post d map to u...please email to [email protected]

Btw, d nearest BTS Station fr The Twin Towers is National Stadium......
Think distance is abt 10 to 15 mins walk.......

elmo_78

We would like to travel to Bangkok for a 4D3N F&amp;E tour on 28 Apr. Any great deals to recommend? Thanks in advance!

passbyonly

Hi Ohstrawberry,

Thanks for sharing of your pics..

check with you, which is the sky train nearest to Bangkok City Inn Hotel?

how's taste of the shark fin and bird nest at chinatown?

passbyonly

and one more question,

how much is the taxi fare from Bangkok airport to Bangkok City Inn Hotel?

sori ask so many questions in once
thanks in advance

i'm looking for a reasonable priced hotel other than Asia Hotel.
Was looking at Ruishiki's recommendation of Twin Towers hotel and D'ma Hotel.

Anyone stayed at any before? esp twin towers..

sereneli

hi postpet2,

u can try Eastin. I just got back from there. Got a upgrade to Deluxe room. Not bad if u don't mind the location. But there's a smell, which can easily be cover up with some pefume :0

tomatoes

Hi ohstrawberry

May I know where did you buy those doggie stuff? It is from their pet shop or from some market? and it is cheaper than Sinapore. Sorry for so many questions cos me thinking of buying clothes for my shihtzu also

squidhead

Hi ohstrawberry,

thanks for sharing the info and your photos. Ask you hor, how to get to Emporium huh? where is it near to?

Thanks for your help

ohstrawberry

Hi, passerby

My cab fare from airport to hotel is ard 270baht (include tollway and airport charge), it's by meter and there is traffic jam that evening due to some traffic accident. so i think if no traffic jam, should be cheaper, anyway i just give 300baht to the driver cause he's very good and friendly.

BTS station Chitlom is nearest to Bankok City Inn, from hotel to BTS station ard 5 to 10min walk, u had to walk to Gaysorn that direction and u can see the BTS station. Just take note of the direction when the cab send u to the hotel on the 1st day, very easy.

At Chinatown, i went to Hai Wai Tian Restaurant, didn't eat sharkfin, but birdnest not bad, i had the one with gingko nut (abit too sweet 150baht), u should try the one without the gingko (better!!! 100baht only).
Walk around lor, lots of restaurants over there.
Take note of the food city inside Big C, there is also 1 birdnest stall, 50baht only per bowl. Tried, not bad too. And you should try duck noodles in chinese herbal soup, i liked the taste. Food City got alot of things to eat, if you dun wanna go too far for a meal, u can eat there. 7 eleven also got sell bottled bird nest, i bought the one with P.P on it, quite nice too.

Hi, tomatoes
I bought my doggie stuffs at Chatuchak, there is alot of stalls selling pets items and even pets at Section 9,11,13 and 15. From the entrance you had keep walking inside and you will see alots of cute doggie, ard ard is alots of stalls selling the pets stuffs liao. I bought my dog tee at 120baht (size 4), different size and styles got different prices). Shop around and you can find alot of good bargains. Go early, if not more ppl come in ard noon, so hot and so crowded, that's when we had finished shopping and headed for hotel

ohstrawberry

Hi, Squidhead

Take BTS to Phrom Phong Station, and you can reach Emporium, it's just outside the BTS station. It's along Sukhumvit road. U can take cab there or take BTS train, i prefer train cause no traffic jam, thus faster.

For BTS train, buy the skycard (200baht = 170baht + 30baht deposit - can be refund) if you gonna travel alot by BTS.

squidhead

Please go to the BTS website, www.bts.co.th to find out more about the route map. The website is quite good. Just click on the station and they will tell you where are the nearest building, shopping centre and makan places.

Just discovered it. But i think the best is still from people who have been to BKK before :)

squidhead

hi ohstrawberry,

Just wondering, after going to the bts website, do you think its better to get the Skycard as you said, a 30 Day pass (300 Baht for 15 trips) or get the 1 Day pass (100 Baht for unlimited trips).

Was thinking of travelling around by BTS since I am quite afraid of getting around by taxi after hearing quite a few stories about the taxi drivers there.

Btw, another question, do you think it's safe to leave my passport in the hotel safe?

ohstrawberry

You can also get a free Bangkok map upon arrival at Bangkok Airport.

If you got extra money to spare can buy Nancy Chandler map of Bangkok at any bookstores near BTS station (180bahts), quite useful too.

ohstrawberry

Hi, Squidhead

Get the skycard better, i survived on it for my 6D5N. It's good enough for normal usage. Somemore you can get refund back the amount that u didn't used.
1 Day pass is not very useful, i would rather buy from vending machine than buying the 1 day Pass

Just follow the steps i taught on hiring a taxi will be safe, just make sure it's on metre. And if the driver insisted on taking u whatever shops, just say no and pretend to say you come to Bangkok alot of times liao, you're not interested.

Never tell Cab drivers or Tuk Tuk drivers that it's your 1st time in Bangkok.

I always bring my passport with me, cause dun trust the hotel la, they can give the wrong key to me sometime and i realised only when i reach my hotel room. Dun know whether they will give the wrong passport to you too. Anyway you might need passport for VAT refund, keep the passport in the inner compartment of your bag, dun let it shown unneccesary.

tomatoes

Hi Ohstrawberry

Thanks for the info. THB120 is cheap for a doggie clothing. But I think I will give chatuchak a miss cos I am 6months pregnant next thu went I go there. Quite inconvenient for people like me to squeeze in there with my tummy size. Hopefully I can find them in Suan Lum Nite mkt.

ohstrawberry

Hi, Tomatoes

I see..... So you can get your baby clothing and maternity clothing there liao, also very cheap. I saw alot of such clothing at Pratunam market, be careful with the steps in front of their shops though.

Ya, Chatuchak quite crowded and very cramped. Not very safe and convenient. Didn't see at Suam Lum when i was there, you can try asking around when you there, maybe i had missed it.

tomatoes

Hi ohstrawberry

Me should have enuff of maternity clothes bought in S'pore. Juz heard from the other thread that I can find really cheap bb clothings from Chinatown. So.. maybe I will aim for that also... dun know my 4D3N trip enuff time or not ;p My hubby sure will complain cos he is aiming to go for their massages. hee!

For the doggie clothes, hopefully can find them other bazaars/markets other than chatuchak.

coolgirl76

hi ohstrawberry
I change it at Raffles place.... one of my regular money changers.....

Hi passby
U going same time with me hor.... are u going to the motor show???

zenn

Hi tomatoes,

Yes there are some shops selling dog stuff at suan Lum. However its not at where they sell all the main stuff. In fact its a corner. Ask around, u should be able to find it....

milo66

hi tomatoes, do let me know whether you manage to find any cute bb clothing at chinatown. was intending to buy some back too! thks

tomatoes

Hi milo66

Okie, will update you when I return from Bkk
Now I am just worry if I can find that street selling only bb clothes.

Cos that time, I went Chinatown, I only saw 1 street selling dried food stuff, and 1 street selling fashion accessories and cutie stuff.

coolgirl76

Hi Passby
The motor show at Bangkok convention centre..... starts fr 26th march...........if u have time then go lor...... heard is better than singapore one.... entrance fee is $3

all right ladies,
i've just submitted my booking for baiyoke sky at asiarooms.
how long does it take before the confimation comes back?

sweetypie

Hi ohstrawberry,

I've been following this forum ever since I booked my trip for this coming April.

Also many thanks for the write up on your recent trip. Very helpful. And the pix as well !

I'll be staying at Bangkok City Inn as well. Can you please email me the hotel name in Thai.

Many thanks in advance.
sweetypie

coolgirl76

Hi passby
Hope this info helps

International Bangkok Motor Show (The)
8 Bang-na Trad Road (Km 1), Bangkok, 10260 Thailand

User Rating: Not yet rated Write a Review
Image search for International Bangkok Motor Show (The)
Read Overview - Open hours
Category: Local Events
Phone: +66 2 749 3939 - [email protected]
www.bitec.net

Sweetypie
U can go to their Hotel recep to get the hotel name card..... The name card got address and small map.... If I not wrong in thai words too :p

keane

Hi, I would be going to Bangkok during the vesak day long weekend. Can I check with you guys anyone knows how much is the taxi fare from Airport to Siam square? Or is there any airport bus? Are there any factory outlets, like adidas or nike or timberland in bangkok? Where can I find good authenthic Thai food near Siam Square? Lastly, I collect star wars and Lord of the ring figerines, are they cheap in Bangkok, and where can u get them? Sorry for the many questions.

racherlle

hi postpet!

usually they will reply on the same day if u submit ur request in the morning

i juz booked Novotel Siam Square for my parents and sis last week from asiarooms and i got a very prompt reply from them in the afternoon..

ohstrawberry

Hi, Sweetypie

I had sent to your email address regarding bangkok City Inn Address.
Let me know whether you received it ya.
Enjoy your trip in this coming April.

ohstrawberry

Oh ya, Sweetypie

The address in English is as follow:
43/5 Rajdamri Road, Prathumwan, Bangkok 10330.

If cab driver dun know, just tell them at ChitLom, near Arnoma Hotel. They all know where is Arnoma Hotel, funny!!! Hee.......

passbyonly

Hi Ohstrawberry,

check with u for the VAT 5% refund.
spend 2000baht in a shop or in same shopping centre? and must combine everything up more then 5000baht then u can claim at the airport?

Cooldevil,

excite

I'm doing a project on Bangkok shopping centre, and i need the pictures of them if possible.
Any1 knoe where to get those shopping centres like Emporium, Zen, Isetan, World trade centre etc? Only the exterior of the building will do.