Bangkok

deathstar

Speaking of 'Lin Zhen Xiang', i actually visited the authentic stall in chinatown. Spoke to the daugther of the owner, and she gave me some inside info.

Apparent, there's 3 stalls on the same row in chinatown. Only the one in the middle is the 'real' one, as so she claimed. She says the two side stalls are actually opened by her uncles and they had some dispute or something. Anyway, if u visit her stall, u can see some newspaper clippings pasted on the walls with her face in it, so i doubt she's lying lar. She says to look out for the 'real' lin zhen xiang, look of the 'piggy' cartoon logo. The one with phoenix is her uncle's. She also claims that if u see her products outside chinatown, it'll normally be 10 - 20 Bht more expensive, so if u wanna buy, go chinatown and buy from her. she'll packed all ur items nicely in a carton and provide free delivery to ur hotel if u buy to a certain amount.

*disclaimer* i ain't no relative of hers', just sharing some info i came to know, for the benefit of u ppl... =)

squidhead

hi deathstar,

u mean there is a Hai Wai Tien in MBK too? I thought only have at Chinatown. If so, then I can skip the Chinatown store and go to the MBK one. Do you know which level in MBK? Also, are the prices the same?

deathstar

Hi squidhead,

no lar. I went to the Nam Seng in MBK. Not haiwaitian... if you're taking about Nam Seng, yeah, the price is the same.

deathstar

erm, if im not wrong, it's on the 2nd or 3rd floor. There's a gigentic Shark's fin hanging outside the resturaunt. you can't miss it. =)

hope it'll help.

estben

Anyone travelling to BBK next week, I am going to BBK with my girlfriend 9-11 by SQ S$441 per pax and again at Baiyoke Sky though got the experience this time round staying below 30floor.
Now berry excitied to look forward ....

sysa

I will be going next week (8-11 Apr). Flyg by Tiger Air. I booked a Service Apt instead in the Pratunam area.

My last BKK tip was in 1993. That was 12 yrs ago
Haha...like a virgin trip to BKK :p

Heard so much abt the shopping & food. Gonna have my fair share of it this trip

tomatoes

Me just came back from BKK today. The highest exchange rate that I found is 23.43 at arrival hall in Bangkok. The banks outside are offering 23.3+ only.

The weather is quite hot over there so be prepared to sweat it out.

As for the Novotel Siam Sq, I must say their service and room is 5 to 6 star. The breakfast was good... not that much variety but real quality food. Me and my hubby were well taken care of and would definitely choose the same hotel again if we go back.

Jetstar - nothing worth mentioning. The plane is new... crew ok... but 1 lady not so service-oriented... and I must say the landing when flying to BKK is terrible... to the extend that one of the lady crew got a fright and grab on to her colleague's thigh. I saw very clearly what happened cos I was sitting at the first row... She even apologised to her colleague and tell him that she got a fright.

deathstar

eh.... any of u people knows where's the best rate for BKK now anot???

anyone been to golden mile recently to change?? Went to People's park during the weekend to look look see see, best rate they offered is 23.55

sighz.... went bkk in nov last year and i got 24.51.... damn! should have changed more back then!

Anyway besides baht, anyone of u ppl knows where to get the best rate for Taiwan $$ as well??? Will be going there end of this month with in laws.

pink_tulip

Is DIYing a trip to BKK easy? Never done it before. Basically, is it about booking air tickets and hotel myself and then taking a taxi to hotel upon arrval at BKK airport? Would like to hear from those who have done it!

deathstar

hey pink tulip,

its very easy one lar. I've done it before. just grab a cab once u exit the airport. remember to check whether the fella go by meter anot. Also ask him whether does he know how to get to ur hotel before u get in the cab. Best to travel in a group if it's ur first time.

anyway hotel wise, some says its quite risky to book online as there might be some mis-communication along the way and the hotel will not receive ur application, but dun let that affect u. Most hotels will put u up, with or without a reservation, unless they're damn full pack... which hotels doesn't wan business?? hhehehe

pink_tulip

deathstar

Going with hubby and two little gals leh... you think it would be safe/easy? First time going there...

Your notes is so detailed and useful!!!

Anyone here who has tried online hotel booking? Pl share experience. Thanks!!

Hi pink_tulip

Yes, DIY travel to BKK is extremely easy. Hubby and I do that all the time, and we go to BKK at least once or twice a year. In fact, we're going again in June.

When booking hotels, here are some good sites to try :

http://www.asiatravel.com

http://www.resorthotel.net

http://www.thaihotels.com

I've tried the first 2 before, and had no problems with them. Both respond quickly to your queries. The last one I've seen posted on some threads before, and it seems quite popular. Rates are quite good too.

Getting to and from the airport is really easy. At the arrival hall, there's a taxi booth right outside the arrival hall doors. Just go up to the counter, tell them where you're headed and they'll give you a ticket and assign you a cab. They'll charge you the meter rate + expressway toll (take the expressway) + THB50 for admin fee. Alternatively, you may rent a airport limo or mini van, but that will cost more.

pink_tulip

Good morning, Alhana!

I am glad to hear from you and thanks for the assurance. Thanks too for the sites you recommended. I will take time to look at them and make comparisons.

So going to the taxi booth outside the arrival hall doors is the safer way to get a taxi?

We are interested in booking Novotel. Have you stayed there before? We have two little gals, aged 1+ and 3+. Could you or anyone here also advise me on the type of room to book? A double room? Sorry, so many questions.

Thanks a lot

dear99

need advice cos we first timer need to go in May, which hotel to stay?

deathstar: kindly email mi e list: [email protected] thks! ;)

i've chk out wif a travel agent:
$290/pax by Vaueair staying at Twin tower
daily breakfast
airport tranfers
1/2 day city tour

is e fare okie or too exp?

Hi pink_tulip

Yes, its safe to get a cab from the counter. W/in the terminal, there will be people trying to get you to book a mini-van/private limo transfer etc..just ignore them. They are much more expensive than taking the regular taxi.

Are you considering Novotel Siam Square? If so, yes I've stayed there before. Its a nice hotel, suitable for families. Seems like quite alot of Singaporean families stay there. Location is also ideal for shopping. Its just a short walk to MBK, and right in the Siam Square area where there are alot of shops with pretty cool stuff.

Ok...if you ask for a double room, it means that you'll get a room with one big bed (usually a king or 2 singles pushed together) meant for 2 pax. Will your girls be sleeping together w you & hubby, or will you need an extra bed? I think they can squeeze in with you since they're so young. We always book double rooms since we want to sleep on the same bed :p Twin rooms will have 2 separate beds for 2 people.

pink_tulip

Alhana

Appreciate your input and suggestions!
I think I will book a Double room, request for a big bed and let my 3 year-old share with us. Hopefully I can also ask for a baby cot for my younger gal.

Yes, sort of decided on Novotel Siam Sq. THanks for the info on the hotel too.

So once touch down at BKK airport, we should ignore whoever who approaches us and head straight for that taxi counter? The taxis that take passengers from the counter are more reliable I suppose.

dodocefiro

Can anyone tell me how to go to The Grand Palace & Wat Pra Keow (Temple of Emerald Buddha). I will be staying at Asia Hotel.

Thanks alot.

Hi pink_tulip

The airport limo / mini-vans are reliable too..its just they cost so much more than if you just take a regular taxi. The last time we were in BKK (in Dec), it cost us THB260 to reach Asia Hotel from the airport..that included the admin fee n expressway toll too. Heh..read this website on getting a taxi at the airport :

http://www.thaivisa.com/382.0.html

Hi Alhana,

Check with you... you are referring to getting a cab from the taxi stand or the taxi counter in the airport?

Deathstar, I got your email. Thanks.

deathstar

eh people,

u all not helpful leh... asked a couple of times who has travelled by SAS before but no one seemed to reply to me... =(

Nobody oso update on the best xchange rates as well.... =(

Skywolf

The taxi stand is outside..and at the stand, there is a counter/booth where you'll tell the lady where u wanna go and they'll assign you a cab. Its not inside the terminal building.

mum2b

hi deathstar,
I just came back from BKK on Monday. The exchange rate here is better than in BKK: in Golden Mile 23.55, in BKK 23.23 (Pratunam) to 23.34 (MBK).

hi Pink-tuplip,
I actually followed the suggeston of Ohstrawberry to get a cab in Departure (3rd floor) hall and flag down a passing taxicarrying passenger to airport. The taxi driver doesn't seemed to understand English, luckily the passenger (a Thai businessman) helped us to explain in Thai, without even being asked. The fare is very cheap (to Pratunam area), only 140 baht, n we give 20 baht tip.
On the way back to airport from hotel, we also flag down a passing taxi, and the fare is also about the same (150-160).

hi deathstar,
The exchange rate is more or less the same in Singapore and in BKK. Unless you are changing a huge amount, else the difference will be very insignificant.

I will be flying off this Sat!!! Really looking forward to it...

Yup, u can go to Departure and hail a cab to town too...save the THB50 fee you pay when taking a cab from arrival. I'm usually too lazy to do that so I'll just grab my luggage and go out the doors to grab a cab. Paying the extra THB50 isn't much anyway.

pink_tulip

Alhana

THanks! Noted that!

Mum2B

Thanks for sharing the info!

So there are two safe ways to get a taxi from the airport. (1) Go out of the arrival hall doors and get a ticket for taxi from the taxi stand/ booth. (2) Go up to the departure hall and hail a taxi that has just let some passengers alighted. Ya? Thanks!!

I think hor... whenever I want to go Thailand, sure got things happen. That time, 1 week b4 I wanted to go Phuket, Tsunami happened so suddenly. Now, I want to go Bangkok... they have this attacks... I so sad...