Bangkok

tomatoes

Hi skywolf

I stayed at First hotel a few years back and was very disappointed with their rooms. When I stepped into the room, I can smell a stench and the bed was too soft to be slept on.

Hopefully they have upgraded during these few years.

It seems like Bangkok City Inn is a better choice nowadays.

meijia

Hi milo66,

I managed to request for morning flight on 14 April so I gain the whole day now.

But sad thing is I have used my English name instead of the dialect name stated in my passport.

Write serveral email to them but no reply. So angry and disappoint. Dun think will want to fly with them next time.

Hi sakurasan,

I also love to buy plates. same type as you. Last sept I went to Chatuchak and bought a few but were quite heavy. 7 pcs for only $20, very cheap. This time round I am going to buy more.

sakurasan

carrie, oooh...then you must visit Zen at Central World Plaza (quite cheap here), shopping malls at Emporium, Central Chit Lom, etc. All the shopping malls had sales when I was there ~ I totally went bonkers. Lugged back ramekins (which I cldn't find in Singapore..dunny why) to make souffles, etc. I was eyeing an entire dining set from Royal Porcelain but husband gave me the red eye *sulks*.

sakurasan

postpet2, I was in BKK over the last weekend ~ 4 - 7 March.

milo66, I think Central World Plaza is between BTS Siam Sq and BTS Chit Lom. If I'm not wrong, you can alight at either station. But I seem to have the impression that BTS Siam Sq is nearer. I've never gone there by BTS..usually walk there from my hotel at Novotel Siam Sq.

misschindia

think that Bangkok will be full of Singaporeans this good Friday weekend! I will be going too.. .taking Finnair and staying at Narai Hotel. Hope to tailor FH's suits and also do major shopping and eating :p

oh yes, i guess so...but i'll be at hua hin besides bangkok..

which tailor are you going to?
me thinking of doing some work shirts as well.

sharon_chang

Hai, i will be there also during this Good Friday. This is my 1st time been there. Now busy on searching those must eat & must go place.

sharon_chang

May i know other than Mah Boon Krong wat other shopping center that is worth to go??
I am staying in Twin Tower, is this hotel convenience? any1 stay there before?

sakurasan

sharon_chang, the popular places are:
MBK ~ I really hate this place coz of the crowds..so pls go in the morn when it's hopefully less crowded ~ its somewhat like our Lucky Plaza; MBK is also linked to Tokyu,
Siam Discovery Centre (~ reminds me of Scotts) with some branded shops like MAC, Diesel, Guess, Nine West, Siam Centre ~ no big deal place honestly but it has Coca Steamboat (if you're a fan
);
Central World Plaza ~ this place has a departmental store called Zen which is a little like our John Little; shops-wise, also quite limited...Isetan is connected to Central World Plaza.
Opp Central World Plaza is Geysorn - very upmarket...like our Paragon's new wing with all the branded shops like Gucci, etc. The top floor has very classy shops selling nice household stuff.
You must go to Emporium (BTS Phrang Phong)..ooh..this is my fave shopping mall. It's like Ngee Ann City ~ with branded shops on one side and a departmental store on the other. Nice place to get clothes and lingerie. The top floor of the departmental store is also like the basement of Takashimaya..with food outlets and stalls selling pastries, cakes etc;
Central Chit Lom (BTS Chit Lom) is basically a huge departmental store like Taka..lots of shoes and bags and accessories.

Of course, u must visit Chatuchak (BTS Mo Chit or cab)on weekends and Suan Lum Nite Bazaar ~ definitely by cab. Both sell roughly the same stuff. I didn't go to the Pratunam Wholesale market..but heard u can get really cheap clothing there

And remember Patpong! Be prepared to slog it out! Ahhh....

Hi Tomatoes,

Eww... room stinks? ~_~

Tell u all something very silly i did yesterday night. Was pretty frantic over couldnt get Bkk City Inn from precision reserversations. 1 of my colleagues told me maybe the website's quota for this hotel is fully booked coz of its low rates ($28/nite). I tried gothailand.com. Saw that it is $37/nite. So I booked lor. Thing is, i forgot i was processing another reservation at Eastin from precision's website. Ended up i now have two diff hotel rms. Darn... somemore confirmed liao. So i got to cancel one of them... Anyone interested in 6-9 May 05 @ Eastin?

Moral of story: Never ever do anything when you are half asleep...

sakurasan

Just to add on to my 2-cts worth above
, for those of you who go to Emporium and looking for a place to rest ur feet and eat, I like this cafe on the top floor which sells pretty good Thai food. It doesn't have an English name, only a Thai name with a tree symbol that looks like the banyan tree. It is directly opp the Oriental Hotel Shop (~ or something coz I can't remember exactly)which sells wine.

sweetypie

Both hubby and I are going about end Apr for 4 days. Booked flights w JETSTARASIA @ S$155 (incl tax) per person. And oso booked Bangkok Inn hotel @ S$112 (twin share) today and awaiting for their confirmation. Just wondering if anyone has flown with JSA before. Any info greatly appreciated.

jojok

Hi Misschindia,
I m also flying via Finair. How is the service? Its my first time on this airline. Departing on 23Mar night time.

sharon_chang

Hi Sakurasan,
Thanks for introduce me so many must go places. I thk i need to rearrange my itinerary again liao.
. I am going for 4D3N (24th-27th March) its look like nt enough time also leh.

sharon_chang

oh!! izit... than cham liao la
. At 1st i want to book Hotel Asia, my friends told me that this hotel is very convenient, but alrdy fully booked accoring to the travel agent, than she recommend me Twin Tower, she say very near to MBK. But if we take cab is still ok rite, cos we got 4 person.

sakurasan

sharon, you're most welcome
Enjoy shopping. If you're a lingerie fan, make sure you stock up! Triumph, Wacoal, etc are much cheaper in BKK.

Are u spending 3 full days in BKK? Besides shopping, will you also be visiting the Palace and temples?

I also forgot to mention that ur itinerary should include going to Chinatown for nice and very affordable birds' nest and sharks fin

I'm not sure where Twin Tower is ~ I've been staying at Siam Sq for my past visits. Maybe you want to consider Novotel/Pathumwan Princess ~ all located in the Siam Sq area. But if these places are above budget, I think Asia Hotel is a very good choice. It's just next to (or opp) the BTS so it'll be extremely convenient for you to get around. Cabs are plentiful and cheap but the problem is getting stuck in jams ~ wasting alot of time.

sakurasan

sharon, oops, my posting came out at the same time as yours..didn't see the bit abt no more rooms in Asia Hotel.

Hv you paid up with the agent? If not, maybe you wanna check the online websites like www.asiarooms.com or www.wotif.com for rooms in Asia Hotel.

For my last visit, my travel agent told me no more rooms for Pathumwan Princess but these online websites had plenty of rooms!! I was so annoyed..but bo-pian coz paid up.

misschindia

Hi to be bride - I paid $298 for my package.. comes with 4 nights accomodation, airfare on finnair and some city tour.

jojok - Cool! think we are on the same flight
my first time on Finnair as well.. but short flight lah so cant be that bad (i hope!)

Sharon- Though twin tower is supposed to be a little further away, heard that its new and quite a nice hotel. So you can enjoy the facilities and comfort

Postpet2 - heard that hua hin is really nice! are you staying at a resort? Erm... will get back to you about tailor. waiting for referral from friends.

sharon_chang

hi sakurasan, ya i hv pay up alrdy, may be i also booked late, last monday than i booked my package. po bian liao lo

I heard also China Town can find nice & cheap shark fin, definitely will go to try it. Somemore 25th March is my god mother birthday, so will buy her a dinner at there.

My package r come with 1/2 day City Tour. Than my flight to BBK is on 1:45pm, my flight back to SG is on 12pm. Actually i got not much time for shopping. I thk most probally we can only cover those place than is realy worth to go. Somemore now i know that my hotel is nt so convenient, than is more worse. I thk i will gv up so places. Like wat u mentioned in yr previous mail, i hv decided to gv up patphong nite market liao. May be also nt going to Geyson & Siam centre.

milky88

hi hi sharon may i know which agency did you go to and is 298 the net price cos i thought the price is very attractive :>

sakurasan

sharon, never mind. BKK is so affordable and nearby that you can always keep some places to visit when you go back next time
If time is really tight, one way is to skip Chatuchak and shop during the day time. Then go to Suam Lum at nite coz they sell roughly the same stuff as Chatuchak ~ you can shop in the cool comfort of the night
Yah, can skip Siam Centre and Geysorn if you're not intending to get any branded stuff.

sharon_chang

misschindia, i hv find out the location of Twin Tower, it is near by China Town and the BTM near by is Hua Lam Phong Station.

Yeo Huamei, my package is $288 for 4D3N, i fly by Cathay. My travel agency is Kenth Holiday, which located at People Park Centre.

Sakurasan, ya u r rite also. If nt no suprise whn visit BBK the next time liao.

coolgirl76

wow so many ppl going BKk on good friday! :p maybe we can bump into one another just that we dun know who is who...kekekeke

hmmm... seems that my bro in law got an expensive package for good friday....

rally

hi postpet,

im thinking of going bkk n hua hin too, are u on package tour or did u book online?
i would like to book online but not sure abt transportation from bkk to hua hin. do u have info on bus/flight departure times from bkk? many thanks if u can share some info.

misschindia

Hi tobebride... package is from Newly Travel at Peoples Park. hotels to choose from are naria, ambassador, eastin, twin towers and asia hotel.

Not sure if this package is still available cuz they told me only 3 seats left at that time... but of course that could be their sales tactic to make me sign up faster :p

mist

me also want to go bangkok, i was thinking of booking ticket and accomodation over the website. But i was wondering how to arrange for airport transfer huh???

do you arrange for airport transfer or you jus take cab from the airport?

whiteveil

Hi Mist,

i also booked my airtickets and hotel online. the hotel can provide private airport transfer if u wan if the rates r not cheap. mi decided to take my own taxi to the hotel.

sakurasan

mist, very easy to juz grab a cab from the airport. I've been quite fortunate to have never encountered any problems with cab-drivers in BKK in my last 3 visits ~ and I take alot of cabs when I'm there.
In fact, I think it saves more time to take cab than to use the airport transfer coz with a cab, you go direct to ur hotel or the airpot. With transfers, they tend to send different groups of pple to several hotels or pick them up from several hotels and you take a really long time to get to the hotel or airport esp with the bad traffic.

Alternatively, you cld ask ur hotel when u do the booking whether they have airport tranfers.

coolgirl76

Those who interested in Motor show....good news..... Bkk having motor show on 25th or 26th of march at their convention hall.....maybe u can drop by! :p

mist

hi sakurasan,

okay, thanks.... won't the cab drivers bring you merry go round? this is what we are concern of loh. generally how much is it to get from airport to your hotel huh?? btw, which hotel did you stay during your last few trips??

sakurasan

mist, can't be helped..all depends on ur luck with the cab-driver. But it shld be alright generally. None of my frens who took the cab had any complaints.

Without any jam, the journey from airport to hotel shld be around 30mins. I really can't remember how much it costs for the trip. Sorrie

I stayed at D'ma Pavillion the first time and Novotel Siam Sq on the subsequent 2 times ~ I like Novotel very much for the location and I think I'll still stay there again when I next visit.

qoo_grapes

I never been to Bangkok, can i check with u. I heard from my friends that, the clothes in Bangkok are super small. In singapore, usually i have to wear medium or Large. Is it True bangkok dun have big size Nice clothing?

momopo

anyone know what time does the hawker outside d'ma opens their stalls? 'coz i have forgotten n might wanna go back there for food.

where else is good for eating in bangkok?

ahjo77

HI pple

I would like to know how to i locate the taxi counter in Bkk airport and what is the reasonable price to get to asia hotel from the airport