Bangkok

mocha_lover

robinsons have a couple of places. I will go anc check the map and let u know?

Dont have the map with me now..

but i read that central also can buy bra, it's also cheap, esp wacoal.

but then at robinsons, there are so many types of designs of bras and panties and it's always cheap.

listan

hi tattyhug..
you are using Botanics too? What have you bought so far?

I've got the whitening foam cleanser, whitening eye cream, whitening toner, smoothing facial serum (very nice!!!), facial oil cleanser (as good as Shu Uemura which I had been using before switching to botanics), facial day cream.. I think that's about all.

I want to try the facial oil (my friend feedback it was wonderful, her face got smoother and more subtle the next morning on the first use). I want to look for facial scrub too.

jodareth

lissy,

Me usually use their hair care products.. hair mask, combination shampoo/conditioner..
not much on their skincare.. .seems u like their skincare ??

Facial oil is nice?? but must be greasy?? me wanna buy body scub as currently using biotherm..

listan

Hmm.. Don't think it's greasy, but if you have combi skin, then maybe it won't work as well. Me ageing skin leow, so it will help put back some suppleness. My friend said that it's absorbed into the skin and the skin feels supple the next morning. I am using Bobbi Brown facial oil now. It's ok, but I think it's expensive. so if I can get substitude, I would be glad to.

sabrinalai

i am in bkk now, surfing at hotel..jsut wana update you abt the botanic's clay mask is out of stock! I have checked the 2 boots, don have

But they do sell a lo of whitening product. I thk i wil buy their haircare product to try..

listan

Hellllloooo!!!!!
I used quite a fair bit of the whitening series though. Pretty good.

Are you having a good time there??

listan

depends on the design, but i can range from $70 to $130 over. It's definitely a steal already. Go get more..hahaha.. but then be careful that the size may be smaller than what you see on the tag. That was what happened to me when I bought the wacoal bra there the last time.

mocha_lover

yah it's cheap for 20SGD. if you get the nicer colours and more nicer designs ones then it's at a cheap price..

I would like to ask anyone out there, to claim VAT in the new airport, is it difficult to find the office? How is the system like, is it like the old airport where u got to claim first before immigration/collecting air tixs at counters?

Sabrinalai, this part is for u::
(Got this comment from other forumers: shopping areas are like Central World Plaze(aka World Trade Centre). If girls are going can get Waccoal Lingerie from there. Each set is like at 20 SGD. Good quality ones. The others like discovery centre, emporium, siam square are just normal to me)

sabrinalai

actually except bra, i cant get any nice shoes and bag here..i notice that, the local (gal) here do not care abt their foot wear. I have went to many places like MBK, siam cente, can get a pair of shoes, and a bag..(A bit dissapointed) Any one here know where to get nice shoes and bag?

For the bra, actually i just need the normal half cup bra(streamless).. I just bought two, may b tomorrow go central world again to grab somemore.. hi hi..Ya, i have notice the bra size a bit different from what we get in SG.yest i try on triump, i toke my size to try, but feel like abit small, then i get a bigger size, but i too big (ha ha)..

lissy and filicia,
May i know usually whice bra u all wear from wacoal? coz this is my first time wear wacoal.i don know leh..thanx for the reply..

listan

heiya!! You are so present with us!!! haha.. wouldn't be able to tell you are now travelling!! LOL

I got the strapless, and also fancy type (with diamante on the straps) for comfort wear. Choose the material you think best suit you though. Due to different brand, the cut is a little different.

I noticed though, that Triumph is 'rounder' in the cup padding. While Wacoal (some ranges) are very pointed.

The last few I'd gotten from Wocaal though, the fabric was very soft and smooth, very comfy to wear. Suitable for T-shirt too. Seamless.
when are you back?

mocha_lover

I havent wear wacoal b4, i usually buy bras that are nice and yet comfortable, i usuallt get truimph bras, or those bras that are in the "basket" at those departmental stores. Those where u got to dig thru the bras to get ur size. those are the ones which are cheaper.

Shoes can buy from MBK/Siam Area, usually the 199Bht, i find them pretty and nice.
Bags, when i happen to see those i like, i'll just buy. Why not try Pratunam, think there shld have some nice bags.

sabrinalai

lissy,
now nothing to do in hotel.. no TV programs to watch

ya, i have try a wacoal design, abit pointed(not natuaral).. i bought 2 pieces got diamond on the strapa, but i think is full cup. 2moro go to central wourld chk again. But for the "wireless" bra (usually wear at home), quite expensive leh, ard SGD10 a piece.)Btw may i know is siam square a shopping complex or a name for the area of individula shops. coz i cant find "siam square" building..

listan

Siam Square is sort of the district, while there is Siam paragon, siam discover center in there.

Siam Paragon is the shopping complex (upmarket), so you find storeys of cars showcases there, and also huge departmental store. Lots of super international brands (I mean really high end brand, like LV, Lanvin etc) at the basement got huge supermarket.. food court is there too.

No food mentioned in your posts.. tried fuji restaurant leow? Most recommended!!! heee..

I didn't buy much in Paragon, cos I found the things more costly there, I bought lots of foodstuff though, as I spend half day in room.

hoshi5

Wah, sabrinalai, u still can come into the forum har??... hehe...

Me now then got time to come into forum and chat...

Life in Bangkok is normal... just more checks at airport, hotel and shopping malls...

Didn't grab any lingerie, find it quite expensive... some nicer design is selling like THB700 for the warcoal new design... so expensive...

In the end managed to go to Prathunam Market, Chatuchak, MBK, Central, Zen, Chinatown, eat Shark Fin at Nam Sing, Big C.... so tired liao...
Can't find nice shoes...

Only bought lots and lots of blouse, shirt, skirts, dresses, some small carrier bags... hehe...

mocha_lover

hey hoshi,

you bought lots of blouse, skirt, shirts and dresses from where? Prathunam market or Platinum Mall?

Shoes u can go to MBK or Siam Square, iam sure u can find nice pairs of shoes.

hoshi5

Bought from Pratunam Market, Chatuchak... no time to go Platinum Mall...

Went to MBK leh... can't find nice shoes.. so didn't buy lor... only bought 3 nice slippers (similar to those from Accessorize) from Chatuchak..

sabrinalai

bought wacoal bra again, 3 pieces at SGD30 plus each, latest design, very comfortable, they give me a panty for free..

Ya we tried on fuji, very nice n cheap jap food. we have order a sashime bento set SGD 10(got alot of thing inside), which i don think can get it in SG at this price (sushi teh..).A set of tonkatsu at ard SGD 5-7..very oishii and cheap.

we also go cabbage n condom, order a whole roated chicken, stir fried shrimp with asparagus, a kailan, tom yam soup, all total cost abt 820Bath (SGD 30 plus).

went chatuchak eat seafood. steam fish (the fish quite big), big head prawn, fried chicken, a vege. Total abt 840 bath.. Ha Ha yummy..

listan

kao_scared.gif
dat's robbery you talking about? Btw, which hotel are you checking on? Felicia's suggestion to check on asiarooms.com is good, cos so far, I find their rates most reasonable.

have you checked on the airfare yet? Or have you already gotten the airfare?

sunrays

$500+ for 2 nites based on staying in Grand China Princess( quite lousy hotel!!) and airfare on SQ....

unless now got cheaper airfare online...then maybe can book separately(room and airfare)...

i enquired travel agent cos i tot it's usually cheaper...think it's CNY period so maybe more exp..

sunrays

forgot to add...the agent said all other airlines are full and this SQ flight left with night flight from S'pore(7.35pm) and morning flight from Bkk!! so that's not worth it!!

listan

oh dear.. oh your tried checking Jetstar, Asiaair, Tiger airway to compare prices? I'm not sure, but I'd checked with travel agencies twice, but found that they charge per pax, so it goes up to more.

Unless you are travelling alone, otherwise, like for myself, I am travelling with my FH, so with the airfare aside, we check the room online, it is based on per night, rather than per pax, so we do save up quite a bit there.

I do think that nowadays the locals are travelling out during CNY, especially when Jetstar and other budget airlines run promo, and all snap up the booking in less than 2 hrs!!! (For jetstar, the network traffic got jammed up within an hour after they sent out the emails of their S$2 promo)

when is your intended travelling date though? do check out
- www.aisarooms.com
Room Type : Superior Breakfast : Included
Period
Jan 15 07 ~ Mar 31 07 Single, 71 SGD Double-71 SGD
Apr 01 07 ~ Mar 31 08 Single-78 SGD Double-78 SGD

Room Type : Deluxe Breakfast : Included
Period
Jan 15 07 ~ Oct 31 07 Single-95 SGD Double-95 SGD

- www.r24.org/ref24.php
(rates per room, unless specified) Year 2007
Jan 01, 2007 - Dec 31, 2007
Superior Room SGD 85.97
Rates are incl. 10% service charge, incl. 7% VAT, incl. breakfast

-

zhanglilian

Hi all, would like to share this piece of info regarding Chatuchak (as below). As you can see, Chatuchak was not the market that was demolished. It was the market NEXT to Chatuchak that was demolished. Hope the article below helps in clearing some doubts.

More than 100 Bang Sue policemen stormed the so-called Sunday Market in Chatuchak district yesterday morning to break up a scuffle involving retailers and a group of 100 men who demolished outlets in the market. According to police, the armed men began tearing down retail outlets in the market off Phaholyothin road around 7am yesterday.

Retailers fought back as they guarded their belongings, leading to the scuffle.

The men, who work for Thanasarn Sombatpattana Co, were told to clear the outlets for market renovation, the police said.

Retailers claimed they were not told in advance about the demolition.

They sought an explanation from the men but did not get any clear answers.

Angry retailers then hurled stones at the workers, which led to the confrontation.

The eight-rai Sunday Market, which opens every day, is next to the famous Chatuchak weekend market, and has around 1,000 retail outlets.

Thanasarn Sombatpattana Co has rented the land from the State Railway of Thailand (SRT) for 12 years.

The rental contract worth 210 million baht took effect on April 1 this year.

The company's lawyer claimed his legal team put up a demolition notice last Thursday.

Retailers, who allegedly occupied the plot illegally, refused to move out.

However, Pol Maj-Gen Amnuay Nimmano, the Metropolitan Police 2 commander, said the firm's legal team did not have a document authorising them to demolish the outlets.

The legal team had a court order allowing buildings to be demolished, but had not yet obtained a legal execution order, which was also needed to demolish outlets.

A legal execution official was also needed at the market to identify the buildings that the company could demolish.

The absence of legal order and legal execution official made the company's demolition attempt an unauthorised act, said the police commander.

Pol Maj-Gen Amnuay said the retailers and legal team from Thanasarn failed to reach an agreement over their land dispute yesterday, prompting him to call another meeting between the parties for 2pm today.

Representatives from the SRT, which owns the land plot, and the Legal Execution Department have also been invited.

Before reaching any agreement, police have forbidden both parties from taking any action regarding the land plot, said Pol Maj-Gen Amnuay.

Anxious about their own security and their assets on site, the retailers yesterday afternoon went to the residence of Privy Council chief Prem Tinsulanonda to seek his help.

Leader for the vendors Wila Udom said Sunday Market retailers were frightened by the 100 men, who were armed with pistols and knives.

They claimed Bang Sue police did not offer help, so they decided to seek help from Gen Prem.

SRT acting governor Thawil Samnakhon said the SRT was not aware of the demolition plan, but has known about the dispute between the firm and retailers occupying the land plot.

Mr Thawil said the SRT and Thanasarn have offered the retailers an alternative retail site, but they refused to relocate.

The rental contract stipulates that Thanasarn must complete any construction on the land plot within two years of the rental term starting.

If the company cannot complete the work in two years, it will be liable to pay a fine to the SRT.

The company has already wasted its first eight months, according to Mr Thawil.

Transport Minister Theera Haocharoen has asked Mr Thawil and Chaisawat Kittipornpaiboon, transport permanent secretary, to talk to retailers, a source said.

However, the dispute over the land plot has now reached the Civil Court. All parties concerned have to wait for the court ruling, said the source.

sarzy

Hi Sunrays,

You may want to check out the apartments instead if all the hotels are fully booked. Some of these apartments offer quite good price for daily booking.

zhanglilian

Hi Sunrays,

The location seems not bad since it's near Suan Lum Night Market and most importantly it's near to BTS station. But in my opinion, I would prefer to stay in areas like Siam Square. Hotels like Arnoma is conveniently located. Reasonably priced too. But if ya budget allows, Novotel is a better choice. Just my two cents worth.

zhanglilian

Hi Sunrays

Just to add, Novotel's staff are pleasant and helpful. Rooms are newly renovated thus it's new and nice. Could show u the pictures of the room if you wan.

sunrays

hi zjw

i stayed in novotel siam sq abt three times. Location is really good but prices abit steep. And you really see alot of s'poreans there!! hehe... Just wanna try other htls in bkk...so far the most luxurious one in bkk i stayed was Conrad but the location is really inconvenient...most of the time taking cabs here and there.

zhanglilian

Hi S,

I used to book in AsiaRoom.com. Their prices are more competitive. It's now S$161 per night. A little steep though. Personally, think it's value for money cos it's conveniently located. Breakfast is good as compared to Arnoma. And the staff are nice too. Once, they thought I went there for Honeymoon and they prepared fruits and flowers in my room. And I got a thank you note from the Manager when I submitted my feedback. I only stayed in Arnoma and Novotel before so I can only comment on these two hotels. But this time round, I might consider Pathumwan Princess or maybe Novotel. Cos I really can't find a hotel like Novotel which is conveniently located. Plus, my favourite place for massage is called Centrepoint Massage Centre...located in Siam Aquare...near to Novotel!!! I know Asia Hotel is good and cheap but I heard stories from my friend who's a tour guide...so dare not even think of staying in Asia. But then again, I think it depends on individual...cos these kind of things must see 'heng' and 'sway' one. Ok will send the pictures to you tonight okie?

Hi Sunrays,

My friend stayed in Boutique Hotel before and said it's nice. She's recommending Siam@Siam Design Hotel...it's a boutique hotel...she told me it's $130 per night...located in Siam Sqaure...but I think Unico Grande has a better location leh.

melodie

i stayed in bangkok boutique hotel before, nice and cheap, ard $70+ per nite... but the bf spread is pathetic

novotel rooms per night is abt. $118 per nite e las tm i checked fr jetabts website, very reasonable

tis tm i'm staying at Somerset Suanplu Apt by Ascott bços we have 4 pax... hope it's good

Hi Sabrina

So my fren is right, she say the clay mask always out of stock. So far none of my frens hv came back wif one. Go into every boots u see!

melodie

hi zjw

yah, i stayed at novotel in feb 06 at S$140 per night. But jetabts is really offering a night's stay at S$119 (jus went to retrieve & checked e e-quote from jetabts)

It's a very gd offer, but i wan to try e apts tis tm round so nvr bk novotel

e best hotel i've stayed so far is still holiday inn bkk @ S$150 per nite w/o bf, facing chidlom stn and super near all the big shopping malls

zhanglilian

Hi Mel,

Ya Novotel used to have such rates but each yr...they increase their hotel prices...sigh...but i guess the hotel could afford to raise the price cos their location quite good that they aint afraid that it will deter ppl away.

melodie

hi zjw,

yah, i totally agree tt e loc. is very gd. Near to e shopping malls & BTS stn...
Breakfast is a gd spread too, yummy.

if u guys wan to stay in novotel, try to chk e rates at jetabouts. I chked wif them las mth, it's S$119, but nw i'm nt sure if there's a price hike...

sarzy

I'll be going to BKK next mth and I have booked a 2 bedroom apartment which is located right next to asia hotel. Hence, its also near to BTS station which is very convenient. Its call Evergreen Apartment, you can check out the website. The rates we got were ard $145 per unit so its abt $70 per bedroom. We will be travelling in a group of 4 so 2 bedrooms r just nice.

Hope this info is useful to u guys.

Cheers !

sunrays

I stayed Novotel Siam Sq, Pathumwan Princess, Conrad, Bangkok Boutique, The Davis so far during my trips to Bkk...

Must say The Davis is the 2nd luxurious (cos Conrad is still no.1) I paid for the 'design' rm at abt $130/nite. The Davis is located near The Emporium...abit far to walk to the nearest BTS but they provide free shuttle to BTS everyday frm lobby. There's a small mall(Camp Davis) connected to the hotel with a Starbucks there...if staying there, pls go to the authentic Thai rest, there's only one there...the food is really very nice!

Bangkok boutique is not bad...location is quite terrible though cos me and bf only rely on taxis...he dun like to take the train... Almost ALL the taxi drivers dunno whr is the hotel...we always have to rely on our memory to direct them and also bcos the htl is situated in the biz district, most taxis dun want to fetch us during peak hours...was really frustrating...

I prefer Pathumwan Princess than Novotel bcos i take more taxis than trains....but if you rely on trains then Novotel's location is perfect cos Siam Station is right behind the hotel. Pathumwan is connected to MBK so very convenient to eat and shop and even catch a movie when i really hav the extra time. Must say the room price is pretty steep too..rooms are 4* standard.

For my next trip if I can splurge, I'll stay at The Davis...this time maybe stay in a different category...

sereneli

Hi June,

I have stayed in Evergreen before during one of my trips. It's actually quite a nice and small building. Nothing fancy but the rooms are big and clean. It's in one of the lanes but within minutes you will be able to walk or see the main road. To me, if you want to go MBK, you can also walk there, about 10 mins walk, rather than going to the BTS @ Asia hotel and still need to change train at the Siam station

snowbells

i'm leaving for bangkok on 15 feb this year. hoping to get some nice stuff for my home. of cos to shop as well.. =>

but i hvn't been there for a long time. do you guys have any idea where the nice stuff and food are located. i will be there for 4 days so can reali shop n eat ard.. =>

zhanglilian

Hi Snowbells

For Food:

Mango Tree (nice traditional thai food)
Japanese Restaurants like Fuji, etc
Black Canyon Coffee
Bug & Bee
Hai Wai Tian @ Chinatown

For Shopping:

Chatuchak
Suan Lum Night Market
Naraya
Sampang Lane (can buy Hello Kitty Stuff, etc for gifts)
World Trade Centre (have lots of new shops there)

sarzy

Is it easy to get a cab fm the apartment? is there a taxi stand ? Does the drivers know where is Evergreen apartment ? Cos I'll be taking a cab from the new airport and am a bit worried the driver doesn't know the place.

sereneli

Hi June,

It's not exactly easy to get a cab as it's in one of those lanes and there's no taxi stands. Usually, we just walk out to the main road and flag, if not, take from Asia Hotel.

I didn't have any problem with them being unable to find the place as I had the map printed out. Alternatively, if you are worried, can tell them Asia Hotel instead. You should be able to see the sign of the apartment from the road. If you are travelling from MBK direction towards the apartment, it's the first lane after the bridge.