Bangkok

listan

and if you decided to go, pls eregister with MFA, and buy travel ins. Ooops, here I go again with the granny Lis advice...

kao_embarrassed.gif

mocha_lover

hey ladies, just to check, how long does it take frm hotel to airport? Abt 1 hr to anticipate the jam? Iam staying at Samran Place, flight is at 745pm.

Just need to double check how long i need to travel to the airport.

if flight is at745pm, need to check-in at airport at least 40mins before departure right?

sarzy

I just talked to this lady from Tiger Airway and she told me the travelling time is around 1.5 hr from the new airport to anywhere in town. So she advised me to factor in the travelling time when departing for airport from the hotel.

hi felicia,

samran to airport is about 40 - 45 mins if there is no jam... since your flight is 745pm, i suggest u leave the hotel at 430pm so that u can reach the airport by 530pm.. checking in takes time, walking to the gate takes time
and if you are leaving on a weekday, the ratchathewi area is always jammed so its always good to leave earlier..

hoshi5

Yes, I think at 745pm, the jam is VERY VERY bad...

It took us abt 20 min to reach from Arnoma to Chinatown and 1.5 hrs to reach back from Chinatown... can imagine how bad is the jam!!...

Like minssy said, it's abt 1 hr from the airport to the town shopping areas...

listan

hi everyone... (low draggy tone)

I woke up super early today to collect my documents at ROM.. Now super stoney with super low batt running, but still want to post something here..

I went to Great World City, Plaza Sing, the exchange rate for THB is 22.8, 22.7 respectively.. sianz....

FH will change the currency at Golden Mile or Arcade tomorrow instead...

Sidetrack a bit. Just collect my dress, I think I put on super lots of weight over 3 days? The dress is a little too 'body hugging' that I am going to look a happy white dumpling.. heee..

Ok.. cannot make it leow.. go wash up and start packing some stuff in lugguage.. Felicia.. excited bo? you are so very near to leaving for BKK leow...

mocha_lover

thanks minssy for the info, but then mine is a sunday, 745pm departure, will there still be jam? it's not a workin day though. So not sure if weekend got such jams. Pp will need to prepare for the mon so... haha not sure if there is any link.

Minssy u have stayed in Samran Place b4? How is it like? need to ask u qns, if u did, mind i ask u qns abt the place?

Lis, yes so excited to go shopping, eat and relax.
haha u better prepare ur wedding stuffs and then enjoy the trip. Yah i know the rate is bad, try going to Chinatown if u need. not yet packed bag, tired from work, so many to clear before i go for my holiday, if not come back, mailbox sure to explode.

hi felicia,

samran is ok.. if u walk fast, 5 mins u can reach BTS already.. but walking back after a long da of shopping can be tiring....

for sunday, it shd be ok.. technically u can still leave samran at say, 4.45pm and reach airport by 5.45pm.. but well, its ALWAYS good to check in airport earlier... so, i stil suggest u leave by 430pm.

the room is decent.. basic amendities but clean and tidy.. breakfast have 6 sets to choose from.. ok lah.. not bad not bad....
its definitely worth the $$!

foreverhappy

hi felicia

not that bad the place. i stayed there last year. we find it ok and most of the time we walk to the shopping complex i take BTS to ctc and taxi to chinatown.

when you going?

This time round did not managed to book samran place so i booked pj watergate instead.

anyone can recommend good place for spa. is the price reasonable?

sabrinalai

Two small blasts rattle Bangkok, no one hurt
Posted: 30 January 2007 1245 hrs

BANGKOK : Two small explosions rattled Bangkok during the night, causing minor damage outside the offices of a newspaper and a nearby hotel but no casualties, army officials said Tuesday.

The first blast went off around 1:30 am outside the offices of Thailand's second-biggest newspaper, the Daily News, while the second exploded at the Rama Garden hotel next door, Army Lieutenant General Prayudh Chan-ocha told AFP.

The explosions caused minor damage to buildings and the road, but no one was injured, he added.

"Authorities are investigating the type of explosive and how it happened," he said.

"There is no information yet on who was behind the explosions."

Police, who have been told to defer questions to the military, said on condition of anonymity that they believe the culprits fired a grenade launcher at the building.

The blasts were the first since the coordinated New Year's Eve bomb attacks on Bangkok, which killed three people and wounded 42.

Police have questioned 19 suspects in connection with those attacks, but they were all released due to lack of evidence.

Thailand's army-installed government has said the bombers were likely members of the armed forces linked to the ousted government of premier Thaksin Shinawatra.

Thaksin has denied any involvement in the attacks. - AFP/ch

mocha_lover

Hi apply,

iam going on the 31 jan, tml! excited already. though havent really pack finish my bags.

Iam going for spa at Leyana Spa, not sure if the price is reasonable to you. U can check out their website by doing a goggle.

listan

aiyo.. why like that..
kao_angry.gif

When the taxi runway had the cracklines, mum already tried to persuade us to change destination.. hmm.. will try to distract mum so that she doesn't read news? Busy her with my wedding preparation...!!!!

listan

yah. oh no... Felica is going tomorrow, and I am going the day after felicia.. *faintz*

apple arh, have you e-register with MFA? if haven't may want to consider, so if any emergency you can be contacted first hand.

Please buy insurance also.

Please be really more vigilant when there, ok.. We will report our safety when return.. (heee, I assumed that responsibilty myself lah)

mocha_lover

aiyo why another bomb, sigh. really hate it when there are news abt such cases, very depressing one le.....

hey peko, iam taking jetstar at 920am, how abt u?

listan

can someone tell me if you have heard of pratunam fashion mall? or is this the same as platinum mall?

sabrinalai, yah, I think it's probably more a 'scare bomb' rather than something fatal.

For budget airline, the flight can sometimes be delayed or cancelled. SingTel mobile user use this service:

SMS Flight Information

SingTel Mobile Pod subscribers can gain access to flight information direct from their handphones. Simply follow these steps :

Dial *111
Receive message prompting for flight details
Reply message with Flight Number and Date of Arrival or Departure
Receive an instant SMS with Terminal, Gate, Belt Number and status of specific flight
To request for Flight Alert*, please reply SMS with a letter "Y"
Charges : S$0.10 per request, S$ 0.20 per Flight Alert.
Inbound Roamers, including local subscribers can enjoy this service by simply dialing *188. The fee for flight information, confirmation or alert is charged at SingTel's airtime tariffs.

* Flight Alerts : 1.5 hours before Arrival or 2.5 hours before Departure

I have subscribe to this, since I won't be having enough time to check flight on internet on Thu. I subscribed to both to/fro info though.

listan

I super duper crossed eyes for the previous posts, now I looked back the posts, you said this thu hor.. hahah

I am flying with Jetstar leh, I booked the $2 deal..

Don't think we are on the same flight though, normally people book early flight hor.. I am taking 5.35pm flight.

Another question, have you bought insurance. A lot about insurance was talked about in the previous threads, when some of the girls were going to bkk. How many days are you going? We are returning on 06 Feb.

I would advise to get one though. Excited bo??? Tomorrow flying leow.. BKK, I'm coming.. ok.. I should first be excited with my wedding.. wahahaha

foreverhappy

Hi Lissy

i also got thru the jetstar $2 offer. wow you stay another more than me i come back on monday le.

yah i took the morning flight.

The other time i took the evening flight when i got to the hotel already 7 plus le the shopping mall usually close at 8pm

listan

for me, not much choice leh, I got to take this 5.35pm flight, cos my wedding reception projected to end latest by 3.30pm..hahhaa

So basically we have equivalent days there, cos tomorrow, I reach there to zzzzzz, so realistically, we only start the holiday on Friday.

I always buy travel insurance when I travel. I am not so worried about big accident, but I am concerned about medical attention. Foreigners medical bill goes really high up, some countries reject any patient with no insurance coverage.

Even for emergency evacuation or any aviation assistance in cases of emergencies, at least I know where I go to for immediate help. Small premium comes a long way to have a more at ease trip.

Even to the nearest place in Malaysia, I buy insurance!!! hahaha.. I think in the past I didn't buy, cos I was unaware of this need, but trust me, the claims processed each day by insurers are high.

BKK new airport super cannot make it lor, I really don't trust that I can have absolute faith in their luggage system, if mine get lost, I don't want to cry so hard, cos it's total lost. I will also claim even if they break my luggage bad lor.. (LOL.. )

Then again, this is personal preference, you consider and see if you want to buy lor.

zhanglilian

Hi Apple,

Travel insurance is quite cheap. Sometimes things are hard to predict. A $30 odd insurance can give you peace, why not? I used to think travel insurance is a waste of money esp to short distance countries but my friend who works in tour agency told me it's important to buy cos she witnesses lots of cases where her clients met some accidents and no insurance...quite poor thing.

listan

Yes zjw, I know that too, cos I was a victim of such cases too. I was down with eczema when I travelled to states, but I was not insured, so I was strongly advised not to consult medical attention as it would cost me a minimum USD300 without medication. I suffered throughout the trip, cos my arms were all swollen, which was very sensitively painful even when trying to wear my clothes.

My uncle passed away in China while holidaying, we suspect that he was not feeling so well when he was there the 1st day, but not being insured, he give pass to consult medical treatment. He passed away after his shower. The worst thing was that we were not able to transport his body back, as the cost was simply skyrocketing, so we travelled there to cremate his body and brought him home.

Sorry, apple, I don't mean to dampen your mood or sound too pushy. The travel ins we got for our trip from AIG cost S$27. Do give it some thoughts eh.

listan

hi apple, i am staying at Eastin, never tried that hotel though, my 2nd trip to BKK.. (really excited!!!!) first time round stayed at Asia hotel.

You? Felicia should have reached BKK by now..

princessjen

apple/lissy

i oso got the $2 offer by jetstar...sooo excited..flying off on sat aftern staying in bkk city inn...mus budget manz...so i can buy more clothes for my ashlyn

Lissy,
u getting married isit?congratulations...

foreverhappy

me stayed at samram place for the first trip this time round not able to book it so i book PJ watergate
your htoel somehow near my hotel same area.

wat is your itinery. anygood place to recommend to go and also spa.
Yah congrats

listan

hi pjen.. yes.. i am getting married tomorrow!!! super duper busy only today.. throughout preparation quite relaxing.. (hmm. then why am I still posting on forum.. oops)

I just did a trial makeup and hair styling earlier and posted the pic at my blog at http://lischamber.blogspot.com.

My luggage errr.. 85% packed leow? A bit disorietated with lots of things to do today. heee. Also trying to work out the print out instruction for mum to change the placement of ornaments for fengshui purpose on 04 Feb. I will be away, so need to get her to do it.

Every 04 Feb, (or CNY, if CNY is earlier than 04 Feb) the annual flying stars shift to different direction, so we need to change the fengshui cures accordingly (heee.. we had a home fengshui consult last time, so the fengshui master would advise the change every year end)

I actually wanted to plan itinerary, but in the end.. Cos meeting felicia for lunch one of those days, so in the end, we forgot to fix a date! hahaa. will call her when I reach there. Another group of friends cancelled the trip (majority don't want to risk the danger). One more group going one day after us, so that has to fix meet up also.

But we roughly arranged to go MBK (I want Botanics skincare at Boots!!!!), Pratunam fashion mall, chatchuchat, chinatown (KIV), IT mall (several locations, but I kept away the file leow, bring to BKK to plan), Paragon (MUST GO, FUJI!!!!!). The rest I also forget leow.

Will go for aromatherapy massage on Friday (if possible, tired arh...) around Eastin, heard there are quite many there. Not going spa, cos I don't like suana and jaccuzzi.

The rest, play by ear lor, pick up one map at hotel lobby take our time see look see look.

but hor we are the R&R people, half day outside, half day relax indoor.

foreverhappy

lissy oic you going with a big group of friend. Just pray hard nothing goes wrong.

I will take a look at your pix then will try to recognise you if i see u there.

listan

apple! I saw your msg on my tagbox..hahaa.. small scale biz only. it's more working the hobby lor. I am still counting my blessings though.

Honeymoon is the main objective..haha.. BKK was our first trip out together. heee. Will see if there is any nice material nice and suitable for my crafting though, but not going to spend too much time hunting for materials. (wait arh, my FH will stop me from my crafting..LOL)

Ok. really need to get busy leow.. clocking to 9pm.. my nails are still as raw as they were in the morning!!! Need to buff buff then paint paint leow.. but hor, I actually sleepy leow..
LOL

oh.. btw, look at the profile pic, that is latest, the bridal makeup..errr. don't think I will look the same in BKK.. haha

apple arh.. sleep early eh.. tml morning flight eh.. (i am waking up as early as you lor. *faintz*)

melodie

lissy congrats on ur wedding tomolo

u mentioned tt u bot aig insurance for 27 right? I got a quote from them - S$48 per couple for 5 days in bkk, is e price reasonable?

most of us r going at ard e same tm...

i'll be there from 3rd to 7th Feb

Enjoy ur trip !!!

listan

MeL, you select classic plan or premier?

We selected classic plan, and cost $27/pax. Let me guess, have you got the quote from Income? The price is very competitive these days, but I think AIG could be more expensive. We normally got it from them though, they have very good reputation for claims processing.

I worked as secretary for many years, and always arranging for accomodation and flight for ceo, mgrs, and engrs. We used to get Income, but personally I had met several claims issue with them, (same feedback I got from other secretaries) and got scolded for getting low price plan but can't claim or delay in claims processing. I think if I ever need to claim for insurance, I must already be in some kind of unpleasant mood already, what's worst than a delayed claim or claim dispute.

The coverage though, is very much the same for most insurers. You see which one you are comfy with, then get with them. We all have different needs, so it's hard to say whether which is better.

Hee.. we are all going to be in bkk soon!!!!! I am leaving on 6 feb.. oh.. i shld be buffing my nails now. gtg... we all enjoy the trip eh!!

BKK We are coming!!!! (ok.. behavior disorder due to excitement...LOL)

foreverhappy

hi lissy

did not get to sleep cos only pack the bag last night. now in airport. Hope the taxi in bangkok can bring me to my hotel. cos ulu hotel no one knows.

melodie

lissy, i selected classic plan... i got quotes fr ntuc and aig... i think i'll get AIG bah, tks for the bit on claims issue

Enjoy ur trip everyone !!!

princessjen

so suay flight cancelled by jetstar for 355pm flight!!!nw rotting in airport since 2pm waiting to board 1735 flight..

sad leh..shorten my shopping time

listan

bankok is a bit chilly still.. windy and chilling in the morning and evening!!!!
So do grab a jacket to put on. Staying in Eastin. not much complaints on my side, husband complaining abt power off for several times, though lasted 10 mins or so.
lissy signing off in BKK

mocha_lover

hey ladies,

am back!! Guess many of you are there now having a great time shopping and all..

If anyone is ard, pls leave a msg!! Lissy is there, who else? hmm...

foreverhappy

the weather is not as hot as sg now.
only feel cold in the morning and night rest ok.

Ok with the 2 hotel i stay. did not managed to make use of the hotel faclilties