Bangkok

tingz

lissy,
HM = honeymoon
wow, so nice, got photographer to take the pics, so its ur honeymoon? reach there evening le had a good dinner then rest. next day can start the shopping :p dun worry too much, should be quite safe. my friend say not much diff.

hoshi,
hehe, think u forget me le, i same flight as u both going and coming back and we r staying at the same hotel too. kekeke

mocha_lover

tingz,

the rate my colleague went to chinatown, people's park complex to ask, at Basement. Did u change urs at chinatown?

It could be that the rate dropped from fri to sun? I checked asiaone website, it's 23.1529 now.

hoshi5

Tingz, hehe.. sorrie, me blur liao..
I tot sabrinalai only... hehe...

Guess got many people going same flight/hotel..

Sabrinalai,
My friend says Big C is just next to our hotel, 24-hrs supermarket... can buy all the drinks, then keep in hotel, then at night come back, the drinks will be chilled to drink... hehe...

Felicia,
really har??.. we changed more than 1K leh... somemore changed at Golden Mile.... tot the rates will be higher there...

tingz

felicia, i haven't change $ yet, was hoping the rate will get better, will check at parkway tonight. thanks

hoshi, heheh no prob la, i also always get confuse hehehe...

cecilialim

ladies.. change curreny at mustafa, one of the best rates available in singapore... i normally goes there to change...

i thinking of going BKK after CNY... the tixs going cheaper? heard there will be more blasts.. be careful ladies!

hoshi5

Anyone heard the news yesterday?...

My auntie told me that bangkok govt warned that there will be more explosions from Jan to Mar...

So scary!!....

tingz

went to change $ at parkway, rate is 23.02
so we only change 1/2 the amount we want and intend to change the rest in bkk.

more blast? hais... i try not to read about all these news now, very depressing....

mocha_lover

oh how come currency has been dropping... Sigh....

Now checked at asiaone: 23.3868.

Newspaper never write any cases of recent bombing at all, so got blast ah?

Let's keep eachother updated then

hoshi5

Hey Tingz, ur rate quite good already hor... mine slightly less than 23... but still ok lah... coz not much of a diff.. coz we not changing like thousands... where it will make a big difference lor..

Will bring some S$ to change over there too...

Oh, just now went to read channelnewsasia, it mentioned that tuk-tuks are banned on the streets.. and vehicle (or tuk-tuk.. can't remember) not allowed after 5pm..

So I guess we can't go for much night activities or shopping...

tingz

got 23.38 ah? hmmmm.....maybe the rate went up again? :p

hi hoshi, kekeke, thats wat i told my hb, then he say "few hundred baht diff leh, can take a few trip of cab le" hahaha... then i got nothing to say le

confirm no vehicle at nite? wah, like tat v sian leh

hoshi5

But at least our hotel is near to the shopping areas, so still can shop ard there... hehe..
My friend says that there's night pasar malam below our hotel... dunno still have or not.. but can see see lor...

Will u all still be going to chatuchak?..

tingz

i will still got chatuchak. wanna get furnishing from there.

hoshi, where did u read the news about the more blast and vehicle? i can't find it on the net.

tingz

think the no vehicle policy only apply to Khao San road, erm, not sure, that is wat i understand from the write up.

cecilia, i going on this fri, think no time to go mustafa liow. abit out of the way for us
went u intend to go?

listan

I take the news with a pinch of salt now, guess partly because this may be the residual effect of the initial bombings, it may be more 'political strategies' now than the factual. I am not able to get hold my friend yet whose brother lives in BKK, she is off to Taiwan for vacation.

I guess I will keep watch of the MFA travel advisory if any. If there isn't, then the situation may not be as bad as we heard over the media. I reckon MFA gathers information from the mission at BKK.

hoshi5

Where is Khao San Road?...
Nearby got what shopping areas?...

But so far MFA didn't give any travel advisory right?...

hoshi5

Better faster buy insurance first... register with MFA very fast one...

Me left with packing the bag.. now time quite limited, left only 3 days (Today, Wed, Thur), coz Friday leaving very early mah....

garcia

I am a Sgporean living and working in Bangkok and have been here for the last few months. Just want to re-assure all of you that life in Bangkok is still as per normal.

I travel every weekend home to see family & friends in Singapore. Only thing I have noticed since the bomb blasts were increased security/bag checks at the airports, selected cinemas/shopping malls and certain tourist areas like Suan Lum, Chatuchak etc.

As for the CNA news report, I think its only referring to Khao San road and not across all roads in Bangkok. Martial law is not in place and I definitely saw cars on the roads on my way home yesterday evening.

As for rumours on another coup happening, locals here think its unlikely unless the former PM intends to stage a comeback. If so, that coup could then be dangerous and bloody as most locals here dislike the former PM and will definitely stage riots and protests. But as I have said, its unlikely that he will return.

I hope this helps! Travel insurance and e-registering with MFA is a good idea. Hope all of you enjoy your vacations to Bangkok!

ace75s

Hi garcia,

I'm going to Bangkok on 17 Jan. Was wondering on Chatuchak...Is it still in operation after almost half was destroyed? My hubby simply loved Chatichak so need to check for him...

foreverhappy

what is MFA? The other time i went did not buy insurance so this time round i not sure so sian leh.
My hubby has been persuding me not to go

listan

Hi Garcia10, great to have you join us, do fill us in for more updates.

apple: MFA is Ministry of Foreign Affairs, whereby they are sort of taking care of the diplomacy between countries and our homeland. I guess at this time, most of us travelling are getting travel insurance, although I noticed most people do not when they travel to nearby places. You think about it eh.

sabrinalai: yah, hoshi5 is right that registering with MFA is very fast, you are really not left with many days to do packing, buying travel insurance (remember hor), and change money. If you have day work and not taking leave till Friday, better get some of the things done first. Travel and MFA can be done online, so maybe you want to do it during office lunch hrs (just dun get caught doing personal stuff, and remember to delete 'history' and 'temp files' after transacting to avoid prying eyes)

sabrinalai

i have reg with mfa, but i reg under group (husbang and me),so i no need to key in the detaild twice rite? For the personal detailed part i fill in my husband detail, then under group section, i fill in mine n husband detail as well.

hoshi5

sabrinalai, me also registered under group...
so, shld be ok lor...

Garcia,
thanks so much for the assurance, very worrying leh... somemore it's my first trip to bkk...

sabrinalai

changed $ yest,23.1.I thk the rate quite ok..Now only have to buy insurances, and pack luggage. Don thk will bring too many clothing, will buy at bkk.haha

hoshi5

Counting down already... very excited...

Left today and tomorrow....

I think if really not enuff, will change the rest at BKK.... hehe...

I have also packed my luggage liao...
Me and hb clothes only half the bag... haha.. the rest to put all the new things....

Anybody going to chinatown?? Is it far from Arnoma Hotel??... Also, what can we buy from chinatown??...

hoshi5

Ya lor.. today so quiet... so sleepy... hehe.

Yah, my friend just came back, and said that it's VERY HOT!!... dunno whether can survive Chatuchak or not... hehe... Must bring a fan along...

listan

sabrinalai.. you bought travel ins. leow bo?

I don't exactly have shopping list, but my MUST buy things include Boots - Botanics skin care (MUST MUST BUY!!) - for own use (stock up) and also for sister, Dried Durian crackers (the brand must buy 'Kings', need to scout for small unique items (for shop inventory). Undergarment (if got spare money).

For FH, maybe bring some 'samples' of his work clothes/pants, to tailor-made there.

Think for now.. that's all I can think of..

sabrinalai

lissy,
will buy aig online today..hihi.

i do not have itinery yet leh
can share?

Things must buy : undergarment, dress, clothes,skirt..,work clothes, shoes...accessories..Btw where can i find Botanics skin care??

listan

sabrinalai, botanics skin care available at boots pharmacy. this pharm is originated from UK. Botanics is like the house brand. They have quite good skin care there.. Including N7, which my friend in US bought (she bought both brands), and pretty affordable. I shelved my Estee, SKII and Shu Uemura after I tried Botanics...hee.. Bought quite many (which can last for almost a yr) and stock most in fridge heee..

Oh.. there is one boots at Siam Discovery (opp. Siam Paragon, I think it's siam discovery, it's just across the street), a larger one in MBK. Try not to get from Airport King's Power, although price is the same, but no freebies..

My itinerary not confirmed also, cos I have 3 groups of friends, (this includes Felicia) going BKK, but 1 group now wavering on the decision, the other group still not back from Taiwan.

Tried the dried durian crackers yet? Available at Bee Cheng Hiang (ba kua store), but expensive, super nice arh!!!!!!! It's vacummed durian, tasted exactly like fresh durian!!!

listan

btw, where do you ladies get the undergarment arh? I got at Pratunam fashion mall the last time, but the size a little tricky. Cannot get the size I am wearing here, cos all super tight, even when the tag shows the same size, must get one size bigger.. I mean bra here. Hee..

Trying to show you Boots thai website, but the site is down..

Reminder: (sorry lah, I know I am very long winded) Pls pls pls print out the confirmation slip after you purchase the travel ins. Cos there is hotline and also your reference no. Ok...

melodie

hi gers...

was browsing for more info. on bkk.

i'm going to bkk in feb taking tiger airways...

Read abt. the brand - botanics, my fren told me tt e clay mask is very gd but always nt in stock

Hope tt e situation there will stabilise so tt we can all enjoy our trip there !!!

mocha_lover

hey sabrinalai,

Have a great hol there!! Shop till you drop ok? Haha..

Anyways undergarments can go to Robinsons to buy too. There have alot of selection and it's also cheap. At least at those shoppping centre got changing room, so u can try until u go mad!!
Boots is widely available, so not to worry la. it's more of the products u want, and whether in stock since the clay mask that mel said is not always in stock....