Bangkok

hoshi5

Sabrinalai,
how how??.. u still going??... me really want to go, but still very scared scared... coz the consequences very terrible...

Oh, have u bought the travel insurance already? can share where u buy and how much?...

sabrinalai

hoshi5,
i think we will proceed..still in wait n c situation.i have not buy insurance yet. I chked liao, ard $55 from AIG. Which insurance company u buy?

worry

hi, how long u all going? I bought mine from DBS. i think is AVIVA one. mine 5 days ard 23 plus. forgot exact amount.

If you all paid your air tickets via UOB Credit/Debit Card, you can get free travel insurance, if i am not wrong. I have asked b4 that Credit Card, free travel insurance for the card owner and his/her immediate family. For Debit Card holder, only the card owner gets the free travel insurance. If interested, can call them and find out more.

listan

Sabrinalai, which plan you are checking on? I checked for AIG, for my trip which is 6 days 5 nights, only $27/pax. If you are getting classic plan, even 4 nights (I checked for my friends) it would be $27 also. Unless you are getting the premium plan, which will be more expensive.

For credit card coverage when getting air ticket, the coverage is minimal. I normally get travel insurance separately.

Please remember to print out one copy of the confirmation, for AIG, there will be a confirmation immediately after you make payment, there is a reference number on it, also the hotline number. I advise to keep this copy with your other travel documents when you travel.

listan

btw gals, I had sent an email to MFA for travel advisory, I got the reply very quickly.

this is the reply:

We refer to your email of 5 January 2007 to the Ministry of Foreign Affairs

2 MFA has not issued any travel advisory on visits to Thailand. However, Singaporeans travelling overseas are advised to monitor developments in the country through the media or their hosts. Before leaving for any country, we advise you to register with the Ministry of Foreign Affairs via the eRegister system at http://www.mfa.gov.sg. This will enable the Ministry to assist you in the event of an emergency. While in overseas, we advise Singaporeans to be vigilant, take precautionary measures for your personal safety and heed the public announcements by the local authorities on the security situation. We would also advise all Singaporeans travelling abroad to purchase comprehensive medical and travel insurance

3 If you need any assistance, you can contact the Ministry of Foreign Affairs Duty Officer (24-hours) or our nearest Mission of the country you will be travelling.

Ministry of Foreign Affairs
Tanglin
Singapore 248163
Duty Officer (24-hour)
Tel: 6379 8800, 6379 8855
Fax: 6476 7302

I strongly advise to eRegister your trip with them, so that you can be contacted immediately when there is any emergency. I normally register each of the travellers, in case they are separated (or phone low batt etc) and both are still contactable.

jodareth

<font color="aa00aa">Felicia,

Me stay in baiyorke suite.. not near skytrain.. but downstair is the pratumn market..quite good for shopping, a street away is Platinum mall.. B'fast not beri nice.. Room old but big.. Safe still hv to pay deposit to use.

Samran... my frd stay before.. near proxi to sky train, along Asia hotel.. Room clean &amp; nice..
my 2 cents worth of comment..

2mth ago, taxi from new airport we took to &amp; fro baiyork suite.. 350-400 baht(include toll, airport surcharge)..

Hope this clarifies..

Hey ppl,

Did u guys chk whether travel insurance policy cover terrorism?? AIG does.. Do not know abt others??</font>

listan

Hi tattyhug, thks for bringing up that point, I was just asking my FH about riots in the country whether it's covered. My uncle passed away in Kunming in a travel trip, think he did not get travel insurance, so we had to go over to Kunming to conduct the burial and bring back the ash.

Please read up the coverage. Travel ins. brochure for AIG is available at their homepage.

vey

Sometimes i didn't buy travel ins for some short trips (either i delay/forget/assume nothing bad will happen) But it's a BIG risk to take.Especially with so much instability worldwide. Luckily, we had a safe and enjoyable trip to BKK last december. We nv know when travel ins put to use.
It is impt to buy travel insurance, best immediately after trip confirmed. Spend some $ may save a lot of trouble later. Pl remind me when i next travel

During my last trip to bkk, i find bkk is constantly developing, which injects an air of freshness in shopping and eating pleasure. MBK alone was quite different from 2years ago. Can recommend some cheap &amp; gd food finds at MBK if anyone interested.
Btw, there will be a MRT to city from bkk airport in 2008! Isn't that great?

listan

hi vevey.. Yah, it's a big worry when I forgot travel insurance even for short trip to Genting.

That is why I am asking all my friends to get travel insurance.. My parents went up to Genting twice over these 2 weeks, but they didn't get travel insurance, I was worried throughout, cos of the heaving downpour of rains.

This would be my 2nd trip to BKK.. the first trip was last Jan, enjoyed it big time, that's why I am really looking forward to this trip. Do provide the info for MBK cheap and good food finds, I am interested!!!!

sabrinalai

i just checked with NTUC, DBS, and AIG.All cover terrorism.NTUC is the cheapest, $15.DBS $25(for 4 days,extra day $3 per day) AIG $27 (GST Excempted).
I think i will buy NTUC

listan

hi sabrinalai, this is just personal opinion, I personally encounter claims issue with Income, I used to purchase all travel ins. with them for my company's travelling personnel, gathered the same feedback from other secretaries and friends.

Having said that, if you are comfortable with them, please go ahead with them, but please read the contract carefully.

sabrinalai

Thai PM warns months of unrest may follow bombings
Posted: 05 January 2007 1453 hrs

BANGKOK - Army-installed Prime Minister Surayud Chulanont on Friday warned Thailand to brace for months of political unrest, saying new attacks could follow the deadly New Year's Eve blasts in Bangkok.

"Based on the information that I have, the public must keep vigilant and alert for a period of at least a month or two," he told reporters, adding he could not rule out the possibility of more bombings.

"No government can guarantee that it will prevent a bombing," he said after an emergency one-hour meeting with a top member of Thailand's military.

The coordinated blasts in Bangkok that killed three and wounded 42 reignited political tensions more than three months after twice-elected prime minister Thaksin Shinawatra was ousted in a coup.

Surayud has accused political factions linked to Thaksin of being behind the blasts, but two top military officials have said they believed the bombers were "men in uniform".

The heightened tensions sparked rumours of a new coup during the night, forcing the military leader, General Sonthi Boonyaratglin, to speak on television late Thursday and early Friday to reassure a jittery public.

Surayud said he believed the coup rumours stemmed from the movement of some 300 troops around the capital to bolster security after the blasts. But he also said he believed the rumour was linked to the bombings.

"The rumour aimed to create public panic and was connected to the bomb attacks. That's their method, to create panic and a disturbance among the public," he told reporters.

In his televised statements, Sonthi denied he had mobilized forces to reassert direct military control over the country. He also denied rumours of a counter-coup against his own government.

"Why would we do this? We risked our lives in response to the demands of the people. Why would we do it again?" Sonthi told Channel 9 television during the night.

Military leaders led by Sonthi seized power from Thaksin in a bloodless coup on September 19 and then appointed Surayud, a retired army general, as prime minister.

Although a majority of Thais appeared to support the coup, there have been some grumblings lately that Sonthi has been interfering in day-to-day government matters, and the country has been on edge since Sunday's deadly blasts.

In Bangkok, where people originally welcomed the coup as an end to months of political turmoil surrounding Thaksin's government, support for Surayud's government has nosedived.

A poll conducted in the days after the bombings put his support in the capital at 48.5 percent, down from 90 percent when he took office three months ago.

The military and the government have said they believed the bombings that killed three and wounded 42 were politically motivated, but have not directly implicated Thaksin or his party.

Thaksin, who has been in exile since the coup, has denied any role in the blasts. Analysts have said that elements in the police loyal to Thaksin, but acting independently of the ousted leader, could be behind the bombings. - AFP/ir

vey

hi lissy,

At mbk, can try BLACK CANYON COFFEE on 2F. We had tea break to rest our tired legs and recharge energy.keke. One piece of cake (cost $5 here), 2 iced mocha/cappicino with ice-cream float (cost $5 each here) and a plate of spagetti (thai style, v nice) Total bill only 245b = S$10+ only!! Such quality and cheap price where to get here?! btw,get10%off when u pay by visa.

There is a food court on the 5th floor(not in existence 2yrs ago). We tried the thai food at an "open-concept" shop YUM SAAP, popular and packed with locals. It has proper seating and waiters taking food orders. Comprehensive menu with pictures and prices made our ordering easy. We had padthai (thai fry kuay teow), fried morning glory (our kangkong), seafood tom yum soup, minced pork egg rice set and drinks for 226baht (tat's less than S$10 for a full sumptuous meal for 2

I also notice japanese food r popular in bkk. Tried jap food at FUJI RESTAURANT (easily found at many shopping malls like siam paragon,lotus,central silom complex). There r a few value lunch sets available from 11am-3pm. Beef/pork rice set is only 150baht. Tried beef...hmm..very tender. Restaurant ambience and food quality at our food court prices. What more can I ask!
I also like their garlic fried rice 35baht per bowl..very fragrant.My hubby had 3 bowls! Tried their noodles soup (forgot the exact name, it's served in a hot metal bowl )At only S$5, we are paying only half the price there without compromising on taste and serving.

Of course, last but not least, we loved their street food. so cheap and good! Tried braised pork leg, wan tan mee soup, kuay teow mee(both soup and fried)... each 20-40baht.
Such heavenly food and great shopping, how can we not love bkk?

listan

Hi vevey,

wow!!!! With such info.. I MUST GO BKK!!!

I had tried Fuji, and was very good, went twice on that trip.

Let me jot down.. Tks so much for the food guide!! whenever you remmeber more, throw it in here..

hoshi5

Hi sabrinalai,

think we also confirm going... bought insurance liao.... from my uncle... prudential at $30..

U? confirm too?

vey

sure lissy
I also eat at FUJI twice keke

Besides the usual shopping on lower floors at MBK, find it very happening at 5F-7F . Lots of new eating outlets and hv home&amp;decor area too (similar items more exp than chatucuk mkt but hv items nt seen at chatuchuk.) Pl check it out!

For all going to bkk, have a GREAT &amp; ENJOYABLE time!!!

listan

vevey, you are such a gem!!! I do need to get small items for my shop, that's a great lead..

kao_kiss.gif

My dad has given 'approval' to go ahead for the trip, think he will then take on the responsibility to psycho mum..haha...

miralyn

Hi Lissy,

thks for ur travel insurance advice...u mus hav done alot hmwork comparing

Tot bomb incident mayb exchange will be better but actually no difference leh...

Any1 stayed in Royal president Svc Apt b4?
Had booked but wondering if can get any feedbacks?
So norm ppl prefer change in Sin den BKK?

listan

hi Miralyn

Normally we change currency in Singapore, unless we run out of cash, then we change in BKK.

I have 2 insurance agents at home although they are of different insurer, so I know how many travel claims are submitted,(at quite an astonishing rate) ..hahaa.. I do compare the coverage too. Since I am 'privileged' to know what kind of claims are common, and I also check out on my needs and concerns.

Mainly I am concern on comprehensive medical coverage. Once I got ezcema acted up when I was in States, and I was told that I would need to pay USD150 for basic consult!!!! Also that if I was not insured, they won't attend to me.. I suffered the entire trip, cos I did not get travel insurance then, and since I won't die from ezcema, so I let it be. (but eh, it was really quite miserable!!!)

When are you going BKK Miralyn???

mocha_lover

hi tattyhug,

Thanks for the info.

Baiyoke Suite is old, but it's still in liveable condition right? Seen some reviews that it's quite bad, like 1 i read was that the lift is slow, bathtub dirty etc.

sabrinalai

hi lissy,

so u bought the AIG insurance? i am very lazy to compare the prices between NTUC, DBS, and AIG. Can give advice?

Hoshi5,
we also proceed leh,my hb said mayb do not stay too late while in bkk, shopping until 9 or 10 plus then go back to hotel..Btw, will u be booking the heartland spa at Arnorma hotel counter?

listan

Hi sabrinalai,

I normally get from AIG. the premium of each insurer should be correct as per your last post, so to speak, some insurers offer lower premium. Normally the differences are in the coverage and ultimately the claims.

Nowadays the travel insurance provided by various insurers are very competitive, so I would say they are more or less similar. It is only the claim process that could mark the difference.

Seemingly Income is giving the best premium rates, atlhough I can't concur the same for service and claims process, but ultimately it's the personal references and experience that help make a decision.

Sorry eh, I know I don't sound very helpful, all I can say, I stand by AIG...hee

If you all have friends who worked in insurance industry, you may want to consider getting from them, commission is very minimal, but if there is a claim, they will process it for you, which escalates the process and hassle of going to wrong departments.

Yah, I agree that we don't loiter around outside too long during this period of time. Night spot may sometimes be a little risky, also I told my FH that we probably stay indoor more (as in shopping inside), and stay away if possible from the streets.

listan

I'm most likely to join Felicia in BKK..hee.. Anyone has directions to Healthland Spa? I've not tried any massage or spa in BKK.

Is it expensive?
(sorry eh, going right after wedding, so cost is a concern)

mocha_lover

lissy,
Yupyup, we will be meeting each other there.

locating the place shldnt be a prob. But just wondering how is the services and which service is recommended by those who have tried from Healthland Spa.
u can go to www.healthlandspa.com
the prices and types of massages are in there, it's not really ex, sure to be cheaper than in Spore.

listan

Very poshhhhhhh...

I want aromatheapy body massage!!!!! Considering the Spa and Jacuzzi which includes the aromatherapy massage, cost around S$103 (after conversion), must work out my budget first..
kao_embarrassed.gif

Which day are we meeting arh?? I think I will buy travel insurance end next week, cos after that I hope I am busy with wedding leow. When I am buying I let you know, see you want to buy together bo (still not too busy yet leh)

mocha_lover

i went to Spa Divana once, it's really nice and cosy and poshy. But then when i compared the price with HealthLand, Healthland is more reasonable &amp; cheaper.

miralyn

Hi Lissy,

Im gg fr 23-27 feb aft cny.
Hope by then alls well nt another festive bomb attack.

Hav done insurance comparsion &amp; AIG seems better coverage thus price abit higher.

Considering NTUC cos cheaper alt coverage nt s gd bt was tinking nothing shld happen, jus getting for peace of mind. Tink most possible ocuurence is flight delay cos budget airline, bt the claim sum/hr delay so insignificant aft divided by every 8-12hrs range.

Btw any1 notice Muslim stalls in BKK? im a convert thus unless fast food tink mus serach hard...

hoshi5

Hi sabrinalai,

don't think I will go to Healthland... no time lah... somemore it's our first trip there... think shopping also no time.. massage KIV first.. hehe...

Nowadays not much news hor... but heard that next sat will be the youth or children's place... so will be very crowded and lots of people... and news told us to be extra careful...

sabrinalai

hoshi,
ya, i thk this sat very crowded at bkk..We havent plan our itineary yet..But will cover shopping, and spa relax.

Lissy,
u mean the jacuzzi $103 for two?btw, i am thinking buying AIG, but is a classic plan,coz i have checked the premium plan, cost ard $55 leh

tingz

Hi lissy, isit nessesary to register with the mfa?

hoshi, u going ahead with the trip? my friends jus came back, say bkk is as per normal, jus that sercurity more tight.

i also get my travel insurance from AIG, paid $29 for the superior plan.

hoshi5

My itenary is like this:
Day 1:
- After check in hotel, then walk ard in Big C, buy all the necessary like water, drinks, etc..
- Then go to Chinatown to eat lunch (shark Fins), maybe massage (my sis-in-law says there's one there, quite good), then shop ard till ard 5pm.
- Come back to hotel, maybe rest a while, then go out to WTC, Zen, opposite for dinner and shopping

Day 2:
- CTC and MBK

Day 3:
- Prathunwan Market... (don't know got time or not)..

Do u think it's ok?

also hor, any idea what time is the latest we gotta check out of hotel to reach the airport for our afternoon flight?... hehe..

listan

Sabrinalai, yah, normally I get classic plan, even FH also advise ppl to get classic, basically, we also think about the cost and our activities. Some people get premium because of their activities (excluding high risks activity such as bungy jump, sky dive etc). I know of a friend who will get high plan, cos she goes to less developed countries, or she involved in some activities that may invite injuries etc. So classic is good enough for us - basic activities = Shopping!!!!

Tingz: I would highly advise to register with MFA, cos that will give us the priority of contact point if there is any emergency in the countries we are visiting. Any incident can take place, so better be safe.

Miralyn: As long as you are covered.. but eh, no hard feelings here eh, I am just thinking sometimes it's not just the emergency in the country itself that we should consider. We may also consider the medical aspect, like for myself, I am prone to accident, I fall easily, so I may sprain my leg, or my sensitive stomach may get food poisoning etc. You are right about the getting a peace in mind, heee, that's so TRUE!!!! I am more paranoid lah, so I was so worried when I was taking cable car (and I forgot insurance that trip!!) and this lady kept listing the various scenerio of cable car falling down!!!!
kao_angry.gif

hoshi5: I remember when I was putting up at Asia Hotel, the check out time was 12pm. Our flight was few hours later, so what we did was to c/o the lugguage to courseige, and spent another few hours near the hotel for lunch and walk around, then went back to pick up the lugguage. The lugguage tied (if you have a few pieces) together and locked in a separate room.

listan

sabrinalai, hee, my mistake on the jacuzzi, the price is correct, but I think the location is not correct, that package was for another location, errr, think p.. lao.. something.

Felicia arh, think I may give a miss on the spa, your hubby going with you eh, then hor, my FH no company leh, we can meet up after your spa session, maybe we go Fuji makan!!! Heee, I think I will go Fuji more than 4 times this time.

mocha_lover

lissy, no problem, if you dont wan to go, it's ok one. Yah ur Hb no one company also difficult too. Then we will meet up for dinner/meals when my iternary is planned up.

yah i wan to go to fuji, i know why i dint manage to go the other time, when i went, Siam Paragon was not ready yet, was still under reno.

sabrinalai

tingz,
the superior plan u paid is for hw many days?coz i checked fr AIG website,the superior plan cost $36 for 5 days.

hoshi5,
i have forgotten the time of the aft flight. Izzit 2.45pm bkk time? i thk chk out ard 11am should be ok.

listan

Felicia, although FH said it's ok for me to join you guys, but then, hee.. don't want lah, poor thing mah.. But I may see if there is any nearby Eastin, sinec I am only going for aromatherapy massgae, shorter time, so if there is any nearby Eastin, then can ask him go drink coffee or stay in room first..hee... cos I will be done soon.

When I went last January to Siam Paragon, it was very newly opened, so if you went early than I, then perhaps it was not completed yet.

This thread is wonderful eh, many contributions, and at least we share share info, (and share worries) I am confident this trip would be a better trip.. I super equipped with information.. Quite excited lor.

sabrinalai and hoshi5, pls sign in when you gals come back hor.

Tingz: well said.. when are you travelling?

hoshi5

Hi lissy,
thanks for letting us know abt the MFA... I have already registered with them.. Also bought the insurance liao... hehe.. don't think got much time to shop ard on last day coz return flight is at 2.45pm....

Sabrinalai,
yes, it's 2.45pm. (Is this is bangkok time or SG time??)

Can any1 tell me the time difference in bkk?...

listan

hi hoshi5, it's local time on the flight itinerary (bangkok time in this case).

Bangkok time is one hour before us, means when we are 11am, they are 10am.

tingz

hi lissy, i'm going on the 12 and coming back on the 14. v short trip
, bo bian use all my leave for HM, now no leave le. wat bout u?

Anyone exchange thai baht these couple of days? wat is the rate like? the last i ask was before new year, and was quoted 21.+ only.

mocha_lover

i would like to ask to who have went to healthland spa before. How do i go about booking or making an appt?

Do i book in spore thru the email stated in the website or do i go BBk to book?

mocha_lover

LISSY,

see how it goes then, i also not cfm my iternary/programme yet. So we will see and discuss as the date draws nearer, as u know i havent book my hotel yet..

clipart{kao_sticktongue}

listan

Tingz.. Sorry..what is HM arh?? I am going on 01 Feb 07, right after my wedding reception!!!!! The photographer will follow us to airport to take the footage pics..
, returning on 06 Feb 07. I am taking 5.35pm flight on 01 Feb, so think reach BKK ard 7pm leow.. go there sleep...haha... then wake up in BKK!!!!! So now you all know why I have been excited abt the trip, and really upset when the bombings happen..cos I have the scenerios of BKK rooted into my wedding festivities continuation leow...

Another question off the bangkok theme... Anyone 'siam' CNY eh??? My wedding very near to CNY, and with the Bangkok trip, plus wedding expenses.. = broke... got tips to siam CNY bo?
kao_embarrassed.gif

sabrinalai

the healthland spa got 3 locations in bkk,i chk from the healthland spa website, the jacuzzi only avaiable at "Pinklao" (ard $114):

Health Land Pinklao

Address: 142/6 Charansanitwong Rd.
Arun Amarin, Bangkok Noi
Bangkok 10700
Telephone: (662) 882 4888
Fax: (662) 882 4612
Open: Every day 9:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.

hoshi5

Tingz,
u r on the same day as both me and sabrinalai...
heehee..
which flight r u on??...

For Healthland spa, my friend told me can get the hotel people to book for u...

I just changed yesterday... 22.9