Bangkok

sunrays

hi zjw,
May i knw where is Naraya? Issit a shopping mall? Wat abt Sampang Lane? Accessible just by telling cab drivers these names??

zhanglilian

Hi Sunrays

Naraya is a famous brand for selling pouches, bags...coin purses, etc. I always go to the branch which is located in WTC. Sampang Lane is actually in Chinatown area. When I went to Chinatown/Sampeng Lane, I took MRT to Hua Lamphong Station and walked to Chinatown. I ate at Hai Wai Tien and then walked to the lane to buy Hello Kitty Stuff...didn't take cabs there cos Chinatown super jam and will get stuck in the cab so dare not take the risk loh.

zhanglilian

Hi Sunrays

Yaowarat road (ถนนเยาวราช) and Sampeng Lane (ถนนสำเพ็ง) in Thai. Can show the cab drivers the thai wording.

sunrays

hi zjw

u very good leh!!!! got thai word to show me!!! hahahah....really steady....i show my bf and he's really amused.... THANKS!!!!

zhanglilian

Hi Sunrays

Your bf amused? How come? There was one incident...i took a cab from Suan Lum Night Market back to Arnoma Hotel and the cab driver don't understand Arnoma in English...luckily I got the Thai Wording for Arnoma Hotel.

snowbells

thanks zjw, do u happen to have the road names for the restaurants.. i dun supposed if i tell the cabbies mango tree they will noe where it is.. =P

does anyone heard of platinum? heard from my colleague that it is a new shopping centre that mirror chatuchak but it is an air con place...

hoshi5

Oh yah, for those staying at Arnoma, can get the hotel name card at their lobby area. So, whenever you want to go back to Arnoma, just show the taxi driver the name card lor. There's the address in Thai, so no worries...

Yes! Must buy from Naraya... there's a super big branch opposite Arnoma... bought so many bags there... so cheap too!!...

sunrays

hi zjw

my bf amused cos he said we gals can really discuss anything under the sun! even discuss whr to shop,eat and so detailed, even have the Thai words... hahaha...

amyg

I am going Bkk on 21-24Feb, airticket cost $199 each. This time round I'm trying Arnoma hotel.

I have Stayed at Pathuwan princess which is very convient for shoppers, will stay at this hotel if I travel with my hubby only.

Went BKK thrice in 2006, stayed once at Amari Watergate, ard $500 for hotel & ticket for 3nights (package), the hotel is very nice room spacious, the 1st night when we arrive almost midnight (coz we took the 9+ flight), there was no rooms and they upgraded us to the suite room, the bathroom was so nice and big = HDB master bedroom & normal bedroom.

when 5 of us traveled together we will stay at Twin Towers Hotel, $60++ per night, spacious room, 5 of us will take the cab whenever we go out.

Where is Fuji hotel????

zhanglilian

Hi Snowbells

I would need to refer to my notes...will try to get back to you asap. When are u going to Bangkok?

Hi Sunrays

I think girls are more detailed...as in, we take the time to find such things...surf net and get info...unlike guys...ya? Hee...

worry

Hi zjw,

I've received your email on Novotel. Thanks.

I'm thinking of going back BKK again. shopping eat shopping eat... :p But dunno when to go again.

snowbells

i m flying on 15 Feb night, will be back on 19 Feb evening. it's cny period so it is pretty expensive i feel. i took swiss air or fin air (i can't reali rem wh airline it was) and staying at twin tower for 4 nights.. n it cost me over 500 bucks per pax...

haiz.. i ever went on a similar itnerary n it cost me a mere 300 bucks only.. no choice.. guess cny so prices all jacked up.

no hurry on the road names. n yes, i agreed that girls are more detailed. guys always like to do things impromptu.

zhanglilian

Hi Snowbells

Actually there are lots and lots of Chinese Restaurants in Chinatown area...so u can explore on your own as to which restaurants u would like to dine-in. There are lots of street stalls too which offer cheaper Sharkfin as compared to Hai Wai Tian Restaurant. I personally prefer to dine-in restaurants cos I'm afriad my stomach can't take street stalls food. Once, my gf's bf ate seafood at the street stall in Yaowarat area and got sick. So it depends on each and every person's body system ba.

mocha_lover

thanks for the pic of that Hai Wai Tian Restaurant. Went to chinatown twice and couldnt find the the restuarant.. haha. now at least i can just look out for a red coloured store/building.

zhanglilian

Hi Felicia...

I also had a hard time locating the restaurant...further more, I walked from Hua Lamphong Station to this restaurant...nearly got lost but still in the end manage to find my way there...

lingling2

Hi zjw,
Maybe I know where can get more Hello kitty stuffs at Sampang lane? cos I went last sept but only seems to see 2 stalls there...

Serene, June,
Do you have the website of Evergreen Apartment? Hows their bf?

sabrinalai

back fr bkk last week, for those who like to buy adddidas footwear, i chked the price,it is more expensive at bkk.for ex, siam center sell a pair of new design shoes at SGD 160, in SG, only SGD 119 before 15% disct...so just take note oh..

zhanglilian

Hi Ger2

The whole lane sells Hello Kitty stuff...must search carefully. At first I'm also like you...thought only two stalls (they are located in front right?) so i went further in and there are more stalls but the variety aren't as much as what the first two stalls offer. There are also other stalls in other lanes that sell too...the whole place veri messy one...

Personally I think if you aren't going there to eat sharkfin or buy birdnest then don't go to that lane just specially for the Hello Kitty stuff cos I think it's not worth the trip there.

listan

kao_cry.gif
AIG site down since yesterday, should be up tomorrow, I hope.

Anyone knows where in BKK can I get jewelry making supplies, like leather cord, beads, fused glass etc?

mocha_lover

lis, if iam not wrg, u can get it in chinatown, they have those kinds of handcraft shops. The items u looking for are handicrafts right?

listan

Felicia.. I've not been to Chinatown in BKK.. I am looking for the materials, rather than finished crafts. Seen any there?

mocha_lover

yes i seen some shops selling those beads, strings in packet form. it more like the materials to make a product rahter than the finished form.

i think CTC also have le, u know they have a lot of sections, so i think sure be a section on handicrafts stuffs

lingling2

Serene,
Thanks for the website =)...hows their room?Any kettle and fridge?

zjw,
Ya lor, thats y...hmm...tks for the advise...I wna to buy birdnest there but hor, scare gana cheated lor so din buy any...

All,
Besides, anyone got lobangs for cheap air ticket to BKK? Was tinking of goin in Apr..but hb dun wan to travel by budget airline so now sourcing for others...

sereneli

Hi Ger2,

Yeap, they have a big fridge there as well as a kettle. The room is clean as well as quite spacious in my opinion. The bathroom is quite clean too.

foreverhappy

do any one know what the website for MFA?
DO we still need to register now?

Can i check from those who has just return whether chinatown is open in feb?

listan

apple, pls register....

http://www.mfa.gov.sg/internet/eregister/eregister.html

I make it a 'ritual' to do that whenever I travel though. Never know what kind of situation we may meet in foreign land. Even not the human-made situation, any natural disaster can hit us without warning. So it's always good to know that the mission overseas can reach us immediately, so that we can keep away from some areas.

Oh, you brought up very important question.. yes, anyone knows if chinatown is open in Feb? (err, although I am going early feb.. )

snowbells

thanks zjw, for the help! =>

now i noe wat to look for wen i m in chinatown.. i m flying to bk on 15 feb. does anyone noe if chinatown will be open on 16 feb? if they aren't open due to cny, then i prob wun make a trip there liao..

zhanglilian

Hi Peko

My bf tailored 7 shirts for $23 each. Cheap hor? There's no specific person to look for...when u go to the shop, there are about 3 person who are the so call the bosses. They will ask you what you have got in mind, etc. Let's say, you reached the shop on a sat, they will take down ya measurements and u choose the material. After everything, they will ask u to come down the shop again to try one of the shirts. Then if everything fits, they will mass produce and deliver to your hotel by Tues.

I wanted to tailor a dress on my second trip but the person advised me not to tailor cos the time is tight. I like the fact that he did not push me to tailor (not like other tailors) though the time is tight. But one thing to note…their material variety not as much as other shops. And of cos, can’t compare their material with that of Zara or Raoul. But the workmanship quite good.

U can go to the shop and said Joe recommended you one…the bosses there should know.

junior22

Hi zjw

I m going 19 Feb,do you think the tailor shop will be open?CNY season duno they open anot.
Bew,the ppl at the shop can understand english rite?I will be staying at Baiyoke suite,it the shop near there?
Paisai to ask so many questions,thanks

zhanglilian

Hi Jen

Not sure whether the shop open during CNY. I think they are opened cos they aren't Chinese ma...gotta take BTS to Nana Station. I think Baiyoke area has some other tailors too. U gotta read the previous thread in the Archive.

jarenlynn

Hello everybody,

Can I check with you if the airport tax for BKK cost 700Baht after February?

As for Chatuchak, anybody knows if they are closing for renovation or something like that?

sarzy

Thanks for the info.

Hi to all,
Does anyone know how much is the limo service fm bkk new airport to town area (near aisa hotel)?

hoshi5

Yes, Feb onwards, the airport tax is THB700, that's why we rushed to go there in Jan... haha..

Chatuchak is still open every weekend... there are so many many stalls that u can't simply walk finish in one day... haha.. super-duper hot too!..

jarenlynn

Thanks hoshi5.

Btw, is Asia Hotel good? I know it is located beside the MRT. During my last trip, I've stayed at Baiyoke Sky, I need to walk about 20mins before I reached the MRT.

listan

Lynnette, I'd stayed at Asia Hotel the last trip in Jan 06. Personally I have no complaints about it. Some people commented it is old, however, for myself, I have always preferred woody and oldish style furnishing, therefore, I am pretty happy with the room. Service was quick (we had quite several meals in the room). The BTS is actually connected to the hotel.

From level 2, you can walk the connected path to BTS, pretty convenient. Most taxi drivers know the hotel too.

Oops, I am removing the link if you have seen the link that is fine. If you have not, and wish to view some travel pics (I took some of the room), pls pm me. I will send you the link

449990.jpg

jarenlynn

Hi lissy,

I think this room is good enough for me. = )
Thanks for your feedback.

Any idea, which is the cheapest way to get to BKK? Though booking air tickets and hotel online, or book from tour agency?

listan

Personally, I book online, www.asiarooms.com. This trip on 01 Feb, I am staying at Eastin. Want to try out new hotel..heee

Asiarooms seems to be offering one of the better rates. For Tour agency, it is normally in per pax calculation, so normally it added up more than what we can get if we book ourselves.

Tour agency offers (normally) airport transfer, free b/fast and a city tour. I think transportation is really easy in BKK, so that is not necessary for us, city tour, not exactly appealing to us also. Most rooms offered by asiarooms, are inclusive of b/fast.

Felicia is staying with Samran place, but her first time in that hotel too. We can only feedback when we are back. I'll be back on 06Feb, while she is back on 04 Feb.

Air ticket, jetstar and tiger are running promo concurrently, but I see that Jetstar tickets are mostly grabbed out already (it was S$29/trip) promo price for mid Feb.

My friends booked with Tiger, totally to $129 per pax return flight, (6 of them cancelling the trip though) as all are girls, and 4 of them are worried about the situation, so decided not to go. They will be attending my wedding on 01 Feb though..haha

You check out asiarooms first eh.