Anyone Migrating to Australia?

onthemove

Just curious, has anyone tried applying for a job is Aus w/o an Aus PR?

Is it difficult to get a job as a non Aus PR?

jessica

Hi onthemove,

If I am not wrong,the employers are only willing to employ ppl with either a valid work permit/visa or PR status.

Hence,u may not find a job easily if you do not have both.

septembre

Hihi Perthies

Andrea I came back I think going 3 years already. Can't believe I'm stuck here this long. My hubby from UWA too! And I think he graduated mid 2000.

MsPiggy do you live around Murdoch? I have a friend who used to go around with the familar nick.

Where were you guys staying when you were studying? I was in Murdoch.

septembre

Hi Fern

So you have gottten your PR? My hubby has gotten his PR years back. And I am applying through him as well but I haven't done anything. Was the application process a breeze?

nnchander

Hi Gingerale,
So where did your hubby stay when he was in UWA? What faculty was he from?

Both my hubby and I lived on-campus, and met there. Came back in 2000 and had a hard time settling back in Singapore. We are looking forward to moving over but with lots of uncertainties still hanging around..... Mostly with the job aspect...

Hope things will look up for us...

septembre

He was from Commerce doing Info management. We moved alot. The first year and half yr was in Currie Hall. Then we moved to the notorious Vic Park then Murdoch. Currie Hall was fun!
Which campus were you guys staying?

Mspiggy on second thought, don't think you are my friend. Cos i just remembered she was from Murdoch. hehe. Forgot.

septembre

Andrea I am quite nervous about the job prospect too. Have you heard of stories of friends who were still looking for jobs after 1 yr? Hope it doesn't happen to me.

We are kinda like you, where the money is, that's where we will be. ;D But Perth comes first cos that's where all our networks are in Oz.

fern

Hi Bellagio,
which part of Australia are you looking to live in? Have you considered things like accomodation, transportation, vicinity to the workplace and so on?
I read on the Aussie papers these few days that the prices of rentals for houses have gone up. You can expect to pay around $180 per week if I'm not wrong.

For me, we cannot afford to buy our own place yet, so we are living with my husband's parents. (rent free)
Another problem i encountered here was the location of work. There were some jobs that I wanted to apply for, but they were simply too far away. (I consider driving more than 45mins everyday to and fro -longer in peak hours- too far) The public transport like buses and trains are not convenient enuff, and could take more than double the time than driving.

Hi Gingerale,
I'm holding a spouse visa at moment. My hubby is Australian citizen. I will only get my PR status in 2 years. But the spouse visa has no restrictions on travel or working in Australia.

His colleague applied under skilled migration, and it took more than 1 year to have her visa granted. Mine miraculously took 6weeks, although they stated it could take more than 4-6mths.
When applying, I made sure I had all the necessary documents, so as not to cause delays.

nnchander

Hi Gingerale,
we lived at Tommie More... just next to Currie's! Perhaps your hubby might know some of our Commerce friends living there...

Yes we still hope to move to PErth, coz most of our contacts are there. When are you planning on moving? And where do you hope to stay?

Our friends have asked us to stay South of the river... and basically we have no preference, as long as it doesn't take too long to get to work

well... still looking around ...

septembre

Oh ya so near! Hehe. I went there afew times. But can't remember to visit who already.

I'm looking to move back to Murdoch. But most probably stay with my relatives first. We are moving about the same time. End of next year. Right? I'm making a trip down south in few months time to reconnect with things and look for lobang. Are you guys doing that?

South of Swan river is Murdoch area right? It's more up class lor and clean and less complicated.

Oh I miss ALbany too! So shock to drive down.

Fern
Thanks for the info. If you don't mind, how much did you cough up for the PR?

nnchander

Hmm... no plans to go down this end of year... usually we make our trips in the middle of the year.

Sigh... don't know what kind of lobangs to make lor... just searching online and hopefully something clicks. My sister was very lucky. Within half a year, she found something -- and online too! The company conducted an online test which she took. Then conducted a phone interview. When she was finally shortlisted and they sorta confirmed that she was the right candidate, they organised an interview here. Only then did she sign the papers and made the BIG move over....

We hope it'll be easy for us too...

At the moment, we are planning to move in the third quarter. Hubby has started looking already, but will actively write to companies next year. If need be, I told him to go over without us first, so that he can settle down and prepare for our going over. I will also need time on my end to resign and hand over...

Hmm... mebbe we will meet afterall

septembre

Oh Andrea. Really. So fortunate! Your sis is in Perth too? What kinda job? Hey I have a friend who is teaching in Perth. I remember her telling me they need teachers there or something. You are in education field right?

nnchander

No, my sis is in Sydney. She's a trained pharmacist, but is currently working towards obtaining her Aus licence. In the meantime, she has a fulltime job with an editorial firm. She loves it there (Aus, that is...) but Sydney is much too expensive. Hopefully, when she decides to be a pharmacist again, she'll move to Perth

As for me, yep.. in education. I know there's a demand for teachers, and my godparents are in the same line too. My godma is able to help me when I go over... but we are more concerned with hubby's job -- afterall, he's going to be the breadwinner...

fern

Hi Gingerale, I paid about $1600 for the applications. That's excluding the costs of getting my police papers clearances, getting documents certified by a notary public lawyer (that's like $5 per page). My hubby's family also had to sent declarations that our relationship is true and genuine, and got them signed by a peace justice.

septembre

Hi Fern

Oh I've heard about the the declaration thing. $1600 is affordable huh. I was thinking of preparing about 3k initially.

Andrea ic. Yar if she moves to Perth, you girls can look out for each other.

I get what you mean. Hey he is in marketing right, same as my hubby. My hubby was thinking of going into property for a start because we have some experience while studying there and made some friends from this industry. But then, we are thinking of lots others too. ;D

siewmaiharkao

hi fern
you are in brisbane now? i think i will be going to brisbane at the end of this month to visit my bf over there...perhaps you can email me at [email protected] as i will like to ask you some questions .eg finding a job procedures over there using vistor pass there etc
tks..hope to hear from u soon
.or if possible we can meet up in brisbane.that will be fun to know more funs over there esp when u are overseas

fern

Thanks gals! I start work tomoro, and I have butterflies in my stomach now! 2.5months seemed like forever! Especially after receiving many many rejection, letters too. But then looking back, 2.5months is a good pace for me to settle in and so on. Guess my expectations were sky high!

Hi SMHK,
yes, I'm in Brisbane. Pls email me closer to the date you are arriving. Since I have posted here, many people have emailed me personally to ask for migration advice.
I have to clarify here that I am not an expert on migration matters leh...I'm really scared to provide the wrong advice. I just went thru the procesures of applying for a spouse visa, and have almost zilch knowledge on other categories of migration.
For more information, you can go to the below website:
http://www.immi.gov.au/

Hopes this help!

siewmaiharkao

hi fern,
thanks for your advices.. its okay.i am just looking around for pple's advice so as to narrow down my aimless search ..heeee tks for your url.
if nothing goes wrong..i will be going brisbane on 26th nov..perhaps we can have a chill out coffee session when we are there..no harm making new frends ritez

if u dun mind can email me your contact number to my [email protected] to keep in contact when i am there

ciao..hope to see u soon

nnyl

Hubby is considering taking his MBA in australia, while i will follow him and find a job in australia. Long term plan is to migrate to australia. Wondering how u gals are coping there and how the procedure of apply for PR goes.

I hv enuff pts to apply under skilled migration but hubby cant as he doesn't hv relevant experience in his own profession. And we hv 2 sis-in-laws who are currently Oz PR. Quite at loss how we shld go abt apply, under my name or his?

Kinda scared too cos if we were to go, it'll be next half yr, not mentally prepared to leave families n frens in s'pore.. how u gals feel abt leaving s'pore? I'm excited abt it yet feel very uncertain n lost too.

fern

Hey Lynn,
i applied from a diff category of visa as most of the gals here have applied under or are considering applying for. Mine is a spouse visa as my hubby is Aussie. i guess that made it easier. So i have no advice on migration issues for you.

But as for leaving my family, i was very very sad as i am very close to all my family families, including grandma, cousins, aunties and uncles. I have never studied, lived or worked in another country before (even though I have been to Australia a couple of times). I also have a good social life and circle of close friends in Singapore.

What made me decide to come back with my husband was seeing how unhappy he was in Singapore due to his work pressures. Singapore also feels very restrictive to him being such a small island (and seeing that he came from such a big country). Another major factor is of course cos I love him and trust him that he will take good care of me when we are here.

the first month here was exhilarating, so many things to do, like unpacking and settling in, getting used to the climatic and temperatures (it was spring when i got here).
The 2nd month i went about getting my Australian driving licence, began looking for jobs. I also began to miss my family more and more.
It helps that my hubby is very supportive and loving. We do have arguements, but we always try to work them out.

It's hard to be mentally prepared 100%, cos you will meet with a lot of unexpected situations that u were not prepared for anyway. There might also be some culture shock as you begin to interact with the people around you. I'm learning a lot about the Australians by working with them too.

But I do encourage you to give it a try, make the move here and see if you like it.

nnyl

Hi Fern

tks for reply. Yes, tt's wat i'm feeling now. On one hand, i'm excited abt the new life and living abroad, the other hand i really miss my family n frens. It's so difference btw posted overseas n migrating overseas. And lots of uncertainity like job opportunities n such.

Well, need to discuss with hubby on his choice of university etc. and my SIL is returning to s'pore coming wed, gd chance to discuss with her abt migrating too. I hope all things work out well.

fern

I know exactly how you are feeling. I said the exact same thing: It's not the same as coming here to study or work, cos you get to experience life here and go home after that. But migration is a permanent thing.

I cannot really comment on job opportunities, it really depends on your job industry and experience. I got my current job because I had some previous experience in the same field. But before that i had a lot of rejections. Linking up with job agencies also didn't help me much. I joined up with more than 3 and they didn't get me even 1 job interview! I was even willing to do data entry jobs.

It's a tough decision to make really, and just to let you know, i know exactly how u feel.

septembre

Hey Fern

How are you doing in your new job? How's the work culture over there? Do share with us.
Btw, what field are you in?

bikki

Hi Jessica, mspiggy, Andrea & gingerale
Sorry for not replying. Have been buzy with work and Christmas celebration.
Hope to catch up when you are here in Perth!
Andrea, my wife is also in the Education field! She also graduated in Australia but in Queensland.

damsel

Hi There,
It's really nice to see there are so many s'poreans in Aust, I'll be moving to Sydney in mar. Anyone in here from there?

bikki

Dear gingerale
A teacher's starting pay is $39,437 according to a newspaper article here last year. Think tuitor's salary would be about the same, and lecturers will be higher.
Hope this information helps!

mrfishisacat

I'm new on this forum and stumbled upon this thread which I'm very interested in.

My wedding is in Dec '05 and my FH and I have not
bought a flat cos we're toying with the idea of migration. He was in Perth for 5yrs and I was locally educated and never lived there except on holidays. I found Perth slow and quiet when I was there. But eventually grew pretty fond of it. Although I do prefer Melbourne cos of its cosmopolitan lifestyle and pple.

My friends and relatives are all based in SG
and I don't want to be accused of abandoning my folks if I do move to Perth.

Just wondering if a city girl like me will
go mad cos of the slow pace of life in Perth??
I'm in the teaching field. What are the chances
of getting a teaching job there? Any ideas?

I also fear starting over again...
esp for him. cos coming bk to SG to teach again
is of no problem to me.

Maybe you guys who've been there for awhile can tell me what its like to finally settle in
there... =)

septembre

Hey bikki

Thanks for your replying. I'm helping my hubby to ask.
I am starting to ask relatives for job offers. I think it will be good if we go over early. What line are you in again bikki?

Mr Fish i think they want tutors there. Your chances should be pretty high. It depends what kinda activities you seek. I was there for about 5 years,
Evening i like to walk at the beach. There is this place, leighton beach where you can park your car and watch the sunset! Dinner is spend at home or at friend's friends. You can always go chinatown for supper! They open till the wee hours. Weekends, more beach and go groceries shopping. Weird it's more fun doing groceries in Perth than Spore! haha. Or maybe fremental is good too. Maybe invite some friends over for bbq and beer. Oh I love to visit Gone Bazaar and buy things to decorate my room. Ok it maybe abit boring to to stuck in Perth 24/7. Hols you can drive down albany. or up. So fun!

mrfishisacat

Hey gingerale =)

Hmmm yeah, I guess when you're there, you really get to enjoy after work hours, unlike here in SG where I work till I drop. Either end up dog tired or falling sick. Thats why the prospect of going to Aus and sticking to that "close at 5pm" thingy is so appealing. haha...

Well, if I'm going to start afresh there with my FH, to look for jobs, get an apartment and a cheap car, how much do u guys suppose is a good amount of money to bring over?

Where's Gone Bazaar? Didn't visit that place. =(

septembre

Hello Mr fish *waves*
Yar you work hard and you play hard over there. If you like to watch HKG serials, you can rent tapes to watch to pass time. Or go video Ezy to rent the english movies. If you enjoy nightlife, can go northbridge area.

If you wanna buy, it ranges from 200k-500k. If you wanna rent, i have this friend, his studio is 100/mth at applecross. My car was a daihatsu charade 84/85 which cost me 5k. I remember my friend bought an echo for about 12k only. But of course these are rough estimates only. Maybe Bikki can give a more accurate number.

Gone Bazaar is this lifestyle shop that sells alot of things from kitchen to children's party toys. They have alot those bohemian, cute, funky designs. They can be found in quite alot of departmental stores too. City should have one.

bikki

Hi gingerale
I am in the chemical industry. Hope you can come over soon!

As for cars, brand new Echo is about A$14-$15K for 3 doors, manual. For a bigger car like Toyota Camry, it's about A$30K+.

ginerale, my wife likes to go to Gone Bazaar too! You will be her good friend when you come over!!

mr fish, i think the chances of you teaching here is quite high. However if you graduate in S'pore for your teaching qualification, you may have to do a refresher course here. You can check all these from the Department of Education.

mrfishisacat

Hey gingerale, bikki

hahaha i think i DID go to Gone Bazaar!
well, at least thats what my FH told me.
i must've been in a shopping frenzy.
didn't bother much abt checking for store names.
heh heh.

wah, must do refresher course ah?
i thought standard of education in SG is higher.
=P

don't know if the Aus schools are willing to take in a Chinese to teach Ang Moh to the Ang
Mohs.cos i teach english & literature. =\

speaking of cars, we rented an auto Echo 3 door
while we were in Perth. its quite a good car i think. the furthest i went shopping was at Carousel. pple there don't seem to see asians alot huh? cos i get the weird stares.

nolah, not a very big fan of HKG serials.
but i notice that aus tv can be crappy lor...

ginger, you're living in perth now??

nnchander

Hi All...

'deadline' for moving over is drawing near.... so exciting yet so unnerving... haven't had time to look up jobs...
kinda worrying. If all goes well, should be making plans to leave by June...

Anyway, so nice to hear Gingerale talk about Chinatown suppers, Gone Bazaar... really brings back great memories! Can't wait to get there and live it all over again!!

By the way, you are also an EL and Lit teacher, mr Fish? Where are you teaching? We are in the same industry
At first wasn't planning to teach again, because of bb, but I think it's necessary... at least for a few years. But will try to find part-time teaching positions if possible... will see how it turns out.

nnchander

Hi All...

'deadline' for moving over is drawing near.... so exciting yet so unnerving... haven't had time to look up jobs...
kinda worrying. If all goes well, should be making plans to leave by June...

Anyway, so nice to hear Gingerale talk about Chinatown suppers, Gone Bazaar... really brings back great memories! Can't wait to get there and live it all over again!!

By the way, you are also an EL and Lit teacher, mr Fish? Where are you teaching? We are in the same industry
At first wasn't planning to teach again, because of bb, but I think it's necessary... at least for a few years. But will try to find part-time teaching positions if possible... will see how it turns out.

septembre

Hi Andrea!

Nice to see you back again! Yar everytime I think about the things I do in Perth, I'll just smile. Can't wait to go back there. But its also terrifying to start again. I think both you and Mr fish wouldn't have problems finding a job ah. I study design. So it's more difficult for me. I'll have to go back school to beg my tutor for job I think. Somemore I kinda lost my passion, so looking for something new when I go over.

I can't wait to drive again. I hven't driven in Spore cos I'm afaird to crash my hubby's car. My hubby said can buy me a car with his credit card. hahaha. True right.

Mr fish I'm still in Spore. Andrea looks like you are gonna be there earlier than me. Have you started looking for place to stay?

nnchander

Hey Gingerale...
I've also not driven in Singapore!! So scary!! Waiting to go back to Aus and get a car
Hubby sez over there, we can afford two small cars!! HAHAH

Anyway... yes, we know Dan... meet him every now and then
In fact, hubby is going to watch soccer with him tmr! Do we know each other too?!?

septembre

HAha Andrea! Don't think we know each other, Just have the same friends. My hubby and him are friends from same sec lor. Were you at GV like a week or 2 weeks ago? We were there but was late. ahah SO cool!

nnchander

Hmm... yes, we were at GV last Fri... to watch Ocean's Twelve... were you there too?

So your hubby from ACS? Are you all in touch with Dan, then? BTW, Dan's got his PR too

So when are you leaving? We really ought to start a network of those who are already in Perth, so when we go, not so lost

septembre

Andrea no lar. I meant the pub at serangoon. Grapevine. I was there last Sat. His bunch of tommie more friends was there and about to leave when Hubby and I arrived. Dunno if you are with them.

Yar my hubby from ACS too. Only recently more in touch with him. Yar know he has his PR too. You should know Alex too lar. haha.

septembre

mr fish I think work in Oz is like that. They don't recognise what you do in Singapore. At least that's what I heard. Gotta be prepared to start lower than expected.

mrfishisacat

my FH and i had another round of discussions and we may not move over after all... he says its too much of a risk to go and leave everything here to start over.

i guess when it comes down to bread and butter issues, thats the way it goes lor. but we're quite certain we'll send our kids to uni there in future. maybe when we get to abt 40, we may all migrate over to retire.

meanwhile i think can only go as tourist every now & then to enjoy Aus then... sian.

hey, i heard grapevine is a nice chill out place.
is it really?? i've yet to check out the place.
friend recommended me. =)

andrea, yup, i teach EL & Lit.
love Lit more than I do EL. In fact, I HATE teaching EL!!! hahahaha. its a real pain to do the marking! what're u teaching?