Anyone Migrating to Australia?

damsel

Hi Blue, so where are you moving to? Melb? Lots of friends and relatives I know have move to melb seems a popular place for s'poreans. And in terms of living standards it's cheaper there, maybe I should pack up my bags and move over too. It's easy to start a business in Aust cause the gov encourage entreperneurship but of course you must do a research on what is the best business to open.

damsel

Hi snoozy, dun worry they won't go to the extend to check the authenticity of the letters all they want to see is that there's communication between the 2 of you when you are apart. You can show email correspondence as well. And I just remembered that you can submit phone bills too cause that time I and HB was talking a lot on the phone.

damsel

Hi Idyll, no worries at all if you need any more tips just let me know cause I've been thru it so I know what is expected. It will be good if you could include your HB's name in the title deed cause that's one of the important thing they check on to show that the both of you not only live together but holds a share in the property.

marnie

Thanks Damsel! I suppose, it's great that we have a support system here and in Australia as well. Makes the transition so much easier.

damsel

Yeah Idyll, when I was applying for my visa I had to find for the info myself which was difficult so it's good that we can share our experience in here.

marnie

I had so much printed from the internet re. the visa thingee I could compile and pass off as a novel!

One of clients had sometime back retained me to help him with some Statutory Declaration of some sort of friends and family they know to substantiate and attest to their marriage and common desire to raise a family in Australia (he's Singaporean, she's Australian). He had all the photos, letters, etc.

So we got talking etc. I guess from 3 years ago, the requirements may have changed. But from the link you've provided Damsel, it may not be that difficult for me to get a job in Sydney as I thought it would be - so thankful for that.

Are you living in central Sydney or off? The property market is soaring there, I heard...

damsel

Idyll, oh yeah talking abt that me and HB had to get our family and friends to write a declaration as well to support my visa application. Basically to declare that they are aware I and HB are in a genuine relationship and I'm not it in just to live in Australia.

Dun worry about not being able to find a job, it's basically an employee market here and candidates can afford to be picky.

I'm living towards the blue mountains area, property is too expensive in the city. Sydney houses are the most expensive in comparison to all the other states.

marnie

Ooooh! How quaint. We went up to Blue Mountains when we were up there around New Year's and I love the old world charm the estates around there emit.

We'll most likely be nearer to city. We went looking at properties the 5 days we were there. I had my heart set around Paddington. My hubby used to live around Bondi though which is something I'm not too crazy about frankly! Imagine all that racket in the summer (though the view was spectacular).

You know Damsel, that's exactly what my hubby said - that I could afford to be pickky. It's amazing what the earning power is like in Australia compared to us in Singapore. But I cannot get over the fact just how much more expensive eating out is there.

damsel

Yeah I'm so close to the blue mountains that I can smell the fresh air that comes from there.

Paddington is a nice place but I can't afford as for Bondi to over populated with people, especially during the holidays. The only time you have peace and quiet is during winter.

The last thing you should worry about is jobs there is plenty to go around. Oooh and you get paid more for half the job you would do in S'pore. What's more no stress, your boss dun give you the look if you leave on the dot, benefits are so much better. Although you pay heaps in tax but you can recover that when you do your tax returns at the end of the financial year.

Yup eating out is not one of the Aussie past time they prefer to have their backyard bbq, people here have more home cook meals so going out to eat is a luxury. Because eating out is so ex the restaurants are never packed and you dun have to make prior reservations.

damsel

Hi Snnozy, yes all docs that you sbmit needs to be certified true copy. You can get it done by a lawyer which is more ex or you can find a JP who is willing to do it for you. You only bring your originals when you go down for the interview.

snoozy

JP ? U mean those who solemnise our wedding? Can they do that? So does that mean we can get MP to do also ? =X btw.. in australia pharmacist can certified true copy.. and my hb is a pharmacist can he do that?

damsel

Yeah those kind can do it, I dun know about MP though. Your hb can do it but dun know whether will be considered conflict of interest since related to you.

snoozy

wow.. damsel.. u reply reali fast o_O

ermm.. maybe i call australia embassy to check with them.. thx damsel ..

btw if we ask JP for help.. they jus have to sign on it .. do they need to stamp anything?

damsel

hee hee snoozy i happen to come in when i saw your msg. yeah it's best to call the embassy since they might have another definition for JP in s'pore and who qualifies. they will stamp certified true copy and sign on it.

snoozy

Ook.. thx damsel.. btw.. jus now the JP U mentioned is Aust JP or Singapore JP ? Sorry for asking so many questions >.<

damsel

Hi Idyll, how's your application coming along? Move to Aust already? Hee hee me can't wait for more s'poreans to come over. By the way if you have an email add you can PM me you we can stay in touch.

marnie

Hey Damsel, no man...not yet. We have about 2-3 more years to go. Though I think we should do what you did (or was it someone else on this thread) and apply now cos' vaguely remembered last year of the 5 year VISA must stay put in Australia.

But! We can most definitely take this off-line and build a friendship (mine's [email protected]). I suppose we Singaporeans need to have a support system though it must not be that difficult finding another Singaporean there along the streets, no?

Hey Snoozy, read somewhere your hubby's PR here just got approved? Was it difficult? Mine jsut got his arse moving and filled up the form (and even then not fully completed cos' his handwriting is atrocious!), I wonder if we'll run into problems with the Immigration here cos' I'm sponsoring him.

snoozy

Hi Idyll..

Yeah.. my hb PR jus got approved last year.. we actually can get it down faster but due to the doc dont wan to sign my hb medical form so from we drag for one whole mth. Anyway.. reali feel great as least he is PR now, he can find watever job he like.. currently he working in the same company as me, but as a contract job cos he would like to try out other job.
Erm.. in the first place we did faced problem, his application for rejected once, due to my salary too low. I think as long as u r the one sponsor him.. ICA will look at ur salary .. but my advice is.. submit ur hb tax return too.. that will help alot. At least, show that he is working.

Ermm.. can i add u to msn. so we can chat there.. Damsel.. wat is ur msn add.. we can all chat there too.

Mine is [email protected]

marnie

Question remains then. How low is too low? Hmmm - that's really horrible to look at - salary. It's not fair. I mean we're married to each other cos' of love. Not by their earning power. Sometimes, red tape bereucracy really frustrates me!

I'm not on MSN chat, unfortunately. I'm usually on Skype. You on it?

damsel

Hi Idyll, that person is definitely not me cause I applied for spouse visa thru marriage with my hubby. But I think you did mention that your hubby is an Australian citizen rite? If that's the case you can apply for spouse visa as well since that process is so much easier than applying for PR. With spouse visa after 2 years you automatically qualify for PR provided your relationship with hubby still exist. But if you apply for spouse visa you have to live in Aust for 2 years, anytime you leave the country they minus it off and your 2 years will drag on.

damsel

Well talking about PR application I was really pissed off with SIR when I tried applying for PR status for my daughter who's only a year old. Can you imagine that I being a S'porean my daughter does not have the right to hold a PR but instead she needs to apply for it base on her parent's quslifications, salary status, job history. What kind of rubbish is that and the goverment keep asking S'porean not too move abroad. Well they can take the PR and stuff it up their A$$

marnie

Damsel, precisely! It's really non-aligned their policies. I'm pretty fed-up and I can see why my hubby sometimes get so frustrated!

So your daughter's an Australian? And not applying for PR in Singapore right? Hubby and I never really thought about the children issue but your issues have got me thinking. I thought that I've alwayus wanted to give birth in Singapore and get Australian PR/citizenship. Hmmm....

snoozy

Hi Idyll.. i dont have skype.. i onli got msn >.<

As for the ICA.. the salary part reali depend on them. Of cos highest the better. I read from some forums. Sometimes the ICA will reject ur application the first time then after that when u appeal, they will look up the file again. *shake head*

Damsel : I heard from some ppls they said, if one parent is singaporean, the children will automantic become one? So you mean we still have to apply if the children is born in australia? ermm.. that is ridiculous!

marnie

Snoozy, your PR "drama" making me shudder.

No Skype. Nevermind lah. We can catch up and "chat" on email. Own time own target so the NS says. So maybe I'll pop you girls an email one of these days then we can chat chat.

snoozy

Idyll.. relax.. lol.. jus submit watever u have, most impt, remember to submit ur hb tax return so as to prove he is working. Remember to submit earlier.. dont wait already, the process take up to 3 months.

*wait for Idyll email* =X

damsel

Idyll, yeah my daughter is an Australian cause she's born in Australia, if you are born in any other country you automatically become a citizen of that country except S'pore who dun practice such criteria. I've a friend and his wife who are both S'pore PR and their baby was recently born in S'pore the baby is not a S'pore citizen but a PR holder. You see how screwed up the policy is. After that incident I'm not hard up to apply for PR status for my daughter.

Snoozy, that's what I've always thought too until I went to apply. I would understand if she can't be a s'porean cause she's already an Australian so the least they can do is let her hold a PR and get her to decide if she wants to keep it when she turns 18.

snoozy

ermmmmm.. damsel, if like that.. next time when i give birth to a baby boy.. i prefer him to be australian, no need to serve NS =x Seen like singapore always the one trying to make thing difficult even for their own citizen. *sigh*

snoozy

ermmmmm.. damsel, if like that.. next time when i give birth to a baby boy.. i prefer him to be australian, no need to serve NS =x Seen like singapore always the one trying to make thing difficult even for their own citizen. *sigh*

damsel

If anyone of you planning to have kids better to give birth in Aust, better benefits and kids automatically becomes Australian. And the baby bonus this year is $4000 hard cash, no such thing as instalment.

marnie

Happy Valentine's Day everyone!

Hubby and I are just kicking our heels and catching up on films at home with home cooked meal. We agreed that this year will be just the 2 of us spending quiet time alone.

How about you girls?

snoozy

Morning girls..

For Vday..my hb work OT until 10+pm .. >.< end up going to hawker centre eat dinner.. it okay for me but dont like the foods at all.. i think becos they are closing.. so end up they dump all the ingredients inside.. make the foods very saltish..

marnie

Good morning Girls!

My hubby caught an 11am bus from KL, then cooked for dinner. We had chicken burrito (and I had seconds!) whilst watching TV - Heroes. It was such a relaxing evening. No crowds to jostle with. Just us in our new home.

alamak Snoozy! Nevermind lah. At least the company makes it all sweet, right?

Damsel - yum! Would love pizza just about now....but die...just after breakfast for me now.

damsel

Snoozy I'll give anything to have hawker food, won't matter to me even if it's salty. Hee hee that's how desperate I am.

Hi Idyll, where's your love nest? Are you going to sell it when you move to Aust or keep it as an investment by renting it out?

marnie

Gosh Damsel, I suspect most Singaporeans living abroad would only miss the local hawker fare here, and not much of anything, eh?

Hubs and I are living in Yishun. We bought a resale flat which was within our set budget. We didn't take the grant just because we wanted that option to be able to sell in under 5 years just in case.

We really haven't decided what to do with our home here when we decide to uproot ourselves somewhere else --> thus our relunctance to commit to a higher priced flat or a landed or private property here. We were gearing towards getting a proper home in Australia and spending more money there than here. I suppose we'll cross that bridge when we come to it.

damsel

Yeah not taking into consideration family and friends yup that's about the only thing I'll miss.

Since you already have your mind set on uprooting yourself, you are better off saving that money for your new home. And you get a much better property in Aust with the money you have to spend not a small chicken coop (what my hubby calls the houses in S'pore).

So are you one of those who have the luxury not to work and spend all your hubby's hard earn money on shopping and coffee?:)

marnie

I wish Damsel! Hubs will not support my cravings for yet another pair of shoes or bag. I suspect though that I'll last a week with shopping and coffee before relenting and getting myself a proper job.

Oh...before I forget, do you know which department in OZ I should be directing my questions re. grants if we were to purchase land/property for 1st time there?

Gosh....speaking of coffee...I'm missing coffee in Melbourne. I didn't get to drink much of commercial coffee in Sydney but I tried a couple in Melbourne and I must say that Melburnians are proud of brewing their coffee properly. Gosh....can you say, I'm smelling the good things in Australia already?

marnie

Good morning Girls. In case I don't get to check back in here over the weekend, here's wishing you Gong Xi Fa Cai!

damsel

Hi Gals, Happy Chinese New Year!!!

Hi Idyll, hee hee looks like not everyone is cut out to be a tai tai.

Check out this website, hope it has the relevant info you need.
http://www.firsthome.gov.au/

Gee you must be a avid coffee drinker too bad I dun share that passion of yours.

marnie

Damsel, can you believe though that I have been trying to wean myself off coffee? These days in the office, I just have my daily cup of tea and even then, I miss it when I am too swarmed with work (which happens a lot). So yes, smelling a good brew, almost sends shivers to my spine!

Thanks so much for the link - we'll go through the webbie pretty soon.

damsel

Hee hee <font color="ff0000">Idyll</font> sounds like you are a hard core coffee addict, instead of totally stopping the coffee intake maybe you can cut down on the number of cups you have a day. You dun have to go cold turkey.

snoozy

Hello Idyll.. Hello damsel..

Happy Chinese New Year.. how is everyone? I start work today.. feeling so gggrrrrr.. days reali flies.. *scary*

snoozy

Thanks damsel..

CNY was great.. maybe becos last year i was in australia.. so i kinda missed my family , so this year i got to eat reunion dinner with them , so very happy with that, and at the same time i get to play with my baby nephew.

marnie

Damsel, as strange as it sounds, when I came back from our trip to Italy, I totally went off coffee (maybe my subconscious telling me that nothing in Singapore can compare to the plethora of good coffee, latte, cappucino there) so I didn't miss it at all. But when I got back from Melbourne, the cofee calls me some days (usually dependent on the work load in the office.

Welcome back Snoozy. So how's your celebrations this year? Oooh lucky you starting work today! I got back to the swing of things yesterday...Bleh.