32" LCD - Philip/Toshiba/JVC/Sharp

Recently just bought a SHARP LC-37AF3M. When watching some TV programs, it keep having intermittent freeze. Can I ask is it a TV problem or is it a normal transmission problem ?

HI, We hav jus bought Panasonic Plasma 37 " inch.
The colour is very natural and pretty sharp.

Decide not to mount it on wall cos heard will shorten its lifespan cos it produce much heat.
And oso if mount on wall will fix it place. cant shift plac in future..

371979.jpg

Anyone interested in buying LCD should consider samsung. Quality is really good. Also go to Mustafa. I bought one last Sat, and Courts is selling $300 more for this (this is the sale price)!!

bubblescoopi, i bought samsung LCD recently too..how much is the price u saw? i bought at ard $2100, but that's after i trade the sound system for cash rebate..

How much did u buy for ur samsung lcd?? Waht is the market price now for a 26" LCD?? Planning to buy for room so no need so big..Any idea where is the cheapest??

I love the R7 White LCD tv. Its really chio and we are gg to get one for MBR. Hehe...

We are considering 32" or 26"...depending the price. But seems like R7 is selling at lower price than the samsung lcd tat i bought last Nov. I bought my 32 lcd at $3000 + $500 (for extended warranty). So total we paid $3600 for our samsung LCD last yr.

Some advice for u all, if u all intend to tv, fridge, player, or washer...buy them at one place and u could bargain for more discount.

We bought our stuff separately esp our tv...we bought it at Harvey and the rest bought from Best. Hence, we dun hv much bargaining power...we only depend on credit card promotion like additional 5% discount using UOB card.

White looks good...I suggest u should touch it and see whether it leaves fingerprints or else got to wipe very often...

Hee Hee for me..i will buy from neighbourhood stores unless paying by credit card make better sense...then I go HN as I find I could bargain with them if making large purchases

I just went to Mega at Katong Mall on last Sun, which recommended by my frend that the LCD/Plasma selling there is very cheap. I intended to buy Samsung LCD, but Samsung dun come with 37", so they recommended me Toshiba 37" instead and according to them it is quite good as well. So I am still considering Samsung 40" or Toshiba 37", the price diff is few hundreds. Does anyone own Toshiba LCD ? How is the quality like ?

Rgs
Nerraw_tan

Hi Wcseow,

I din see any place displaying the white R7 yet...only saw the black R7 display. Hehe...but really love the white...

anyway, i am putting it in our MBR so only my hb and me would be seeing and touching it. And we are getting Intradesign to do up the feature wall with casement door and mount the LCD tv. So when not in use, just close the door to conceal the tv hehe...

Hi Lyn
It is being displayed at Audio House in Liang Courts. I bet u will like it when u see it.

Am afraid u are both like it so much that u will caress it...

Hey..it is supposed to be a piece of art..u should not cover it lah...maybe make a frameless glass cover over it..hehe

Hi Lyn, I happened to see the white on display @ Tampines Mall - Courts.
Btw, I'll be getting one R7 as well! ^5!

Hi Wcseow and Fiona,

Hehe...ya...R7 is really a piece of art. ;) Oh i shall go to Audio House to take a look at the sample display. Both of u any idea how much is the white R7?

I went to BEST and the salesman advised me to get Sharp instead as Sharp has the best LCD display and has long backlight lifespan. Do u know what he meant by tat?

And he also mentioned LCDs are now manufactured in Msia. Only know sharp's part are still from Japan but not sure abt samsung.

I have the 26R71 (black). I pay aorund 1700 for it but i think the price should drop a little bit. I think it should be the same cost. I buy my stuff from neighbourhood shop as it is cheaper

The backlight can be seen as the source for the LCD display, thus if it is is spoilt or aged, the lcd display will be done or go dimmer. I doubt the lifespan is that much of difference.

My opinion is QC is more important then where it was manufacured.. So far Samsung has treat me wel

Hi Wcseow,

ICIC...I also had one samsung model LA32M51B and we bot it at ard $3100 last yr during the yr end sales. We bot the 5yrs warranty from HN too...paid extra $500.

My existing one is doing fine just tat it has one dead pixel...its like tat when delivered lor but tot only dead pixel so din call for exchange.

I will just get the R7 lor...cos i dun want to change my mind again hehe...

Its so funny, i wanted to get Sharp LCD at first but bot Samsung instead. Wanted to get Simmons mattress but got Sealy mattress ...haha...so i want to stick to my original plan this time...buy R7! ;)

Hi Wcseow,
Mega got promotion for Toshiba 32" for $2100 only, it was 1 year old model..i cannot recall the model. You can hv a look there. the Samsung LCD price is also cheaper than Courts & Best...but i guess no credit installment installment leh...

I will get mine sometimes in Sept, so if you come by any nice model, do recommend to me orhh

Rgs
nerraw

Oh, Nerraw, $2100 for a 32" LCD is considered cheap leh. My fren got his R7 32" for 2399 and tot its cheap too! So tot yours is good pricing. Does it come with free gifts? Hehe...

Hi Lyn63,

Yeah I just went there last Sunday at Katong Mall, it was displayed near the store entrance, but i think for Toshiba brands, you need to top up abt $160 for backing to mount LCD on the wall.

Hey i made a mistake, i think is 37" Toshiba for abt $2300, which is still cheaper. not sure got shopping voucher boh...

Anyway, i am more keen in Samsung 40" leh, the design is nicer & the quality is good, but the price is more exp lor...

Hopefully, by Sept the price come down a little bit leh...

nerraw

Hi Nerraw,

Hmmm...Katong mall sounds very near my home...hehe...but nvr been there b4 lor so i am not sure how to go there.

Yup, usually need to top up some money to mount tv on the wall/feature wall. I paid $180 for mounting mine in my living room tat time...sometimes the mounting fee depends on the size of the tv and which brand it is.

Hmmm, 37" is still cheap for $2300. Hehe...my samsung 32" is oredi $3100 leh. But of cse now LCD is cheaper cos produced in Msia. Mine is produced in Korea so more exp. Now buy the same model would be cheaper lor.

Which model are u looking at for the 40" Samsung? Is it the R7 model? Its chio lor.

Hi Lyn,

Katong Mall near "328 Katong Laksa", next to Roxy Sq & Parkway Parade lor...

Samsung brand dun hv to top up to mount on the wall...according to the sales man there...

As of now, I am still not very sure which samsung model to buy yet..still sourcing arnd..

Hey I nvr see samsung R7 white LCD yet leh..I dun c at the Mega store either...should b nice i guess...must chk it out at Best or Courts..

Hi Lyn
If u need tyhe wireless home system, then I guess so. Still if it is package deal from Samsung, u probably can get it cheaper from neighbourhood stores if that price i quoted in Best

Prices I got from last 1.5 month of "asking"

Toshiba
47WL66 - 6850
37Wl66 - 2850
32Wl66 - 1900 (I read someone gets it for 1.7K)

Samsung
32r71 - 2050
40r71 - 3800
(Black olor though)

Hi Wcseow,

Where did u get the LCD prices from? is ur R7 26"? I am thinking since the LCD would be put into my MBR, i dun really need to get a 32"...

Hi Wcseow,

Citibank sent me a letter with a "voucher" abt the promotion. Its not advertised. And to buy the R7 with the wireless home theatre system, we cant buy it elsewhere but at shop called The Rewards Link.

Hi Nerraw,

Sure...hehe...update me if u find any cheaper samsung R7 White lcd tv too! Hehe...me gg Best Denki this sunday to see...hehe ;)

Hi Wcseow,

I will be getting my LCD tv in 26". Hehe...think 32" is abit too big for our MBR...hehe...our MBR's feature wall is ard 3ft so not really nice to put a 32" lcd tv on it.

hee hee..maybe build a feature wall that is only 1 ft to 2 ft long, then the 32" TV will be like floating!!!...

Mine was 26 too but I find it to small after a while.

Hehe...is it? 26" small?

hmmm...but feature wall only 3ft...i was measuring just now, think i will ask Angeline to increase to 4ft as 3ft is only good enuf to cover my aircon dart there then it is not placed in the middle of my wall. I think need to speak to her again abt it. Hehe...

Hi Nerraw,

I just back from Mega Discount Store. I bot my 26" R7 Black from them at $1599 with $100 Robinson or Takashimaya voucher. Hehe...tot is good buy. ;)

I also saw 32" R7 Black selling at $2599 with free wall mounting service, $200 Robinson or Takashimaya voucher. U mite want to consider it.

Hi Wcseow, i saw the white R7. Its nice but my hb prefer black and they dun hv white for a 26". So i guess i can only take black and also it matches my MBR tv console. ;)

Hi Wcseow,

I only paid a deposit first. My console is not ready yet. So they will keep the set for me for the time being. ;) They charging $120 for wall mounting as mine dun hv any free wall mounting. The guy said actually can ask my ID to mount for us. But then wat happens to the warranty? I am afraid it will be voided if the bracket is not original etc.

BTW, did u get extended warranty for ur LCD tvs?

I did not get the extended warranty for this set. But I will proably buy that for the 37 47 inch sets...

So far Angeline prefers the TV guy to install.. guess do not want to void warranty otherwise..

So who is going to install.....

I bought the original Samsung TV bracket as well but I will recommend u not to. This is because it will block the audio in jacks of both the component video input. Till now I could not find a suitable RCA jacks....

We will let the Mega Store ppl to install for us. Afraid will void the warranty lor. We only need to pay $120 for the bracket and installation.

BTW, Mega Store accepts visa or mastercard. And i saw they hv UOB 0% instalment today but not using it. Prefer to pay full. hehe...

Hmmm...i tot there shd be enuf allowance for the in jacks...my samsung in my living room is alrite leh...hv allowance for our hand to adjust.

I noticed the 26" lcd tv do not hv the pc input at the side unlike mine in living room. So will be abit troublesome if my hb wanna move his xbox into MBR. But my hb wont lah..cos he will be likely play xbox with his buddy and wont ask them to come to our MBR to play.

Hi Lyn,

yeah that is good buy, you have finally got yours 26" LCD. 32" for 2599 is abt the same price as Best or Courts rite...May be i will go for Toshiba 37" ..cheaper...Who was the guys who served you...Is his attitude good ?

His attitude is good. His name is Clarance. I find him alrite and he will always check back with his boss on any queries like he reserved the one and only one Korean made R7 for me. He oredi gave me the warranty card and the redemption letter to redeem the voucher.

And he even opened up the set for me to check leh...hehe...we only told him our dead pixel in our brand new lcd tv in living room. Cos we din install the tv when we got it. Only installed it after 1-2months so when installed and on it, saw a dead pixel...so he said he can open up the korean set for us to check b4 we buy the set.

Haha...no dead pixel but felt troubled them as they had to open up the box and then fixed up some of the wiring lor...although its not very big but still heavy lor...so paiseh...But this is really good customer service.

I find the ppl at Best very contradicting. Initially, we went Best to look at the LCD tvs and is served by a lady. We compared the resolution and the pricing. Then her colleague A happens to be introducing lcd tvs to one customer too and also same time telling us the difference b/w samsung and sharp. We tot Sharp also not bad and the price is $1599 with $200 NTUC vouchers. We oredi gg to place orders...then the lady kept introducing JVC to us saying tat is only $1799 for the day and free JVC DVD player. Then its HD ready etc etc. But i told her i dun really like the brand lah...and then her other guy colleague B also kept telling us JVC is good...blar blar blar...then put us off.

They made us so confused and me started to have headache. But i think all things happened for a reason cos the 26" R7 Black is selling at $1899 with $100 Robinson/Takashimaya voucher. Tats why i tot wah expensive, maybe get Sharp one as cheaper. So in the end, we din buy at Best.

We went Mega store and saw the R7 only $1599 and still hv $100 Robinson voucher. Same as Best or other places and my HB immediately say buy tat! Haha...

Hi Lynn

Is your living room set 26" and R series I fit is larger it will not block. The 26R71 with original Samsung mount wll have this problem.

when it is delivered, I suggest u ask the installer to show u how the bracket willbe like when it is mounted onto the TV and u will see what I mean....

Same here, I play xbox in MBR. So with the LCD, I have it used one of the AV input.