32" LCD - Philip/Toshiba/JVC/Sharp

Ya man, i wun buy electrical items from the neighbourhood shops, unless it's stuff tt doesn't really matter, like dry irons. Lol. I wun even buy fans!

Neighbourhood shops r gd for things like ironing boards, plastic stools, bowls and plates tho! Some shops also haf v gd furnitures. Much better and cheaper den the big dept stores.

Hi geegeeh,

Therez no need to "shout". Anyway, i personally find tt while some carrefour furnitures r cheap, they're made of v cheap plywood. Those of gd quality r not cheap. And it's not true tt all neighhood stores have no service.

Just wanna share, i brought my Samsung LCD the R series, 40" and 32" from Best Denki. The 40" $3838, 32" $2049, comes with FREE wall mounting and table stand (standard item). Warranty, 3 years from agent and 2 years from Best Denki at no cost.
Freebies are bicycle, windbreaker, luggage bag, $300 robinson voucher and Samsung home theater system.

Hi Kristen86,

For 32" at that time was offered Xbox, home theater and Robinson $300 voucher. With free wall mounting installation.

cheers.

Hi ikukosandy,

I prefer Samsung LCD.

Sharp Aquos is supposedly the best LCD TV makers around. I dunno why one of the forummer's Sharp died after a year - it could be a number of reason such as heng/suay or the electrical current is not regulated at the power point.

If you want to buy Sharp Aquos, make sure you get the ones made in Japan. Dun buy the ones specially tailored for local use in Singapore as those have lower resolution!

Sharp manufactures its own chips, LCD and stuff, as does Samsung and Phillip. The rest use the chips/lcd stuff from them or something.

Will check with my HTB again - he specialises in HD stuff.

i prefer Samsung though, anyway now LCD tvs are getting cheap, i jus saw this promotion from Audio house, cos i'm thinking of gettign a 32 or 37.. they r having this trade in promo, when u trade in a 14 inch tv, u get $300 off a 32 inch LCD tv and if u trade in a 29 inch tv, get $400 off a 37 inch LCD..

BE CAREFUL when you buy TOSHIBA TV--buy a 2nd hand on with a new one's price
I have brough a new Toshiba 29 TV,but it did not work after 3 years, but when we open the cover, we are surprised to find,the TV is a repaied one ,a lot of repaired mark can be seen on the PCB borad. We contact the Toshiba severice center, but the manager told me it is normal,as long as the TV is working when they sell to you, that means the TV is OK.The repair maybe done in the factory. they are not able to help us. I am so suprise, so next time if you still want to buy Toshiba TV, maybe you need requst them to open the cover for you to check before you buy it, otherwise you will in risk of have a "New cover TV",the only thing new is the cover

yea i bought my samsung at audio house.. a 19†Samsung lcd tv r71 at $499 for the bedroom cos no need so big, and a 40" Full HD LCD for $1599. cheap hor! wanted sony bravia but too ex.

what's that above .. is that relevant..

anyway take a look at the papers this weekend.
Amazing, the prices for 32" LCD TV have dropped to $499. Sharp somemore..

Liang Court Revamped Grand Opening Sale -
Audio House
1-3 May 2009

32" Sharp LCD @ $499
37" Toshiba LCD @ $699

looks like a good deal...

32" sharp LCD tv for 499 is a very good price - wonder if the promo will be available next week again..

but might as well spend a little more for a larger screen size - as the price increment is not much more ?

haha...my hubby bought a 32" tv for the bedroom.. it's quite a good deal @ $499.

think the promo is still available this weekend. (9-11 may) at liang court.

i'm not actually an expert on tv.. but i thought LG, Samsung looks quite nice and good... is sharp really better? anyone can advise in wat ways and wat are the specs we should look out when buying tv?

HI starjoy , I personally prefer samsung & sony. sharp is not too bad too. As for the specs - i think you just have to know what you are buying.

Is it a full HD or a HD ready tv - HD ready tv are much cheaper, and I don't think i can really tell the difference between full HD or HD ready.

I read in digital life that there is a electronics fair this weekend at suntec, with lcd tvs going at wholesale prices. you might want to take a look-

i'll go see if i can dig out the info.

I've found it on another forum - here u go

Event: License 2 Play Gaming & Electronics Fair
Date: 22nd to 24th May 2009 (11am – 9pm)
Venue: Suntec City Level 6, Hall 603
URL: http://www.licence2play.com.sg/

*1st ever electronics fair with wholesale prices - no traders or wholesalers allowed
*1 set per customer

LCD / Plasma TV

* LG 32” plasma (PC5) at just $399 (u.p. $999)
* LG 32” LCD TV (32LG55) at just $699 ($1999 u.p.)
* Samsung 42" plasma TV at just $799 ($1799 u.p.)
* Toshiba 37” LCD TV (37AV500) at just $599 ($1799 u.p.)
* Toshiba 42” LCD TV (42x3500) at just $999 ($2999 u.p.)
* LG 42” LCD TV (42LG30) at just $799 ($2399 u.p.)

Due to advertising guidelines - exact prices are not stated.

* Samsung 40" Full HD LCD TV (A750) - sold below $2000 ($3399 u.p)
* Samsung 46" Full HD LCD TV (A650) - sold below $3000 ($5499 u.p)
* Philips 42" Full HD LCD TV (42PFL7603) - sold at around 50% off ($3199 u.p)
* LG 42" HD Ready Plasma TV (42PQ30) - sold below $1000 ($1499 u.p)

starjoy - did you manage to go in the end?

I went down today - it's not quite crowded, unlike the usual pc shows at suntec. the pricing was quite attractive too.. 32" LG LCD Tv was selling at $599..

tks for the pricelist, melina. yes i went on friday before i saw ur reply. when i went on 1st day, the 32" plasma was already sold out. many told me to go for LCD instead of plasma anyway.. not sure what's the diff besides the technology.. haa..

all the tv were sold by Audio House Marketing, thus the prices were really attractive.. but i din buy in the end cos tot it is probably too early to buy as my house is not really yet..

did u go and buy anythin?

Hi starjoy,

It's better to wait for your house before buying. TV can be the last to purchase, cos there are plenty of stock and also the prices will definitely drop within a few months.

2 years ago, when i bought my 32" lcd tv, after a few months, it was less than 1k. So if you have the time, it's best to wait.

thanks ping. totally agree with you.. trying hard not to view electronics now cos that's the last thing i need to buy and prices of electronics kept dropping.. now my headache is on hi-fi set.. cos my contactor asked me to look for a model which do not have tower speakers but i see alot of brands have that! cos with tower speakers, it will block my TV feature wall designs.. any recommendations for good hifi sets in the market?

hi starjoy,

hmm.. u an audiophile - instead of those usual tower speakers, want to consider a sound bar instead? we were introduced to those at liang court audio house.. (they have those fancy hifi rooms there - which are really comfy.)

They look pretty slick, sound good, and don't take up too much space. you can try googling on 'sound bars' to find out more. ANd it's pretty affordable too, the one i saw was around $500?

Hi Alicia - there's pros & cons. I think lcd tv is more popular these days. I've heard from the salesmen that plasma runs a risk of having a burn mark (e.g. you know the ch 5 / ch 8 logo that are on the top right hand corner - after a while, they tend to be imprinted on plasmas - or something to that extend.) Why not just consult the sales pple?

If you are interested, you can pay a visit to the pc show this weekend - i was there yesterday , and Toshiba seems to be having quite a good deal - check it out.

Toshiba Booth 1919

* Toshiba 32" LCD TV (32 AV500) - $549
o Free bracket + wall installation
* Tosihiba 42" LCD TV (42 AV500) - $799
o Free bracket + wall installation

rihhana> Thanks for your reply. The PC show really a lot of ppl leh, dun wanna squeeze wif so many ppl! keke! Is audio hse products gd? heard tat audio hse sale prices can be rather cheap.

Hi Alicia - haha sorry for my late reply
yup it's quite a nitemare to squeeze through.

Audio house has some pretty attractive prices, during their promotions. ermm .for their products- it really depends on the brand you buy (e..g samsung, toshiba), and not on the outlet.

You can check out their flyers here: http://www.audiohouse.com.sg/UploadedImg/19%20Jun%2009%20TVDigiFairDPSr1800.jpg

i think they have some post pc show clearnace sale - and prices are supposed to be lower than the pc show. good luck! and keep me updated on your purchase.

can anyone advise me what brand is the best for LCD full HD TV? Intend to get a 42 inch one at the lowest price i can find. Heard from salesman in harvey norman telling me philips is the best and much better than samsung which was what my hubby likes. Then i understand from my ID Toshiba is the best as it is made in Japan. No other brands are made in Japan. Is it true? Philips and samsung are made in thailand.

For aircon, also only Toshiba made in japan. Mitsubishi is made in thailand and panasonic is made in malaysia. Is it true?

can anyone advise? thanks!

well i would go for samsung for its value for money for its specs and its actually not too bad.

Philips of course has its advantages as well. Toshiba made in japan. not all. and even sharp aquos not all in japan.

Samsung should be made in korea though.

FOr aircon please dun be misled okay, its just the compressor part made in japan. the outdoor unit entirely is from elsewhere assembled in thailand just the inside the compressor is made in japan. thats it. mitsubishi thailand,

best LCD tv i would vote for loewe. for its sharpness that it can deliver and its post processing for as natural and vivid colours. but price wise also like the best lah.

once a loewe always a loewe. unless got budget issue for me.

oh yeah to know if the processor is good or not, request the demo to screen normal television like channel 5 broadcast
not HD
cos usually when they showcase its always using the HD quality DVD on BLU RAY then how to compare. all is capable of displaying very high reso which is okay.

But how about everyday tv? we dun have all channels on HD and hence how do we know the processor can handle and smoothen and make it as natural or make it as sharp from a normal broadcast? that is where the processor comes in. Not input of HD nature and display HD? that is expected already isnt it?

Guys,

Check out this website: www.levin-electronics.com, if you are looking for LCD or LED tv.

They provide competitive prices for it. Beside, i think they also provide full range of home appliances.

Have a look and you might something you like with great prices.