32" LCD - Philip/Toshiba/JVC/Sharp

Hi Wcseow,

My living room one is 32" and is the M series. Not R series. I dun hv tat kind of problem and my HB plug his xbox in the side of the tv so he dun need to use the back one.

But the one i got yest, dun hv side in-jacks so if my HB wants to plug his xbox in our room then hv to maybe permanently plug one set of the cables there and if he wants to shift the xbox out to living room just unplug from his game console then plug to the living room one.

But he told me he wont use R7 to play games cos he says the R7 is bot especially for me to watch tv one...hehe...

Is Sony Bravia S series good ? I was told by the salesman that it has a good response time of 8m/s which is similar to those like Samsung, Panasonic and Philips. However, as the Sony has limited stock made in Japan, it's of a better quality than the other brands.

I was also told that Sharp LCD panels have got lower response times and that the imaging would not be smooth as the above mentioned panels.

Also, korea's way of standardizing their contrast ratio is different to those japan brands so the salesman said that japanese 1000:1 is as good as korea's 5000:1.

Is it true ?

VL

may i know wat is the best price for Samsung R51 40" and R71 40"?

i just got a quote a week ago at hong liang and they are charging me $3380 for R51 40" plus free DVD home theatre system and R71 40" at $4100 with no free gifts.

both come with free wall bracket, delivery and installation

Hi Dreamer,

I think the R51 40" is a good buy! My fren bot the same model and also 40" at $5K+++...so $3380 is really a good price for a 40".

Actually R51 and R7 has the same functionalities according to the sales persons we spoke to. Just the design of each LCD tv is different. :p

oic...

i might be getting R51 40" as R71 40" is too ex at the moment...

side track a bit...anyone knows where sell lights at a cheap price? also how much do a PLC downlight cost and T5 or T8 cost in lose fitings?

Sigh...we cant afford 40"...usually the model tat we like all are very exp for 40". Hence, we settled for 32" instead tat time.

Now i think 40" is more affordable. Can u imagine my model for 40" is $7999 then? How to buy it?

I bought Oct/Nov 05. Only few months back.

My 32" Samsung M51 cost $3600 (inclusive of 5 yrs warranty which cost $500)...so the tv itself is $3100. For the same model and 40", would be $7999. Tat time really forced myself not to take 40" lor. Hee...

Hi..finally make my tv purchase for the place So it is toshiba 47 ad 37 and Panasonic 32 for the 2 HDMI iterface

Hi, Just went to Best, the sales man keep saying the Philips LCD got promotion 42" only $4399 (promotion come with Philips DVD player), while samsung M51 40"is $3999. But not sure about the Philips LCD is it good ? Anyway I compared with Gain City, the M51 40" is $3696 only. May be Mega Disc store sell cheaper price.

According to promoter, Samsung R71 is abt the same as M51, just enhance the contrast but is made in Malaysia...

So, still cannot decide which brand, but most likelu will go for Samsung M51 40"..

Hi Nerraw,

M51 40" only 3K ++ is cheap! My M51 32" which i bot last oct/nov is $3100. hehe...but only diff is mine is made in Korea then.

Actually to me, no difference if made in Msia or Korea. Me not very technical abt it but my HB says Korea better lor. I also not sure.

Hi wcseow,

Oh then it must hv burnt a big hole in ur pockets. haha... :p

But it seems abit big for a room to hv 37" and above rite?

The 47 is for my living, which is pretty large.
The 37 inch is my family hall cum games room area. This is my gaming dungeon, so it needs to be big..here.hee
The 32 is for my MBR. The rest of the family is staying with CRT, though may get a 26 LCD for my mum, but she syas she hate the black bars...

Mega Store is at Katong mall...along east coast rd. U may look for this Sales person call Lewis GOH.....u must mention his surname cos there r 2 Lewis over there.I find his service is gd n no HARDCORE selling.He's also very friendly.

yeah the LCD at Mega Disc Store is quite cheap...will look for Lewis Goh when we wana buy the LCD...i am thinking of getting Samsung R51 or R71..depend on the price la...

Hi Zookeeper,

There is another outlet near Novena MRT. So u could try there too.

Mega Disc Store prices are quite cheap compared to other departmental store and service also not bad.

hi nerraw,

maybe we can go buy together....

dunno whether can get extra discount cos i'm buying the samsung 32" r7 and a pioneer 43".

u want to fix a time..?

Hi nas08,

yeah that is good idea..but i wont get it so soon since i am still not finalised the IDs for my renovation yet...quite b arnd Oct or Nov leh...

Hi Hi.. did anyone bought Sharp Aquos-32AX...

I bought mine, and seem like when viewing normal tv programmes, the images dun look as sharp as DVD/VCD? Does your sharp aquos has such problem?

Hi Jo,

i believe u dun hv a SCV cabletv at home for ur sharp aquos rite? I think its bcos of normal tv is analog signal..hence usually need decorder for LCD/plasma.

I think cos the signal is analog so when we plug in the LCD/plasma which is digital, the resolution is usually not clear. But viewing DVD/VCD is ok and no problem.

Usually when we see those LCDs/Plasma TV at shops or departmental store, they hv connected decorder/encorder to their LCD/Plasma displays so tat you will see the clear resolution.

Hi Lun,
Yupz yupz.. though my connection point with a SCV cable point, but I haven't subscribe to SCV yet...

Does that mean I have to get a decorder for my tv in order to have a better image? Currently, my image looked "soft" and a bit of double image/shadowing.

Where do I get a decorder and where should it be connected to?

Hey there, everyone
Need some help here. I just purchased our Philips 32PF5320, but when I looked into their specs, found out that the contrast ratio is only 600:1 (comparing with others as high as 5000:1) is mine lousy?

And what exactly does the contrast ratio means and refers to?

Any advise? TQ

Hi Ben, I bot mine at Harbey Norman.. Recently the price of my 32" Toshiba LCD (32WL66) dropped drastically at audiohouse. I wonder why. Imagine I bot it at $2300 in Jun-Jul. Early this month, Audiohouse is offering $1600 for the same model.

FAINT.

Newer models are coming out now so a lot of discount for clearing old stock. Anyway get either a Panasonic or Sony 32" LCD. They offer best pictureview imho

i saw this 32" samsung LCD (LA32S71B) selling at $1999 at Gain City. They are having promotion and will be giving $230 gaincity vouchers tat can offset against. So will pay $$1769. Addition, will also be getting $300 robinson vouchers. Can anyone advise if this is cheap or i can find cheaper ones outside?

we recently bought a toshiba 32 inch at $1499 (32WL66) from audiohouse at the PC fair, it also comes with $200 robinson voucher

samgirl, thats the model i bot too. lucky u. i bot at $2399 with 5 years warranty and free toshiba dvd from harvey norman. Think urs more worth it!

hi loveme, i bought mine (32WL66) at mega store recently for $1650, cos $1499 does not come with wall bracket. So, it comes with wall bracket, 2 years warranty, $200 isetan voucher.

btw, is the image clear when viewing normal SCV channel?

hm.. if using SCV cable point, but not subscribed to SCV, will the image be clear too?

I really don't know lei.. My mom keep nagging, say my new house TV image not sharp, while her house, with scv channel, using normal tv is sharper than my LCD..

but my in-law's house using normal tv, no scv also sharper than my LCD lei..

Anyway to resolve this?

Case,
nope...no bracket...cos my contracter provides the bracket for us

Loveme,
our's doesnt come with the dvd player le...only the 200 voucher & warranty (forgot how long)

samgirl, it should be 3 years warranty. Cos I saw it at the PC show as well. *bang the wall* haha. Ur deal is worth it. my DVD player shd be equivalent to ur $200 voucher bah..

Hi LoveMe,

The LCD's pricing are dropping very fast now. I was told there will be more price slashing at end of the yr. Not sure how true tat is but my fren used to work in Best Denki and his ex-colleagues told him so.

I more jialat cos my 26" LCD cost $1599 with $100 robinsons voucher. I paid $299 as deposit liao and will be delivered in dec.

My HB asking me if want to change to 32" since now very cheap haha...but i reminded him tat if we change now then there wont be any more Made in Korea LCD lor...btw, i bot the Samsung R7 LCD.

Lyn, same too. I bot it in June when Harvey Norman has the sale. I just called for delivery last Tues. I feel so heart pain. Haben use the LCD and the prices keep dropping!

samgirl, wow ur contractor so good eh? Give u a bracket. I saw at Mega store and audiohouse selling $1499 without the bracket, so that is why did not buy.

lyn, i think the samsung lcd price did not drop as much as the rest of the models. i heard that there are price war between Japanese and Korean model right now... and there may be next generation LCD coming up soon... that is why the price have dropped alot.

Loveme, do we need to use those HD cables to connect the digital box to LCD?... i saw it selling at harvey norman.

Case,

Hmmm...is it? I din go and look at the pricing after i bot the LCD. Only heard from u all and frens abt the price drop.

Yes, heard there will be a new generation TV soon..think launching next yr. I think LCD will depreciate further lor.