32" LCD - Philip/Toshiba/JVC/Sharp

aaa

Been wanting to get a 30" but happy to see 32" out. Saw @ BestDenki on 32" Philip, Toshiba, JVC and Sharp, any comments on these brand in terms of : -

1)resolution
2)response time
3)LCD panel

aaa

Finally got a response, 32" juz out lei, dun think price will drop so soon, maybe u can try the smaller LCD sizes..which model u eyeing?

alvin

I am also planning to buy 32" LCD TV. So far the cheapest quote I got for 32" is Toshiba (Model WL46) at S$4100.00. Any more cheaper lobang?

pausini

heh,
do u know there is a philip sale coming on 11 sept at the Toa payoh philip center? WHy dun all of u go and have a look?

st_law

Frankly speaking, I doubt the Philips sale will carry the newer range. They'll probably be trying to get rid of old stocks. Even if there is, there'll be limited range as well.

I was looking at Sharp 32" G Series, but it's too expensive for me. I got a quote for JVC 32" at 4,850. Quite expensive hor?

Sigh...still a dream...

aaa

afcai, think 20" selling less than 2k..can go to places like Best denki/courts to get the price then compare with the neighbour store..

alvin, what's made u decide on Toshiba, can share it's resolution, response time as compare to the other model?

st_law, did u check out these models? can share your findings?

teebs

Hi Alvin,

The price that you got got your 32" Toshiba LCD TV is reasonable. Don't think you can get cheaper though like I said previously you could call Min Sheng to talk to Vincent and see if he can give you a better price. Previously when I asked him, he told me that 32" Toshiba LCD TV would be around 4K.

I got my 30" Sharp 30" LCD TV for under $3,800.

aaa

juz went shopping, saw Philip 32" at bestDenki, quite gd lei, they showed me channel 5 program, screen more 'square' image not too over-stretch by wide screen..appealing to eye cos' very near to CTV screen size, cheaper..but hor, make in China..

do share more info. on 32" Toshiba/JVC/Sharp/Philip if u got the info ya!

aaa

passed by another best denki and was showed that philip 32" is made in belgium! ai yo, better trust own eyes than believing in the sales rep.*haiz*

racherlle

hey batt!!
guess best denki sales rep will be getting a higher commission from the sales of the philips tv! i was actually looking at the Sharp G series today at Best Denki and was showed the philips latest model by the sales rep 2! geeeeeeee!!!!

yupp i definitely prefer the Sharp G series a lot more!!!
nice!!!

tkc2263

I was at Harvey Norman yesterday (Millenium Walk) and there is a promotion till end September. Trade in a TV (working as well as non working)minimum 21" (but you need to have these systems Pal , Ntsc and ???) and get $600 off in exchange for a 32" LCD Toshiba, before trade in at $5299.00.
I was keen but am looking to buy either a 37" or 42" plasma TV.

aaa

yo racherlle, ya, my hubby told me usually the sales rep will get more commission on those newly released model, no wonder they keep promoting Philip..

ya, ya, G series is coooool..u getting 32" as well? how u the other brands?

hi tkc2263, u prefer 'bigger' TV sets har..

racherlle

hi batt!

hmmm my heart is now with the Sharp G series! hehe..
but i'm still keeping my options open as i'm still waiting for my keys.. most prob will get them in Dec 04/Jan 05..

hmmm saw others like Panasonic, LG, but dun really like their resolution and also the appearance of their LCD tvs..
hw abt u???? any other brands to recommend?

i tink another gd brand to look at is Sony.. looks cool too!

aaa

hi racherlle,

me & hubby likes Sharp G series 32" too but the sales ppl mentioned philip more lor..I am getting it in Nov so now still got time to find more info..hee..beside these 2 brands, JVC & toshiba oso got 32"..I started this thread to find out on these 4 brands mah..kekekek

now oso comparing the smaller LCD for bedrm, considering sharp and sony too!

racherlle

hi batt!!

me too! i've actually set on the Sharp 15" LCD for my bedroom.. but wonder whether it's too small?? hmmm the 20" looks too big..

hmmm have not looked at Sony yet..
but will do soon!

aaa

yo racherlle, my sis bought 37" sharp LCD and the free gift was 15", she put it in her rm, look just nice but me prefer at least 22" in bedrm..

sony screen looks more square as compare to sharp hor..

racherlle

batt ah..
wow tat's a very gd offer!
where did ur sis bought it from and for hw much? which model is it? is it the G series?????

ya i agree 15" is too small..

dawnnie

Now they have 42" plasma LG for only $4699 (at AudioHouse near Aljunied MRT), quite a good buy, but i saw from the web that LG is one of the lousiest amg NEC, Panasonic, Sharp... So maybe U wanna consider. LG's from Korea, not too bad though.

idono

Anyone know the price tht audiohse is selling 21" LCD tv? I'm keen on one for bedroom if price is rite < $1,500

aaa

racherlle,

paisay for the late response, my sis bought her 37" from Best with promotion gift 15" LCD few months ago, it's the old model, G series just came out recently..

Hi Idono,

smaller LCD comes in 15", 17", 20" 22" &amp; 26"..didn't noticed got 21" type lei..think can get 20" less than 2K..

aaa

ai ya, no one interested in 32" LCD? any comments on 32" Philip, Toshiba, JVC and Sharp, in terms of : -

1)resolution
2)response time
3)LCD panel

freshie79

Last 2 weeks i saw a BenQ LCD i think its around 32 inch selling at <$4000. the resolution looks okay. But my FH said he wanted to get a better brand. However BenQ quite popular in Taiwan mah.
Luckily we still have till next year.. to choose.

alvin

32" LCD Toshiba (WL46) is also selling below S$4000.00 at most of the small electrical shop &amp; is value for money. U can go &amp; check it out.

aaa

hi alvin,

u gg to get toshiba? can share with me why? Philip has the back light panel can act as wall feature, quite interesting
we saw philip &amp; sharp side by side in one of the store, philip appears better resolution..

alvin

Hi Batt,

Finally bought my 32" LCD yesterday &amp; is sharp model 32G2M at S$4300.00 (With Wall Mounting Bracket). I have look around in the market:

Toshiba (WL46) &amp; Philip (9966) &amp; found that Sharp is still value for money "MY OWN VIEW"

Be'cos market selling for 32" LCD Toshiba is S$3900.0 (With Bracket), Philip 32" S$4200.00 (With Bracket). And for these 3 model, Philip is done in Belgium, Toshiba is OEM, Sharp in the leader for LCD &amp; is 100% made in Japan &amp; the prcie is almost the same.

idono

I really dunno, coz not following the price. But I tot 37" is going for $4999 in Harvey? Or was tht 32"?

But I do know for the B6M is going for $1699 now. Suddenly drop price from $2299 to $1699. Very tempting to get one for my bedroom

gigantic

halo all,

just to share some savings with you.

a friend of mine able to get better price for sony electronics goods which are of controlled- price at retail. Even BD and HN can't beat him.

if you wish email him at [email protected]

aaa

hi alvin,

I m oso a sharp supporter earlier, like it's cool outlook and best of all sharp leading pdt is LCD and they emphasize most on it's techno(so like 'gurantee' we will get the best techno). But was quite disappointed when compare it with Philip side by side, hv asked the salesman to switch both to DVD and saw image from sharp very 'fake', when on normal TV program Philip's contrast is better than sharp.

Wow, the price so near har, sharp used to be more expensive, u got a gd buy.

btw, any recc for smaller LCD?

alvin

HI Batt,

I think that philip LCD "screen" like very real but still bought sharp although the price is so near but my wife prefer wide screen LCD &amp; also the design. Btw ,I also bought a sharp 20" (B4M) at S$1300.00

aaa

yo alvin, ya lor, I guess I will be tempted too to get sharp since the price so near..

u also bought sharp for bedrm har..hee..u 'officially' became sharp support liao..hee..come in n post your feedback after using them ya!

tohdj

sharp is the world leader in LCD technology. LG and Phillips has a joint venture to make LCD panels...only their external electronics and casing are different...the internal is the same.

image wise....sharp looks good! price is cheaper at mega discount store/audio house/parasilk than at town areas

alvin

Hi Tohdj,

Thanks for yr feedback, I think for LCD, Sharp is still No: 1. Cheers to all Sharp Supporter.

tohdj

alvin,

i have a number of sharp products...from mini-hifi to plasmacluster ion air-conds. they make good products at good prices.

homeman

Hi Alvin,
ist of all congrates to you for getting the 32" at such cheap price, i am in the mist of getting a 32" either sharp or philip as well these few days, do you mind share with every1 here where you bought it, does the price also includes wall bracket and installation thks...

alvin

Hi homeman,

I bought from Min Sheng (Price includes wall bracket &amp; installation). I think he gave me a group dicount be'cos I also bought a F&amp;P frdige, KDK fan, Sharp 20" LCD from him but if u only purchase the 32" Sharp from him, he will charge u a bit more.

roooller

hi jes,
min sheng is at toa payoh.
u can call at 62564031

alvin,
i'm trying to get all my stuffs fr him too.
so that can get bulk discount.

homeman

Hi Alvin,
thk you for the quick response, let's hope he will quote me a gd price, seem like electronic prices have become very competitive nowadays.
how do you compare between sharp 32 G series n philips 32(9966)???

alvin

Hi homeman,

Both model is also the same but since the price is so close &amp; Sharp is famous for LCD so I buy Sharp lah. Also Philip is more famous for thier kitchen appliance than LCD.

aaa

yo Alvin, your 32" sharp comes with side or bottom speaker? any price diff btw the 2? me oso want to get KDK fan, hvn't find the model yet, is yr fan the standing type with remote control, how much har?

alvin

HI homeman,

The installation will be done by MS but my ID told me that he can fix it for me.

HI batt,

My 32" sharp LCD is the side speaker. In HN/BK, the side speaker is selling S$200.00 more that the bottom speaker. I think the sided speaker look better in the design &amp; is more popular in the market. For the KDK fan, I bought the new 12" fan type (Don't know what model but is the latest design with RC) at S$110.00.

aaa

yo alvin,

ya, side speaker is nice
, u ordered from MS rite? any price differ if chose side or bottom speaker? I juz saw the 12" KDK fan in BD ytd, quite cute cos it is small and don't take up much space..hee...