(2012/10) OCT 2012 BTB

myob_angie

@megal - Yeap! cant wait to see everyone's gown! so excited. Nope, I'm ot choosing any PG from sin. I'm gg kota kinabalu to do my pre wedding shoot. My PG is from KL and we'll all fly to KK and shoot. I take this as an opportunity to travel too. hehe.

You found your PG? I just went to Humble House to confirm my menu too. Almost done expect for the printing of inserts and florist. How's your progress??

megal

My PG is Moomedia. Will be flying to Perth for my photoshoot as me and my HTB met there.
memories. Hehe.

I have confirmed my menu as well. My venue is at Sentosa Resort and Spa.

I haven't even had the time to think of theme, flowers and invites! Still have an chuang and guo da Li stuff as well. Do u have to do all that?

By the way, are u girls doing up ur nails for the PG and AD? I have asked about prices and it seems quite expensive if I want diamenti on my nails!

liquidzza

Seems like there are only votes for Cartier. thank you meiqi and angie for giving your opinions! =)

@megal: wow sentosa resport and spa should be a lovely venue to have your wedding! How come you confirm your menu so fast? Thought its usually confirm during food tasting nearer to the date/ hee..when are you going to take your ps? Mine with Moomedia in sg in May12.=) for me, PS think a simpler nail design should be fine. AD then do a more bling one!

think most chinese have to do an chuang and gdl becoz of our parents. my mum wants to keep things simple, she only mention like cakes, pig trotters, alcohol..hope its as simple as it sounds! think need to find teacups and bowls for actual day..

@jumping: where's ur rom venue?

going for my 1st fit for wedding gown with TWP on 27feb, will update here!! still haven't confirm my mtm teadress n eg design...and i have been eating alot lately, dunno stress or what. but i just cant get to dieting for wedding!!oh no!>_<

megal

@liquidzza - confirm as in we decided on which menu to go with and what changes we can make to the menu. Then one more round after we do the food tasting lor.

My PG will be in early April. So only 1 more mth to go!!

But I was thinking that PS may take more photos showing the fingers? I am more inclined to have simple French for AD. Wondering if should go glittery for PS. Haha.

myob_angie

@megal - Perth is a beautiful place. I was there last year for a gd friend's wedding. Dinner was held at a restaurant near the bay with lots of yacht. Can't remember the name of the place. The sunset was breathtaking. I can't wait to see your wedding pics.

Sentosa resort and spa is it the old shangri-la? Sorry for asking such a silly Qs. I've lost touch with all the development in sentosa.

Mt theme will be red and black. That's the existing color of humble house so I just need to spend a little bit if time thinking abt the deco.

And I've yet to decide on the EG too. Headache.

I'm a sucker for beautiful nails. So I'll do up my nails for both PS and AD. Yes I agree it's expensive but it's once in a lifetime so got excuse to splurge abit. =) I agree with liquidzza, simple French nails for PS and bling bling with 3D design for AD.

@liquidzza - I was advised by my banquet manager to decide on my menu early and to schedule for early food tasting. In any case we don't like any dishes on the menu still have plenty of time to change and discusses. So I follow lor.

Yeap! You reminded me abt the tea set. Totally slipped my mind. You know of any place to buy nice tea set? I can't wait to see your gown too!!!!!

I'll only have my PS in aug. my photographer reassure me the it can be done. So I'll have a sneak peek of all your photos 1st! Hehe.

megal

@angie - was it Mathilda Bay? Yes, sunsets in Perth, in fact Australia are always very nice. I really miss Australia!

Sentosa Resort and Spa is the old Beaufort Hotel. Don't think it's Shangri-la. Don't worry, I also can't keep up with developments in Sentosa. Lol.

One of the colors of my theme will probably be pink. But I am having troubles thinking of what other colors to match it with.

I just did simple french on my toes to test how it looks like and I must say I am quite happy with the effect. Would probably go with that. What about u girls? Hmm..I gotta rethink my fingernails. I don't really like 3D though and am worried that something might come off if I am not careful.

When would ur wedding gown be ready and when do u have to decide on ur EG? Any colors in mind?

I was told at my brother's wedding that apparently the tea set is meant to be handed down to our next generation, supposedly the girls. Have u heard of that tradition?

rolrol

@ angie, PS in August? Wow! So means its possible! My PS will be in April and maybe indoor in June i think. I was thinking of pushing it back, no time to slim down. HAHA..

megal

Haha! I can't control my diet either! And PS also in April. How come your indoor and outdoor shoots are on separate times?

jenovith

@Liquidzza - do you know Oct 14 chiong which zodiac animal? i misplaced e paper whereby i wrote down with the Guo Da Li date too.. =( my mum say just do it 2 weeks before ok liao.. faintz!

rolrol

@megal.. actually I'm not very sure also leh. maybe cos I'm going krabi in april for outdoor photo shoot then come back and only take indoor in june? hmmmm...

@jenovith.. not moi, mine 27th =)

liquidzza

@JT hmm I'm not sure the date chong which animal leh. We calculate w our ba zi n a whole list of auspicious dates. Then he told us we can pick any of the dates for gdl before wedding..

@megal pink is one of my wedding color too! I'm thinking pink with grey or taupe. Can't decide dusty pink or hot pink yet..

I went for my 1st fitting for wg today. Design is not out yet so only try the fit of the dress..Cant devide if i want to add bling coz simple looks elegant in a way, bf likes it, but somehow i think it feels plain. Mine is a sweetheart tulle gown with flowers around the waust in white. Cant decide to add bling at neckline or wear a waist belt.. Hmm, my eg is dusty pink but I kinda regret coz it seems all dull for night wear but i cant change the color already.Just decided my design today for tea n evening dress. Then tea dress i choose red lace design which is loud coz I think I need some contrast color for photoshoot! .Next fitting is end march so I guess I can only pray for th best!!!

How about wedding shoes? What will you girls be buying? I have been looking at ferragamo or loubotin heels. But their heels r either too short or too tall. I don't want white heels coz I want o buy a nice pair tt I will wear again. But for ps, a lot pole say no need to wear too nice one..

@angie I saw the teasets at Chinatown but they are more or less the common ones. Actually dun think we will use them again, so it's like waste of Money hor? Do we have to buy for BFs side too? N the bowls?

megal

I bought my heels from Pazzion. Now looking for a pair to match my evening gown.
Mine's kind of silver and peep toe.

hiccup_kaiser

am pretty new to this forum and am also in the midst of planning my upcoming wedding in Sept / Oct. Does anyone have recommendations on where i can find a good deal for the following?
1) AD bridal &amp; Evening Gown rental? I do need to look for a make up artist &amp; florist for the wedding car too. not sure if it's even possible to keep all these within a budget of 1.5K.
2) Jazz Band with vocalist

thanks much in advance...

meiqi28

@Liquidzza, yup mine is cartier..
cos the design is more sleek n time-less. No offence to bvlgari lovers too. was previously deciding between these 2 brands also. i like bvlgari marry me but my bf finds the guy one too thin for him. in d end, he managed to find his like at cartier. d cartier sales person who served me is a extremely nice lady.
But do buffer time for new pieces to be order n made regardless of brands ;)

The tea pot, i read on forum, u can kip it n leave it for ur son/daughter next time. the tea pot i read is part of ur dowry. if u only buy 1 set,u muz rem to take d tea pot back frm the guy side to ur hse.

@MeGal, my heels i oso bot from Pazzion. I bot the white lace with 3D flowers by the side. Will try to wear it for photoshoot first. duno if actual day will wear cos i tink the heels not high. hehe.. i oso looking for shoes for EG. seems hard to find..

@JT, actually u can check chinese calender or dl those chinese calender app. the animal chiong is as per calender, same one
14 Oct chiong TIGER..

megal

@adeline - ur budget of 1.5k for everything is a bit tight. May be possible with 2k if u are not fussy abt your studio. Otherwise u may want to try studios in JB.

@prada - what is ur budget? My mom has also been pestering me abt guo da li stuff and I heard the package was abt $300. There is a few shops in Chinatown, bukit timah and also katong, but I haven't done my research yet.

By the way, my wedding bands are ready for collection!!! :D. But bad news is my big toe nail on my right foot cracked right in half.
and my photoshoot is in 1 month! There goes any feet shots...

jenovith

@meiqi28 - as i recalled also chiong tiger.. just wan to double confirmed.. thanks! =)

@liquidzza - no prob! ^^

@Prada &amp; Megal - i found one at Chinatown the GDL package is reasonable.. starting from $68 onwards.. of cos not inclusive of the pig trotter/cakes etc.. but got basic spec like the teaset, bedroom slippers, potty, bathtub etc.. Add: 32 New Market Road (People's Park) #02-1030.. they claim to be wholesale so selling cheaply..

my photo shoot only in May.. =( that's the only time Z'Wed can slot me in.. and my wedding band havent even buy.. cos BF thinks plenty of time.. =( can someone pls pass me a knife or something.. grrr!

megal

No knife for u JT! U still need get married! :D

Wedding bands need minimum 3 mths to order. So depends if u guys want brand new bands and whether u want them ready for ur photoshoot.

Hmm..$68 for the basic set is still reasonable. Cos not to mention, will need to put in red packets as well right? Thanks for the address though. Will go check it out.

@JT: thanks for the recommendation, will check it out. I know Soo kee, Lee hwa, need about 3 months to do any customization. Check out One Ounce at 112 Katong if you have any design in mind. Their customization takes about 3-4 weeks, i was told.

liquidzza

Hi megal, three months for Cartier to make a new pair? Actually I thought they have new pieces, y do we need to make new ones? Hee...will you all take photos of wedding band for photoshoot? Thought we will only need it on ad?

JT: my bf also never think of buying wedding bands, just that the prices have been increasing so we thought if we find one, decide already better get it soon. Hey my Gf was a zwed bride too. She didnt read fine prints, n were charged for the bridesmaid corsages at $18each after returning her gown. (usually think that corsages are provided free.)Also, she paid $500 (forfeit her deposit) coz there was a tear in her eg. They wanted her to pay $800 initially so she ask why cant they repair it, but they insisted fr contract if theres damage they have a right to claim. N when she ask if she can take the gown out to sew, they say will charge her rental fee of gown over $1000+! crazy right! she advised me to read the fine prints of bridal shop carefully. I guess we must all pay extra attention to the contract we sign!!!

megal

@liquidzza - sometimes they would have new and ready pieces, so it's all good. But if u don't, then u will probably need 3 months. My fingers are quite small (size 7) so when I inquired at any shop, they all said I needed to custom make.

I don't think we will wear our rings, but I just thought we might want to take pictures of it against a certain backdrop or something.

Wow..didn't realize z wedd had so many hidden costs? I better warn my friend who signed up for their package recently.

meiqi28

@liquidzza, my cartier rings came less than 3mths. i specially requested a new pair so tink they flown in from Paris but the salesperson did told us to buffer 3mths first. sum pple dun mind to take d pcs available in the shops. some wan to make a new pc bcos they dun wan other pple to try on the rings b4. my bf once dropped a ring when he was trying so i oso dun buy a ring that pple once dropped the ring while trying.. hehehe.. :X
if time allows, can go order. if not particular, can take available pcs in shops. own pref..

did any1 engrave on their wedding bands? my bf ring dont allow engraving but mine can. so the salesperson kip asking if i wan to engrave. but issit weird to only engrave 1 ring instead of 2?

gt another headache, i gt a quite close frenz that zodiac chiong my AD. she really cannot come to the morning ceremony? sad
any1 encounter same as me or can advise?

chino_rene

hi meiqi, my sister zodiac also chiong with my AD. but I was told that it doesnt matter. She just need to be away for that mere seconds/minutes when the bride steps into the groom's house. other that this, she can participate in all other activities =)

megal

@meiqi - I guess it depends how much u believe in it. My HTB and my Chinese zodiacs are a direct clash. My mom's zodiac and my zodiac is also a direct clash. My HTB can't exactly step out of the house when I step in right? ;)

I am thinking of engraving but my HTB is hesitant abt his handwriting. My opinion would be to engrave both if not don't engrave at all, but ultimately will be ur preference? Only thing abt engraving is that when u send ur rings back for polishing, they will also polish off the engraving, so it's really not that long lasting..

jenovith

@liquidzza: i hope my experience w them will be smooth sailing.. i got them to provide me with the free corsages for free for the jie meis wen i sign earlier.. i heard quite a few scary feedback.. but i like their gown n their photoshoot.. so that's y i sign up with them..
*keepin finger crossed*

@Prada: Thanks for the suggestion, will head down n take a look..

Have you all settled your VG also? PG i settled with Leslie Photography..

val89

Ladies, looking at your progress for prep i am kinda getting worried actually. My photoshoot is schedule is in mid June, so my first fitting is beg of June. I called the BS n they say the date is ok. Is that really so?

i haven bot any wedding shoes or such as i have not selected my gowns and so i am unsure of the style of shoes i wanna get..

megal

Hi Val, mid June's still plenty of time. Especially if your gowns are OTR.
my pre-wed PS is so early only to fit in with my HTB's semester breaks.

But just counting, we have only about 7 mths to go!! Still plenty to be done.
All the Guo da li, an chuang, dowry, etc. oh my goodness. What big headaches. Not to mention planning the honeymoon.

Where are u guys going for ur honeymoon?

@JT - my VG is also Moomedia. Package with their PS.

val89

Nice to hear that we are still on schedule! haha *phew*

J.T.: my AD is 27 Oct. Btw, i see that you are with z-wed? Me too ya!! n I am using Leslie for my PG too.. hv u confirmed ur VG?

meiqi28

@chino_rene: oh ok.. if that is the case, then it will be ok for her to be ard in the morning. Thanks!

@megal: not exactly the direct zodiac clash, its more of the day chiong what certain animal n pple born in the year shld try to avoid or stay back during certain procedures. usually that AD day chiong animal wun b the couples n parents zodiac.

I wanted to take Leslie also but my date was booked.

jenovith

@ Val: not yet.. still looking around want to keep it within budget of 2K.. shortlisted some, waiting for "lao yeh" aka bf to confirmed.. -__-!! haha.. those i like overseas one.. super duper ex.. US$4K not inclusive of airfare + accomodation.. faintz!

@Megal: I still have VG, Soleminzer, Wedding Ring pending.. Honeymoon might not be going this year.. cos my job require me to travel quite a fair bit n Oct - Dec timeframe is consider a peak period for me.. maybe a mini holiday to some beach resort first..

val89

@JT: I am using the VG that is recommended by Leslie. He quote me below 2K, that is if we keep within the 10hrs package. Some VG can be real expensive, but i think below 2K is rather reasonable ;)

megal

@JT - ya..I was also thinking of going to some beach resort. A bit broke after the wedding to go on honeymoon and my HTB can only take one wk off after the wedding because semester will start after that. So rule our Europe or the US.

liquidzza

wah!this thread is moving fast!!!ehehhe...

thanks megal and meiqi! wow, seems like both of you got NEW cartier rings. which model did u get? thought of buying in europe (think its about $200 cheaper after tax per ring). shd have got my rings earlier. think mini LOVE ring was $1200++ in dec, now its $1400++!!! omg...n i would want to engrave either our names or initial if possible, like meaningful hor?hehe..

think nowadays not many pple care about jiemei zodiac? i didnt check whose clash with mine! hehe...n most of them are married, unlike last time, pple only choose "single ladies" as jiemei right?? ehehe...

im thinking of going to a beach resort to relax after wedding too! dont have much leave coz i use up all my leave before wedding! havent decide btw Koh Samui, Bali or Maldives. Has anyone been there before or any good serene nice beach resorts to recommend?

@JT mine is like Megal, VG n PG Moomedia. =) have friends that took Leslie for PS and AD before. thinks his work is not bad! =)

megal

@liquidzza - no, I didn't get Cartier! Haha, I wanted comfort fit but the salesgirl told me they didn't have it. We ended getting ours from Goldheart. The Celestial Blue collection. Ya, apparently gold prices are going crazy, that's why we decided to buy ours before Christmas.

I was thinking of going Maldives but we are still deciding if it's worth the money. Koh samui and Bali will definitely be cheaper. Haven't done my research, so not much to share. Maybe look at Club Med?

When is ur AD again?

jenovith

@ Megal &amp; Liquidzza: hahaha.. i was thinkin of Koh Samui/Bali too.. LOL!! Scarley we all meet there.. whahaha! but i thinkin of Koh Samui cos never been before n heard like not bad.. Maldives got promo at ClubMed, 2 person at $3.7K without airfare but min.4 nights, dunno the promo still have bo.. is call (2nd adult stay free) or something..

@ Val: did you took Wai? cos that day wen i ask him he say he's slot taken up le.. keke..

@ Prada: i saw some reasonably priced wedding bedsheets at OG Orchard...

omg.. i feel like a auntie now lor.. best bargain.. haha!!!!

liquidzza

hee..how jp? when do we contact the jp? any jp in mind? i emailed dr phua but he cant confirm until much later n even ask mi to look for other jp 1st...

val89

@JT: Yup i took up ah Wai's services. Leslie recommended me 2 VG, and i think Wai's work is rather good so I decided to quickly book him liao!

@Liquidzza: You can contact your preferred JP first to block out their time slot, but to really confirm we can only register online 3 mths before AD.

jenovith

hey girls.. is like too early to informed your colleagues that they are invited to the wedding like 7 mths before the wedding? was thinkin of just sending a S+ to block their time only.. scared ppl say i kaisu.. or should i just do it like in May?

megal

@JT - I have sent my save the dates out. But only to friends who are based overseas so they can start planning flights. The local friends I have mentioned but never do anything "official". But I am not inviting colleagues because we want a small intimate wedding.

It would be hilarious if we all met there! Haha.

I am on my way to Chinatown. Maybe I'll go OG to kaypoh. Hee.

myob_angie

@ megal - yes its Matilda bay. You planning to shoot there? I'm also not inviting my colleagues. Easier I guess. Scared later invite this and miss out that. Problem. Yeap I'm also gg to send out save the date though FB. My future in-laws says dont give invitation too early. Later ppl forget. Haha.

@ Val - hi val, my AD on 27 oct too. =)

@ liquidzza - have decide on your EG and teadress? I've only decide on the color cobalt blue but not the design. Sigh! Can't seem to make up my mind. Hehe.

I've got this MUA contact to share. Her name is Wei Xuan. Last week my fiance's brother got married and She did makeup for my future MIL and two future SIL. She also provide hair accessories and her charges quite reasonable $60 per person. FOC eye lash and she doesn't use ampoules. She take close to 1-1.5 hrs per person cause she take a great deal of time applying foundation and concealing the freckles and dark eye circle. Here's her no. 82825219. I think she has a FB page.

I'm not using any VG so my montage will only be pics and some short clips from my PG's.

liquidzza

@JT: hee, im so ks, ive sent a fb invite to my fb friends already. just to let them "know". but out of 130 pple, only 40 confirm they are going, the rest havent confirm due to nature of our job (crew friends)

@Angie low, hi ive decided onmy eg n teadress already. fitting in end match, its such a headache to decide the color, design, material and etc right! i can totally understand how you feel!!! which bs and when have you gotta confirm your design? till now i still worry if my gowns will turn out nice. i chose dusty pink for eg, and a bold red lace for tea!red is very unlike me, but i thought just want to have a contrasting gown, n red seems appropriate for tea since im not wearing kua..topped up $200 for the lace =(

@Angie: for mil i saw from fb btb they recommended shirley tan makeup atelier and i just emailed her for quotation. her works seems good tooo!think its $80 if im not wrong..

@val: have you heard of any jps recommended??

xinhui

Im new to this thread. My wedding is on the 14 Oct. My friends n all hv been asking me abt my prep for my wedding but i didnt seem to hv done anything else so far. Hv chosen my venue n gowns. WIll be taking my photos in Apr. Any idea what else i hv to do now or is there a timeline to have things completed. Thanx for ur advise

megal

Hi xinhui, welcome!! I don't think there is a specific timeline, but just whether what u would like sorted earlier rather than later.

A few things that a few of us have been talking abt were wedding bands, AD PG and VG, honeymoon, Guo da li. But I think most of us are up to where u are too.

xinhui

Hi Megal,

Thanx for the info. I hv actually sorted out my AD PG n VG as well. Juz that my friends are kinda asking me so i muz be very busy w my prep right now n I'm like not doing anything actually :p