(2005) Brides of year 2005

Hi meh meh...
How much is a CS? Material and pattern need to supply ourselves?? Thinking of getting a CS for next yr CNY haha, a bit KS hor.

Hi Ladies..
I am back from my wedding. Miss all of you..heheee..

My wedding went on very well. Thanks for all the congratulatory messages. My jiemeis reached as early as 6.30am for the tekan session. I was so excited the night before that I slept for only about 2 hours. On my actual day, I was very tired but managed to pull through. My jiemeis and xiongdi are really very very solid. The day went on so well with their help. My guests, about 90% reach very punctually that by 8pm, almost everyone were here. My attendance was like 98%. Very good turnup and both videographer and photographer were so amazed. In fact, we had to open the ballroom doors at 7.25pm cos the reception area was getting crowded.

We finished taking photos for all 34 tables within one course. Hahahha, they were super fast in the table arrangement cos we only started taking photos at abt 10.15am...I had the time to miggle with my guests, etc. I was suppose to change to my final send off dress but i gave that up so that I can talk to my guests.
My jiemeis and xingdios had a plesant surprise for me which my videographer said he will show me when he finish doing the video edit. I think they did a short clip for me. Hehhe..

Some tips for remaining brides to be...hehhee..
1)Pack your stuff in advance. Those to bring to hotel, to parents home, for tea ceremony, pack them in advance.

2) Prepare handiplast for blisters

3) Do not try new face masks unless you have used them before to prevent bad bareak-outs. Your skin might not be able to take it.

4) Eat something when you reach the hotel. You will feel very hungry. I almost wanted to faint during my first march-in as I am too hungry

5) I didnt do any last min table arrangement even though some told me that they cant come. I just leave things as it is..

6) I was down at the reception at 6.30am and did the whole rehersal with my hubby in my wedding gown. I stayed at the reception table whole night till 8pm to help mark attendance and welcomemy friends.

7) We engage a professional emcee which made a very huge difference. The whole atmosphere was literally light up by him.

8) Both me and hubby gave a thank you speech, 3 mins each. Hehhehee..All brides hsould try to thank the guests. I almost cried when giving the speech...

9) I got a pleasant surprise..hehehe..i got 4 pageboys and 2 flower gals..Initially, i plan only for 4 but last minute, my hubby sister arrange for 2 mor ekids. Hehhehe..

I am so glad that everything went very very well. A lot of ppl came to me and said that the food was good and it was one of the few good weddings they attended. I am sorry if i sound boastful. I am simply overjoyed.

All brides to be, dont't worry. Everything will turn on fine. Just remember to delegate and dont stress yrself.

Jtan,

i think its that shop lah.....cant remember the name but if there is an auntie who talk non stop then i guess its that one liao....heehhee....

Joline ,
ur that ice cube method also not a bad idea......prob will try it but normally i will take the drink at normal temp leh...not cold...scare my stomach cannot take it

Jelly,
eh...teochew xi bing is not like the dao sa bia lah...i also no know how to descrble leh....some of them got peanut sticking on the biscuits one....i no like cos its very sweet.....

Harlow Josl

CS's price wld depend on length & material used. If it's easy materials, ie no need to remove beads then sew on again, then no additional charges. Short at $100 & long at ard $150... Design u can more or less explain to her & she wld draw it out, then u modify fr what she has drawn. Most ppl go for halter to give it the modern twist, but a normal one with high slits & cap sleeves can be beautiful too!

Oh CNY ah? Gdgd, I made my purplish pink CS for CNY too.. I think I went in Dec last year for this yr's CNY. CS is nice, while can still show curves better show leh.. Hahah! Anyway wld be nice to wear at functions or weddings too

Have fun sourcing ur own material! She wld recommend which shops at Arab street to go to.. Bobby's for Thai & Indian silk, if u mention Kim's name, u usually get a better price. Another shop is Gim Joo, which has more variety - organza, shantung silk, cotton, satin etcetc.. Prices r really good at these 2

Hi Meh meh,
aiya next yr CNY gotta give ang pow liao hee, havent wore a CS before leh. I dun really know how to choose CS material...
Think i like to have halter neck/bareback kind.

Its quite cheap $100 but i think add the material abt $200 liao.

How Zoeanne wanna go make ar, when ?? Me go and see with u leh then we can go find CS material.

Hi meh
U are really experience. Kim said i can follow her to choose material at July. My mum too, dun know what design....going to ask Kim for some recommendation....Gal, i ask u hor.. roughly for a long CS's cloth, using satin and organza plus beadings, how much will it cost on material? I wanna see how much will be my CS cost..

Hi josl
I am meeting Kim next week on monday lor...at her place.. then we will discuss the design.. i already had some design in mind...As for my mum one, haiz... she dun know what to wan leh... :P

Can Can, we can go together... But hor, u so fast wanna make CNY CS ah??

Josl:

Materials wun & shdn't set u back by another $100, unless u're thinking of heavily embroidered, beaded & sequined thai/indian silk, high quality organza & silk chiffon.

I chose polyester shantung silk for my purplish CS & Indian silk for my gold CS top.

Some ppl wld combine satin (as lining) & then have embroidered & beaded organza/lace on the outside. Beautiful! Kim has done a no. like this

She can def do up ur halter-neck with bareback.. But she wld advice not too low, coz not for wedding oredi, prob till abt mid of the back. Both my CSs are like tt..

There was one customer who this: (Thanks Marilyn!)
293159.jpg
293160.jpg

Harlow Zoeanne

Satin is quite cheap.. Prob no more than $10 for a long CS. Esp if u go with Kim, she shd know the proprietors to get a better rate.

There are various grades of organza.. Silk organza is def more exp than others. If have beadings wld def be more exp than plain & embroidered. Hmm.. but I dun think it should cost more than $50 leh for the type you're looking for. Alternatively when u go down with Kim, specify your budget & then she can help you search accordingly..

I just went Arab street last week, my mum bought silk chiffon with beadings to make a long gown for my AD. Cost ard $60/m after we mentioned Kim's name.. Heehee. Kim says need only 2+1/4m, but the proprietor threw in another 1/4m...

If u go with Kim, she will help you negotiate a gd price..

If I'm not wrong, I think ur design also a very short CS yah?

My experience comes with finding out thru SB forum & having made 2 CSs with her.. Heehee

hi jelly,
ohhhhh.....*paiseh paiseh* misundrestood

yep yep, ice-cubes i got do frequently. usually drink water with ice. weather soooooo hot
i've tried manna b4 -- felt was nice. neo -- only heard good comments about it.

hi cu2nite,
yah! it's HW brides mag where i saw that SG got those xi candles!

hi MehMeh,
another lobang for printers is isuccess. sorrie, i not too sure where they're located. but heard from another BTB that they offer good prices for printing.
printers which i'd enquired before were tdragon, tec-man and some others..

Hi MikMik

I also heard abt I-Sucess, but I think FH quite keen to try the source Zoeanne has. Coz our church invites are above our budget, so gotta cut elsewhere leh...

Zoeanne: Sorry ah, can you tell me where the printer in City Square is again.. Def no prob in getting to City Sq, but need to be sure of the printer's location.. Paiseh ah

vela
paris is my second stop so u can imagine i have to carry the bags all the way for more than 2 weeks.

heehee...not sure leh...i think they even launched in USA already before here. i really like one of the small denim bag. very tempted to buy.

true that damier canvas is better than epi, at least it's scratch-proof...heehee. yup...bought black epi. other colour epi gets discoloured and dirty very easily.

actually i didn't see anything i really like from gucci, the one i like no longer in stock. but me bu4 gan1 yuan4 so die die must buy something from gucci...hahaha...and there goes another S$1K for the bag...hahahaha

hubby already staring at me when i stepped into the gucci shop esp after i got 2 from LV already...

did u go to tuscany in italy? it's really nice? the wineries....going for wine tasting surrounded by vast beautiful hills. fantastic.

yo ger... wow church wedding got so much stuff to prepare hur... me so relax leh... 2+mths away still like tat... kekeke

hmm... i also duno wat songs i like leh... cos i seldom list to songs leh... how... maybe u recommend me those nice and smoothing one lor... i was thinking of a faster song for 2nd march in... u got any...

ashie - wah.. u sound really busy.. always must YELL then u come in.. hahahah

winnie - all the best for ur PS!! yup, do go down to TC to take a look.. rick and don are very nice and chatty.. personally i prefer rick.. he's the slightly quieter of the 2.. hee.. u can ask to see my gowns.. they're there with them.. u noe my name rite?? for the flowers, i prefer the middle one too. not considered ex i think coz my florist told me she charges ard 100 usu for hand bouquets.. =)

berry - nah, derrick not in australia.. my mistake.. haha.. he gg next mth.. just spoke to him just now.. he says my fotos ready for viewing soon.. most likely next week.. quite excited.. but a bit nervous also.. hee.. he say got many nice pics.. but i really wonder if he's just trying to be nice coz me n fh quite wooden.. hahahah

caitlyn
thanks.. definitely if u gals have time for me..

winnie
thanks.. i'm handling well.. in fact keeping myself relatively busy and enriching.. =)

yo cu... will update u again... tell me sis liao... pray tat she can find it lor...

yo joline... how much u do for ur AP... nice nice leh... but i budget so not gog to print...

yo meh... tell them lah...why cant.... anyless they tell u the insert is FOC lor...

yo jnj... agaragar i know wat... but i like dao sao bin type... not the peanut type leh

yo cu... will update u again... tell me sis liao... pray tat she can find it lor...

yo joline... how much u do for ur AP... nice nice leh... but i budget so not gog to print...

yo meh... tell them lah...why cant.... anyless they tell u the insert is FOC lor...

yo jnj... agaragar i know wat... but i like dao sao bin type... not the peanut type leh

Hi all brides to be,

I was browsing thru the latest bridal magazine, anyone know of a shop named " The perfect wedding" cos i saw some ideal gifts which can be given out to the guests. My restaurant (Dragon Gate) will only be giving out chocolates.

Pls advise

Helen,

These prices are from Nails Art By Serene.
I find that their prices are still alright. Went to CCK Lot 1 as there is shop there but hubby said the staff dun seem professional enough. I probably choose between Nails Art or Bliss.

How abt u, excited abt ur PS?

My hse reno finally completed. They just mounted the solid top. I am quite happy with the overall result of my hse though is not 100% perfect.
Tml they will do some paint touch up. So excited to share the pics with all of u, still in the midst of editing them. But my furniture will only come end of July.

hi hi mehmeh..
sorry for the late reply...oh, i meant when u go down to t-dragon to collect ur cards, u can also at the same time check out their designs & also the pricing if u want lah..to be frank, i m not sure abt the charges..but if u r keen, u may tell the lasy boss u r my friend (wendy who's getting married this oct 2 at Raffles the Plaza)..hopefully u can get more exclusive rates for the printing..actually, t-dragon owns the printing co too..it's like t-dragon is a subsidary of the prining co...if not, maybe u an also take jelly's suggestion on the printers..oh ya, btw, can i check with u how long did u take to select ur PS photographs? i m not sure if u know that YC took ur photos as their sample for their customers..i went down to check something with my co-ordinator & saw ur sample..i m very very impressed...the photographer said that ur ps was the most unique one so far..so congrats to ur sucess on the homework u have done for the locations..

hi hi janice..
thks for the info on the teochew bing shop...thks!

hi hi joline..
thks for the tips on the lemon juice ice cube..thks!

hi hi cu2nite..
very nice to hear from u..how's the wedding preps at ur end? have u meet up with the printers or the flosist? care to share more with me? hope to hear from u..cheers~

hi hi selphie..
welcome to the thread! hope to hear from u more often..cheers~

hi hi renee..
nice to hear that u r thinking of gg to changi beach..i guess it will be very beautiful for u..hope to hear from u abt this,k? soo excited for u..heehee...do share with me the photos of ur new house,k? cheers~

Hi mehmeh,

think i like the one that u did u purplish that kinda pattern loh.

Hi Zoeanne,
i dun mind gg down and juz see wat she can offer loh, coz its near my hse also mah.At least got somebody with me better dun like to go alone Me stay at simei.

Hi meh meh,
if u want the printing, the one i did can do $70 for 200 pieces

My PS change to 8th July le~

Irene..
yes..for PS is very common for the guy to wear a normal shirt when the lady wears Kua(dat wat i see in most of my frenz de album lar)or even during the dinner if u have the time to change b4 thxing the guest for coming lor.

deardear,
u go chinatown those shop dat sell wedding stuff..they will noe wat u must buy for wat dialect. i heard from my frenz some shop even offer u a ALL IN 1 package! haha.. as for pyjamas hor..try to buy those button or bathrobe pattern cos most likely u be wearing it when makeup..so is more easy to take off n change lar.

i juz bought a very tradition bathrobe at chinatown with the "shang xi" but sad to say kanna chop lar..cos i dunno how to bargain..n den later when walk to the market, there sell much cheaper! sad =~~

wonder if i'm too chatty? =p

Hi Angela,

Thanks for the welcome

AD: 5th Oct 2005
Dinner Venue: CONRAD
Church/Solemnisation: Christ the King
BS: Yvonne Creative
PS Photo: Yvonne Creative
AD Photo: TBC
AD Video: TBC
Lovenest: TBC

Hi ladies good morning!!

SK2, glad to hear from you, take good care!

Caityln, thanks for the vote on the flowers. will ask my BS wat kind of flowers they provide, if not nice one i will get one myself.

Fitting on Sunday!! then will choose my PS gowns!!

Hi Gals. Urgently looking for sample emcee speeches. Only have the ones for Pan Pac but my emcees are inexperienced and i hope to give them more references. Thanks!!

Hi PPP,
your favor nice ya....you are pretty fast with your wedding favors.

Hi cutemiffy.. have u shortlisted the BS that you like? Advise is to settle soon so that you can rest ur mind at piece for that section... :-)

Hi MehMeh,

:-)
yep, true. some area has to give or take depending on budget. that's why i chose to DIY.
hope you can settle your invites soon.

Zoeanne, Can you please help me out here? I am very budget tight now and hope to bring cards to print in JB. Can you tell me which shop and exactly where the shop is located?
Gals,do we have to store the marble cakes in the fridge if we collect the night before GDL?
Any idea that Holiday Plaza sells GDL stuff, as I heard someone tell me that they do carry a lot of GDL stuff.
Can anyone advise, cos I am leaving Singapore early Sep for some compulsory stuff and returning only a day b4 my wedding which is on the 18th of Sep.

hi hi chewgal..
it's very nice to know that u r a YC bride too...can i also know who's ur co-ordinator?have u gone for ur PS?share more with me..thks!

Hi mehmeh
Thanks for the pics and explaination.
Yeah. I am doing something like what Marilyn did but mine is a LONG CS this time...with appliques and beading.. I trust Kim can do it well for me..since i saw Marilyn and you wore such pretty CS.....Nice...!!

Hi Josl...
I am going to Kim place at not later than 6:30pm in the evening. I knock off at 5pm , then go straight with my mum. Then we gonna follow her to choose material at july. Not sure when yet. will need to ask Kim lor. Update you when i know the schedule for meeting her...

I go home to get the address n website at Citysquare.

Just highlight what i am doing b4 the gals get too high expectation. I am just doing inserts with normal gold print ( not hot stamping) on normal paper inserts. 200 copies at SGD$40.00 ..

Gals who want to print it there, it is much better to call them and ask. I brought my invitation card to the shop, to fit the size of the inserts. They quote me different price to different inserts size ( FOR HOT STAMPING) ... For Normal printing, there is no need to compare the size of the inserts. ( Hope i dun make everyone blur)

Thanks Serene!!

Gals, I feel very stressed today. One of my emcee pulled out last minute. And I didn't want to force her lar. Gave up liao
Now left the poor guy who has no experience in emceeing at all. Feel disappointed in my gal friend and she is one of my jie meis.

Yesterday just had arguments with family over table arrangements. And my honeymoon accomodations not settled also. And my work is packed all the way to my wedding. Urrgghhh!!!

hi adeline

mine is 4 rm.... on the 6th floor......
i have collected the keys already.... wld be submitting the defects list to hdb soon... after the rectifications, then can start reno part...but so far no satisfactory quotes from contractor yet.....hmm

u got any recommendations?? which contractor did up ur hse??

hi ladies...now i'm having headache over the traditions...anyone follow hakka tradition? any idea how to go about the suckling pig. on the third day of the wedding, i'm to return to my mum's place with a suckling pig, from what she says...she will return the centre part (body), keeping the head and legs/tail. This is the tradition to show that the bride is a virgin..but what my mother in law understand is for my mum to return the head and legs, it means 'you tou, you wei' now there's a little conflict..and i hope to know which is the correct one...appreciate if anyone can help me..thanks...
293221.gif

touraco,

ya lor, I know, tough packing. I hated packing and hb does it throughout the trip.

hehehe..me also like the small denim, not the 'retro' 1 rite?

kekeke..heng heng, u already know abt epi, one of my piece suffered lor..

er...gucci getting too popular in Sgp liao probably it is more affordable.

hehehe..my hb very encouraging lei, he say buy whatever u like cos' u also gg to buy it in Sgp, what not buy now to enjoy the tax refund...kekekeke..did u see prada? is the price good in Italy?

We missed the Tuscany wineries because we spend time travel south along Bay of Naples to sorrento popular hilltop Italian resort to stay. We saw the wine-covered Romani hill, it is beautiful and we captured the sun set too
, a lot of bikini ladies along the beaches, think the guys eyes almost pop out cos' some topless too...kekekeke...

sk2 - of coz have time.. most of us now at the shaking legs n waiting for things to happen stage.. hee

winnie - so exciting!! hee.. can understand the excitement u feeling now man!!

just an updte.. after a gruelling week, i've managed to complete my wedding guest book and ang bao box.. took me a much longer time then anticipated!! haha

Hi Tougei,

Have sent to you!

Relax....I am sure things will fall in place on your big day

Hi Cinderella,
I don't know if Hakka and Cantonese tradition is the same. But for Cantonese, we have to bring a roast pig (not suckling pig) to my mother's place on the 3rd day after AD (but now it's simplified, will bring on the 2nd trip to my house on AD) and my mum or aunt will cut the pig and return to my MIL the pig's head + tail portion with a pants for my hubby.

hi ladies, i'm back to work liao... so sianz.
lots of work to clear.. now trying to get into the working mode.

Winnie, i also vote for bouquet 2. btw, will u be going for mani & pedicure before the PS?

Ladies, need some advise here... do u think i should do nail art or french manicure for PS?
I can't decide which one to do leh.

wah caitlyn, u did your own guest book as well! any pics to show us your work?