WASHING MACHINE-which brand is good?

jchee

Hi, what do you think of LG Direct Drive machines.

Salesman from HN told me it is made in Korea and I assume it is better quality than the one made in Thailand and China.

The spec is quite good, 400-1400rpm, excellent water consumption rating by PUB and 2 years warranty (10yrs for motor)... etc..

Any comment on the machine?

I saw this in HN, selling for 899. However, saw from other forum that this machine was sold for 850 in Jan-07. So not too sure if 899 is a good deal. Any comment?

landy_jean

Hi, i'm interested in getting a Brandt washer WFH08771A and dryer EFM102K . I was told by the salesman that the knob to open the door spoils easily and if it spoils, its not repairable.

Is this true?

the salesmen (from Co*urts) mentioned bosch and whirlpool are better brands for washer and dryer. How true is this??

Please enlighten me. thanks

jchee

Hi, do you guys/girls mind posting the performance of your LG direct drive washer? WD-14361 is one of my shortlisted washer.

I have read very bad reviews on LG washer from below web site. Most complaints is about noise and mold growing inside the machine (caused by excessive detergent??)

www.lgelectronicsconsumercomplaints.com

plasterbride

I am also looking for a washer

Capacity :
I need to wash a King size bedsheet/qulit) ...
is 7.5kg enough ? or need to have at least 8-8.5kg ?

front / top loader :
Front loader preferred

budget:
$1.5K

Function :
warm / cold water
timer function
able to wash delicate items / handwash
water saving
spin dry function if possible

Direct motor if possible
--> advantages for this is because it's more silent and long-lasting due to the belt ???

any brands to recommend ??

a few of my frenz bought fisher & paykel
any comments ??

I read the recent posts, seems like much discussed brands are brandt, electrolux, bosch
what about other brands like Samsung ??

Hi plasterbride,

For Bed sheets, a 5-6kg will do. However, the norm now is a 7KG machine.

Your budget of 1.5k is a ideal range. All the machines( front loader) with your budget will definitely have al the fucntions which you are requesting.

I must inform you that drive drive motor is more silent for sure. However, pls bear in mind that the supporting cast for direct drive is not as strong as those using belt. In the event that it breaks down, you are definitely gonna pay at least 3 times the price compared to the belting ones.

The brands to watch out for would be Electrolux,Bosch and Brandt. These are the top 3 local players in the our Asian Market.

Fisher and paykel is an altogether different kind of machine. They are similar to the ones manufacture by the Jap.

Most of the front loaders produced by Samsung and LG are produced in CHINA. Only the direct drives one from LG are made in Korea. Samsung has only 1 washer cum dryer that is made in Korea.

What i would suggest is you should start visiting malls/shops to shortlist your preferred machine before the people here can give you some info on your selection.

rong

Hi, I've noticed that the door hinge of Bosch is quite thick and sturdy compared to other brands like electrolux and brandt. Does this mean that the door will wear out and more difficult to close over time (miss alignment) for the thinner hinge brands?

twt, you've mentioned before that the body of electrolux is not hollow and more solid compared to bosch. How does this make a difference in terms of performance?

Solid body = more robust/stability....

Solid body = big tree
Hollow body = small tree....
When a strong gust of wind blows, guess what might and will happen...

Some of us here might have experience machine trembling like xxxx or even saw the machine dancing around the kitchen to understand what i meant.

Just another input... Nothing to do with thick or thin door hinges... You have to check the material of the door hinge.. Plastic is a definite no-no. Just look at the production from Bosch machines made in Germany( Model WAS 24441, WAS 28441 or was 32791) and compared Bosch machines made in Thailand( WAE 12060/WAE16060/WAE18060/WAE20260/WAE24460/WAE12165) and you can also get what i mean.

You might also want to test the hollow and solid body on the Bosch machine.. ( Thailand and German make and you can get what i mean)

good luck in your choice of machine and do keep us updated on your decision making.

rong

Thank you twt for your prompt reply! I'll take note of that and knock knock the WM body to test.
Now I'm more inclined to electrolux.

krach

Hi! I am interested in Whirlpool washer - AW041608. It uses <50L water, 6th sense control (selects lowest water/energy/temperature and shortest time) and it has both 60min and 30 min wash cycle. So far, no one mention any whirlpool WM, any comment? How is Fisher &amp; Paykel dryer - ED56? I am aiming to buy washer and dryer within the next 2 weeks... Thanks!

Hi Krach,

Let me share with you my fair share of knowledge on WP machines.

AWO41608 - Made in China.
In my personl opinion, this is the most crucial part when selecting a WM. China made machine are known to be one of the worst when preparing QUALITY CONTROL.

As for water level, 50Litres is gd. However, there are better ones being sold in the market. The same goes for the 60 mins and 30 mins wash. There are also better ones in the market as well.

6th sense control may sound something new. To put it in layman terms, it i all about water level control.... eg: You put in 2 kg worth of clothes,it will give you load detection. To sum it up. this is marketing strategy. Make the term seems nice that all. Most machines have it.

As for dryer, i would think the main reason for purchase of this dryer is just for low electricity consumption. But all this would come up to zero when you take a look at the drum. The dryer come with far too little holes which determines how fast your clothes actually dry up.

To sum it up, i would put it as not a wise choice. My suggestion is that you pay little more and opt for ELECTROLUX or BRANDT.

All in all, not a wise choice and also you are gonna pay something which is near Thai or Europe quality.

No offence intended. Gd luck in your choice of machines

krach

Thanks twt! My first time buying both WM and dryer. :p Going to start my "hunting exercise" again this weekend.

gab04

My topload washer is making those "squeaking" sound whenever the tub is rotating but still managed to complete the whole cleaning cycle.
It will also squeak when it is not fully loaded.
Any idea what is wrong with it? Is it worth repairing?
Pls help..

TIA
gab04

"Squeaking" sound could be the result of overloading or underloading. Another possiblity would be that the abilty to balance the load has been lost as the support cast is aldy 'dieing' due to 'old age'.

Repairing any machine in my opinion is never a solution, especially the Jap top load as it will never be cheap ( unless less then $100/-).

My personal suggestion is either you get the BRAND's technician to check it out ( pay transport fee) or simply just use it until it passes away or purchase a new one.

Hope that helps.

jmi

I'm getting a washer for the first time. Have more or less shortlisted down to 3 models.

1. Bosch WAS24441ME
2. Brandt WFH 10771A
3. Electrolux EWF1098

I'm not quite sure which is a better machine and if if I should get a 7kg or 8kg. (I can't wash my king-size comforter in the 8kg can I).

Any advise?

bb_queen

Has anyone used Brandt WFH08771A before? Would this be better than an equivalent Electrolux WM? Now deciding btw the 2. Thanks.

Hi Jmi,

Bosch was24441me
Made in Germany
8kg 1400 rpm
Near replica of Miele honeycombdrum
Rating AA
80litres of water usage

Brandt wfh 10771a
Made in Turkey
7kg 1000rpm
Normal drum
A+A rating
49 litres of water
OptiA 45 mins

Electrolux EWF 1098
8kg 1000rpm( if i dont remember wrongly)
Normal drum with jet spray
AA rating
59 litres of water
Ag ion ( if i dont remember wrongly)

7kg or 8kg to me doesnt make much difference. 1kg difference is only worth a pair of jeans

Comparing ll three models, the one that does not stand out would be the GERMAN bosch model. Bosch machines does not have water level control except WAS 32791( 8kg 1600 rpm). That would put it at a distinct disadvantage as the remaining 2 models have the water level control.

The replica drum by Bosch German machines are alo poorly built( in my personal opinion).The small portholes are definitely too rough to my liking. If i were to purcahse the Geran model, i would rather purchase Miele machine which is the W564 model currently retailing at $1788/-.

Nothing much to say about EWF1098 as it is not as appealing. However, any Electrolux machine is definitely worth consideration. The jet spray system is a pull factor and the Ag+( or fresh plus) is a new technology which coes from Sharp top loaders.

WFH 10771A advantage is that it has a OptiA45 mins wash, A+ rating ( which is 10% more energy efficient then any A rated washer). Other then that, the water usage should also put it in good contention.

Comforters are a strict nono even for 8kg machines.

All in all, take either the EWF 1098 or wfh 10771a

jmi

Hi twt,

Thanks for your advise. It certainly make my decision a whole load easier. I'm more inclined towards the Brandt now

mitzi

Hi TWT, am sourcing for a WM for my new home but have no idea which to get!! Which is better? top loading or front loading? there is one more kind for consideration, but dunno hw to describe? But it actually tumbles in a different direction and seems to protect clothes better? But of cos $$ cost more too

I am only looking at washing for me and hubby's clothes, budget ard $800 or so...Can advise which is better please? thanks in adv :)

kjustina81

they say front load saves water .. but then the machine washed for 1hr .. so i hv no idea how true that is ...

but the electrolux washer n dryer i bought were quite good (1st wash &amp; dry) after reading thru the manuals (like studying for exams) managed to wash &amp; dry 1 load of clothes .. haaha ... might be cos its a new machine that's why so smooth .. *touch wood*

mitzi

but i no need dryer..thus looking for only washer loh...no idea which one better leh..if save water but more electricity also no point. Now headache...

Aircon also another headache!

Mitzi,

My suggestion for you is to get a FRONT LOADER washing machine.... I would suggestion you take a walk at any of the shopping malls selling electrical appliances and hearing from the salesperson themselves before you shortlist any washers.

From then onwards, i would be able to give you some suggestions on your preferred choice of WM.

mitzi

Ya ya...I will...thanks TWT

Also, got 1 sales guy told me front loading basically uses more Electricity, lesser Water..

Top loading uses more Water, lesser Electricity..

True mah?

Emmm... true but to certain extent.

Lets say if you use only cold wash, then not true but if you use hot wash, then the electricity consumption goes up.

As for water usage, the top loaders uses almost 2-3 times more then the front loaders

WAE 20260SG..

(Main talking point)
Made in Thailand
VARIABLE SPEED up to 1000rpm
15MINS refershening of cloths
"Plastic catch"
Fully stainless steel drum

Perhaps you might want to try taking the BOSCH GERMAN MADE model WAS 24441.

jmi

Hi twt,

You mentioned comforters are no-no even for 8kg. How about quilt cover?

Can a 7kg washer wash a king-size quilt cover?

henrywoo1978

So in an event where the WM cannot wash the comforters, so are you all using hand wash methods instead. Sorry to ask such stupid Q.

jmi

Hi twt,

Thanks! Good to know I will be able to wash king-sized quilt cover with the Brandt WFH 10771A.

rong

Hi twt,

I'm comparing between Eletrolux EWF1084 and Bosch WAE18060. Don't know which one to get. Any recommendations?

Hi Meirong,

EWF 1084
Exclusive model for HN.
Made in Thailand
7kg 1000rpm
variable spin speed
Metal catch
Stainless steel with "plastic" tub
59 litrs of water
AA rating

WAE 18060
Made in Thailand
FIX 900 RPM
55 litres of water
AA rating
Plastic catch
Fully stainles steel tub

This is just my personal opinion.......
The electrolux washer stands out. A thumbs down for the bosch washer

The variable spin speed is one of the deciding factors as it will genuinely take care of my clothings. Moreover, the plastic tub improves scrubbing effect and of course, the plastic catch to the door gives me an eerie feeling as i have seen for myself how frustrating it can be when the plastic catch actually broke.

bb_queen

Ridz and TWT

Am I right to say that of similar WMs from Bosch, Electrolux and Brandt, you would rank

1. Electrolux/Brandt
2. Bosch

ridhwan82

not true in its entirety.

Cos cos the make is the same both from thailand for electrolux and bosch. But typically bosch prices are a tad ex considering the features like rpm etc that they have as compared to electrolux.

and brandt comes across as the most value for money for its features.

IF only the bosch has a slightly lower specs (like now) BUT MADE IN GERMANY then i would take bosch over the other 2. but cos its made in thailand and price vs features becomes questionalble esp when ranked with similar or better featured electrolux and brandt for example. yeah?

BB queen,

Different opinions, different views.

In my personal opinion, the lower range of washer still goes to Electrolux as the priority, but the mid and higher range will definitely goes to Brandt.

However,it does not meant that Brandt's machine is good, but it is just that it has continual growth or improvement. Gone are the days when you can say that Electrolux washer will last you at least 10 yrs (if you get what i meant).

Although i used to be a die hard electrolux WM fans,but this is a truth which i have to admit.

bb_queen

TWT and Ridz

I was totally confused coz when I visited the stores, different stores recommend different brands. (maybe of the higher commission they receive from that particular brands). Can you believe that the 5 stores I went to each recommend different brands?

Electrolux seems good but I think it doesn't have the quick wash feature and also it uses 59 litres water for a 7kg WM - 10 litres higher than Brandt and Bosch. I like Brandt wfh 10771a actually but don't quite like the door (the thing to press on top). Comparatively doors of Bosch WAE 20260SG seems more "solid" but this is more expensive though it's made in Thailand.

My choice is between these 2.

If only buying WM is as easy as deciding what to eat for lunch......I wonder how come u guys have so much interest in WMs :p

BB queen,

I think you got your info wrongly.... Electrolux machine comes with quick wash functions.It is renamed as Quick 30.

Erm.... WAE 20260 is using 55 litres of water.

You dont have to wonder. I was previously working as a sales person at those neighbourhood shops and departmental stores but gone are the days when electric city, SAFE Superstore are opened for business. Now all these retailers are taken over by HN,BEST,COURTS.

ridhwan82

yeah i know its every confusing..

As for me im just a regular teacher who just believes that i shouldnt believe everything the salesman say until its proven.

And i alwasy want to have the best for my family at a reasonable price.

i used to be an avid fan of thomson which i have been using for donkey years until the recent batches seem to not be as reliable as it use to make and i changed to miele. and since then its no turning back.

Its like buying a car after you upgrade and have really realised the comforts and superior features of say mercedes you wouldnt want to turn back down to toyota for example wahahah. i know not a real good comparision but there abouts lah

ridhwan82

ocassionally they have promotional sets which retails at really good prices.

LIke now they have this W 562 Prestige Plus 6 Washer. Fully made in germany, 1300rpm 6kg washer. dun need tobother about the latch and the door. its both metal hinge and metal catch. plus vitrous enamel body which is guaranteed not to yellow or corrode. The door is really solid and you need to swing it to shut the door else it wont catch. the catch is that solid

full featuer wash with silk, wools, cottons, synthetic, etc.

Going just about 1788 not too far from the prices of around 1.1k that you have budgeted for the 10771 and 20260.

i would think thats a good buy.

this is the set.
http://www.miele.co.uk/Products/Specification.aspx?pid=691

49 litres and 1.02kwh using cotton 60 degrees. cycle.

ridhwan82

i am not tempting you but just stating facts hehehe... but seriously i would get the miele.

One key advantage is that it has microholes on the drum, which is smaller then the other manufacturers and this will protect the fibres from breaking especially during spinning.

and for its higher end models the holes are even tinier and honeycomb shaped which really cradles the clothes and minimises fibre breakage to another level.

just to consider.

Erm....

It so happen that i pass by one of the malls today and i saw the Miele W562 machine.

The Miele on offer doesnt have microholes......Same as those home appliances machines like Electrolux, bosch and Brandt. At least it is better then the GERMAN made models by Bosch.

I assure you to my last dollar that the machine is definitely worth the buy. I happened to have a chance to test the spinning sound effect and yes, it is even better then a brand new LG direct drive ( WD 14331) machine. Imagine having four cast support and rock solid cast iron door with casting indepth as well. The only setback is that it is not honeycomb drum.
As for the rest, YES it is honeycomb.

I also encourage you to consider spending the money if budget is not a constraint!!!!