WASHING MACHINE-which brand is good?

shice1

btw my hubby strongly support f&p.. sigh.. but i like hitachi some how..

that's why i need more info and reviews abt hitachi.. to justify why we should take hitachi..

ckoonyin

Hey peeps, just curious, how come no one consider LG front loaders?

There is a model 1061 i think, which is 7.5 kg with 1000 variable RPM going for about $600.

Not good meh?

Somemore still got 5 yr warranty on the rubber gasket and 2 yrs on other parts......

Cause thinking to buy liao leh

ridhwan82

well... you could try and use the LG front loaders if you would want to give it a try.

though reliability is still a bit not established. anyway their 7.5 kg rating may not be the equivalent of 7.5 kg on european counterparts.

LG 7.5 is comparable to 5.5kg rating on eurpoean. take a look at their drum its pretty small.

i have checked with manufacturer indeed their drum capacity is smaller than european brands..

milk1

hi, anyone has comments on this two washing machines - electrolux 1090 vs bosch WAS24441ME? i believe the bosch one is made in germany - according to the salesman. i prefer the washing functions in electrolux. but it seems bosch washing machines use less water and electricity than electrolux. hence torn between the two.

milk1

hi, anyone has comments on this two washing machines - electrolux 1090 vs bosch WAS24441ME? i believe the bosch one is made in germany - according to the salesman. i prefer the washing functions in electrolux. but it seems bosch washing machines use less water and electricity than electrolux. hence torn between the two.

celestia75

Hi milk1, i m actually comparing the similar models. elux 1090 only had 1000rpm and made in thailand, dun think it's worth to get at high price which same with bosch. Made in germany from bosch attracted me at affordable price. foc pots at the moment. And i like the 15 mins wash, allergy wash and the sports programme. From wat i see, Bosch got more features than elux. Salesman at harvey told me bosch got double hinge, hence it's more sturdy in long run and i try to shake the door, bosch gave me better feel. I think i should go ahead with this German Bosch~

Hi Celestia,

This is jus my personal opinion.....

EWF 1090 vs WAS24441

EWF 1090
- Made in Thailand
- RPM 1000
- 59 litres of water
- full load washing 1hr plus
- solid door opening( built in curve support)
- Quick 30 half load wash
- Shaky door( using the up down method)
- Solid machine( knock the body)

WAS24441
- made in GERMANY
- RPM 1200
- 80 LITRES of water
- full load washing 1 hr plus
- solid door opening (2 screws on)
- 15 mins refreshing wash
- Not much movement when shaking the door( using the up down method)
- Hollow machine

I would give EWF 1090 thumbs up.....

Things to note.... Pls pls pls pls feel the inner drum for the Bosch Machine with our hands/fingers or if better use a piece of cloth to go through the drum. The surface is not ideal. Watch out for the rain drop holes. Not a solid drum as compared to the PREVIOUS GERMAN model. Any salesman can say whatever they want but it is a fact that the pot holes are a hindrance. Not as gd as those compared to the electrolux one.

Secondly, 59 litres comparing to 80 litres of water... Water effective???? Really amazing that it has 3 ticks...

Half load vs 15 mins... Half load wash at 30 mins using variable water but the 15 mins wash using 32 litres of water.. Gd????

Door hinge using 2 screws??? Curvy opening is definitely better.... at least the door is more secure..... Ever heard of Door falling off after a few years of usage for screws on???

Aqua STOP for antil spill??? Is it necessary?? We are not using dishwashers and in the event of a jam whilst washing.... there is always a manual draining.

Knock the body of the machine.... Electrolux is solid wherelse Bosch is rather soft....

All said, the decision is yours....

Gd luck with your choices.

milk1

hi twt, thanks for the explanation on the washer. i went to best denki to get a feel of the german made bosch and electrolux. i get want u mean by the drum and door. i am getting the electrolux model instead!

trusthislove

Hey Ridz
Are you still on this thread?
Really thankful for all the detailed advice you gave thru this forum.

i'm new to this forum but been reading past threads on washing machines. Wanting to get front load washing machines with following requirements but budget quite tight, around $800 and below. What do you recommend?
- 7kg
- cold & hot water wash
- able to wash delicates
- energy and water saving

Speed is not an issue for us, but wanna clarify, is it that the lower the rpm, the more energy it consumes, and the longer it takes for clothes to dry after washing?

Been looking around and found three 7kg models:
BOSCH WAE 16060 $810
BRANDT WFH 08771 $950
ELECTROLUX EWF 771 $770

BRANDT seems the best but also the most expensive.

BOSCH surprisingly has a more hollow body, a rather flimsy door and like earlier mentioned, has a gap after closing. Its drum size is also smaller than BRANDT and ELECTROLUX.

That leaves ELECTROLUX as the only option that fits into our budget and doesn't seem too bad.

What's your advice concerning these three and besides these three, any other good ones to recommend that's not too expensive?

=) hannah

trusthislove

Hey Ridz
Went to check out one other model that's front load:
SAMSUNG 7.5kg
WF-J 1061GW $605

Costs a lot cheaper than BOSCH, BRANDT & ELECTROLUX but i've no other info on this model. Is it good in terms of functions, quality and energy & water saving? Comparable to the other 3 brands?

Another question, for front loader, though they're gentler on fabrics & consume less water, but takes longer time to wash, and in the process consume more electricity than top loader, is it?

Sorry ah, first time buying WM and completely new to these things... Really appreciate if you can enlighten me... Hehe... Thanks!

=) hannah

poopy

Hi all, I am considering to buy a WASHING MACHINE CUM DRYER, and would appreciate if anyone can recommend me a good brand? Also, I am considering the LG brand,WD-1433RD. Thinking of buying it during these few days. If anyone has used this before, or know anyone using it, please please give me your review and comments of it? Thanks very much in advance.

Poopy,

I think the exact model should be WD 14331. if what i have mentioned is correct, then you will be purchasing a direct drive machine.

Is budget a concern for you?? Or is the washing capacity a concern for you?? Any other brands you are comparing with?

If you are looking strictly at 2 in 1, then you might wish to take note that Samsung,Electrolux,Bosch and Thomson produced 2 in 1 before i elaborate further.

Gd luck

poopy

Hi Twt,
thanks for your reply. For me, I want a reliable machine that serves it's functions without breakdown and yet is not too expensive. I was eyeing this model of LG, but then I saw some bad online reviews fr australia, so am not so sure now. Could you kindly advise me what your comments are? Understand that there is 1 version which is RD (older model) vs the AD (newer model).

Also, could you recommend other brand machines in a similar price catergory? There aren't many of such combos in the market. Thanks so much!

ckoonyin

Hi Guys, am not too sure if u noticed but it seems that the LG 7.5kg washer alows you to choose if u wan to have hot water or not.

Did a comparision with others but they do not have an option for you to choose if u want to have hot water.

Was looking at a Elba model about 7kg also and was told it is good because it is made in Italy.

Both are comparable in terms of KG size, RPM but the hot water thing might be something that many that did not consider...........

Afterall, u may not need hotwater for everthing right? And if u cannot choose not to have it, wouldn't that translate to more money for the eletrcial bill?

What do u all think?

aoi

my new house is currently using the PANASONIC AQUABEAT washing machine...

but i regretted not buying TOSHIBA, whose washing machines are better. check out www.toshiba.com.sg/

PANASONIC AQUABEAT washing machine washes clothes very clean with its foam-wash technology, but the trouble with this product is that it creates just too much foam!

especially so, when your do not fully load the stainless steel wash-tub. eg: i have no problem with the machine, whenever i load the tub to the maximum capacity it can handle. but then, the wash itself becomes TOO foamy, whenever i load only half of the tub with clothes.

the trick is to put a bit less detergent powder into the tub (despite the indicated amount on the washing machine control-panel), whenever you only load half or less of the tub with clothes.

haiz... nevertheless, i am waiting for my AQUABEAT washer to spoil in future, so that i can gladly replace it with my favourite TOSHIBA brand (which my own parents are using).

bbmuffin

Hi Ridz,

Wondering if I could get some advice from you...
I'm looking to buy a 7kg washer and a 6kg dryer and have shortlisted 2 sets:

1) Electrolux EWF-1084 ($999 + $100 voucher fr HN)
Electrolux EDE-429E ($649 fr HN)

2) Brandt WFH-08771A ($1099 fr HN)
Brandt EFM-102K ($699 fr HN)

A few questions here:
1) The salesman at HN claims that it's better for 7kg washer to go with 8kg dryer, instead of 6kg dryer, true?
2) How are my choices? I know you recommend at least 1000 rpm for washer. The Brandt one is only 800 rpm whereas the Electrolux one is 1000 rpm. Where can I get the Brandt one at 1000 rpm? I like the function where you can add clothes after the cycle starts...
3) Where can I get the best deal for these models?
4) Any other recommended brands/models for my budget of S$1000-1100 for washer?
5) Is now (year-end) the best time to purchase electricals?
Thanks very much in advance for all your advice!

p.s. just to check if you know anything about Sanyo aircons? Heard from one salesman that the older models are good. The house we are buying comes with 7year old Sanyo aircons... throw and keep if working? Thanks!!!!

prata

would like to know if anyone using the following front load washers?
a) THOMSON THL1288 or THL1488
b) Electrolux EWF1495

appreciate your comments in terms of noise level and wash quality. THanxx..

bbmuffin,

1)A 7kg washing machine fitting a 6kg dryer = overloading. So its definitely better if you dont overload. Ture to certain extent.
Brandt 1000 rpm is WFH 10771A retailing at $1289/-.

2) You made a fairly good choice. But pls be reminded that EWF 1084 is an exclusive model for HN and that will leave you with no choice but to purchase it from HN. I would rather you look at EWF 984 $1079/-(7kg 850 rpm) or EWF1090 $1299/-(8kg 1000 rpm) Pls be informed that the only 8kg dryer in the market is from Brandt and it is retailing at $899/- (sensor) and $799/- (mechanical). The add clothes after the cycle starts is currently only meant for Electrolux washer. That will be approximately around 5-10mins after you start your machine and so far only Electrolux machines are able to do that.

3)Your price for Harvey Norman very Ex.... you can get a better price if you purchase it at Courts or Best Denki but then again, visit the correct store for the best price.....

4) I think your models for electrolux should change to EWF 1090 for the washer. the Brandt machine you can choose WFH 10771A(1000RPM) or WFH 1277K ( 1200RPM) but it will cost you slightly more. However, correct shop, correct sales person = BEST deal.

5) this is definitely the best deal as the new Year is here and there is definitely the discounts given out during this time.

Aircon i dont know... i only know washer and dryer......

Gd luck and let us know hw much you bought both machines.

strawberri

What is the function of a dryer and under what circumstances is it necessary?

What washer will u recommend for 2 adults' clothes usage? Maybe washing once a week?

ryanon123

Hi Strawberri,

I had just asked a similar question.

Is a dryer necessary? I am thinking of buying a front load washer but as i never deal with washing machine so i do not know a lot of things.

If we simply uses a washer, when the clothes are done are they in such a bad condition that water will be dripping from the clothes to the floor?

Strawberri,

The function of a dryer is exactly the same as what the sun can do for you.......

Whether or not it is neccessary totally depends on a case to case basis.... For eg: if it is raining constantly and you cant get any sunlight(especially during Oct,Nov,Dec) then you might require a dryer.... Or you are living in certain areas whereby your neighbours around your building loves pouring soup,curry down the block and it affects you, then you might also require a dryer. Many other factors to come by.

You might want to take a 7kg front loader. It is a norm for most family.... Washing frequency depends on you..... If you have a comparisons of brand for Front loaders then the users in the forum might be able to contribute to your decision on purchasing the particular brand.

I would suggest you spend a week shopping at Mall or neighbourhood shop collating info on washers before posing this question. At least, we can then narrow down on your choice of washer.

bbmuffin

Hi TWT,

Thanks so much for your reply. Since the post, I've kinda decided on Brandt 7kg 10771 washer and Brandt 6kg 102k dryer. Hong Liang is selling both at package price of $1600... the cheapest I've seen but they don't have extended warranty. Do you think I really need it for the washer?
I'm going with a 6kg dryer coz I don't intend to dump all the clothes from washer to dryer.. only using dryer for towels/bedsheets/jeans.. what do you think?

Thanks so much again!

yoyo

just my 2 cents worth
dryer actually spoil your clothes easily and they consume lots of electricity...

they tends to shrunk the clothes and not all clothing can be dry in the dryer...

singapore has plenty of sun....

Hi Yoyo,

erm..... No harm intened (pls forgive me)

Dryers will never spoil clothes easily. But misusing the dryer can actually cause your clothes to be overdry and thus shirnking occurs and the fabric might actually lose its original flavour.

Consumption of electricity is not as much as it is mentioned. An hour use of the dryer will be averagely $0.52/-. In this case, it will be $1.04 for 2 hours and if everyday usage, it will bring the amount to $31.20/- for a month.

Hi bbmuffin,

First of all, congrats on your choice of machine. The package price of $1600/- is a very attractive price.

Pls be informed that the larger the capacity for your dryer is, the faster your clothes will dry(of course the holes which the hot air is coming out from must be of the same size).

You will be surpirsed that the 8kg dryer from Brandt actually is more electricity efficient then the 6kg one which you are mentioning. But of course, it is also much more expensive. But put all the plus and take away the minus, you will find that it is more worth the money in the long run.

To me, for purchase of any electrical appliances, exteneded warranty is DEFINITELY A BIG YES!!!!!!!! All i can say is any repair nowadays is a minimum $150/- and that is the cost of the most minor fault found in a washing machine. What will happen if your machine encounter a major error??

You decide what is best for you.

Gd luck and send us your reviews on both machines in the near future.

carelinwen

I was comparing Electrolux and Brandt washers and slightly prefer the look and feel of the Brandt one (10771 or 12771). I intend to get a dryer to stack on it. However, when I look at Brandt's dryers, it seemed that the electronic controlled ones (8kg) have slightly wider dimesions than the washer. Does it mean only the mechanical 102 dryer can suit?

Hi bbmuffin,
Does Hong Liang price come with stacking kit?

All dryers can fit to one another regardless of brands. Dont worry about the size All fits.

You only require a universal stacking kit. Brandt and Electrolux's kit are universal.

carelinwen

Hi twt,

Thanks for your reassurance. I don't really need a 8kg dryer, just like bbmuffin's reasoning, a 5 or 6 kg will do. But I will want to get an electronic sensor. So of the Brandt and Electrolux electronically controlled dryers, which in your opinion is a good buy?

Electrolux's sensor dryer (ede 429) is equipped with 2 lint filter(this is the only set that has double lint filter) with the aim of "trapping" most of the lint. However it is only 5kg in capacity but comes with a 2.2kw rating. Fully stainless steel drum and Poland made

Brandt's sensor dryer(efe 310k) comes with extra functions. Eg: Jeans function, Shirt function, Stretch clothing function and it is 8kg in capacity with a 2.4kw rating. Brandt 8kg dryer is a partial stainless steel drum with the other half galvanised steel and France made.

I think we are putting it as unfair comparison as the BRANDT dryer will stand out.

When will you need the washer and dryer.... If you are thinking of getting it soon.... do look out for the papers this weekend as there is a great offer in one of the departmental store.

bbmuffin

Sorry for late post... finally decided on the brandt 7kg, 1000rpm model (can't remember the model number) and the 102 dryer from Hong Liang that comes with free stacking kit. Got a good deal there!

caira

Hi bbmuffin, twt,

I was looking at the very same models in HN too! What made you decide to go for the Brandt rather than the Electrolux?

popeye_gal

Hi washing Specialist & all,

please Advise on which Brand is better for top-loading? Look at sharp 8kg, sumsung 9kg if im not wrong about it's capacity. Hear that toshiba have lots of problem... What other brand or model to recommend? please advise... Do PM me too..

allykat

Hi guys, need some of your advice and recommendations. Its my first time buying a washer. I'd like to have a model that comes with a 7-8kg capacity, it has to be a reliable brand that fits my budget of $650-800. Can this be done? I'd probably need to do my laundry like twice a week for two adults. On a fortnightly basis, I will wash my quilt and sheets. I want to have hot water function for my washer too. And ermm, it must preferably look nice & sleek (sorry if i sound bimbotic here). haha

crazycar

Electrolux
Hi all, eyeing on the following washer / dryer pair. Anyone has experience on them?

W/M: EWF1084
Dryer: EDE606A or EDE429E

Brandt
W/M: WFH10771A
Dryer: EFE310K

shice1

hi crazycar, i bought the electrolux washer (1084) and dryer (ede429) from harvey norman last sat.

haven use yet, so cant really help to comment.. but the pricing i bought for is at $17xx.. =)

moodie

i am using a Ariston washer/dryer. It's only slightly more than 1 year. i switched washing powder brand from Spin (low-sud) to Fab (low-sud). During the first wash using Fab, my washer short-circuited.

There were tons load of foam generated during wash. It's not really low-sud at all.

Crazycar,

EWF 1084
Made in Thailand
Exclusive to Harvey Norman
1000RPM
59 litres of water
A rating for energy effiency

WFH 10771A
Made in Turkey
1000 RPM
49 litres of water
A+ ENERGY effiency

Just a brief comparison.....

The elctrolux washer has a higher water and energy usage as compared to Brandt's washer. Washing time is also much longer for Electrolux... As for drum size, Electrolux also loses hands down....
However, $$$$$ = pricing Electrolux win hands down.

All in all.... THUMBS up for BRANDT washer.

DRYER EDE 606A/EDE429 vs EFE 310K

EDE 606A (6kg)
Ultra silencer model
Australia made
Fully Stainless steel drum with no "PLASTIC TUb"
Anti crease function

EDE 429(5kg)
Poland made
With "plastic" tub
Anti crease function

Thumbs up for EDE 429 if only comparing between both dryer

Efe 310k
Made in France
Enamel dru with Stainless stell drum
8kg
with plastic tub
Anti crease function

Short note.... Unfair comparision. 6kg(ede 606a/5kg(ede 429) against an 8kg DRYER( EFE 310K).

Washer combination will likely determine the dryer to choose. However, apoint to note is that over loading might occur due to the washer 7kg UNLESS a combination of EWF 1084 and EFE 310K....

Remember, sales persons can always say CAN MATCH, WONT OVERLOAD but what spoils a machine is always OVERLOADING. Always trust the SPECIFICATION GIVEN BY AGENTS ( ELECTROLUX AND BRANDT) rather then listen to salespersons.

Gd luck

Crazycar,

No problem..... Just find the correct place and shop to purchase. If you are incline to brandt then you should be looking at a price of $1800 - $1980.(just a rough guage dont know the exact price... Anything within this price should be a good catch)

This will be a good price to purchase.

wennduku

anyone using indesit washing machine?
now got offer..washing machine and dryer cost $1290
seem like a good offer?
how the brand??any complaints?
thank you

ridhwan82

err.. i would say that their products are not reliable and even when you touch the body and parts its not as sturdy as those of other brands... go ahead and feel it...

I agree with Ridz.........

Indesit's product are not as reliable as compared to Electrolux, bosch and Brandt.

I will put them in the range of BRANDS LIKE Maytag,Stratten OR ELBA.

hks_swift

BUt i ever feel Ariston and Idesit door handle... Damn Good man.. It's TRUE!!! The door can even sit a kid. But machine wise not very durable loh.