WASHING MACHINE-which brand is good?

spawnies

Hi ppl,

First timer getting a washer.
Personally prefer a front load for it's water saving properties & not so harsh on clothes (I don't like to iron or have holes in my towel. :p)

I have to wash the occasional Queen size quilt cover, will a 6.5 to 7kg front load be good enough? (This sales guy at Gain city insisted that only a 9kg would be sufficient ....)

I've read that continential brands are preferred for front load, but they are usually out of my budget. (below $650)

So I'm left with Korean and Japanese brands, is there anything else I should be taking note of? I'm getting quite a headache listening to the different sales talk from different stores. All of them insisted on their own brands/preference.

spawnies

I need a neutral opinion from an end user.
Earlier I was at gain city, I expressed interest in a 7.5 top load washer. The sales guy checked what's my biggest item to wash, and it's a queen size quilt cover. He then insisted that only a 9kg would be sufficient..

Along the way, he counter proposed front load washer instead, but this time it's a 6.5kg, when I asked him about the queen size quilt, he said it will be okay.

Is 9kg (top load) the same size as 6.5kg (front load?)

I've quite given up on sales promoters, might as well research all my necessary info from you guys here and decide what I want before I approach them..

babyleen

hi berrie,

forgot to tell you that i use all type of washing powder for my washing machine. i just trial and error to see which type clean my clothes better, leave my clothes smelling fresher, makes my clothes look brighter and feel softer. i din really restrict to low suds, top load or front load type of detergent. so far my washing machine manages quite well.

kenshare

I just got my Electrolux 1087 and Dryer from HN.
Paid cash and got a reasonable discount.

ridhwan82

hi solaray,

what would your budget be like?

what are the exact washing reuirements do you need?

capacity? washing cycles? temperature? spin speed?

because definitely a 9kg top load is bigger than 6.5kg. anyway if you are just washing QUILT COVERS then i would think that a 5kg would do the trick. but if you are washing a quilt queen sized then at the ver least you would require a 6.5 or 7kg washer.

tingshen

berries5588, holess tub is a patent by Daewoo, but nobody selling Daewoo here, I believe either Sharp used to own Daewoo or they simply paid the royalty to produce this machine.

Nevertheless.....everjoint said it's made in china.....but if we are going for holeless tub, ish bohbian liaoz....

the cheapest quote I had through phone was $505. Anybody manage to breakthrough the $500 boundary?

berries5588

helo tingshen,

i'm stil tinking abt washing machine...stil unsure which to get. Lookin ard still. Too many electrical appliances i need to get...

ridhwan82

hi berries5588,

may i ask. what is your budget for the washing machine and also what are some of the things that you lok for in the washer? can i be of any help?

Also what are the other electrical appliances that yo are getting? see if i can be of any help also

stjt

TS, I saw gaincity at AMK selling Daewoo and it is made from Korean. the saleman was recommending this brand as he say mostly WM are made from china etc

me looking at hitachi..

zincgal

hi have anyone tried the front load samsung washing machine? is it good? i got a quote of $600 for the 7.5kg. its pretty reasonable for a front load machine..

berries5588

Hi Ridz,

Thanks in advance for the help. Really a big headache getting everything.

Well as it's a new flat, i need to get alot stuffs like the fridge, TV, washing machine. I yet to finalize on the oven as hope able to go down Teka tis wkend but now cant as sch having open hse.

i was looking at Toshiba washing machine as tis machine got the function of timing like 3/5/8 mins (remember the actual timing) where u can adjust how long depending on ur loads. Plus actually most working clothes i hand-wash except norm wearing ones. Budget ard $400 or less wld be good. I really exceed my budget on some items.

Fridge was recommend Hitachi R-Z410AM (oh, i;m staying alone thus no need too big).

Tv was debating btwn samsung LA32S81BX ($1280)or LA32R81BX ($1599 as way exceed my budget for tis model). OR Sharp Aquos LC-32BX5M or LC-32BX6M (Prices for both ard $1299).

Sorry to trouble u once again, Ridz and thanks too

meemohsah

Thanks ridz,

i had a few considerations...

1. my place quite small, tho can fit a normal sized washer in the area allocated, i thought can save some space by getting a slim one.

2. no dryer needed, and no high spin speed needed. 600rpm is more than enough for me.

3. would like to be able to wash king size quilt (not juz the cover), but if getting a BIG washer means my monthly PUB bills is going to be high, then i think no point rite?

4. features, juz looking for "quick wash function", and muz save electricity and water.

5. my washer will be placed in the "open" in my service yard, so there's no window to block out any wind/sun, rain won't normally get into that area.

With the last factor in mind, i decided that I shld aim for a standard size front load machine at 6kg with a budget of about $500. Hopefully can still get a bosch or brandt. Realistic or not ah?

ridhwan82

hi mee moh sah,

1) slim machines with low price is out of the question. can i check whats the dimension like? Would you be able to get a front loading dimension e.g. 60 x 60 x 85 cm.. (length, width and height)?

2) okie point taken..

3) king sized quilt would be a problem. cos this will usually require at least a 8kg washer. and 8kg wahser are expensive. i think a queen sizred one can fit into a 6.5kg ( at the very least) also if you are getting a big washer and having a continental washer.. i wouldnt think that your PUB bills will be going high? cos like electricity.. it will use water according to the load and even sometimes adjust the washing timings to accomodate the load. so yeah i wouldnt think it would affect a lot just because its a bigger machine.

4) usually machines these days have the quick was function

5) oooh ok.

6) you should be looking at 7 at the very least!

500.. isnt that very realistic i would say. at minmum 700. there is this brandt model 6kg washer with variable temperature rpm is 600rpm around 700.

meemohsah

wow thanks ridz, that was fast.

1. dimension - yah, the space allocated can fit a 60cm width machine. considering that the slim types are so expensive, i think better to go for the "normal" size ones...

a fren told me if i get big washer, my bills will be high.. so i thought big washer = high bills, no matter how much load i place inside the machine... that's not true?

are you referring to Brandt WFE676A? it has adjustable spin speed up to 600rpm, 6kg load, but read on the Brandt website that "no quick function" and "no self-adjusting water level" - does this means the water usage will forever be at full load? I got a quote for $678 from everjoint for this.

i also saw an Ariston machine - an older version (AVL62TE) going for $699, has quick wash, 600 fixed rpm. but read some bad reviews on Ariston products in this forum.. any advice on Ariston washers?

the salesman was trying to sell me a newer model (AQXL85) instead - which looks nicer (hehe), and 6.5kg, variable RPM up to 800, but is at about $869 or something after discount.

my washer is bound to turn yellow and ugly very quickly, since they're gonna be in the open service yard...

spawnies

hi ridz,

thanks for your reply,

what would your budget be like?
>>> I'm looking at something around the range of $700 to $800 for a front load.

what are the exact washing reuirements do you need?

>>> Daily wear, jeans, shirts and perhaps big items like curtains and queen size quilt covers, bedsheets, etc

capacity? washing cycles? temperature? spin speed?

>>> U were saying at least 6.5kg onwards? I'm not too sure how washing cycles, temperature, spin speed works... Is the Silver Nano thing a substitute for hot wash? But this salesguy at HN told me Ag+ causes cancer.... told me to stick to hotwater wash instead.

-----

I've been shopping around, somewhat narrowed to this LG WD-12385TBP (7.5kg) or Samsung WF-J1061 (7.5kg). But might prefer LG because of the exteriors, silver color. Whites will become yellowish after a while.

I've not taken a look at the Conti brands yet, are those preferred. Just LG & Samsung models are enough to give me a headache so far. hah.

ridhwan82

hi mee moh sah,

yes i am referring to the brandt 676. but of course if you are able to stretch your budget the 876 would be sorta ideal to you.

Yes the 676 does not have quick wash. but the 876 have a flash 40 which is half load in 40 mins.

Oh yeah for continental machines. please please do take note that their washing cycle the normal ones are the best to be use for effective washing to take place. however this will take about 1h15-1h45 mins for a cotton cycle at 40 -60 degrees.

the quickwashes are only okay for very very slightly soiled clothes and are for half load. usually. thats recommended according to the manuals as with most of them.

i would suggest sticking to the full cycle. it takes a bit of adjusting initially but once you get the hang of it i think its fine. ive been usingt continental over 20 years its fine. no qualms over the 1h30mins cycle. its definitely cleaner than just 40mins.

having said so.. the 876 might also still pose a problem with your king sized quilt though.

as for 676.. yes the water will be at full level at all times even with the 876 but then i can assure you that the water is not a lot.

This is the consumptions data.
for a full 6kg wash load. it only uses 49 litres of water in all and that is 1wash+ min 2 rinses

as compared to the asian washer like ay sanyo where each tub fill is 50 litres then 1wash+ 2 rinses = 150 litres.

even if you wash not full load you are alrady not using a lot of water.

but i think fo rhte 876 with the half load probably it will adjust the water level though.

is this your first time you are using continental washer.

well bigger machines if you really look, some bigger ones are more efficient than smaller ones.

eg. 5kg continental washer.. water consumption is 42 litres.

6kg continental water consumption is aroun 49 litres

and 7kg continental washer. 49 litres as well.

8kg then it will rise to over 52 litres.

the water base will still be there but the higher the weight the increase i9n litres is very marginal.

same goes for electricity.

5kg continenal at 60 degrees full cotton cycle = 0.95kwh (approximate 20 cents per cycle run)
6kg continental at 60 degrees full cotton cycle = 0.95kwh
7kg continental at 60 degrees full cotton cycle = 1.19kwh.( slighly more than 20 cents)

as this is 60 degrees washing at 40 degrees (which i would recommend cos 60 degrees most clothes the colour will run very fast compared to 40 degrees) the electricity consumption would be lower.

hence the brandt model that i was referring to both the 676 and 876 both has achieved not only an A class for washing efficiency but also superb A+ class for energy consumption so its super super saving you.

NO ARISTON PLEASE.....gosh.. italian are better off with leather bags!

ridhwan82

hi solaray,

well i am not a great fan of these what ions thingy and plasmacluster.. whatever aluminium ion etc.

i would just go for normal continental and get very solid one rather than go for these fussy AG+ or - blah blah...

700-800.

We tackle one by one okie

Capacity. as for you.. if you washing a QUEEN QUILT (not covers as covers 5kg is sufficient) then at least 6.5kg.

Washing cycle
Depending on your wadrobe then do you need special care like wool? silk? handwash?.. usually cotton, synthetic and delicte is a standard but they have a lot of specialty loads like silk and wool too which you may need to wash.

Spin Speed
In general higher spin speed is best bet especially if you are intendingt to have a dryer. if intending to get dryer then at least 850 though now at the very most 1000rpm is ideal and higher like 1400 is must appreciated. as the clothes that come out will be a bit less wet and can dry faster hence will lower your bill on your dryer as dryer is really the one that takes in a lot of electricity. but this applies to most of the clothes but not all. like silk is max spin is 600 no more.. wool is around 300 and jeans 900 and others. so variable spin speed is key but more expensive than fixed tyupe of machine set up.

temperatures. best is variable. need at least cold cotton 40 cotton 60 cotton and 90 cotton, cold synthetic 40 synthetioc 60 synthetic. delicate cold delicate 20 and delicate 40.

if you are not too picky and dun mind giving it a try you probably can go for the brandt model that i was talking about

WFE876A though this is a 6kg washer i think most of the things can handle except for quilt. if its too big then might need to send to laundromat. think a 6kg would be okie but its your call really..

this has variable spin speed of up to 800rpm. a plus point

variable temperature setting another plus point

it has also setting to do half load wash with A class efficiency at 40degrees in about 40 mins.

price recommended retail is around 859 i think so if you buy outside probably can get cheaper.

i would prefer that you get another model though WFH08771A this is a 7kg washer. but has more features.. the rpm is the same at 800 variable.
but like the load it has automatic weigh system where water is controlled according to the load put in and also has excess detergent extra wash if i am not wrong. try calling up this parisilk see if they can get you cheaper for WFH08771A.

or else electrolux 7kg washer i think its EWF 984 850rpm. i thinkj current retails around 1k but call up these people you might be able to get it cheaper.. can anyone help out with the quote?

cos i would prefer you to get the WFH08771A or the electrolux 984.. electrolux 887 is an older model for 984 and has only 6.5 can also check if they have stock cos this might be cheaper and the 984 is new.

ridhwan82

hi Solaray!!

there is a an electrolux washer on sale

EWF882 its a 7kg washer with 850rpm. variable spin speed and also variable temperature.

i have a feeling tyhat this is the 880 model but its silver in colour and was initial released for thailand market and also russia if i am not wrong.

price is 899 at courts. in today's Straits times

ridhwan82

as for tje 984./ the RRP is 1079.. probably if you are getting more items at the same time you can slash prices.. (HVN millenia walk)

ridhwan82

apart from the 984 being a newer model.

the 984 spin speed is still at 850 if i am not wrong and sports a newer fascia panel.

as compared to 1087 which still sports a slighly traditional fascia panel but the door has been given a slight facelift.

on top of wihch the 1087 has spin speed of 1000rpm.

hope that was useful

spawnies

Hey Ridz!

Thanks for your recommendations so far, I took some time to check out all the machines you mentioned earlier, I might just settle for Electrolux EWF882, I like the look of it.

zincgal

U guys very rich hor..buy such ex washing machines.. I heard samsung J1061 front load 7.5 kg has all the features and the cheapest quote i got was $590..why not consider this

ridhwan82

thanks solaray,

well not a problem. but do take a look around. of course it would be preferred to take the 984 or 1087 if possible instead of the 882.

ridhwan82

hi jean,

well its say we are rich lah but thats the normal price of continental washer. in fact continental used to be much more expensive.. but prices have come down really a lot.

expensive would be miele.

price tag 6kg washer is 3380 and there is another super washer thats would be close to 5k and the dryer also superb 2970 and the better one is around 4k..

now thats what i call expensive.. but its i would say world best washer and dryer.

as for me im still not too keen on the asian brands launching the front load arena. they are new and the technologies are not yet proven i will give it a while more to see.. yeah just my two cents worth.

spawnies

ridz, 984/1087 might be over my intended budget, but I'll gather more info from the shop to see if it's worth the top up.

medic

ridz...using 984..but yet to deliver coz hse under reno...guess i dun need the extra 150 rp, spin speed of the 1087 anyway...:p

meemohsah

thanks ridz! pardon my ignorance, but why aren't italians good for their washers?

i called up a shop... think it's everjoint.. the guy was telling me that the electrolux washers nowadays are all made in thailand and are giving lots of problems, and advised me against getting this brand.. recommended me EF instead.. any comments?

ridz would you be able to help with Fridges as well? i'm choosing between a Panasonic NRC376 (made in Japan) and Hitachi S37SVS (made in thailand i think). both looks the same in appearance, but panasonic is more ex by $600. which brand would be more reliable in terms of its reputation for fridges?

ridhwan82

hi mee moh sah,

no no no,...no ignorance.. please.. we are all sharing yeah. i just share with all of you what i know yeah.

I seriously have no ideas why italians are not good for their washers. One thing for sure is that their washing cycles are usually limited. and plus more often than not their reliability is horrid. Quality build also you can tell. ariston is their premium model but when you take a look at the specs and features is just like average electrolux.. and build also average. and their average brand which is indesit. goodness the door and body feels like can come off.

but being subjective here. but objectivity in mind, they tend to break down pretty often to more users that they dun buy back italian washers.

well yes electroluxc are all made in thailand now. somehow. i would still say their reliability is still better than italian made washers.

EF... haiz.. well.. i also dunno what people are really doing these days. they seem to want to sell machines dun care about whether is it really they are standing by or not. cos luck also do play a part. and its not really fair to say that a lot of mahcine give problem. because in singapore there is really a lot of electrtolucx users so probability is higher mah to hear people say it break down.

as compared to italians.. lower number means lower probability right., but then nope its low in numbers but high in probability of spoiling.. then how? means occurence higher wor.

id still stick to electrolux. my aunt has the 880 since like i think 4 years ago. till now.. nothing happen.. and hers is the thailand batch. and she washes about 1-2 times daily. theres 7 adults in her house.

similar to my household 7adults washing 3 times daily but im using thomson.. it stands still.

hmm well im not really sure about asian fridges yeah but what i heard the better ones are like panasonic, sharp or mit(thou pricey as well(

look at the features.. what kinda shelves is inside? is it plastic shelves? or safety glass? are the shelves height adjustable? etc. things you might need...

meemohsah

ridz,

thanks thanks. guess you're right, there's also a luck element involved when buying such products. that's why i feel quite wary getting too expensive a product as well, it's like such a gamble.

the panasonic and hitachi fridges that i saw are both very similar in its setup, glass shelves, i think can hold up to 100kg or something? the only thing is, when i open the hitachi freezer (both have freezers at the bottom), the freezer compartment kinda "shakes" as i pull it open. the panasonic doesn't.

ok i better decide on my washer...

meemohsah

Hey ridz,

Like to get your views on this. I know you've mentioned bfore that LG is still relatively "new" in the front load market, but what's your take on the LG Tromm with direct drive motor, going for $899 with 10 years warranty on the motor and 5 yrs warranty on services/parts?

It's 8kg (so that's enough for my king size sheets and quilt), and has spin speed from 400 to 1400 (dun quite need it, but it's there anyway).

I'm thinking the most important thing about the washer is probably the motor, am i rite? So if that comes with a 10-warranty, it shld be quite safe and worth it?

What d'u think?

ridhwan82

hi mee moh sah,

hmm yes they are relatively new. but again its my personal choice not to go with them as yet. as for you.. its really your call..

one note you might want to check again is go and have a look at the drum sizes. from what i know is that

asian (lg) 5kg washer seems to be the equivalent of a 3.5 kg washer in continental and their 6.5 is like the 5kg drum size of continental so you might want to see and check.. i havent seen the 8kg washer drum vs 8kg of continental so just take a note.

well yes that should be sufficient.. but be mindful of the antics of front load washer and that is not all types ofm detergent is suitable yeah.. look for low suds only.

safe yes.. but just have to take iunto consideration that you might need to take time off to see to repairs or some look see look see..

should be okie lah if it comes with comprehensive 5 years and just the motor is 10 years.

10 years motor i am not too sure does it include labout and transport? i know the 5 years is yes include labour transport and also parts. while the motor usually its the motor only.. similar to like air con..

u know whrer they say compressor is 5 years but rest is 1 yera. the 5 years means only that compressor part only., not including labout and transport and other parts yeah.

meemohsah

hey ridz,

thanks thanks..

yah for warranty, i did call up LG to check and they said the 10yrs warranty on motor doesn't include transport. We still have to pay $45 for labour/transport, only changing of motor is free within that 10 years. LG actually gives 2 years general warranty which includes labour/transport, but harvey extending that to 5 years i think.

the only dubious part about the warranty now is that the harvey guy said warranty for all machines doesn't include the glass on the door. but LG says 'yes'. then again the person i spoke to in LG didn't sound like she knew what she was talking about either. sigh!!!

ok noted about the detergent, guess i have to change from whatever i'm using now!

i went down to take a look at the washer again yesterday, now that you mentioned, yah the drum size may be questionable... i think i shld bring my measuring tape down to compare with electrolux or something. The LG drum didn't strike me as "wow so big" when i looked inside. But the machine still says 8kg - dunno if i'm right, but perhaps that means that even if the drum size is small, it can still hold a heavier weight?

_winky_

hi Ridz, Need your advice.. I was thinking of getting LG 6.5kg model is WD10490TP. The scary part is... I can't find this model in their website. And worse a yahoo search on this model only brought me to some non-english website.. Was thinking if it is reliable. Should I change to the equivalent of a Samsung model?

ridhwan82

hi sun7,

the brandt washer only top loads are made in france their front loads are all in turkey.

so yeah. which model was it that you got at 999?

ridhwan82

hi mee moh sah,

well i called LG and the lady helped me check with their korean headquarter and they verified that the drum size in terms of volume is around 57 litres for their 8kg.

While for electrolux their 8kg is 63 litres volume. and electrolux 7kg is 54 litres. so i guess i am correct in that LG is smaller than that of electrolux. so the wash might be a bit tight for LG washers yeah.

about the warranty, thats the part i dun like about harvery norman warranty they are always many grey areas. i prefer to have best denki safety 5, they are more clear cut.

last time when i called them they say door is not covered cos my door latch (continenal thomson top load) is broken and it will cost about 150 order from france and replace. but the thing is that i argued with best saying that the warranty covers it if that part is deemed to be necessary for the function of the machine.

and continental washers door for thomson if the locking latch cannot be locked the entire circuit is not completed and the washer wont start so they said okie then can go. so in the end i change my entire door like dunno how many times liao cos too many itchy hands in my house wahahah...

yup so the motor change only is foc rest is chargeable. so it depends on whether you want to take it. if you are going to take the 8kg lg then you are better off taking the 7kg electrolux since they are about the same sizes wor and reliability is better.

meemohsah

thanks ridz! so helpful of you to call LG... *touched*

so when you said drum size is 57litres, you mean the drum can hold up to 57 litres of water right? that means by continental standard, this particular LG model is actually not a 8kg one, but a 7.5kg.

7.5 is still ok with me, but i think i better compare pricing further first, coz no matter wat, like u mentioned, the continental brands are still more known and reliable.

ridhwan82

hi mee moh sah,

dun worry about it. i too was curious cos when i saw their washer i was like yeahg right this is a 5kg washer.. and looked at their 8kg i was like wah liew this is as small as 6.5 electrolux.

and i remembered about the volume cos i was surfhing through miele and they published the drum in volume i thought that would be a good basis of comparison.

so its like drum size means it can hold material up to 57 cm3 (cubic centimeters) of materials haha.. cos water wise it will never be more than a mere 7-10 litres of water.. and the water level almost cannot be seen through the front porthole door.