Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa

ling... good luck with the new co-ord. it's really a pity cathy resigned. we have a very good impression of her though she's not our co-ord.

dazed... we asked our co-ord if they can provide a day use room before we signed our agreement as many hotels are providing one. they said ok, so the day use room is stated in our agreement lor. no hard nego...

Hi dazed,

since u had ur solemnisation on the lawn, u actually paid for $400++ for 50 pax?

I wanted this way too.. same day.. but sister was telling me it will be quit a waste of $$. $400 juz for tables & chairs. :s

Can share the solemnisation pics? [email protected]

thks..

hi!

my coordinator is cathy...kinda disappointed to know that she had left. i was really surprise that they only notified us after she has left (5 july). i feel that this could be handled better if notice can be provided to us before she left.

Hi Stacy,

Sorry. mine was @ pavillion. so cant comment much on the siloso ballrm. But i did pee at it, i find it ok, quite class lor.. really those ballrm pattern.. hehehe..but me prefer the pavilion one lah, coz can see night time seaview mah while having dinner.. and during the cocktail session, ple can stand around the 'bacony' there to see seaview, as for those guests smokers, they can simply go outside the pavilion . more convient.

hi siao cha boh..

i agree with u.. the view at pavillion is great! with the cocktail area, already cozy. but inside got 3 pillars. & i have 40 tables.. so muz use Siloso ballroom..

hi Christy,

Oic, u have quite a number tables.. so have to use siloso ballrm.
anyway, i believed the atmosphere cant be bad too far anyway..ex-brides whom use siloso should have better comment on that..

Dear dazed, SCB and all,

Thanks for your prompt reply.
Your feedback is really valuable to me bcos i am still evaluating the venue.

I agree both Pavilion and Siloso have their own strength. I cant have the best of both world.

i'm using the siloso ballrm too. i think if you put the stage in middle of the rm, it should be a prob. it look quite grand oso. ^_^

i agree with stacy, both of the rms have their strengths. if you like to have the night view and more cosy then choose pivilion. if you like grand and has too many tables then siloso. ^_^

thanks dazed for the info. ^_^

Hi Stacy,

hehe, u r most welcome.

Well, maybe u and ur hubby would like to drop by to Rasa one of the days and see which one u prefer. most impt is both of u must like it.

hi all, im thinking of using the siloso too.. one problem was that fr the door to the stage its barely 10seconds!! n i din really wanna walk separately w my htb.. any other ideas?

also, anybody tried to negotiate for more beer? pple who have negotiated, pls share wats good to ask for.. im still not sure wat i need to ask for that might have been left out in the standard package..

hi maez (maez),

nowadays ple go for more redwine instead of beer. i didnt believed that at the first place as my hubby was from navy. and navy guys were more on beer drinkers wat we heard lah.. but end up, most of our guests go for wine. end up, we have left over beers somemore.. but this is of coz up to individual lah.. so no harm trying..

hi scb,

thanks! yeah i'd guess too... unfortunately, my htb's dad will be inviting ALOT of his frens
so i think old men wun drink wine? im guessing hard liquor or beer.. :'(

will also try to ask his dad if he knows better to have more of wat then try to ask fr hotel.. so scared my 1st barrel will be gone in no time..

hi maez...

The short march was one of my reluctance to take RASA.. However you can have option to take a seperate route from another door I guess if your table is not too many that is.. I am taking Siloso as well.

No free flow beer that is for certain. Can request for cheaper rate? no GST?

However try to ask for cheaper wine/ corkage.

If not interested in the anniversary $100 voucher can exchange it for more wine..

day room use for your jie mei?

Cannot think of any for now.. but hope the above helps!

Hi Maez,

Old folks will tend to drink liquor i guessed. ;) both side of my old relatives all go for liquour..

If u are afraid that ur drinks will finish fast, request Rasa not to serve till when and which table serve slower.. hehehe.. thats the normal trick lah.. and it has defintly help me to save during mine. hehehe...

Hi Maez,

Add a little more.. like mine, i requested Rasa to serve all liquor drinks only when the first dish came out. Luckily did that. coz right after my 4th dish, my carton of wine finished liao. So i cant imagine, if i start serving during cocktail, how fast my wine finishes.. hahahaha...

Dear SCB,

I have seen the ballroom setup during the recent bridal show and is attracted by the grand feeling in Siloso ballroom.

Hi maez,
I tried to negotiate using the $100 F&B voucher to exchange for 8 bottles of wine but was rejected.

I was told there is no free day room available for helpers too... guess it is bcos i sign up from the bridal show. No room for negotiation.

From the previous thread, I can tell Cathy is more negotiatable. Such a pity to hear that she has resign.

hi maez, my 1st march in was from 1st door and 2nd was from 3rd door… slightly like a inverted v… that way both sides get to see us enter… only makes it slightly longer but better then from the center loh… i used 1 30l barrel and half 20l barrel of beer... must ask them to top up slowly...

storm, you're welcome!

Hi gals.. Is the $100 F&B referring to the 1st anniversary candlelight dinner for 2 at The Terrace or is that something u got from the bridal show? I didnt go for the bridal show, so dunno wat did i miss out... Only last month then decided to get married next year.. Thks.

hi ladies!

thanks for all the feedback, yep, indeed will take all those points down

scb, gosh, i muz really be prepared to spend on drinks then.. so many men, sure drink alot..

stacy, hmm.. i guess then wedding shows not all good also then, i was fretting that i missed it cos juz decided to start looking for venue :P

ling and dazed,
yep, im considering walking in 1st fr 1st door and then 3rd door too

HI Christy (dolphin25),

the $100 F&B u referring to the 1st anniversary candlelight dinner for 2 at The Terrace is given as a voucher in the package.

Dear Christy,

The $100 F&B voucher is one of the perks from bridal show. But from what you wrote, it seems like you have something similiar (candlelight dinner for 2 at The Terrance). They only phrase it differently.

hi maez, did u sign up during the bridal show? 30l barrel is standard, can negotiate for free 20l barrel. if u've already signed the agreement, then chances of negotiating for more perks is near zero, since whatever additional perks are stated in the agreement.

hi stacy, i'm surprised tt u find signing up during the bridal show more 'loo-gi'... based on previous comparisons, bridal show offers more perks than walk-ins. perhaps u didn't ask for them b4 signing the agreement or it's just a case of diff co-ords, diff flexibility...

i hvn signed up yet, juz went down to look at it so i can have a better feel before commiting. but anw.. sigh.. my FIL is dead against it, stating reasons like his friends who dun drive sure wun come. he doesnt even listen to the arrangements that can be made. anw, i dun see the need to invite almost 10 tables of purely friends. oh well.. will see how it goes, checking out other venues for weekdays, dun have too high budget. if we finally still like rasa then will convince him or ignore.

maez... forgot to mention wines. try negotiating for free corkage. their house wines cost $24+++, works out to $28/btl, whereas u can buy wines from outside from $15 onwards. if they don't allow all free, then try asking for free corkage up to say maybe 3 cases (36 btls), then for subsequent cases, negotiate for 2-for-1, i.e. every 2 crates u bring in, u gotta buy one crate from htl. this will definitely save u at least a few hundred dollars.

maez... it'll be a pity if u can't hold your wedding at some place u & hb like... haiii, if your FIL is paying for the banquet, then really got no say. if not, then fight for it. all my relatives reacted to sentosa saying so far, so inconvenient, etc. we just simply bo chup. if u're sincere in attending, even in JB u will also come. ;)

hi ellie, thanks for the tips on wine, i'll take note of that. well, i like rasa also for the price, not tt i dun lke hotels in mainland but juz tt i prob wun afford weekend. we are prepared to pay ourselves, so will ask him to absorb the excess if he insists.

on my part, i feel tt the pple he invites r not all tt impt to me since they r not even relatives, they wun be there to feel happy for me n i wun see them again.. but will try to compromise so as to keep relations cordial..

i'll be looking at more hotels this weekend!

maez... ya u're right, rasa weekend rates are very attractive, compared to mainland htls. i guess no one would want to hold their weddings there if the rates are almost the same! we actually prefer marriott but can't afford it on weekend. well anyway, good luck with your htl search, it's just the beginning.

hi maez,

if you have your wedding on fri or sun, it is considered a weekday rate. this might be another area that you can look into.

hi joycec,
yep, thats actually the main reason im on abt rasa.. so i can afford sun at a comfy rate.

hi ellie,
yeah, i like some other hotels too but so ex for weekend.. so i'll see how it goes..

maez... when we were doing hotel search, not many nice mainland htls in town can match rasa's weekend rates. perhaps u can check out the flwg locations which are offering affordable weekend rates:
1. Grand Plaza Parkroyal (City Hall)
2. Plaza Parkroyal (Beach Rd)
3. The Pines Country Club (Stevens Rd)

hi ellie,

thanks, might them out plus i'll be checking out some slightly more ex ones :P but will have to contend w weekday.. anw, think it'll be almost 3-4weeks before i decide.. luckily i decided to be kiasu n look ard early hee..

Hi All Rasa brides,

I'm an ex-Rasa bride. Just had my wedding on Sunday, 10 July. I was suppose to have outdoor wedding at the lawn but it rained so no choice I had to shift to the pavilion. Though I only made the decision to move to pavilion at 4pm (when my cocktail recept suppose to start at 6pm), the Rasa team was still very efficient and helpful. They managed to set up the pavilion room nicely and in time. Special credits must be given to the two Thomas the banquet manager and ops manager and of course, Perry. They were also very accomodating and attentive to my needs. I think I gave Perry a hard time when I insisted to get the kind of purple orchids I wanted. His florist was not very helpful in getting the flowers but Perry was nice. In the end, managed to get the flowers we wanted.

Friends also enjoyed the buffet dinner especially the beef. The bridal suite is nice too and we were given two other helpers room. Overall, I must say the hotel staff had done a good job for my wedding.

Hi ellie, i agree that the rates and perks offered during the bridal show are very attrative. But just that my co-ordinator is not flexible to let me exchange any of the perks. Hee... I must admit i m very greedy. Saw the previous thread that some managed to exchange the F&B voucher for wine so tried to do the same thing but was rejected. Hee.

Dear maez, i am having the same negative responses from friends and relatives. I have only paid the inital deposit of $200 and is still looking around too. There are 2 bridal shows coming up... 1 in Grand Plaza Park Royal on 16th Jul and another one in Fullerton on 24th Jul.

hi scrumpee, congrats! glad to know tt everything went well.

hi stacy, ya... i think one can't help to be greedy when u knew tt others are getting more perks than u do. haha... ;)

Hi Srumpee..

Hope the weather didnt get you too down! when I was at RASA the other time the bride experience same problem and the co-ordinater move the wedding to the beach than back to the pavilion than back to the beach again upteen times according tot he bride's request and nary said a word. I was thus impressed with their service!!

What orchid where you talking about? Cymbidum? Any pictures to share?

Hi Ling

Actually the weather affected me quite badly. I cried when I know that I can't hold my banquet at the lawn and have to shift to the pavilion, especially when I have have prepared special march-in item which can only be done outdoor. All my friends and hubby kept assuring me that Pavilion also nice. But I didn't have a good impression of the Pavilion when I went for my recce. But the staff there were able to decorate the place nicely, so it still not too bad.

No lah, not cymbidum. Rasa where got so good give me expensive orchids. The orchid is very normal actually, similar like what u see at the florist. Just that the purple colour I asked for is more difficult to get.

Will be getting AD pix next week. Will share them with u.

Hi Srumpee,
Congrats! We met Perry on the 10th actually. He brought us around, to the lawn etc and told us about your outdoor dinner. During the discussion with him, he was busy on the line to settle your dinner. Glad that all things turned out well even though it was raining.

Hi Christy, really? what a coincidence. Perry is quite attentive lah...asked me if I want any drinks while I was doing my make up. So have u decided to sign with Rasa?

Hi Srumpee, a small world har! We r still considering. Our dream wedding is beach weddin, so likely to have it in Rasa - dinner for my parents, beach for us! ;) but we still hesitating regarding our solemnisation on the same day in Rasa. $400++ is too costly lah.
Ur solemnisation not on AD right?

Christy
I already gone thru solemnisation last Nov and was not at Rasa. Why must pay extra $400? Is it the solemnisation will be at a different site in rasa? One suggestion, maybe u can have the solemnisation at the place where u will be having your banquet. Like my friend, the solemnisation was held in the ballroom where the banquet is. Dinner starts right after solemnisation. In this way, the hotel will not need to do extra set up for you.

Hi Phine,

Perry is my co=ordinator...He's a nice person and will try to give you what you want if it is possible. He's quite busy because 2 of their co-ordinators left so he's not always prompt with email (2-3 days to reply)...however if you call him up he responds quickly. He's also not pushy...we dragged the signing of our contract for ages coz we couldn't settle some minor details yet he didn't bug us to sign and pay the deposit...and still reserved our date for us. =)

Hi Phine,

I've just received an email too that my coordinator will be changed to Perry. Thanks to all these advice you gals posted in this forum. It really help ease worries.

Hi Sharlene,

so glad to hear that but just upset that Elaine is leaving...heard so much about her great svcs....

anyway, i have already signed up for my dnr with elaine a couple of months back...:P