Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa

shan shan... i'm ok.
though i still do feel 'cheated' of the additional perks we'll get if signed up during the bridal show. considering we confirmed and signed pretty early, perry should have offered us more. but since he was new then, we ended up being the casualties. hehe... thanks for your suggestion abt the room, i'll check with him when we next meet. cathy seemed to be more well versed with negotiation as from what i can c from this thread, she knows better what can be exchanged for something else. more alternative suggestions... lucky u.

oh btw, forgot to mention this... about our photo shoot at rasa, perry left when we reached and he passed the job to cathy to pass us the room key. she's still very nice and friendly as the first time we met her with perry to view rasa's surroundings last year, even though we were not under her charge. mentioning this make me remember something else... which is our car # wasn't registered with Sentosa gantry on PS day, so we ended up paying $2 for the car. my hb told the gantry lady we're going to rasa for PS, so seeing me in WG, she only asked for $2 for the car. but we managed to claim the money from rasa, just tt i don't feel good since we have notified perry of our car # beforehand and he said he'll register with the gantry for free entry. so there shldn't be any hiccup like this.

Hi Merchelle..

Received ald!!

Wah I really like pavilion!! Only thing is... I have to do the deed at siloso *sob*

Thanks for resending the pictures!

Scrumpee..

Thanks for the favour pricing! That is really good to consider actually.

Ellie..

Only 1 time for wedding so splurge a bit lah.. let's just enjoy the do and not mull over it. Cheer up!!

hey ellie, me also had the same problem!!! but we refused to pay and make the sentosa staff call rasa to confirm... not oni then, many times liao, food tasting etc... bad communication between rasa and sentosa staff... sometimes is the staff geh kiang and try to collect money lor...

dazed... serious??? on PS day, the gantry lady did look thru a list and told my hb our car not registered. we didn't want to hold up the traffic so just pay $2. lucky she didn't ask us to pay $2 per pax! i'm going for food tasting soon leh. aiyo... terrible. really don't know if rasa didn't do their job or the gantry ppl making things difficult.

hi ellie, check wif u, u mean we can go up to the hotel room for PS??...i din noe bou this...im oso planning to hv my PS at sentosa...u mean we can get free entry into sentosa ah??how bou the photograher?...hmmm...

hi shan, yup, just arrange with your coordinator so that you can have a room reserved for a few hours... they will ask for vehicle number and no of pax coming for ps... take pics in the balcony... the room pics also nice ...

shan shan... dazed answered your question.
your co-ord will base on the room availability to give you the best possible room but i think the norm is exec suite.

merchelle... i'm getting quite nervous abt the AD. perhaps drawing nearer by the day gives me the creeps. looking forward to it though, can't wait for it to be over and done with in fact. cos oredi planned for such a long time, feeling exhausted.

Halo Ellie,

Trust me, all the planning is worthwhile. U will start missing the events after everything is over. Maybe u will have the feeling that it ends so fast. Hehehe.. though mine was already 6mths ago, but me still missed it so so much. hehehe...

ask u all ah, how many months in advance should i book the AD for the banquet??

the tong shu for next year is not out yet, im scared dat i wun b able to get the date i wan...if urs is on a weekend, did u manage to get the date u wan?

Hi shanshan..

AD is next year may but I have booked in may this year.. like a year in advance.. and even then, We were not left with a lot of choice for weekend to begin with..

I think some geomancer dont need tongshu to calculate. Maybe they can be your option?

hi shan, i booked 11 months in advance and still almost did not get my date... not oni at rasa but quite a number of other hotels too... so if yours is a 'hot' date, better book early... same goes for your photographer and videographer...

shan shan... i got my date one and a half yr in advance. the uncle i went to uses '3 shi shu' (3 generation book) to calculate, since the tong shu not out yet. it's accurate cos my AD is indeed a very hot date! he charges only $30 and he's very detailed. he'll even look abit into the lifes of you & hb, telling u what career to look out for. if u bring floor plan, he may even advise u on the fengshui as to which direction your bed shld face tt is good for the both of u. PM me if u wan his ctc.

dazed,thanx...wil call cathy soon....

ellie, this uncle u mentioned sounds great....yeah, can i hv his contacts....thanx...
...so hv u gone for ur food-tasting?

shan shan... can u PM me for the uncle's ctc? or u activate your PM? don't wanna publish it here.
went for food-tasting just y-day evening. Everything's good - food, svc, serving size...

Siao cha Boh, are u still on this thread. Need advise from u about Rasa Shangrila:

1)What time did u check in to the hotel on your AD? Is the checkin process fast or slow? cos I have a friend who had experience very slow check in process at the hotel.

2) What time did u start rehearsing?

3) is yours an outdoor or indoor event? how's the sound system if outdoor?

thanks in advance.

shan shan... PM is pte message. u have to go to your profile to uncheck the box 'Do not send me pte message...' under preferences.

my AD is on Sun so i took devotion menu A as main but changed over some dishes from weekend menu. dishes as follows:
1. Rasa's Deluxe Wedding Appetizer Selection - Baby Octopus with Sesame Seeds, Golden Seafood Rolls, Shark's Fin with Scrambled Egg & Crabmeat, Prawn Fruit Salad with Asian Mayo and Soya Chicken
2. Braised Shark's Fin with Crabmeat
3. Golden Roast Crispy Chicken with Prawn Crackers & Spiced Salt
4. Steamed Live Seabass with Superior Soya Sauce
5. Steamed Live Prawns with "Hua Teow" Wine
6. Braised Chinese Mushrooms with Young Corn & Broccoli Roses
7. Wok-fried Ee Fu Noodles with Crabmeat & Chives
8. White Snow Fungus with Lotus Seeds & Lily Bulbs

shan shan, PM u liao. all the dishes are good, we complimented the chef at the end of the food tasting session and highlighted to him to maintain the standard (taste, serving & presentation). he assured us not to worry. though we'll never know till AD, many ex-brides here have no negative feedback on food from their guests either.

thanx ellie
...but so sorry, need to trouble u again...how do i retrieve the private message den?

dats gd..
...actuali im planning not to go for any food-tasting, so hearing wat u say reali put my heart at rest...
...so mayb i wil juz take ur menu...hehe...:p...btw, when is ur AD?

one more ting, can i check wif u gals, whenever u all meet up with ur co-ordinator, do u ask her to grant u all free admission to sentosa, or u wil juz pay the admission fee each time u go in?

hi shan shan, the PM goes to the e-mail add that u registered with this forum. so u shld go check your personal email.

u not going for food-tasting? so u exhanged it for something else? my AD is 18 sep 05...

your co-ord shld always arrange free admission for you... regardless if u take the rasa bus or by car, ask your co-ord to provide u an official letter or print out the e-mail tt confirms your meeting with them. past experience was tt the gantry has no record of the car going in (though the co-ord said they've arranged complimentary car pass/registered the car # with gantry), end up gotta pay $2 for the car, then claim from rasa. if u take bus, the bus driver or even the ranger will ask your visit purpose and the letter will be put to good use.

ellie...ic, ok thanx...

yah, i was tinking of not going for any food-tasting...cathy said can deduct $400 from my solemnization cost (coz i hv to pay $800++ for setting up the solemnization venue)

oh, dats in bou 2 n a half mths' time...so good....u muz b looking forward to it..
...so wil u b doing any powerpoint slides?..got to rent the projector rite??

ic, great idea...ok,i shall print out the email...thanx...

yup, coming up fast.
we're getting our videographer to do the photo montage, haven't tot much abt the projector yet. perhaps rent from the videographer or borrow from office.

Halo Srumpee (scrumpee01),

So sorry with the late reply. hehehe.. nevertheless, here's my ans:

1)What time did u check in to the hotel on your AD? Is the checkin process fast or slow? cos I have a friend who had experience very slow check in process at the hotel.
(SBC's reply: should check in @ 3pm, but we were there early around 1+pm, so called up elaine and checked if we can get in early. YES eventually but have to rest in the temp room first. Upon arrivial, she was there waiting for us already @ the hotel lobby. Settled our barang barang-such as mine and my friends luagage with her, then show us to the temp room first as we were there early. Abt 3pm sharp, she came up to the temp rm personally and showed us the bridal suite.)

2) What time did u start rehearsing?
(SBC's reply: starting @ 4pm)

3) is yours an outdoor or indoor event? how's the sound system if outdoor?
(SBC's reply: mine was an outdoor cocktail session and indoor dinner banquet. I was not in the cocktail session. thus, sorry that cant comment much on that)

Hope i had provided enough info for u.

Hi Shan Shan,
I always let Elaine (my co-ordinator) knows that we will be driving in, and hoped she will arrange free enterance for us. Just let your coordinator know how many cars entering and give your coordinator the car plate numbers and print out the confirmation email to play safe for entering the gantry. ;)

hi scrumpee, saw sbc's post and wanted to share that we did not have to check in at all... we called elaine as we were entering sentosa and she was waiting there together with another guest relations manager and we were whisked away to our rooms immediately, din have to worry about anything, the guest relations manager then did everything for us in the room! very good service!

Hi scrumpee,

Oppss.. hehehe. yeah, forgotton that me did not do the checking in as well. Like Dazed had mentioned the co-ordinator or guest relation manager will do everything for us. ;)

reali glad to hear dat rasa provide such good service....
...thanx for sharing ur wonderful experience wif us...

ellie, thot they use special projector?..u mean any projector wil do ah....hmmm, den mayb dun nit to rent from rasa...coz cathy told me dat gotta pay bou $400 + for the rental of projector...dazed n siao cha boh, is it true?

dazed, ur fotos look reali nice...too bad i cant hold my solemnization there coz the white fence area wil no longer be there next year....
...so roughly wat time u commence ur solemnization?

shan shan... they told us they don't provide projector, told us to bring in ourselves lei. didn't hear abt any special projector.

ellie, yes, i printed in a seperate insert using my printer...

shan, my hb used his office projector... normal kind...

thanks dazed. so u had 3 inserts with your invite - 1 for the special room rate, 1 for the location of gateway carpark and 1 for the location of the coaches?

ellie, huh? no lah, 1 is the normal invite insert, the other is the pickup location and carpark location... special room rate? din do that one...

oic...thanx ellie n dazed....great, so dun nit to rent the projector..

btw, check wif u all, do u all hv any problem with the transportation part? ellie, urs is a dinner banquet rite? is it on a sat or sun? r u worried dat guests mig not come coz sentosa is too far, esp if u held it on sun n the next day need to work...

actuali im in a dilemma now as to whether to hold a lunch or dinner event...if lunch, scared dat pple mig give lesser angpows...if dinner, scared pple wil feel transportation is an issue....

so most of the guests turned up? den do many people leave earlier? so when u sent the invitation card, u wil indicate all three pick-up points? will u worry dat if end up one location has more people n hv not enuf seats?...duno whether m i worrying too much anot...:p...sori ah, so many questions at one go...:p

shan, i had more than 80% turn out, not many people leave earlier cos most take transport out. yup, indicated all 3 pickup pts. as to enuf seats a not then you have to do homework by checking with guest liao...

no worries... i also asked many qns when i was at your stage... and sent long long emails to elaine too... hehe...