Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa

sok leng

I have always wanted to have something diferent for my wedding. Thus, having the dinner at Rasa Sentosa is a break from the norm and bring the guests to a more relaxed environment, away from the busy city.
However, my husband and in-laws ain't very keen on that idea, they were saying that I'll have a smaller turnout cos' the place is so inconvenient and ppl will tend to leave when the 8th courses are served.
I tried convincing them that the hotel provides buses to ferry the guests but they said that it's still quite troublesome and inconvenient. Also, those who drive are also inconvenienced cos' they have to pay for the entry to Sentosa if they drive.
Is that true?
Also, I don't know if the food there is good. Anyone has tried the food there?

annie

Hi Sok Leng

Guess what, I was in exactly the same predicament as you some months back! Well, I think what your husband and in-laws are saying is very true, even though there are coaches to fetch the guests to the hotel, they have to congregate at pre-designated pick-up points. My fiance and I thought of buying enough entry coupons to Sentosa to give away complimentary to the guests, but then we're not sure if the hotel can accomodate so many cars in the first place. Turn-out will surely be affected. You'll need to consider this very carefully. If you're ok with it, then go for it! The sunset cocktail by the sea is a really romantic idea :)

honey

Sok Leng & ANnie,

Me too got the same idea! Want something diff and Rasa-Sentosa seems to be the dream one, however, there r quite a few setbacks that eventually we decide not to have it there.

ya, its the inconvenience of the location, and those driving.

But i really luv the outdoor cocktail area, simply beautiful! Looks like i can only enjoy it if i bk a room there during my anniverary a few yrs later!

lynn

looks like rasa sentosa is the best choice available for us in terms of the date that we wanted, seating capacity and price. the other places are either fully booked or too expensive. am concerned with the guest attendance. but if we change it to a weekday at other venues that are more accessible, we're faced with the attendance issue again.

has anyone attended a wedding at rasa sentosa? was the attendance bad? mine will be on a sunday

Hi Lynn,

If you don't mind changing your banquet date...I think Saturday will be a better choice as most people won't have to work on Sunday and hence they probably can afford to stay longer and party till much later.

lynn

Hi KPO,

Agree with you that Saturday is a better day. In fact, my actual day is on Sat but they're booked on that day. I've called about 20 hotels and they are all booked on that Sat, even on the Sun after that. Rasa Sentosa is the only one that's avai on Sun.

If I change it to another day, I'll have to go through the whole process of calling..... very tired already..... :( Feel like just booking Rasa Sentosa and get it over and done with.

If that's the case...go ahead with your booking. I think Rasa Sentosa is a good choice :)
I felt the same way too when I was looking for a venue...most of the hotels that we like have been booked already...when we found one that's still available...we just grabbed 'cos we were too sick to look anymore :p

chin leng

Hi Lynn,

Can the guests drive to the hotel? If not, I think you just have to spend an extra effort in explaining to your guests that transportation will be provided to send them to Rasa Sentosa and assure them that it is not inconvenient to go there.

When the wedding date draws near, call up the guests again and check with them if they know how to get there. If they don't , explain and assure them that there will be people at the pick-up points to guide them.

Alternatively, you can check with the wedding consultants from "It's Made In Heaven" at our "Advice by the experts -> Kat and Chris advice corner (wedding consultants)". Check with them if they had organised any weddings at Sentosa and how to ensure guest attendance.

If I'm not wrong, the hotel will only provide approx. 10 (or less) car passes. However, their wedding package will include transportation to & fro from WTC to the hotel.

It's important to coordinate and ensure that all guests who require transport to Sentosa will gather @ the pick-up point on time. However, knowing these people...there will bound to be a few who will be late.

I would suggest that you start your reception & dinner earlier (6.30pm) so that by the time the dinner ends...it's still not that late.

caira

Hi Lynn,

When is your wedding? I'm also thinking of booking Rasa, but have been taking my time to look around a bit more since mine is in Mar 2002. When you decide, maybe we can swop notes about the bargaining!

lynn

Thanks Chin Leng, will check with Kat and Chris. Guests can drive to the hotel after 6.30pm but they'll have to pay the entrance fee of $12/-. Alternatively, they can park at World Trade and take the hotel's transport.

KPO, thanks for the suggestion. In fact, I'm not so concerned with the attendance of our friends and colleagues but more of the relatives and parents' friends.

Hi Caira, have you chosen the date in Mar 2002? Don't you have to wait for the almanac which will be out sometime in Sep this year? Will share with you on my package when I've confirmed with them.

caira

Hi Lynn,

I just went down to have a look at the hotel; I really like the Pavilion, the newly renovated room on the 5th flr (lobby level) as there are windows and thus a view. The ceiling's a bit low and there are no chandeliers, so it won't be 'grand' but I can live with that

Have you confirmed your package with them yet? Will you be using the Ballroom or the Pavilion? And when is your wedding??

Sorry to seem so kaypoh, but I'm just wondering what I can ask them for. Are you liaising with Patricia?

I haven't decided on a date yet, I don't think I can wait for the Almanac but I wanna go find a geomancer that I can give our 'ba zi' to.. how did you pick your date?

lynn

Hi Caira,

My wedding is in Nov and we'll be confirming the booking soon. We'll be using the Ballroom coz' we're expecting about 40+ tables. We've seen the Pavilion and I also like the full-length windows and the view.

We got our date from a fortune teller.

atticus

I have a Rasa Sentosa Wedding Dinner/Function package for transfer. It was scheduled for 9 Dec 2001 but due to new family objections about the date, I have to change it.

A $2000 deposit has already been paid up. I
hope some kind soul can take it over from me for $1000 which means a savings of $1000 for him/her. It may not be necessarily a wedding dinner, just any event that would require above 25 tables. Pls feel free to e-mail me at [email protected] with any queries you may have. Thanks.

cracker

Hi wei,

I've only been there for a stayover, the place is like a beach resort. however, will be attending a wedding there soon, so will keep u updated!

Just for your info, I'm holding my wedding at The Beaufort! Love that place! The ballrm is a bit s small though. The max no of tables it can hold is 25 tables. Good for small and cosy affair. The ballrm overlooks the south china sea so its really gorgeous!

So when is your big day?

hey cracker,

yup...beaufort is beautiful...one advice though..start your banquet earlier (6+pm) 'cos then your guests will be able to enjoy the sth china sea scene/sunset...any later, it'll be pitch black!

cracker

Hi KPO,

Yup, will probably start the pre-dinner cocktail at 6+. That is the best time to enjoy the breathtaking view!

Have u ever attended any weddings at the beaufort?

ck

was wondering if anybody recently attended a wedding at Rasa Shangri La? Or is there anybody having it there soon? I booked my package with them recently but the coordinator left suddenly. And as I was very pleased with her service previously, her leaving kinda disturbed me. any good comments about the place to console me with?? (frank bad opinions are welcome as well lah)

sw

Hi CK,

Yes I actually attended an outdoor wedding at Rasa a couple of weeks back. As you would have guessed, it was really warm and many guests were pespiring.. didn't help that there were no fans in the open area.

The weather became alot better in the evening but it was still rather warm. The food was average, though the selection did seemed good. One thing that rather impressed me was the good service at Rasa. The waiters and waitresses were polite and helpful, not quite what you usually see at wedding banquets.

The sea view is great but its a pity that it was blocked out by the trees. Guess its a trade off, cos the trees did provide much needed shade!

I think its pretty common to see hotel pple move around and its a shame when the coordinator you have been working with leaves without even informing you. Its important to touch base with the new coordinator to make sure there are no gaps between what was agreed and understood previously.

Generally, Rasa is a nice place to hold an outdoor wedding, but it will be rather painful for your guests if you do not put up a marquee/install fans. So all the best!

ck

Hi SW,
thanks so much for your input. I am having a lawn (outdoor) cocktail but a indoor sit down chinese dinner in the ballroom so the weather is not that much of a concern.But you are right, I am quite disturbed by the fact that the previous coordinator didn't inform me & am afriad that some stuff, which were agreed upon verbally earlier may not be fulfilled by Rasa now. That's why must always remm to write everything in Black & White man ....

sw

Hi Ck,

I think I know where your reception is gona be.. do you intend to put up a marquee? If not, do find out ways where you can at least put up huge fans for your guests. This is definitely possible as there are power points at the lawn. Its money worth spending on cos the last thing you want for your guests is for them to get so distracted by the weather that they are not enjoying your wedding.

Yes, and do get everything down in bnw!! VERY VERY important! When you are negotiating with the new coordinator, remember to express your shock and disappointment at how you were not informed and that its gona be so troublesome going thru everything all over again. Push for all the things that were agreed upon and don't let them short change you!! Get your opinions heard as it is their responsibility to do some damage recovery now that your coordinator has left on short notice! All the best!

ck

Hi SW,
Ya! And they just sent me a letter saying this new girl will take over & will contact me shortly but after a few weeks still no news! I am actually quite non-fussy so don't really know how to complain & what to ask for etc .. But do you think I should call up & see the new girl to go through everything again? (afraid that I myself cannot even remm some of the things that were discussed & not written in B/W!)
Thanks for your advice!

sw

Hi CK,

Yes, do call up the new person in charge and go through everything with her again. This way, should this girl leave unceremoniously again, you have something to fall back on! They actually sent you a letter to tell you they would call you but did not? Call them up and 'complain' then! You see, ultimately, the banquet price does include all these 'service' you are getting so don't feel bad about going to them and getting what you want!

Think that standard things you could ask for should be food tasting (if not already included), more car passes (since its Sentosa) or more chartered buses, complimentary barrel of beer, waiver of corkage charges, extra night stay etc etc.

All the best!

march yap

Hi Caira,

I m also having my wedding @ Rasa Sentosa in Mar 2002, on a Saturday. Have u place your booking w/ Rasa?

linustoh

hi everybody,

I had my wedding dinner in Rasa and really got no regrets. Don't worry about the attendance becos coaches are provided by the hotel. Most of my guests are happier becos of the free transport, saving them the hassle of looking for the hotel. Try to put your coaches near MRT stations, it will be much easier. For those who drive in can always park their cars at the beach. It's very convenient. We even had our dinner started at 8pm compared to other wedding dinners we had attended.., well we all know, most of them start at 9pm. That's one of the advantage...
The food there is quite alright..we didn't hear any complains from our friends. The service was fine, at least they responsed promptly to our guests request. This is what we hear from our friends. We ended our dinner at about 10pm. It was not very late and juz nice for the guests to go home . In fact, we really enjoy ourselves there...

ck

Hi Linustoh,
Good to hear you enjoy the experience at Rasa! Few questions :
1) was yours at the Pavillion? How was that? Nice?
2) does the waiters change plates often? enough waiters to attend to per table?
3) was your cocktail at the lawn area? how was that? how weather a factor?
Sorry to be so kaypo .. just very excited to know that someone has a good experience there.

ck

advise needed. we have over estimated our guest & booked more tables than we wanted. Now, looking at our guest list a 2nd time. think we need to cut at least 5 tables. The contract has a clause that says there can be no reduction of tables, only increment is allowed. Wat can I do? Anybody with such experience with Rasa or other hotels?

hi CK,

invite every tom, dick and harry and their spouses....unfortunately, once the contract is signed, u'll have to pay for the agreed no. of tables even if ur guests fall short.

ck

Hi KPO,
OH NO! Really no way out? Oh dear! didn;t want to have a situation whereby i really have to invite very tom, dick & harry leh! ai ya ... or do you think i can get something like dining vouchers in exchange for the reduction in tables? say for eg, each table cost $700, then i can get $3500 worth of vouchers. see, our wedding is supposed to be over 2 days, sat church wedding & we will go to rasa sentosa with our helpers & close friends & stay over the night till the next day when we have our wedding dinner - if we have the vouchers then maybe we can use it for the celebration the night before the wedding dinner when we are already there? Anyway would probably have to feed
those friends of ours as well. Wat do you think?

hi CK,

hmmm...might be feasible, no harm giving it a shot!

if u reduce ur previously agreed no. of tables by 5...is it still within their min. no requirement? if it is...might not be too difficult to negotiate.

i wish you all the best in your negotiation!

islandpub

hi CK,

maybe u can try negotiating with them to allow u to come back within a short period of time maybe 3-6 mths to use up the balance 5 tables but u will still pay up the full price of the 5 tables first.... some hotels allow this kind of arrangement but mostly is up to max of the no. of reserved tables allowed (usu 2 tables) and within a period of 3 mths.... but u can try to negotiate with them lor... say u willing to pay the full price upfront together with ur wedding dinner but ask them to allow u to come back another time within a time frame of 6 mths (coz u got 5 tables mah) to use up the 5 tables at one of their restaurants lor..... if they agree, u can use the tables to treat ur helpers another round n also both side families,etc....

hope this helps....

ck

hi islandpub,

that's a good alternative! thanks for your suggestion! yah .. prob have to do it that way already, no choice. but think i will still try very hard to negotiate with them abt reducing the min. tables. Actually when they are so relentless about negotiation, aren't they worried aout you canceling the whole deal? afterall i paid only $2000 deposit & if really no choice, i may even cancel this deal & waste $2000 rather than having 5 empty tables right (more than $3000 this way)
wat do you think?

lynn

Hi CK,

So, your friend had hers at Rasa too? Did you attend? How's the attendance? What about the food, service etc?

ck

Hi Lynn,
Ya .. i attended my fren's.. she had her solemnisation at the lawn (incredibly romantic) & i left after tat & didnt attend dinner. so wouldnt know abt food but everyone who's eaten at the banquet before says its excellent & the service is good too i heard! guess we got no worries!!
when's your wedding anyway? where's the venue? buffet or chinese sit down? pavillion or siloso ballroom?? Sorry .. too many qns? just so excited i found someone to discuss this with!!

kelling

hi CK,
can you share with us how much is the package at Rasa? Heard a lot of positive comments about Rasa and would like to see if it fits my budget prior to travelling to Sentosa to meet them. Thanks in advance

lynn

Hi Linustoh,
Read that you had your wedding dinner at Rasa. Did you also have the pre-dinner cocktail at the waterfront lawn? Was wondering if I should wear my WG cos' I'm afraid I'll soil it as it comes with a long trail. What about you?

Hi CK,
My wedding is in Nov, what about yours? I'll be having it at the siloso ballroom. you?

ck

Hi Kelling,
My package is $598 (around there - can't remm exact) per table cos its a weekday (Sunday - its good that Rasa consider Sunday a weekday!) inclusive of 2 barrels of beer, simple flowers, 1 nite stay, white seat covers (standard for Rasa so you do not pay extra like some other hotels), transport for guests (in case you are worried about getting your guests into sentosa). Pretty reasonable I should say! You should go take a look!

Hi Lynn,
Mine is in the Pavillion. Cocktail at the Lawn also... ya .. must make my guests go up the stairs to the Pavillion ballroom since the lawn is actualy nearer the Siloso ballroom but never mind lah!

I think it is OK to wear your WG to the lawn - dont be afraid of dirtying it (dont think it will be much anyway. One concern though is the lawn setting is more 'casual & romantic' so a grand WG may not be tat suitable? just my personal thots.
I was just thinking ... should we then have our reception tables (for ang pow) at the entrance to the lawn or the entrance to the ballroom?

kelling

hi, can anyone recommend me a good coordinator from Rasa? btw, what is the minimun table requirement from Rasa? thanks...

ck

Hi Kelling,
sorry price is wrong. Just checked & as we have not confirmed no. of tables, we only know the range of price. $598 is the lowest means you must have 35 tables & above (i think) & it can be higher like $700+ if its a weekday & you have fewer tables, think min is 20. So best is you go down & take a look or call to ask them to fax you the list 1st. You can look for Elaine Teo. She is my coordinator since my coordinator has left a while ago. Havent met Elaine yet but will do so soon. Talked to her on the phone & she seems quite OK. Generally you enjoy quite good service in Rasa so don't worry.

wkg

Btw for balloon theme party, do visit CL's posting of 08/16 for the contact details (ref : anything under the sun, any suggestions)

elaine

Just attended a tea-reception there. Is really inconvenient as commented from most of my friends who attended. reason for those who did not attend is also due to the inconvenience! Becos is a reception, not much variety for the food. you either have sandwiches, fruits or finger food! and the choice of finger food is only 4 type. Get to know that per pax cost about $60+. The ambience is good. But I realise that most guest dont view the scenery. they are busy talking among themselve within the table. So I guess, with the amt of $ paid, is better to have @htl in town area.

i've attended a wedding banquet @ rasa last month...it wasn't as inconvenient as what some had feared...for those who drive, they can just park their car @ WTC and take a shuttle bus (every 20-min waiting interval) to rasa...my friend also arranged to have buses pick guests up from city hall (quite convenient for those who don't drive).

it'll be good if your banquet is on a weekend (preferrably Sat)...start the cocktail reception (& dinner) earlier...around 6-6.30pm will be good 'cos that's when your guests can catch the beautiful sunset by the beach. start early and end early so that you won't have ppl leaving halfway thru the banquet.

the food and service is so-so only...during the entrance of the 1st dish...the music was played but the dishes never appeared...there were some delays in the kitchen apparently...they had to replay the music again...quite embarassing!

the part-timer waiters/waitresses were quite inexperienced and some (foreigners) couldn't really understand english. numerous incidents of waiters dropping plates and glasses...one waiter took our wine and served it to another table. my friend, who was taking vegetarian food had to wait like forever for his food to be served.

kelling

hello, thank you for all your input, may have to reconsider Rasa since so many pple find it inconvenient.have to discuss with my hubby again ;)

delany

Can anyone provide me with an email contact for the banquet folks at Rasa Sentosa ? Quite keen to see their menu.

lin

i just found out about this forum and am so glad to find fellow "rasa sentosa" brides here :eek:) ...

just like to share with all of you that the service i received at rasa is excellent to say the least... so pls. don't worry about their service...

i'd just to find out if anyone has any idea on how to coordinate the transport for the guests. will we need to station urshers at the various pick-up points?

delany

Can anyone tell me what is the minimum no. of tables for the Siloso Ballroom for a sat night ?

sun

Just like to ask those who have been for a wedding at the lawn (whether for cocktails or solemnisation). Was it really warm? And has anyone had the buffet instead of the Chinese sit-downs? We are supposed to give Elaine a confirmation in a week's time. We are considering the buffet becos' we want our guests to feel free to mingle and walk around instead of sitting at their tables for the whole dinner. Would be good if people really feel full after the dinner, not half empty like after Chinese dinners. Ever had that hungry after-dinner feeling?

Would really appreciate some advice on this. Thank you.

hi sun,

i've attended my friend's wedding @ rasa...cocktail was held @ the lawn @ ard 6.30-7pm...it wasn't warm (tip is to serve lots of icy cold drinks/wines and inform guests to dress light)...we all enjoyed the beautiful sunset and took some really beautiful pics!

for my wedding, i had a buffet dinner (not @ rasa though)...yes, it'll definitely be more casual and fun to have ppl mingling with one another...also depending on the no. of guests you have, up to 200 guests shld be quite manageable...have a few separate buffet tables if guests are too many.

r u having the buffet indoor or outdoor? if outdoor...must have contingency plans in case it rains! also, must make sure foods like oysters, sashimi, curries don't go bad (better still, avoid selecting such foods).

have food served butler style for the old folks/VIP tables if they r not keen on the buffet idea.

are you planning to provide tables/chairs for guests to sit and eat? even if you don't...have at least some chairs around for those in need. if no chairs/tables...make sure all foods are easy to eat (i.e. kerbabs, finger foods).

usually for buffet dinner...guests will be done with eating very soon (1.5-2hrs later)...unless u provide some form of entertainment...guests will start to feel bored and many will start leaving very soon.