Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa

bugbear, we suppose to submit cert by dec this yr... so i wrote to HDB in mar... but they rejected saying that I shld wait till its nearer to TOP then submit... so stupid, trying to tell them in adv then say cannot give waiver now...

I oso dream of a church wedding but both our parents are buddist/taoist... so no hope...

hmmm btw i doing my ROM & AD during dinner time so its not rushing lah... but gotta take the extra step to arrange for the JP to do the solemnisation...

bugbear, can't decide between the church we are attending or the one his parents are attending, dunno wan to have choir of not....cater at the church but dunno how many pax yet.....seems like it's gonna be last minute again...

any caterer to recommend?

btw, any ah yees gonna dress alike? or colour theme?

Haha...now we are into losing and increasing weight...hehhe..

Yah lor...my relatives say i should lose any mor weight...else will look very haggard. I used to be VERY VERY fat...u gals wouldn't belive...within 2 years, i lost a lot of weight...and i look half the size i used to be...and during that time, i looked really terrible...very haggard...and my parents see already cannot believe it's me...but now, look much better...cos i put on abt 3 kgs...sigh...the before 3kg is my ideal weight...but now very difficult to go down to that weight liao.

Sweatcorn...i faced the same issue lor. I just enquire about it and they also told me to write in when nearer the TOP date, then submit letter together with banquet or BS receipt...then when i asked them further as to approval rate..cos i fear that end up if they reject, a lot of problems...and they refused to reply me liao...so sad

Sweatcorn...u doing it earlier before ur banquet starts? or as the first event of ur banquet? I told FH abt doing it together, but he say that if do together means that i cannot get the date i want lor...sigh
u choose date based on the geomancer or so happen the date u wanted is an auspicious date?

Sweatcorn...don worry...u are not the only one. I also look bigger standing besidemy FH. Told him that he cannot wear white suit...else later stand beside me, my can can will practically cover him whole

Hi shern, seems that u r the oni one among us hving a church wedding... good for u...

caterers - kriston (can be quite ex), elsie's kitchen, chen fu ji... these are the few that I've tried and liked...

hmmm i always think its nice to hv all ah yees wear the same color but i was ah yee once n i hv to go n buy a dress out of my own pocket cos i dun hv that color... quite piss loh cos that color i dun like loh... light purple... then wear once oni... aarrgghhh... so i think its easier if u choose more common colors like white/beige/pink... but pple dun like white/beige cos clashes wif bride's wg... juz my 2 cent's worth...

bugbear... seems that we hv the same problems huh... ahahaha...

i think if they request us to write in later then they shld be able to give us approval then... usually they wun commit on the success rate one lah... but high chance will be approve one... if not then appeal loh...

btw when u suppose to submit your cert?? i intend to resubmit in oct/nov period cos my top is next yr...

solemnisation wise i doing it during the banquet itself... after the first march-in... then solemnised then after that cut cake... the date is selected by the geomancer lah... suppose to be auspicious lah... ahahaha.. actually we dun hv a specific date we wan loh that's y we take the one given...

come to think abt it quite true, if u wan a specific date then got more constraints... must chk if the date u like is auspicious n c if venue is available... blah blah...

btw bugbear, wat did u do to slim down so drastically?? i think i need your 'secret' recipe... ahahahaha...

sweatcorn, will consider the caterers, think kriston is out cos too ex.

i had a similar experience. so did tell my bridesmaid, either i pay for cloth then she tailor make to her liking or get something which she'll wear again. tot of cream or pink...haven't decide....cos FH have not chosen colour...either cream or black tux. the bestman usually different colour suit from groom right? shirt inside same as bridesmaid/ ah yees huh??

wah shern, u wan your wedding to be so co-ordinated ah??

hmmm usually i think its better to hv the bestman suit color different from groom, shirt color can be the same shade as the bridesmaid... juz my 2 cents worth again...

Shern, for your case, cos urs is church wedding...so maybe u would like to have all bridesmaid/bestman same colour theme...but for ah yees, i personally don think necessary...or maybe i am not particular about all these. I prefer my ah yees to be comfortable in what they wear...most important to me is that they agree to be my ah yees :D

Shern..have u considered Purple Sage? I heard that they are not too bad and they do a lot of corporate events. u might want to check out their website.

Sweatcorn...my TOP is next year also...and i am supposed to submit the CPF drawdown form to my lawyer early next year...actually my lawyers already chase me for the form...but i don see the need to submit so early lor. Anyway, i dilly dally, don submit the form ;p I got from friends that so long as u attach the banquet receipt and or BS receipt and add the reason of chinese customs, highly it will be approved ;) Wah!! Do together at the banquet...it's going to be so grand, so meaningful. Your banquet Sat or Sun?Where is ur hse going to be?

Hahha...actually, i don have any secret receipe for slimming down leh...i went overseas to study...and everyone told me that i sure put on more weight cos of the type of food the ppl eat and stuffs like that...but i end up losing a lot of weight...which is good...hahah...but now, try to lose 3 kg is a VERY tough job!

Shern, hhmm...white suit will make him look bigger hor...sigh...why doesn't traditional gowns be black...so that i can look smaller...hahah :D

anyway, best is still to get him to put on MORE weight!! At least now see a tiny bit of improvement...at least the weighing scale is tipping slightly to the right...hahah...still got some time...can put on more!

bugbear, you suppose to submit next yr ah... i c... ok then i shall try first then let u know... my lawyer cannot make it one leh everything i do myself then juz cc him the letter... *sigh* but no choice, its free service from the bank mah...

my banquet is sat... we dun wan so many dates so do all at one time loh... grand? dunno leh... guests juz gotta wait until i finish saying I Do then they can eat loh... ahahahaha...

my place at pasir ris... wat abt yours?? yours a private condo right??

u slimmed down when studying ah?? where u studied?? i went aussie for 2 yrs oso never slim down much leh... *sigh*...

hehe, sweatcorn, it's one of my ah yee who tot of colour coordinating...i'm quite ok but of cos it'll look good in pics... thinking of cream cos at least it's a common colour for guys to have (shirts). most prob suit will be different colour (i hope)

bugbear..maybe deep purple...red...gown...hehe...
heard of purple sage...also quite ex right...

Sweatcorn...i just leave the letter from the lawyer aside lor...hahah...when the time comes then submit. My lawyer like opp from u leh...keep chasing me for everything...so that she can sit back and relax? heheh...yah, mine is private. signed for the hse...then now i am a VERY poor soul liao...that's why must budget for banquet and BS lor...so sad

Wah! u bought ur hse in pasir ris...u work near there? I actually cannot imagine myself staying there leh...i find it very far...but i loved going to Fisherman's village :D that placce is so nice!

Hey sweatcorn, i also went aust for 2 yrs! where were u? i lost so much weight over the 2 years lor...hhmm...in total, think i lost abt 25kg...all my relatives say i can go take those 'before & after' photos...hahah...but suddenly lost so much weight also no good lor...terrible and ugly stretched marks all ard. so sad

Shern...for purple sage, their buffet range start from $10.50 - $25...unless u are looking at those sit down western 3-course lunch/dinner...then that will start from $55

purple sage 2 thumbs up, esp if you are doing for church wedding... me used them before and they got very good decor and presentation. food was also good!!! esp laksa, yummy!!!

yah yah...i like the deco as well...i find them very professional in terms of deco and stuffs...

I saw the tentage they put up for solemnization, very nicely done...very romantic also.

bugbear, mi oso gotta slog for the hse... arrrgghhh... s'porean lifestyle... slog for hse, car n etc... *sigh*

I dun work in pasir ris nor do my FH... but that time that was one of the better EC prj available which fits our budget so got it loh... compared to aussie, sin is small... that's how we console ourselves... ahahahaha... my parents n u got the same reaction leh 'wah buy a hse so far...' ahahahaha...

wah u lost 25kg?? think i hardly lost 2kg even tho' i gotta cook/wash/clean... stretch marks?? no sad no sad... u tried those creams?? may not be able to get rid all but at least lighten them or something... less obvious...

I was in brishane for 2 yrs... bugbear, where were u??

Sweatcorn, yah lor...living in singapore is like that hor...u bought white waters izzit? I recently hopped by with my FH colleague to take a look. The place really not bad leh. Price is also pretty good. best thing is the floor area is big! My hse is a tiny hse...the size of a HDB 3-room only and costs me a bomb!
luckily everything furnished, just to buy furniture only...else i think no need to have banquet liao.

Heheh...so long as u and ur FH are happy can liao. Actually hor...buy further away also good leh...then the PILs/parents won like happy happy go there stay...hahah...unless u already have catered rooms for them lah...for me, i would definitely visit them...but preferrably they don stay with me ;p that's why i am not goingto furnish the other room for the time being...so no furniture, means no stay overnight for them... *shrewd*...hahah

I waas in Melbourne...no lor...din try those stretched marks cream...so long liao...still got use? maybe next time after pregnancy...cos for those machine treatment...

bugbear, not whitewater, we bought esparis somewhere nearer to the NTUC downtown east area...

wah so good everything furnished?? including lightings n curtains?? mine need to buy furniture, electronic stuff, do curtains and lightings... hopefully that's all cos its already costing a bomb!!!

ahahahaha same here... i prefer to go n visit them like once/twice a week... ahahahaha... hmm great idea!!! dun furnish then they got no place to sleep... ahahahaha...
we sounds very bad hor... *evil grin*... kekeke

u were in Mel ah... i went there twice during the jul term break for short holidays... big city n better shopping than brisbane leh... ahahaha... but i love surfer's paradise in gold coast...

btw do u miss those days u had in mel?? do u feel like going back again?? i always bug my FH to go back, miss those days... hmmm... so carefree... kekeke...

bigbear, so hv u shortlisted your venues?? went down to flamingo already??

sweatcorn...i haven't been to esparis, but saw it in the papers last time

Oh, no lah...mine also have to fix up lightings, curtains and stuffs...reckon should be same as yours...almost whole hse all done up except those little items...no lah...if you go for simple deco, then shouldn't cost too much...unless u are thinking of getting IDs in to help you design lor...then that will be an additional costs lor.

Hahah...yah lor...sounds bad...but guess that's the life is lor :p

Of course i missed Mel!! I also told my FH that we have to go there sometime. My FH havn't been to Mel...i went there alone. u and ur FH went there together? or met there? heheh

Sweatcorn...me still looking ard for venues...don think will commit so early lor. Have arranged to meet up a couple more coordinators of various hotels...then see how...must basically shortlisted a couple already...so long as their prices don increase too much then i shouldn't have any majoy changes...if they increase, then i will have to re-select the hotels again

Yah...i went to Flamingo twice already. but haven't signed anything yet. Shirley (owner) is so bz...everytime i go down, there are so many ppl...so hardly got real chance to sit down and talk to her abt designs and stuffs. Actually Shirley is my FH friend...so me will stick to her for BS lor...but hor...can tell u that eventhough friends, i am not getting any better deals leh...and no priority also...wot abt u? signed ur BS already?

hi gals, spoke to pavillion's florist. the flower ball she did in the pic with the cake is artificial, on AD it will be fresh- will charge extra for it. she sounds friendly, suggested to keep cost down by trading off other stuff (guess it's things like the floral arch) and try not to top up extra. she's from a nursery located at upper paya lebar.

bugbear, ya i am the type who eat and eat but will still be skinny and worse is that I lose weight easily when feeling stress..
my doc advise me to eat more meals each day with little intake each meal but also no use for me...

I went to tried the WG at one of the BS.. heehee... thought can't find OTR gowns for my size but they say can alter... no problem at all... 1st time try the gowns very excited.. heehee... the gowns are so beautiful...

Wanted to try the gown at white link but the lady told me I confirm need to MTM my WG and EG bcoz I'm too skinny liao... if find OTR ones, alter liao won't be that fitting anyway... so never get to try any gown... so sad...

shern... you directly contact pavilion florist??? But are they the florist for rasa ballroom deco?? Bcoz rem elaine told me the flower ball is the deco from the new florist.. but rasa will still be using the current florist which will be having the floral arch... if they change to the new florist, there will not have anymore floral arch.. confused liao... but my FH and I like the floral arch... think also nothing much to trade off... anyway, from far see.. will there be a much different using artificial flowers and real flowers??? I fing the flower balls very nice too...

shern... for my ah yees... I did thought of having certain colour theme for their dresses... but paiseh to make them spend money buying dresses specially for my wedding.. and it wil be more difficult to have matching colour theme for both ah yees and brothers... so put aside first..

dazed.. ah yees cannot have odd no, have to even no.. either 4 or 6 or 8... same for brothers...

Hi hi ladies!

For those who have signed up with rasa and had gone for the food tasting, can share with me how good the food is? Me and my FH are very interested to sign up with Rasa already...but the only thing that draws us back is the food.

Elaine told me that there is no restaurants in rasa that we can just hop by and try on our own before signing, cos the banquet chef is a malaysian...and she did not say anything after that already. Wondering where the chef is working at...or if he is just a part-time chef?

Bride!! I am really so envy of you! I have to watch wot i eat...ah yo...maybe it's bcos of my eating style...cos all along, i always eat little at each meal and i will be full...but i eat all day long...heheh...maybe i should change to eat more each meal and just eat fewer meals...heheh

hi bugbear,
my understanding from elaine is that the chef normally will work at the coffeehouse when no banquet. dunno whether true? also have heard rumours that food is brought over from mainland??? dunno how true the rumour is...

but so far no brides complain about food leh so should be okay???!

bride, so envious of you...

bugbear, it will be great to have you join us as rasa brides
so far I have not heard any bad comment on the food... heard that normally food on AD will be better as compared to those during food tasting... bcoz you'll feeback to chef during food tasting and he will take note... and so far my friends and bro who have attended the banquet at rasa have no bad comment on the food... so should be okay lah

Hi Dazed, Bride...

Thanks for the comments. Was really worried about the food...cos Elaine only told me that as rasa no longer have any chinese restaurant...so the chef is a msian...but she din go on to say other than banquet...where the chef works at lor...

Dazed, any idea which coffee house that is? Inside rasa? Hhmm...if the rumour that the food is brought in from Mainland Shangri-la...is the food warmed up at rasa? any comments if the food is served cold or something?

Yah...i heard a lot of comments that food tasting is usually ok only and after feedback to the chef, the AD food will be better...but just scared that parents of ILs won like th food served durin food tasting...then i will have a little issue there liao...heheh...

heard from cathy that only the desserts are brought over from the mainland, tried it...absolutely divine....esp the choc cake.
the wedding fair package allows interchanging of weekday/weekend menu except the fish dish cannot change, must top up.

only know that the florist is the latest one, she is aware of the flower ball i was referring to. i've heard that the siloso and pavillion's florists are different.

Hhmm...Shern, u mean the dessert also can change to the cakes and stuffs izzit? Currently all packages are those chinese desserts.

Good good...good to hear that during fair, weekday/weekend packages can be interchanged...so i shall wait for the next fair to come...heheh...

elaine told me that i can change to the chinese taro dessert...din know that we can change to english desserts.

Over weekends, i just attended a wedding at Beaufort...it's a chinese banquet, but dessert they served tiramisu...interesting.

oops, was thinking of the choc cake more for the wedding cake, not the dinner. think can change but need to top up, best to check with coordinator.

shern, when you going for food tasting? choc cake for wedding cake? But thought the dummy cake of the bottom 2-tier are white and pink colour... like not colour not matching to your choco cake...

bugbear, maybe you can check with elaine.. if they dun supply english dessert then no choice..

Heheh...SHern, u talking about the choc cake which u got from at the end of the banquet...not the last-course dessert...hahah...me blur! :p

Hhmm...can we get them to provide enuf wedding cake such that we can remove the desserts and serve the wedding cake instead?

bride, artificial more ex then fresh flowers, dun think from far can see much difference. bout the bridesmaid...maybe will get them to wear various kind of floral prints...at least something different...nedd to discuss with them further.

i'll be going for foodtasting only in late oct...

bugbear, hehehehe....actually it was the dessert i tried in the cafe's buffet...the food was good too..think me din write clearly...sorry

considering fresh cake so may get choc from rasa...i9f the price is right

bugbear, some serve both, so at least jus a thin slice will do. will u be getting a huge fresh wedding cake or small one?

bride, the icing/marzipan/fresh cream can cover the choc cake or can make the whole wedding cake brown...

is anyone having the 1st dish march in by the waiters??

Shern...u mean from the wedding cake, we slice it to serve to guests izzit? I thinking of that...else later they serve the entire cake to my room, i also won eat...wasted...

Maybe will change for a big one...any idea how much i have to topup for that?

Shern, isn't the 1st fanfare inclusive? We have to request ar? ah yo...so many things you gals discuss...i still blur blur

Yah hor... The package only states that fanfare is only for ballroom...why ar? Hhmm...how come pavilion can't have fanfare? must negotiate for that liao.

fanfare is the waiters marching in with 1st dish huh? dun wan can?? dry ice march-in for couple?

cake charges from rasa $30+++ per 500gm onwards, depending on cake design. i find it quite ex.

Shern...till now hor...i still can't make out if u took the pavilion of ballroom...heheh...sorry ar ;p

For fanfare, think we can always tell the coordinator that we don want that...just serve normally...and for dry ice...do u want it or don want it?

I persnally think with dry ice will give a more romantic feel...i attended a wedding at beaufort and no dry ice...something just not right lor

Wah! The cake at $30+++ for every 500g...very ex leh...if it's that price for 1kg...i might still consider...hehhe...

Then if we were to change to the choc cake? any additional charges?

i took pavillion
think i'll have the dry ice...nice effect.

dunno if they'll charge extra for choc cake...anyway the top tier not sufficient for even 2 tables i think...quite small leh

Heheh...ok...yah, think with dry ice nicer! much nicer!...more romantic also...

Yah...probably the top tier is only a 500g cake...if you like the choc cake...might as well top up...else the cake they send to your room, not to taste and won eat.

hi gals, good morning...

bugbear, i got a fren who is an ID himself so most prob leaving the simple reno to him... hopefully he'll give me a good price... *cross my fingers*

I went brisbane wif my FH cos he's the one who wants to go... kekeke... i merely tagged along cos we dun wan to do long-distance r/s...
... really enjoyed the days there but i guess even if we go back now, the feeling's different loh... too bad...

mi yet to sign up wif any BS cos we going out of town for 2 mths so most prob come back then sign... hopefully by then will not be too late lah... bugbear, my fren oso tried to make appointment wif flam but they very full one... no choice loh, if u really like then gotta wait...