Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa

shern

most prob above 5k. which BS have u seen? dun select BS tat specialises in elaborate gowns(lace...beadings...etc) if u looking for simple classic ones cos they usually charge more even if the gown u choose is very simple cos standard package lah...

bugbear

Hhmm...i am still not too sure what you galsmean by Mag style. For my BS, i am quoted $4688, inclusive of all MTM gowns and man suit...and photographer is Montage. the album will include 20 pages, a few pages will consists of collages.

smilez_bride

actually I only roughly see the packages from various BS and feedbacks from the forum... calculating my budget on bridal package. headache..

smilez_bride

Bugbear, you sign up for your bridal package liao ah??
good for you.. as I have mentioned earlier, normally standard package comes with classic album and if wan to have mag style, got to pay extra lot more.. but yours is $4688, might comes with mag style... bcoz understand that normally people decide whether to upgrade to mag style or not only after seeing the photos...

shern, i dun know which are the BS specialises in elaborate gown leh...

shern

bride, i've been to very few BS.

very impressed by silhouette, bugbear considering them (am i correct?).

i think either wedding present or wedding news (near blue ginger at tanjong pagar). J&M, Blush (not been in tho).

select just a few mag style if not will get 'overdose'. which are the BS that you have in mind?

just recalled....dunno if mine will have collage or not?!....but my photographer quite nice lah (not cheap anyway), our album is suppose to show how we met...blah..blah...storyline and all. i was worried that if i wear casual, my hair and makeup will not match cos no makeup artiste will come along, so he suggested to take the casual shots on another day with no additional charge, just buy him a round of drinks at the place we'll be shooting which is where my FH and i met...good service...

shern

hi bride, can try: (maybe you have checked
jawn happy ever after
margaret bride
kevin seah
tan yoong
amanda lee

some of the designers have bad reviews on their thread, but i just find that it all depends whether you and the designer can click or not. that's more important

bugbear

Bride, me haven't sign up with the BS yet...but 90% confirmed to get from them already. If the mag style that you are talking about is the addition of collages, then yes, my package does consists of 4-6 pages of collages
but the album is still the standard 11" size.

For gowns, u might want to take a look at Ted Wu as well...they have very nice gowns...provided u like beadings...and Te Wu's gowns are more suitable for petite sizes...that is what i feel...Tan Yoong as mentioned by Shern is also one of the top few BS...

Shern...heheh...nope, my BS is Flamingo. Who is ur photographer? So good ar...help u make your entire album into a story line kind...then will add any wordings or a short story?

It would be lovely to have kids running ard with wings!!

sweatcorn

hi gals, good morning...

Shern, got your PM... thanks!!

hv replied u too...

Bride, I'm current sourcing for BS too... hv been sourcing for some time n i still cannot make up my mind... ahahahaha...

either cannot fit my budget or need to do additional top-up for the styles i wan... so in the end still back to square one... *sigh*

anyway, wat are some of the BS u hv in mind?? I've been to quite a few, if u need my 2 cent's worth juz PM/email me ok?? btw i hv also PM u some websites wg/eg/accessories n etc... anyone else wan, can PM/Email me too... i used them as a guide to show the designers which are the styles i like loh...

its impt to feel comfortable wif the designer u've chosen eventually so that u can communicate freely n avoid any mis-communications loh...

smilez_bride

Hi shern, I think yours is special and unique leh.. and think your photography is really good to let you have another outdoor casual photo shoot FOC
not sure if collage refer to mag style leh?? shern, is it the same thing?

sweatcorn... I panic liao bcoz my AD in Jan... I find the package out of my budget too...

Thanks for the email.. later I will go and check... shern, I replied you too... find the cake very nice leh...

smilez_bride

sweatcorn... I have shortlist J&M and white link only.. most probably will take white link and I am too small size so sure can't find OTR gowns one.. have to MTM liao... scare running out of time if MTM...

bugbear

bride...don panic yet...since u prefer whitelink more...then have u hopped by to talk to the designers already? See what they can do for your built?

sweatcorn

hi bride... dun panic...

whitelink is value for $$ u can 'negotiate' for a lot of extra things... take time to go down n see their gowns, try on a few n see if u like it... same goes for J&M... let them know your AD n c what they offer loh... juz be careful they dun cash on the fact that u dun hv enuff time...

another alternative is to buy those brand new OTR gowns n then they will do alternation... they comes in S,M,L sizes...

shern

no panic, just started mt MTM for WG so must decide by this month lor. sure got time. BS jus wanna stress u more so u will sign with them on the spot.

shern

i mean my MTM, jus started sewing only can complete by end july, unless BS have very few tailors and they cannot cope.

shern

sweatcorn. bugbear, sorry lah me blur blur....hehehehe

bride, collage is like mag style....except mag style...think suppose to be more like the ads u see in magazines...

shern

bride, which photographer do u have in mind? budget range? must include what?

bugbear, angels are cute only if they dun fight and run during the right timing hehehheh....

my photographer is called max, from wedd-ding cafe
(still cannot spell the correct name on this website?!) a fairly new shop.

dun think will have wordings in the album....a picture paints a thousand words mah hahahah maybe a couple of words...see how lor.

meagan

hi bugbear, i already had my wedding at the white fence area earlier this month. They have 4 menus, but can swop items that you like. Do take the beef tenderloin, salmon rolls, lamb and choc mousse cake. I got good comments from my guests on these items.

I think there is no extra charge for outdoor cos the set-up is the same - table with centrepieces, chairs with seat covers and the stage. Unless you want to have more decoration like the floral arch, flower stands etc.

dazed

bride, my friend rec her BS camillia (i think spelt like that...). but i already signed. nice gown and very good friendly service.

i have decided not to top for magazine... instead, i will make my AD photos into magazine style... cheaper that way... if top up need to pay $1800. so use the money for actual day instead.

bugbear, you looking for place to ROM only or AD? cos i just found a very nice place...

bugbear

HI hi...

Meagan...can PM me your package?

Dazed, me looking for ROM only. I initially wanted to have rom on AD...but cannot...cos need the ROM cert for the hse

Where u found? Share share? So far, i found Altivo, The Reefs, Rasa sentosa...my budget quite tight lor...me trying not to exceed $1500 for 30pax
which is quite difficult if i want Rasa...but i love the place lor...must discuss with FH and see if we should increase budget. it's always easy to increase budget than to decrease it

sweatcorn

dazed, so how your fren find camelia?? she like their design?? mi oso considering them... quite nice n they dun hv much hidden cost!!

sweatcorn

bugbear, my fren did hers in a place call oaks n grill or something... cannot remember but its a forum... they got a garden for the solemnisation then its a sit down western lunch... food wise quite nice... if u wan, i can ask her how much per pax.

shern

sweatcorn, i've seen camellia's, find her designs and service good. din take it up cos of the photographer.

bugbear, have you tried writing in to delay submission of the ROM cert?

sweatcorn

shern, u mean u dun like the photographer ah... ic... i was thinking of signing up wif her already but my FH has not seen her works yet loh...

bugbear

Shern...i heard that we can write in to defer...but i can't find any reasons. and i am worried that if they don approve, then i will be given 3 months to produce the cert and that would mean that i cannot choose date...also worried that if they don approve, then i have to fork out cash...which is a definite no no lor...
any good suggestions for reasons? ;p

smilez_bride

Ladies, thanks for the advise and suggestion... most prob I will take white link as it has been my ideal BS way before I plan for my wedding
But just want to explore to other BS as well before confirm signing up with them... but think items to neg for BS is quite standard.. based on what I gather from the forum.. heehee... think most important is to neg for more photos...other than that nothing much to ask for leh... most prob will confirm my BS within this week (hopefully) by the way, sweatcorn.. I am really very skinny.. S size gown cannot fit me too.. most of my friends say alter too much will make the gown ugly and suggest me to MTM my WG and EG.. sigh.. then another headache will be thinking of what type of gowns I want
no idea at all!!!

Hi bugbear, normally can defer one.. just write in and try ;) it will really be sweet if you can ROM on AD.. regret not doing it that way for mine...

smilez_bride

Hi shern, I think what dazed means is the photos that her photographer took on her AD, she will ask her BS to make it in mag style. Normally the photos on AD will just be put in normal album..

sweatcorn

bugbear, i find the date then book the hotel then write in to apply for deferment wif the hotel booking/contract as proof.

My reason is based on Chinese customs, this is the auspicious date for my wedding.

sweatcorn

hi bride, u can negotiate for the bs to give u free rental of coats for parents, if u hv sister, c if they can give u free rental of e/g for your sister...

dun worry bride, they will help u in deciding wat looks good on u... i've PM u some website to look for gown designs so happy searching...

shern

sweatcorn, was shopping around and found my current photographer so end up signing with another BS lor. their current photographer has good reviews tho, so no worries lah.

bugbear, tat's y i had to ROM too...hehehe s'pore lifestyle lah...those i heard has tragic reason. try anyway lor

bride, thanks for the explanation...tat's wat i'm doing too, forgot lah. negotiate for the choice of material eg lace, more beadings, extra corsages for bridesmaid etc and cars, outfits for bridesmaid, type of flowers for bouquet. jus a suggestion, if u r ok, dun go for those small albums tat r replicates of the bigger album, trade for more pics for the big album...can cut cost

shern

sweatcorn, should have tried wat u did. but tat means cannot move in together yet unless both families dun mind lah....have always wanted it on same day...it seems so complete...but nvm lah end result is still marriage

shern

bride...so gotta hope tat the current florist is creative....even tot of doing the flower ball thing myself so tat i can use it to decorate the church pews...time consuming tho....

btw, ladies...this thread is in hyperactive mode!!
so glad....

dazed

hi bugbear,
the place i saw is a small garden of a furniture shop at gillman place, next to st andrew jc at pasir panjang. very nice garden with balinese touch. the furniture company rent out the place for functions... was telling my FH that if we had not already booked rasa, we can do our ROM there too...just have to order buffet and the place is perfect...

shern, my friend already married in jan this year... she's full of praise for the BS, photographer can choose from a few rite?

yup, make the AD photoes into magazine style collage but not from BS. by the AD photographer.

sweatcorn

Hi Bugbear, PM u the info i got from my fren liao... hope it helps...

shern, my fren did hers like that n she got deferrement for 1 yr leh!!! mine oso coupled wif the fact tat my FH's granny passed away recently so cannot hv wedding within the yr mah... we oso give death cert... kekeke... super ks... like u say loh, eventually oso marriage... kekeke...

Shern, bride & bugbear, u all hving church wedding ah???

bugbear

Hi hi all...wah...thanks loads for all the advice...i am actually very interested to have both rom and AD together...i also find it makes everything so complete. Simply loved the feeling lor...heheh...i won need to be concerned with the living together thing as my hse won be ready so soon also

Maybe i should go book the gown and get the BS to issue me the receipt first...then with that, i write in to defer.

Sweatcorn, how long before u defer? Or wait till CPF board write to u to demand for payment then u defer? I also thinking of using chinese customs as reasons...but think with receipts of both banquet and BS...will be more substantial hor
No lah...me always dream of church wedding, but me no christian. me free-thinker, but FH family is buddhist.

Bride...i very envy u leh...so small size! I am big frame...but to many, i look skinny...cosi have quite boney shoulders and joints...but my weighing scale says opposite...so sad

dazed

hi, so i'm the meatiest around hehee... got to lose more weight...

bugbear, if you decide to do ROM and AD together have to plan time lor, cos for me quite rush...keep morning short and evening longer... just hope the makeup can last the long evening...

bugbear

Hi Dazed...no lah...i am sure you look alright!

Yah...discussed with my FH, he don quite like the idea of together...cos we wanted a specific date to reflect on the cert...and if we were to opt for the same day...then we cannot choose date...must follow the book...so still thinking.

Heheh...i have 2 makeups for the AD...so should be ok...anyway, i most likely to split my tea and banquet...cos the day i like for banquet is a tuesday...so might do the tea on sun

shern

dazed, u talking bout camellia? they have robin and beetles@work-kelvin(newer guy) & bernad(trained by chris ling)

sweatcorn, mine church wedding...haven't decide which one.... no time liao...

bubear, aiyah means u still slim looking lah. muscles heavier then fats leh so yours is bones and muscle weight lah

bugbear

Hahah...shern, wrong wrong liao...i have bones and fats weight...no muscle weight...hahaha

Wah...u still haven decide on ur church wedding wedding? how abt chijmes? too commercialized? or ur own chirch? Do they cater for that?

I think Kelvin is also trained by Chris Ling and Kelvin has just returned to work with Chris Ling.

smilez_bride

sweatcorn, thanks for the links... appreciated
they will be useful to me...
by the way, both my FH and me are Buddhism.. so we not having church wedding

shern, I won't be having bridemaid.. only have ah yee.. should have 6 I think... (bridemaid and ah yee not the same right??? heehee)

bugbear, you won't envy me if you see me face to face bcoz I am really very very skinny.. extremely underweight!!!! I'm hoping to put on more "meat" before AD...think you should be slim in that case

bugbear

Wah!! Bride...don tell me u are those kind who eat and eat and won get fat?! I really envy those kind leh!!

Anyway, i read somewhere in a health mag saying that to put weight...best is to eat little at eat time, eat more frequently...so that your body can absorb. Me now trying this method out with my FH...he is those kind who eat and won get fat...so i become SUPER big standing beside him!!
but hor...i make sure he eat more at each meal and eat more meals...heheh...but then hor...while doing that to him, i must have super determination not to eat...else instead of him getting fatter, i first one to get overweight!

Hhmm...think bride's maid is usually the term when u have church wedding, while for normal customary it's usually known as Ah yee? FOr me...i think i will have a few pageboys/flower girls...find them so cute

dazed

hehee, i'm still the fat one around... but i lose weight already lor but more to go. my FH is also fat, and he dun want to budge leh when i ask him to lose weight... nevermind cos guys loose weight very fast one, we take longer...

me having ah yees too, maybe 5? and flower girls too...

shern

hi gals...still have time to get to our ideal shape

bugbear, kelvin back to chris ling?? further training??

bride...so far decided on 1 bridesmaid, dunno whether want more. Ah yee also not confirm....eh one chinese term and the other ang-mo term??
aiyah..can't find any cute kids tat i'm close too. my nephew can't even crawl yet hahahaha

bugbear, tat's the method they give to lose weight too! heheheh dun over diet leh must still look radient...

sweatcorn

bride, u r the envy of many u know... pple trying to slim down while u trying to put on... mi the usual - trying VERY hard to slim down....
ahahahaha...