Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa

Shern, ur AD is on weekdays or Sat or Sun?
I reckon for weekdays and Sun, usually not as much wine/beer/liquor will be consumed. next day is working day mah ;P

mine friday, weekday according to rasa...but party time according to most friends hehehehehe

you planning for WD/WE?

yah lor...Fri is good.
I thinking of either Sat or Sun...but price difference for the 2 days is quite substantial...
so now i thinking of taking Sun, then use the$$ difference to top up the dishes.

Have sent Elaine a menu that i would like to have...but have not gotten a reply as to how much i need to top up...

I initally also tot of Fri...but it would be a littl prob with tea ceremony and me worried that guests will come late...cos it's a working day...but hor...come to think of it it's Fri...all mood for party already... :D

bugbear, i had problem deciding on the days actually. sat not worth paying the extra...like wat u said..adds up to quite a bit.
sun, i'm not keen on holding the church ceremony during the mass...no march in and in front of strangers...anyway its not allowed unless there's special circumstances.
So end up on fri lor, some said, with coach provided, most guests will be on time....they better be cos i plan to be around the recept area for at least 1/2hr...
headache about tea ceremony too.. my FH din even know that it can be done during dinner when some relatives miss out the earlier one..

your menu is this year's?

Shern...yah lor..i same headache as u...dunno which date to take...the date that both me and FH like is a tues...PILs and Ps don really like weekday...cos of the tea ceremony...

Yes, we can always do the tea for those relaties who couldn't attend...but that would mean that u will take up some time for photo...and as i have close to 40 tables...i think i need more time for table-to-table photo taking lor...

Yah...heard that with coaches, most guests will arrive on time...u can station coaches at ur office and ur FH office...so can send colleagues to rasa and confirmed on time :D

Yes, i have the revised menu...increased priced already
The weekday is not $668...u signed urs at $648? by the time 2006, it will be $688 *sob sob*

bugbear, i dun like the table-to-table photo taking cos during ROM after 2 tables cannot smile liao....must practice more....hehehe

not gonna have the coach at our offices cos it will not be full...wasted lah...mrt station would be better for me.

think mine is 648 can't recall liao...can't you sign up now to get the current price? or squeeze more lah...hehehe

Shern...i dunno if can lock prices or not, but i not comfy to sign now also lor...still contemplating...FH lah...cannot help also leh...always say "up to you, u decide...i am fine"...sigh...

Hi gals, ahahahaa... yes we r together while we are pretty young but not as young as sec sch days lah... ahahahahaha

bride, if i go down on thurs, they got a buffet wedding at pavilion leh then i can go peek peek... kekekeke...

shern, for liquor i'll bring a few bottles think wine will be more popular... but then again who knows...

bugbear, i was choosing btw sun & sat too but 'business' sense tells me that take sat safer cos turn-out rate may be better... so mabbe wun lose too much... the price difference is abt 50 bucks per table, then divide by 10, each pax 5 bucks... better than pple dun turn up right??

Same here, my FH and I also have hard times deciding on the day.. also deciding between sat and sun... but seem like we have difficulty getting pavilion for sat bcoz the dates we want are all taken up.. so bugbear, book early

Fri and sat are good days, guests can stay till late bcoz next day dun need to work.. but not for sun, next day is working day.. but on sat really add up a lot to total bill, esp for you, bugbear.. bcoz you have 40 tables..

Mine is only 25 tables so the rate for each tables is more expensive
think all of you here are having at least 30 tables right?

sweatcorn, dun think you are old lah.. guess we are almost the same age..
oh so you already check with elaine if there's any events on thurs.. heehee... dun mind can help peek if the pillars for pavilion are decorated? thanks

bugbear, dun sign up if not comfy cos end up u may lose $$ leh

sweatcorn, take some pics pls
we didn't calculate tat way, jus by total amt cos trying to recoup back the expenses on the wedding package as well
hehehe

bride, wat day is yours?

bride, that's a good day to have it on wish i could. btw, does the groom serve my parents tea when he comes to fetch me?

Morning Gals!!

Yeah, that's why i am still reading and not signing anything yet. Not comfy especially with the food...the rest of the stuffs are alright. Think will go talk to Elaine again...see what infor she can provide me on the chef...or maybe even better, to tell me where he works, and i just hop by to 'try' his skills first

Bride...on one hand, with 40 tables, should be easier to negotiate for more perks, but might lose out on the wine/beer part lor...

Shern, seems to me that the package detail did state that floral pillars included, but i reckon those are the floral stands right? Don remember seeing any deco on the actual paviliion pillars...

Sweatcorn...maybe you can help see see look look. thanks.

Shern, i think the groom will only serve tea to your parents/relatives when the both of u return to your hse after his house...so sequence goes:

1) Pick bride
2) Groom house (tea)
3) New house (ur own love nest, some of the couples may go after the bride hse...)
4) Bride house (tea)
5) Photo-shoot or hotel

I think it goes something like that

morning gals...

shern, so far i c, the groom oni serve tea to your parents after 'huei2 niang2 jia1'...

btw gals, i think i shifting the appointment to fri... but i dunno can take pic anot cos by the time i meet elaine, it will be 7pm + liao... if got dinner then will it be weird to take photos then???

Gals...don worry...me should me going to rasa on 4th...sun...i go see if i can take some pics...but dunno whether elaine will allow me to take the pics or not...but will definitely bring a camera and snap snap...or snap snap while she's not noticing :D
*Private Eye at Work*...heheh

morning!

think should be ok to take pics...if not...tell her to take for you then you pose in front of it (tell her it's for your album...hehehe)

i was puzzeled cos seems like some grooms do serve tea when fetching bride, only to parents tho,b then when hui niang jia later , will resueme serving to the rest of the relatives.

bugbear, the chef may change later on leh...so nothing is guranteed.

Hhmm...so far for my cousins and all, they don serve tea at the bride hse...sometimes they will eat the round round tang yuan thing...but not tea yet...maybe u check with ur parents...see if they expect him to serve tea at that time...if they are expecting it...then i think better to do it...

Also hor...i think quite important (to me) is to find out if ur parents or ur FH parents expect u to kneel when serving them tea...cos the last time, my friend's wedding, the male side not expecting kneel down..but the bride sides expects them to...so end up when the groom granny saw their wedding photos...she made a lot of noise on that...

i personally will take extra cautions on this lor...

bugbear, fortunately our parents quite chin chai...and no point asking cos dun they'll know much..hehehe...only my gran left, but she's ok with anything...i used to kneel when presenting her with oranges during CNY but she finds it troublesome hahahaha.... but agree, gotta be careful...

hmmm...wonder if i'll be very happy....too fussy lah...must learn to meditate...then can be calm and radient on that day hehehe

Hey...same here...my fh also 'complain' that i should take it easy...especially when i still have time...heheh

i am really very worried that if anything crops up on AD itself...then i will be VERY disppointed lor...just hope that i can let it go and enjoy the day as it is...

hehehe....perfectionist lah, was agitated on my ROM over seating arrangements...whole face black...hahaha...so ugly leh

yeah, you still have a lot of time, so plan slowly (or at least shortlist those you're interested in) cos who knows what new things there will be next year or the following year

Yah...i have been reading up the threads for those that i shortlisted...and seems like every week...i tell my FH some changes...think now he also quite used to it liao...just listen and no action...HAHAH...

i swing from this to that...so many different comments...good and bad...and sometimes will learn that the hotel increases prices...which I will be so sad...cos means that i have to re-shortlist

but if there's any offer it means that you can reconsider again even if price goes up.

wish i can settle the flowers and outfits for those involved now but seems like too early leh....

Heheh...Shern, maybe you can start by planning wot theme, colour you want you...or look at some bridal mags to get ideas...designed, etc change with time

Sweatcorn...headache right...u see this also like, that also like...ah yo...
but for me...luckily my BS is almost confirmed liao. Going to meet the photograher this sat...if everything ok, then will sign the BS first...

Actually hor...dunno if i should sign my BS now or not leh...hope can get a good deal out of it on Sat.

Ladies...any of you changed the Rasa menu (weekday or weekend)?

I wanted to remove the prawns and add scallops to the menu and Elaine say that i need to top up about $35-40. So ex leh...

Dunno if i should change menu

bugbear, that's what i've been doing, compiled a file on those stuff thst caught my eye
too many...hahaha

so far i've not added anything extra, may want to change the fish tho cos i dun like what they're serving but then again maybe should save the money for the cake...hehehehe...i'll wait till the food tasting i guess. i have selected those i want, jus have not informed coordinator.

bugbear, mine was about 32 pax. think it's just nice if not then it's like AD hehehe...i had cake and champagne too...find it OTT but the hotel was quite enthusiastic about it so ok lor...trying to do away with the yum seng for AD....eek....anyway some tables will do that

Yah...i wanted to do away with the fresh prawns and opt for the sweet yam ring...then add a scallop to the sweet yam ring (from menu B) then Elaine say must top up abt $35-40...which i find very ex...the prawns no value at all?

Yah...Elaine say they use top quality australian scallop...and i also told her, i don need the entire plate all scallop...just add some, also so ex...think have to forgo that liao.

But I heard that m hotel does not have food tasting but their dishes are yummy...
by the way bugbear, is there any particular reason why you wan to change from prawn to scallop??? But prawn and scallop value shouldn't difference by so much leh.. $35-40 is really too much...

Heheh...cos i personally don eat prawns...and the way the prawns are cooked, it will require guests to shell the prawns...so i think quite a few guests won want to dirty their hands to eat prawns....more over, i love taro...so i tot with the sweet yam rings, add some scallops will be nice...

Yah lor...i feel that adding a couple of scallops does not command that price lor...i also not asking for the whole dish to be just scallops...i think if they most probably just add 5-6...then each scallop will cost me like $5!

Very ex hor...maybe should just stick to the menu
Initially i still think of adding some abalone to the braised mushroom dish...now, i think i can only dream liao...unless i prepared to top up like $80 for the 2 changes

Yah...i also heard that M hotel food is not too bad...the ballroom is quite zen looking as well...very modern...think the max is 30 tables or so...

Bugbear, have the scallop the next day lah at least can eat in peace hehehe....

I find prawns with shells inconvenient too but it taste better when cooked in shells...I like prawns a lot tho

M hotel does look better after reno and the bridal suite is very well-equip...but no lah still prefer Sentosa...

hi pple... good morning...

I went down to rasa yday but hor... i forgot abt my camera... sorry gals...

I went to c the pavilion, i find the stage quite plain cos oni got the cake n the champage glasses... some plants here n there i think... nothing much... mabbe becos the bride put the flower arche at the door there...

btw gals, the florist is still the old one... no change... confirmed wif elaine on that...

btw any comments abt ribbons for chairs ah?? heard from elaine that oni vip tables got oni...

morning sweatcorn... no prob lah, whoever goes next can take pics

that's nice, i prefer choc too, anyway the cost is minimal for them cos cake quite small

Considering their wine or getting from outside?

I find the stage very bare too..dun like the potted plants..like some company function....think I'll meet up with the florist next month or so....

have a church florist that's quite good, if budget allows then let her do the additional decor for pavillion...but kinda messy to have 2 florists hor...

ribbons only for VIP table...I'll be having 1 VIP table only...kinda wasted leh...tot of doing alternate chairs for the remaining tables...depends on how much it'll be...simple ones will do

shern, most prob will get wine from them unless we can find wine which is cheap n good (less than $18)... errr... frankly speaking i dunno anything abt wine-tasting... but logical sense tells me good is cheap is difficult to find...kekekeke...

sweatcorn, if you getting wine from rasa.. then dun have to pay for corkage charge liao... if get from outside around $18 per bottle, plus corkage charge $10, it will still be slightly more expensive... so far the cheapest wine I can find is around $18... I dun like wine.. so I dun know what are consider nice wine.. heehee...

Bugbear & Sweatcorn, can give me your email address? Dun know how to send attached files to you thru PM... Shern, I got your email address, so I have sent you some attachments.. take a look...