Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa

meagan

Hi bugbear, maybe you can ask your coordinator if they can put 11 pax to a table? Then you need not cut your guestlist. I had 11 pax per table even tho my coordinator warned me that it will be a bit squeezy, but it turned out fine. You also have to consider that not everyone will turn up for the wedding, especially if it is held during the sch holidays, or some guests are unable to come due to other commitments.

Happy planning!

bugbear

Hi sweatcorn, i haven't confirmed my AD yet

u went to a geomancer to get ur date izzit? seems like most couples who decided to take rasa all opted for the pavilion...it's really something very unique lor...so good that u gals have decided on ur wedding venue already

Meagan,thanks for ur advice. Will ask Elaine abt it...but seems to me that table of 10 already quite asqueezy at certain places...but certain portion is quite spacious. that's why i also asked her if can squeeze in another 2 tables...but she say no

will go talk to her again and see how
my headaches have just began!

dazed

sweatcorn, mine on 9 jan 2005 at siloso.

shern, i think i also inviting alot of colleagues... invite one group and not inviting another seems weird.

actually i think i'm still quite clueless about the decor...(balloons? provided by rasa or own decor?)oni saw table settings leh...

me also dunno how to do the entrance part, L shape also pretty funny leh, meaning some guest on the far end also cannot see... my FH also thinking if put projector also difficult, may end up putting 2 projectors....

bugbear

dazed, i think if u do the L-shape, based on siloso, think ur guests at the far corner cannot really see for a while...after that when u walk in, shouldn't be a prob seeing u. reckon when u are on the stage, everyone should be able to see u clearly. how many tables u committed?

shern

morning everyone,

thanks gals, will try to discuss with him earlier about the invites.

dazed, i'm already cutting out one group totally...sigh...just wait and see lor, still got few months to go....dunno who else will leave by then

bugbear, dun think 11 to a table can accomodate 400 guests in pavillion. If it's too squeezy, even your march in will be uncomfortable.

sweatcorn

hi pple, good morning...

ok here's the updated list...
Shern 17 Dec 2004 (pavilion)
Bride 9 Jan 2005 (pavilion)
Sweatcorn 28 May 2005 (pavilion)
Dazed 9 Jan 2005 (siloso)
Bugbear (??)

Bugbear, yes i went to a geomancer to get dates one. if u need the contact, u let me know, i can email u...

hmmm bugbear, no headache lah... discuss wif your FH n c wat can be compromised if u really wan to take pavilion... if nothing can be compromised then its either u take siloso or u consider other hotels at singapore 'mainland'...

bugbear

Sweatcorn...yah lor...must really see wot i want lor...if i really wan pavilion, then must find ways to cut guest list...and the best part is that the current tentative guest lists is already a list that i cut cut & cut liao...especially my FPIL that side got so many tables...

i am looking at 'mainland' hotels now as well...just in case the guest list gets longer...so at least i got backup plans...

shern

hey bugbear, jus a suggestion, how bout pan pac? pricing about the same. their ballroom is nice and they have theme decorations. if not becos my cousin had hers there last year, i would have chosen it.

bugbear

Hi shern...for PP, i only like the Pacific ballroom. FH don like the ocean ballroom...he say look more like conference room than ballroom...hahah...so that's out for me lor...for PP, think only can look at weekday...weekends is way above my budget

smilez_bride

dazed, there are total 3 entrance to siloso ballroom right? Are you able to have 2 march-in entrance at siloso? Able to explore having 1st L march-in at the 1st entrance then 2nd march-in at the other entrance. Like that both end of your guests can get the chance to see you march-in in close view?
now i'm wondering if the balloon deco and pillars deco are provided by rasa when i saw them last time... forgot to double check with my coordinator that time..

shern, dun think i'll be wearing gowns with long train bcoz I'm very small in size... scare have difficulty dragging myself to the stage during march-in.. hahaha....

bugbear

dazed...bride's idea is quite good leh..but i think if you want to do that, u might need to reduce table number...so that they have enuf space to create the asile for you...and not feels squeezy

dazed

hi bugbear/bride, yah, considering the idea of 2 march in, one on left and one on right... but dunno how many tables we will be having yet... like i say lor, those at far end will not be able to see lah, actually more like N shape walk right?

haha, seems like i'm the oni one wif siloso...

bride, you booked very early rite? cos you booked before me...

smilez_bride

dazed, ya.. think a bit of N shape actually... depend on your no of tables.. if you have more tables then end corners will be occupied, else should not be that bad to be able to see you... and moreover, if you got put 2 projectors at each end, then the guest can view from the projectors... it is quite special to march-in from 2 different entrances.. bcoz can have 1st march-in from left where one of your VIP table is placed and 2nd march-in from right where your another VIP table is placed.
At least for 1st march-in, one side guests can has close view of you and your FH and for 2nd march-in, can see from projector..

when you booked yours? I have made tentative booking on pavilion for jan05 last yr in sep bcoz pavilion all taken up for end this yr. Only confirmed this yr not long ago... elaine has been helpful bcoz she has been holding on to pavilion for me for quite long before I really confirmed it and I know that alot of couples are looking at our date for their banquet.

shern

bride, tot couple of weekends still available when i saw the calender in mar.

rasa's really getting popular, guess it's also cos people rarely have it on weekday there.

are you guys renting the projector from rasa or?

bugbear

shern...not yet lor...heheh...lazy to go find the geomancer also...and don think i need the date so soon...cos i not planning this year...most likely is last qtr of 2005...have to wait for hse first...

smilez_bride

now most of the weekends and PH dates have got tentative bookings till end of yr liao.. rasa is really getting more and more popular so have to act fast in making tentative bookings on the dates you want.. still have people holding weekday banquet at rasa but few... sat, sun & PH are hot days..

I'm still considering whether to rent projector from rasa or not... also considering whether to get outside florist for ballroom deco if dun like the deco provided by rasa..

bugbear

bride, personally, i feel that rasa deco is a little too simple, especially for the pavilion stage. If i were to opt for pavilion, i most probably will get in florist. Anyway, i might be going to rasa again early july to take a look at the full setup...will let u know the outcome. will also try to take some pics

smilez_bride

meagan,can check with you.. you say yours is 11pax/table, but the wedding favour also 11pax/table?

bugbear, rasa got event in july izzit? yup yup, maybe you can take some photos and share share with us

sweatcorn

hi Shern, i was thinking of getting a gown wif a long train... something which i dun think i'll get to wear other than my wedding day...

bugbear, like wat others say loh, rasa is getting popular wif couples... so its better to get a tentative date first... a ks suggestion - y dun u book a weekend date (sometime in last qtr of 2005)wif rasa first, if u really like the place then at least u got a date mah...

Bride, y dun u 'borrow' a project from your office if hv then can save on the rental??

bugbear

bride...i think there are 2 weddings at rasa 1st week of july...both at pavilion and siloso...so i most probably will be going down to see the full setup lor...i presume they will allow us to take pictures right?

Sweatcorn...yah...i thinking of doing that...but i must consider my guests lst first lor...to cut away like 40 pax...i also dunno to cut from where...cut from my own friends like not very nice...then can't really cut from parents and future PILs also lor...so now discussing with FH...and we thinking that since still got some time...we will wait till we see the full setup of rasa then decide if we really want that place ;) but really thanks for ur concern :D

bugbear

Hi Shern, for me, i defintiely will be getting a gown with train...but how long, haven't decide yet...like what sweatcorn says...it's only once in a lifetime to wear gowns with train

dazed

hi bugbear, yah, we like that we can have a solemnisation at the beach. also rasa within our budget...

i think their projector quite ex. if really need to can get from outside sources at cheaper prices...($200??)

bride, i booked in end jan or early feb...

shern

Been thinking about length of train cos need to decide by July, tot of having a long one cos church...but if too long, it'll be inconvenient cos pavillion quite small, tot of hooking up the gown for evening. Only occasion to dress fancy leh

bugbear, get date early and book then lesser headache next year cos you'll be busy with reno.

bride,dazed, projector is $350 from rasa.
sweatcorn, have not checked with office but dun think they will lend leh, i would luv to save the money too.

tot of getting external florist too, called rasa's one yesterday but hp seems off. anyone gonna DIY any decor?

shern

bride, wedding favour will be 11 too cos it's charged anyway when you increase to 11 pax.

bugbear, wat's the date? I'm keen on going down too cos tot of collecting the invitations early.

dazed, where can rent cheap projector?

bugbear

Sweatcorn...for mainland hotels, me looking at Marriot, Hyatt and Merchant Court.

Dazed...good that Rasa is within ur budget. I wanted dinner and it's out of my budget. They are charging like $55+++ per pax

Shern...i not too sure of the exact date...cos it's my FH who liase with coordinators...i simply email and put his mobile...hahah. Anyway, If i am not wrong, should be like 4th or 5th Jul. maybe u want to contact ur coordinator for the dates

shern

bugbear, my friend had hers at merchant court, reviews for food were good. hyatt's was so-so only. think should be 4th jul cos 5th is on a mon. only know that there'll be a themed deco in aug so hopefully will be free to go down and take some pics.

bugbear

shern...u mean special themed deco like Jungle theme or something like that...as featured on their site?

Yeah, i am keeping MC in view...but just that i don't quite like their current theme...so hopefully they will change or add some other themes come Aug.

smilez_bride

bugbear, if there is any wedding banquets,you can let your coordinator know and just walk in to view the ballrooms.. but taking photograph i'm not sure leh... think should be ok lah... but the staffs there will be busy with the set up and deco... so you cannot stay for too long.. got to take photo fast fast then

bugbear, the $55+++ per pax is for which hotel? Rasa???

sweatcorn,I'm worried that some unexpected things will crop up on AD if using outside projector.. and wonder if the cables of the projector will be seen? If using rasa one won't have any cables tangling around... so still thinking..

shern, thx for the inform on favors
by the way, no harm checking with your company if you can borrow the projector since no one will be using it in the weekends

dazed, did you request for pavilion initially? bcoz elaine did call me and ask if i can confirm the booking as there is another couple wanted to book it... not sure if you are the one she is referring to...

shern

$55 for outdoor is actually quite reasonable, like a banquet replacement lor....ang pow can cover leh

my AD on a fri so not sure lor...will ask later, i'm still fairly new in the company...

smilez_bride

shern.. I oso dun know how to activate PM leh... heehee... can guide??? Oh ya... yours is fri.. but try to check with those colleagues you close too now... so got people borrow before or not. If have, then should be no problem borrowing it over weekends

The outdoor buffet dinner is $55+++ leh... so not nett price right,bugbear??? If like that buffet lunch is more ex than buffet dinner... is it bcoz of outdoor and indoor difference???

bugbear

bride...serious ar? buffet lunch more ex? I heard from the coordinator that lunch reception is cheaper leh...or maybe bcos it's outdoor lor.

smilez_bride

By the way ladies, can I check something regarding bridal package with you... seem like nowadays nobody take the normal classic album anymore and if want to have the mag style album, have to top up $2K+ to $3K+ on top of the standard package. Is there any possibility where you can get magazine style album below $4K or below $5K??
108957.gif

bugbear

hhmm...i have no idea...i did not ask for the indoor lunch buffet

Bride, how much are u paying for the standard package? Sorry ar...what do u mean by Mag style album?

smilez_bride

I haven't sign up any bridal package yet... but understand that there are type of photo albums.. one is classic album (included in standard package) and the other one is mag style (need to top up cash to upgrade to mag style which I feel is very ex...) so wanna check if it is quite standard to be within that range of pricing if wanna have mag style...

meagan

hi all, for outdoor buffet dinner, i was quoted initially $55+++ but I managed to get it at $60nett. So can try to bargain.

Hi bride, think shern has replied to you on the favours. For outdoor buffet, they do not provide any favours so I sourced for my own favours. =)

shern

tot buffet should be cheaper unless the food is very different from the usual or it includes wine. outdoor should be more ex right, cos need to set up more things...

bride, the price is for photos only is it, so your budget excludes gowns huh? mag style meaning the layout? as in few pics in a page or 1 pic across 2 pages right?

bugbear

Meagan...u opting for the white fence area as well? I find their buffet spread a lot of variety...find it a little too much for 20-25pax ;p

Bride...is what Shern describes what the Mag style that was proposed to u? If u are talking about adding collages, then yes, we need to top up...and each page can be quite ex. These, i presume, are the so called hidden costs...think need to be very careful around these areas...else u might see the basic package price reasonable...and once u signed it...they will start to sell u more items...to entice u to top up.

smilez_bride

bugbear.. mai tu liao.. faster go negotiate for nett price for outdoor

shern, I mean if want to have mag style album (inclusive of standard package amount), will I be able to get it at below $4K or below $5K in total?? Bcoz I think almost for all bridal shop, if upgrade to mag style will end up have to pay $5K and above one... somemore some package are OTR for gowns... very ex leh...

by the way, I activate the PM liao

shern

i've heard it's about that pricing...gotta make sure the quality is good leh cos some will use inkjet and some dun laminate well.