Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa

tulipblue

Hi shern, sweatcorn & bride..

thanks for the advise...me and FH will prob hold our customary at the later half of 2005...so yeah i know that at wedding shows htls will prob throw in more freebies so thats why im a bit hesitant to call up Cathy and book immediately...so its best to wait for the next wedding show huh? anyway i have to discuss with FH and see whats out next step...hope to join you gals in the discussion soon!

sweatcorn

hi bride, yes i love the pavilion the moment i saw it too... even comtemplating to change my dinner to lunch so that my guest can enjoy the sea view... my fh was saying that the coconut trees are a bit too tall n sorta block the sea view... shld hv hold the wedding earlier when the coconut trees not so tall

amerline, i'm a 'kan cheong' person by nature so i think it may be hard for me to be a 'pretty bride' but nonetheless i'll try to tell myself to leave everything in the good hands of my helpers

bebee

hi sweetcorn..
me also love the pavillion... i am havin a lunch banquet just so that we can enjoy the view

hehehe

hopefully the view wont cost me too much... i am havin the dinner banquet at lunch time... but hope the guest wont think it will be a buffet...hehe

meagan

hi everyone, my solemnisation is next month. Very excited. Just met Cathy to tie up the details. Wanna ask if any of you opt to have a piece of artificial lawn to cover the sandy part of the white fence area. Cos there may have too many events at that place, so some parts of the lawn looks bare. But not sure if the artificial lawn will look out of place.

smilez_bride

Hi Sweatcorn... ya if take up wedding lunch will be able to enjoy the seaview. My relatives suggest us to have wedding lunch instead, but we still prefer to stick to dinner.. Actually I am also a 'kan cheong' person.. heehee...

Amerline.. ya heard that guests will be ask to park at parade sq carpark, hopefully my guests will have no complain on that day ;p and also quite worried on the attendance... Aiyo, think i worried a lot leh... maybe really think too much liao... worry this worry that.. hahaha..

shern

Hi meagan,

I din hold any solemnisation there. Some suggestions, how bout having rose petals or flowers scattered on the ground (if it's not too windy) or using potted plants/ flowers round the area. The artificial lawn may look too fake.

sweatcorn

Hi bebe... we r oso considering that... hv yet to finalise with my co-ordinator... oso hv the same worry as u lor... mabbe we shld state it in the wedding card saying something like a full 8/9 course chinese lunch...

bride, u hv such considerate and nice relatives
i hv yet to sound out my relatives (other than our immediate parents) on my wedding banquet at sentosa... think the common reaction will be getting is 'wah sentosa so far leh'... even my own dad oso say that leh...

Bride & Bebe : btw when is your AD?? mine should be on 28th May 2005...

sweatcorn

hey bride, dun fret, dun fret... i oso have the same concerns as u do

guess we juz gotta do proper planning n briefing to our helpers n leave the rest to fate/god loh... no choice right?? we cannot be running ard in the wedding gown/tea dress to ensure everyone takes the bus n reach promptly, right??

sweatcorn

Hi Bebe,
hehehe... that time they got bridal show so ask my FH if we more or less confirmed then y dun make a booking since got extra freebies mah... singaporean's mentality i guess...

bebee

hi shern
i am asking a event company to quote me for extra deco/theme... c how ex 1st then decide...

oso checking out to have musicians oso... must see budget

shern

hi bebe,

i've checked out 2 wedding planners, charging 2.5-3k jus for consultation but this comprises of the whole wedding plan. could you let me know as well once you've found out?

will be checking out the florists once i get the floor plan. What kind of theme/decor you going for?

smilez_bride

Hi sweatcorn.. my parents are ok with sentosa since got coaches provided
by the way, my AD is Jan05... heehee... ya lor.. got to pray hard that it will go smoothly...
Hi bebe/amerline.. i heard any extra deco/theme should be discuss with rasa coordinator??? can look for outside florists meh?? will it be cheaper to get from outside florists ah???

dazed

hi bride,

which date in Jan 05? me also in Jan...

funny hor, when i call up my coordinator says she will only meet up one or two months before wedding date?

shern

Hi bride, dazed

I think outside florists can be brought in if you have a planner or if you're not keen on what Rasa offers but Rasa's florist should be able to give a better deal. I've been waiting for my coordinator to reply as I wanted to know what are their florist's pricing but seems like she's very busy.

Meeting one to two months before AD is kinda too short cos if there are any changes, you may need to start looking for alternatives. But I think the coordinators are busy with current weddings.

dazed

hi shern,

that's what i thot too. but maybe for them that's the best arrangement then we cun bother them too much??? hehee... begining to doubt their customer service leh...

shern

Hi dazed,

Just noticed that the wedding checklist Rasa provided states that decor, floorplan for seating arrangements etc to confirm 1 mth beforehand...wonder if I'm too kan cheong but I'd rather prepare earlier then can relax more when the time is nearer..gotta look pretty for AD heheh

Know they're busy, but it's been over a week and still no reply...

sweatcorn

Hi Shern, my co-ordinator did say that outside florist can be arranged if we want to...

Hmm mabbe you gals shld give your co-orindator a call again... mabbe they r juz busy...

shern

Hi sweatcorn/dazed,

Hehe, called my coordinator, now waiting for her email. Didn't want to call her initially cos I don't want to disturb her, but nothing beats a phone call to sort everything out.

sweatcorn

Hi Shern, glad to know that u've sorted the things out

dazed, wat abt u? hv u called them??

I've yet to sign the official contract with them so I think i better call my co-ordinator soon

shern

Took quite awhile to sign contract too cos had to negotiate for more and they were quite busy.

Sweatcorn, when's your AD? Rasa has one of the nicest wedding favour I've seen so far.

sweatcorn

hi shern, i think mine cannot negotiate anymore cos i sign up during their wedding show... so supposely they hv included all 'goodies' already... but i need to talk to them on the transport loh

my AD shld be on 28 May 2004. So not really in the hurry to sign the contract too lah

shern

Hi sweatcorn, I think you mean 2005. I signed during the fair too but I did negotiate for some alcohol thing (can't recall). You still have lotsa time to prepare. I left everthing to the last minute. Heheh...

dazed

did not neg for anything and din sign up during fair so guess mine is just the standard package lor...coordinator quite firm with us leh... din allow us to have any goodies...

smilez_bride

Hi dazed,sorry for late reply, went for short tour
Mine is on 9th Jan, what about yours? We might be holding our wedding on the same on the same day.. heehee... so far my coordinator has been very helpful regarding my concerns.. but I didn't check with them how long before the banquet for meet up leh.. didn't bother much about it after signing the agreement, also dun know what else i can do now except for worrying on the transport... and yes, they can be quite firm sometimes for any further neg...

Hi sweatcorn, have you made tentative booking with rasa? bcoz it will be difficult to get the ballroom if you dun booked early leh... not sure if rasa have confirmed on their florist bcoz few months back, my coordinator told me they are still deciding which florist to take up for the ballroom new deco...

Hi sunjade, there is only one favor available...

sweatcorn

Hi Shern, ooops... yes yes its 28 May 2005
so wat did u ask for?? isit wine thingy??

Bride, i did place a tentative book with my co-ordinator but its via a phone call so dunno still valid anot... ok i shall give her a call later then

shern

Hi sweatcorn,

Managed to get corkage waiver for 2 cartons of wine if i get 1 carton from rasa. It's really quite difficult to bargain with them. Just saw a pic of their new cake...pink and white.

meagan

hi all, wanna share this forum letter in the Sunday Times yesterday. So far, i have a good impression of Shangri-La so I was quite disheartened to see this article.

Brides who stayed at Rasa Sentosa, do share with us your stay at the hotel.

"Anything but Shangri-La

I AGREE totally with the observations of Mr Ong Wee Gee ('Anything but five-star service'; The Sunday Times, May 23). Recently, my family and I checked into Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort. Although the check-in time was 3pm, I was told that the earliest we could check in would be 4pm but if the room was ready earlier, they would call me.

I checked with the reception after 4pm and got this retort: 'Did we call you? If we did not call you, the room is not ready.'

The horror continued when I waited an hour for a sewing kit, only to have room service appear to fulfil a non-existent request to open the sofa bed. I was then informed that there was a sewing kit in one of the many drawers.

To make matters worse, we returned to our room for a shower after a swim the next day to find the chambermaid cleaning up the room. She was not convinced that we had secured late check-out and proceeded to make a long telephone call to another department to verify what we told her. She argued with the colleague that she did not receive any request to clean up later.

To show her displeasure, she shoved some toiletries into my hands when I asked for them.

When we checked out, we were told that the computer system was down and that we could either sign the bill or wait for the system to be up 'whenever'. As it turned out, the bill was incorrect and we had to submit a dispute claim with the bank.

We wrote to the hotel, only to be told that all the inadequacies we encountered were 'one off'. That's one too many.

I have stayed at the JW Marriott in Bangkok and Phuket. The service was so good that I was reluctant to leave.

We can spend billions on Sentosa's infrastructure but without a quantum leap in service, there won't be any repeat visitors."

shern

Hi Meagan & everyone,

I read this too, got me and my FH worried about the kind of service we'll be having. Doubt the Shangri-La in town will provide this kind of service, maybe "resort-style" for Rasa. Just hope that all the negative reviews will be a wake-up call for them.

dazed

hi bride,

hehee.. yah we on the same day... so who is your coordinator... mine elaine.

i'm not so much worried about transport but more on the food and service lor... think it's good that someone made the complaint... will make them take more notice now...

smilez_bride

Hi dazed, my coordinator is elaine too.. hahaha... such a coincidence...

me worry on the transport but of course on the food and service as well... but so far from this thread, the feedback on food is not so bad but for the service, think they need to put in more effort lor...

sweatcorn

hi pple... this letter really makes me a wee bit worried but i agree with dazed that it would serve as a wake-up call to them... hopefully by then they have improved

bride & dazed, u both same day?? both having dinner?? such co-incidence...

sweatcorn

shern, new cake?? pink & white sounds very sweet leh... btw rasa's package include an edible top tier for the couple ah? i dun remember seeing it in the item list...

shern

hi sweatcorn, give me your email i'll send the pic over. it does include an edible top. any idea if rasa allows us to bring in our own cake?

dazed

hi shern,
me want to see too...

hi brides,
are you having solemnisation too? me will be doing at white fence...