Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa

btb04

Hi Cat,
Congrats on you big day! Enjoy your honeymoon and look forward for your comments on the actual day!

young_bride

I've just got some pics from the coordinator of the ballroom & pavillion deco. Not quite what I expected. Dunno if it's the old design or the new ones..

juan

My fiance and I have booked our wedding dinner at Shangri la Rasa Sentosa few weeks ago.
We had comments from our friends that they had bad experience with the hotel in terms of their service...

Anybody out there has any experience with them and can share with me?

btb04

Hi Theresa,
Can you email me the pics, so that i can tell u whether they are old or new.
Btw, Rasa Sentosa is a resort, so their deco are quite simple, don't expect it to be like city hotels.

fiona

Hi girls!

I am also joining the club to be a Rasa bride in 2005!

Just went to meet up with my co-ordinator yesterday. I simply love the Pavilion! The embience is really nice. Am just worried about the transport.

bebee

hi all - new here but have booked with Rasa some months back..

joan - my fren jus had her wedding in Feb, yes they did experience bad service cuz they were short of staff, it was the same as another friends one in Dec... 1 waiter to 3 tables, she said wait very long for a drink...

but not to worry so much... i still booked w them cuz i oso love the pavillion... the sales person said the feedback has been noted and more temp staff will be hired (last year they faced probs getting staff)

hi fiona, transport should be ok - if you have pick up point for the buses n let your guest know.. but i agree that parkin is a prob.. when it rains quite inconvienient for guests...
it rained when i went to discuss my agreement n we had trouble gettin to car park...

bebee

btw, jus spoke w coordinator on sat... there will be new carpeting by April n the floral arrangement will be different - no new pix tho... even the cake may be changed...

fyi

fiona

Hihi, bebe!

The other time I checked with my co-ordinator, I brought up this not-up-to-standard issue and she mentioned that it's 2 waiter to 3 tables. Yah, she also told me that they will get more temp staff too!

Just hope they delivery what they promise. Crossing my fingers now.

As for the transport, I was hoping that my guests would choose to take the coach instead cos it seems like coaches are more convenient.

Anyone attending the bridal show this coming Saturday?

buttercup

It has been some time since i logged on. Good to see so many people here. Heard from a lot of pple that Rasa seem to be rather popular this year..maybe it's to do with the celebrity wedding between Evelyn and Darren. Good also lah, pple will hopefully have less to grumble abt coming down to sentosa.

My wedding is on the 9th of may. It's coming soon! And i haven't done a million things. I am not sure if you guys are aware of this, but Eliane told me that they are not going to allow guests to park at the beach anymore. Some months back, 2 cars got stuck as their cars kind of sunk into the sand.
So they are going to top up more sand too. But in the meantime, they will be allowing me to have 20 carpark lots near rasa. I think if i am not wrong, pretty near the Underwater World. Something which they have never done before. It's really near rasa apparently. Like right next to it.

I just like to know, is anyone aware of this? and if they are given any more details that i may not be aware of?

odiey

My BF and I interested in holding our solemnisation cum buffet dinner at the White Fence Area. However we are concerned abt the restaurant that is operating at night (i think it's Shakey's Courtyard), just next to the White Fence Area. Seems like there is not much privacy. We went down one of the nights to take a look. The restaurant is on higher grounds and thus the guests are over looking the function area and the music is quite loud. Anyone experience a dinner at the White Fence Area? Your comments are appreciated.

I read above that the Lounge can be used as a back up area. My coordinator did not mention abt this. We were only shown the function room. How is the lounge like compared to the function room? Just concern that if it rains, then it defeats the whole purpose of having it at Sentosa since the function room is very ordinary.

buttercup

Hi..

Okie..let me clarify on the Lounge issue..since i think i started it. I specifically asked for the lounge, before my co-ordinator recommended the function room. So i don't think it was any fault of your coordiator for not recommending it. I think the normal procedure is to recommend the function rooms.

Another thing is this...if you would like the lounge as back up, it would cost a lot more...it would be double the price or more. The reasoning is this...as the lounge is actually meant for their hotel guests to use, it is actually a cafe of some sort where hotel guests can buy drinks and have light snacks. So becos they have to shift the entire area for the solmnisation and becos you are taking a revenue-generating area, they would charge you more. I guess it justify the extra cost. However, as mentioned, it would cost about twice as much so i dun think it's recommendated at all. If you take the function room as back up...the price would still be the same as the White fence.

buttercup

Oh, does anyone have any comments on the White Fence as odiey has mentioned?

I will be having the solemnisation there as well....and it did occur to me that the noise from the cafe could be disturbing.

Any advice or comments anyone?

odiey

Tks buttercup for the clarifications! Dun think I will spend additional for the lounge since I still have a banquet next yr. Can only pray hard for good weather if I'm really having my solemnisation at Rasa! Guess the deciding factor wld be the noise from the cafe...

fiona

Hi, Pei Ee

I am also going to solemnise at the White Fence area. But I will be holding the banquet at Pavilion. The solemnisation will take place before or around the timing when Sharky open shop, at that time they still have not start to on loud music. So should be alright, I guess.

For me, I am more worried about the weather. I just hope it doesn't rain on my AD. :p

popples

Hi Pei Ee,

I had my solemnisation at the White Fence. Nope, the noise at the Sharky/cafe is not disturbing becoz during my solemnisation they had music played, so I hear more music than the cafe's noise.

buttercup

Can i ask, when is the best time to have my solemnisation? Based on your experience? I was thinking of having mine at around 6pm....not sure when sharky would be open though.

popples

Hi Pei Ee,

If you wanna catch the sunset at the white fence there, the best is 6.50 to 7pm the sun will be orangy round.

yup, I tink 6pm Sharky will be already opened.

odiey

Hey Elaine, you have your dinner at the White Fence Area after the solemnisation rite? Did you play your own music during the whole event or depend on the music from the cafe?

popples

Hi Odiey,

yeh, I had my buffet dinner at the White Fence after the solemnisation. Rasa set up a DJ counter, it's 1 of their staff station at the white fence with the the "music stuff" play the music for us. It's like a personalised DJ.

The music was provided by rasa, didn't bring my own. Can't hear the cafe's music only can hear the DJ's music

tsubame

Just back from my honeymoon. Had my banquet at the Pavilion on the 6th. Was quite okay, ratio was 1 waiter to 2 tables. No complains heard regarding slow service. No complains with food either, in fact parents said it was better than food tasting.

We maxed out the Pavilion with 36 plus 2 reserved tables. Hubby ordered the reserved tables to be removed once confirmed not required cos he say else space quite squashed. After removal space was just nice. But guests was held outside at reception area until 7.30 pm while they rearrange the tables.

No problem with coaches provided. Car parking near hotel all full so guests had to park at Parade Sq as informed.

BTW, Rasa do provide dry ice effect. Cos previously there was posting say they dun have. Maybe they just started? Anyway, it was unexpected for me, and the effect was very nice. But be careful with the stairs up the stage, cos you can't see them with all the dry ice flowing around and your wedding gown

Personally like their service very much. In the briefing b4 the banquet, all the in-charge staff come with the coordinator to meet us in the suite. They even had a guy in charge of AV!

Am now looking forward to my anniversary stay next year.

btb04

Hi Cat,
Congrats to your big day! and glad that everything went on smoothly for you!

Did ur guests made any complaints about parking at parade square?

Hi Pei Ee,
I think you are the next bride on the list, how's your preparations? Mine will be in July, as excited as you are

buttercup

Mine is in a total mess! My husband had to go overseas for a month, and it was something we didn't predict so we had to push back several things till April. Thank god he will be back this tues.

The cards now are being printed and I should have it by next week. And i have booked a cake too. Gowns are ready as well. But photography will only be done on the 8th of April and i have yet to confirm the colour theme or the details of the banquet. We are intending to add more flowers to the dinner.

What abt you? Don't be like me, so last min!!

btb04

Oh, i have not gone for food tasting, cards not collected nor printed. Now finalising the guests list...alot of alterations.
Have took photos, not yet go for selection and think album will be ready in late June. Oh, i also have not thought of the colour theme of the banquet, wonder are we given what choices for the flowers / candles? Do you know?

tsubame

Hi btb04, thank you. As for parking complaints, I haven't heard any. And the coaches was very smooth. Only complain with parking was that the hotel entrance guard turned away my father's and jie mei's car even though I had registered them for parking in the hotel carpark. Had to get my coordinator b4 they let them into the hotel carpark.
Can imagine me running around the hotel lobby and carpark entrance in my tea dress. But it was fun too.
And some of my relatives who arrived early to enjoy Sentosa saw me running around.

Hi Pei Ee, take it easy. I didn't confirm my flowers and banquet details until the last min, i.e. 1 week b4. And even after that, I had to request last last min adjustment cos some relatives only informed they're coming like 3 days b4 the banquet.

btb04, they have Roses, Gerbariums (think the spellings wrong, looks like small daisies), and Orchids. I took Roses in Champagne and Pink, and the Gold table cloth for the VIP table.

nanshee

Hai Gals ..

We are interested having wedding dinner at Rasa in last quarter 2005 .. anyone has the 2005 package?? May I have a copy to my email [email protected]? Thank you so much ...

We are worried about the parking as most of our relatives and friends drive .. will it be a mess?? cos I heard from a fren that there's a nightmares on the logistics ...

btb04

Hi Cat,
Thanks for sharing. I think on that day, i will be running ard just like you

Anyway, i will advise my guests to arrive early if they choose to drive. Kathy just informed me that they have opened the gateway carpark for Rasa guests and they have hotel buses to pick them up fm there. So i guess it should be ok.

Hi nanshee,
I think now it's a bit early to book banquet for end 05. Maybe you can call and check with them.

bebee

long time not been in - just thot i say hi n catch up...

nice to see nice comments and improvements in service! looking forward to mine - Oct 04..

will be having the pavillion - but lunch - so hopefully can enjoy the view

anyone can advise on the approx beer that maybe consumed?

btb04

Hi bebe,
How many tables are you taking?
Mine will be 30 tables in July04, it's a dinner at the Siloso ballroom.
As for the beer, it all depends whether your friends are beer drinkers or not. On average, for me, 50l should be sufficient.

tsubame

Hi, nice to see this thread active again.
I've uploaded my pics so anyone wanna take a look let me know your email. Mine's in the Pavilion so you can see the set up.

Hi bebe, as btb04 said, it depends on your guests. The 50L provided by the hotel was sufficient for me. Only I had to get 20 more bottles red wine from hotel on top of the 10 I'd brought.

tsubame

Hi ladies, u've got mail. Photos of the Pavilion will of cos be in the Banquet section.
U can see the interior of their Presidential Suite which they let us use on our outdoor PS in the "scanned proofs of photos not selected" section. We were there end of the day and looked totally busted.
Hairdo flying apart already.

tsubame

Hi Amerline, thanks. But I dun think I classify as "little" princess, being on heels that day and towering over my HB.

My AD photographer is Vividshots, Monica. Looks like Natural Shots izzit?

Those who had requested, you've got mail.

dazed

Hi to all,

I heard that Rasa does not prepare the food in their own kitchen and they transport their food from mainland Shangri-La hotel. Heard that their kitchen is used for reheating only. Dunno whether it is true? Any comments from those who have held their wedding there?

dazed

hi cat!

thanks for the links, you are such a pretty bride. really nice photos...

is your AD photographs journalistic styled?