Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa

sweatcorn

hi shern, ok will take wine list from elaine this sat... thanks for the advice...

mi still considering abt bridal packages leh... went to quite a few liao but cannot make up my mind... Silhoutte is good lor but come wif a higher price tag... but somehow another bride told me she managed to it get at a very reasonable price leh... so will try to talk to them again... photographer was thinking of taking Linn Kong...

Shern, can email me your package details cos i never been to silver cloak leh... wat's their style like???

i intend to have abt 30 tables lah... hopefully not more cos difficult to manage... but i'll keep your advice for the discount on additional tables in mind... kekekeke...

wine wise... think abt wat bugbear say loh abt 1.5-2 per table... most prob will take meagan's advice to get from hotel n nego. for nett... kekekeke...

sweatcorn

meagan, thanks for the info... the transport is my biggest headache/worry... but glad to know that yours was good... Congrats!!!

i intend to start the dinner early... like 7pm+... but dunno can pull thru' anot... very scare the transport part will be messed up... *sigh*

Mi oso taking chinese dinner... hopefully good is really that good cos i choose rasa for their location not by their food... if food nice its additional bonus for us... kekekeke

bugbear

sweatcorn...i know the buffet spread is good and the food itself is actually good...i heard from some friends that the banquet food is so-so only...i also dunno wot they meant by so-so...reckon different ppl got different taste buds.

smilez_bride

Hi sweatcorn, ya you will have the pay the amount per table stated on the the contract.

Hi shern, mine is around 25 tables or more.. dun know how many bottles of wine should i buy? Think my guests will drink a lot of beer and wine.. so worry not enough... Still considering whether to buy from outside or from rasa..
i have also heard bad comments on rasa services too due to lack of staffs... and almost are just temp staffs so service will not be as good as those hotels who employed perm staffs...

Hi Hugbear, I opt for the banquet dinner at pavilion.. actually having lunch banquet at pavilion is nicer bcoz of the seaview.. but my hubby and I still prefer to have dinner banquet so got to forsake the seaview bcoz night time no view to see one.. sky dark dark liao... heehee...

Hi meagon, did you neg for the wine nett price after signing the agreement or before signing? I signed the agreement liao, dun know still can neg on the wine or not.

By the way, just heard from elaine that guests will all be advise to park at the gateway carpark even if they arrive early... different from what she told me before we sign the agreement.. can park near rasa, depend on 1st come 1st serve basis... is it true for you gals too???

sweatcorn

bugbear, think 'so-so' standard I can accept ... but gotta set my guest's expectation right first loh...

anyway singaporeans will complain abt something lah, be it food or something else... so i can oni do my best... bo pian...

sweatcorn

bride... my reasoning logic same as u... if lunch take buffet becos of view, if dinner take chinese dinner cos no view... ahahahaha...

yes true for me cos that time when i first met up wif her she say limited parking at hotel n i was commenting to my fh that helpers can park here... but she mentioned later (a few mths later)that all guests hv to park at gateway... but i was thinking to ask my helpers to try their luck on the actual day n c how... kekeke...

think there is a change in their parking arrangements loh so that's y like that loh...

bugbear

hahha... sweatcorn...i also agree...no matter where we hold the wedding..there are bound to be some comlains...

now i am quite concerned about the service...cos i am very particular about the waiters services...

smilez_bride

Hi sweatcorn.. heard from elaine that Sentosa has spent lots of money to re-layer the sand at the Siloso Beach... so now cannot park there anymore...

Hi bugbear, i agree with sweatcorn.. singaporean practically complains on anything.. hahaha...
anyway, we are really not able to make sure rasa provide good services as there are bound to have 2 or 3 wedding events on same day for weekends... unless they manage to employ enough responsible temp waiters or waitresses to help out... i also have this concern initially, but too many things to worry liao.. so better not to have too high expectation lor.. as long as everything goes well on your BIG day can liao...
like that you'll feel more relax...

bugbear

bride...i also hope that my AD will go smoothly...i haven even signed any banquet and my PILs are giving so much comments about this and that...i practically feel that whatever i have planned is being 'rejected'...sigh

smilez_bride

Hi Hugbear, dun be dishearted... maybe you should discuss with your FH your ideas first, then both of you try to convince your PIL? cheer up... most important is both of you love the banquet venue... the rest can slowly plan...

sweatcorn

bugbear... dun sound so dejected... planning for a wedding suppose to be a happy process... dun be too stressed abt it ok???

juz a suggestions lah... mabbe u can bring your PIL along when u shortlisted a few venues then they can see for themselves. At least u involved them, make them happy... kekeke...

think the expectation must be set right loh, for my case, i told my FH watever suggestions our parents hv, i'm willing to accomodate if i can, if not, too bad. i know they meant well lah but sometimes cannot accomodate everyone's suggestions mah...

sweatcorn

bride, I agree wif u, got so many things to be kan cheong liao so service juz hv to leave it to them...

bugbear, if service is really your concern then u can highlight that to the co-ordinator so that they can take special note of that...

bugbear

hi bride, sweatcorn...
thanks for the advice. have already told my FH before liao...but u know old folks lah...sian...but anyway, i will do my maths first lah...so long as i am comfortable with the sum, and i like the venue...then so be it

Yah...i will definitely let the coordinator know abt the service part

shern

Bugbear, chin up, bring them along this sat if possible, then bring them to a lousy place

My AD in Dec so kinda worried that there'll be lots of inexperienced staff and it's on a Fri so church may end up quite empty and dinner may start late cos most come after work...just keeping my fingers crossed

Bride, still find $24 for wine ex leh...hehehe and yah the pavillion view wasted when it's dinner

Sweatcorn, received my PM? MY BS does most types of gowns but not those Fedrick Lee kind lah hehheh

smilez_bride

haha.. shern.. that's a very "great" suggestion.. hahaha...

shern, you not preparing coach to go to your company to fetch your colleagues to rasa? Actually my bro attended one of his colleagues banquet at rasa on mon or tue end last year and the dinner start on time bcoz they have the coach to fetch them from office straight after work.. think for weekday banquet, most guests will go straight after work if coach is provided...

ya $24 for wine i also find it ex but if buy from outside which could be cheaper but got $25 corkage charge per bottle imposed, then it's not worth also..

bugbear

bride, shern...i think rasa wine at $24 is quite ok already...cos the corkage itself already $25...not worth to bring in your own wine...unless ur family is really wine lovers and drink only particular wines

sweatcorn

shern, got your PM... wah... your BS package like very good deal cos of the materials used... juz to clarify the tux is for rental or take back ah?? tux got include top n pants anot??

bugbear... can consider shern's idea...kekekeke... good luck to your venue hunting...

shern

hi sweatcorn, tux incl shirt, vest, pants, cravet, and coat, nothing to take back leh, even pants is OTR, so different from most packages. Just tat i like the EG alot and find the designer very pleasant. Most imptly is the price lah. Her OTR is 2988, there's new gowns coming in soon. Phtographer didn't take her's.

shern

hi bride & bugbear,

i get full waiver when i bring in 2 cartons but need to buy 1 carton from rasa. FH dun think we need 3 cartons tho so need to decide. maybe tats why i find it cheaper to buy from outside.

my office leh cheh, need to take a bus out to mrt and dun think they can fill up 1 coach. have 3 coaches but not sure if it's enough so trying to make full use of it. FH office very far and dun think he's inviting many so....headache

sweatcorn

hi shern, oic... hmmm... my FH is quite small size so dunno OTR can fit him anot... think its better to let him hv his own custom-made suit lah... must be fair mah, i got MTM gowns then he shld hv MTM suit... kekekeke...

anyway thanks for the info...

shern

Hi bugbear, give it a try! Can save a lot leh

Hey Sweatcorn, that's what my FH says so he just got himself a suit. Check out the Hugo sale GSS leh

bugbear

Hey shern...heheh...i definitely will try...really can save...but i think if i have a choice, i would go for all corkage of wine waived...think i would use more wine than beer...probably the free barrel is enough liao (hopefully)...hehe :D

Sweatcorn...so nice of u...yah...i think it's best to get MTM suits...cos i think pants are very difficult to get OTR. pants length and stuffs...

yah man! should check out the hugo sale. i reckon most guys would want to own a hugo suit sometime in life

sweatcorn

hi to all... aiyo the problem is hor he quite small size... shoulder not wide enuff... (Ooops hope that he never ever get to read this
) so the suits OTR looks weird on him...

but will try n drag him to hugo boutique this weekend n see if can get anything... thanks for the suggestion...

bugbear

sweatcorn...i also like that tell my FH. my FH also quite small in size...which I hate it...cos it makes me look so big
anyway, i get my FH to eat more and hopefully by then, he will put on more weight...i can't stand it...he is those kind who eat and eat and won get fat. How i wish i am like that...heheh

mango78

Will like to check with your the package price for wedding lunch cos need to attend a wedding next month? Thank you.

sweatcorn

bugbear... i ABSOLUTELY understand U cos mi oso the same!!!

they can eat tons of food n they still look like that... aarrgghhhhh

bugbear

hahah...sweatcorn...i once managed to get my FH to nearly my ideal weight for him...but sad...he fell ill and all my efforts wasted...down the drain!

sweatcorn

bugbear, wat did u do make him gain weight?? can share wif me anot? mine's quite impossible... he exercises every other day... which oso force me to exercise but hor mabbe i 'eat snake' i still the same... ahahahaha

so now whenever i choose gown i cannot choose those big puffy ones cos will over-shadow him... aarrgghhh....

shern

Hi sweatcorn & bugbear, both of you very ideal wife leh, feed your men so well

Think I'm lucky, FH taller and slightly bigger than me, but he always says I'm putting on weight cos I love chocoates.
Hey, MTM suits with extra padding lah
But seriuosly after ROM and staying together I keep finding myself yellowing aka huang lian po

bugbear

i make him eat almost every 2 hrs...and eat more...actually hor...my FH matabolism rate is very high...he gets hungry very easily...the thing is he ever exercise...and eat still won grow fat!! sigh...

hahah...making him eat...but me myself must have discipline not to eat lah...else jiat lat :p

Yah lor...i also looking at those a-line ones...cannot have can can liao...and i don quite like mermaid...will make the bum look big...heheh

bugbear

Shern...me haven sign yet...but 90% should be flamingo. cos i am now waiting to see if they are going to have any promo tie with Montage.
Which photographer did u take up? I contemplating between Chris Ling, Photolanguage and Montage. like photolanguage style, but don like the album...chris ling very infleixible in terms of giving more photos or return of images on CDs...

sweatcorn

hi shern... lucky u... think bugbear n i got no choice... either they put on weight or us... rather to hv them than us leh, right bugbear??

bugbear, i oso can oni take A line wif small can can... yes yes i oso dun wan mermaid cut cos i got heavy bottom... must remind myself not to choose green for EG else sure look like pear... ahahahaha

shern, u moved in wif hubby liao ah... so y u say u like 'yellow-face' woman?? as long as u take care of yourself shld not be that bad lah... must pamper yourself to facial/spa once a while then u'll feel better... that's wat one of my colleague does... she's married for a few years n still look so radiant...

sweatcorn

bugbear, i oso like photolanguage but wat's their package like?? i saw their work at ted wu... left them a message but they never return my calls...

can PM me if u hv their package details??

shern

bugbear, forgot u told me liao

how about imagegarden? find them quite good leh. can't recall montage but find that chris ling uses similar styles for couples.
Mine is a fairly new shop but he has experience, if my PS turns out as good as those I saw in the shop

Get BS that specialises in the type of gowns you like if not they may not be able to do it well. flamingo's good at classic gowns if i remember correctly.

shern

Just the housewife feeling lah esp when moving in...was so tired everyday from all the cleaning...dun even have time for haircut! Now more settled so much better
Maybe it's cos he sees me at my worst on a daily basis loh

smilez_bride

Hi shern, actually I haven't start looking for my BS yet.. I know I'm running out of time liao.. panic too but very lazy to source for one previously... only busy looking for banquet venue.. so now searching thru the threads for good recommendation of BS...

bugbear

hi gals...

Sweatcorn, shern...i really have no choice but to make sure my FH put on more weight...to a lot of ppl, i don look my weight...i look like 5-6 kg less...cos i am quite big boned...so areas ard the joints may look kind of skinny...i am more towards the heavy bottom kind...so better to take a little can can to hide that :D

yah...chris ling is more of those "sure sell" kind of photos. Montage styles also quite nice. I really like the way Ray (PL) takes the photos...captures the natural side lor...but if u look at the album...it's really very cheapo looking...cos the album is quite big with white pages and the photo is much smaller and practically just paste on top...

Sweatcorn...if you are really interested, i can send u the package..can u email me at [email protected]? thanks.

shern...u and ur FH move out and stay at ur own cosy nest izzit? Envy leh...i still waiting for my place to be ready

Bride...when is ur AD?

bugbear

Hi gals...any of the ex-rasa brides changed their menu? I am thinking of changing some dishes as well as add another dish to make it 9-course. Is it going to be too rush if i make it 9-course? Scared start late...then serve 9course and end day guests will leave very late. any comments/advice?

shern

sweatcorn, yeah me ta pan on weekends when go dating

bride, when is your AD? shortlist and go down to try their gowns to get a feel. was too busy with reno so took my time too...now trying not to regret not looking aaround cos find it quite fun

shern

bugbear, me worried that i'll look 'waistless' leh, like coconut tree hahaha so getting bigger can can for WG but EG cannot. maybe should add more padding hehehe

if you taking digital, think some shops will use inkjet which will not last. no other album design?

ballot last year, one of the 'lucky' ones to get. if not, ROM and AD would have been this year, have always wanted it to be on same date but for 'lovenest' no choice lor. yours BTO?

never tot of 9-course leh, worried guest not full huh? only know if 'upgrade' seabass to another fish need to pay extra. cos signed during fair, other dishes can switch around. if yours can start on time ie 7.30 or 8 think should be ok to have 9 dishes.

shern

need advice:
1. i like roses but common leh, should go for orchids? anyone attended dinners decor with orchids?

2. jie meis at nite got wrist corsages? if have, the xiong dis also need corsages? if not will it be funny?

amerlinelee

hi bug bear

8 dishes is more than enuff! the servings are quite huge!! by the 6th dish, my guests were stuffed!

hi shern

1) orchids are nice but it will look like a "state" dinner if you know wat i mean..and real beautiful orchids dun come cheap!! roses may be common, but they are timeless and romantic...u may think of other flowers like gerberas, lilies or tulips...even wild flowers and fruits can come into the picture....

2) if u wanna ask ur jie mei to wear corsages at night, let them wear it round their neck or pinned to dress...or else eat that time the ribbon land in the shark fin how? : p (that is speaking from experience) hahahahhaa

leave the brothers out of the flower thingy... or they may look sissy...let them maintain their manly charisma....

shern

Summary

Member AD (BS/PS):
Shern 17 Dec 2004 (Silver Cloak/Wedd-ding Cafe)
Bride 9 Jan 2005
Sweatcorn 28 May 2005 (KIV Silhoutte/?)
Dazed AD? (Fame)
Bugbear ??

Wah no other 2004 rasa brides?!

shern

hi amerline,

thanks so much!
was worried that it'll look like NDP dinner too. but they will charge extra if not choosing roses/orchids right?

dun think they'll want to wear similar 'necklaces' ( i wouldn't want to hehehe) if pin to dress will spoil material leh, but definitely dun wan it dipping into soup...wear on non-dominant hand??

not wrist corsages for the men lah hehehe i mean boutanaires actually, corsage is the common term.