Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa

sweatcorn

Hi shern, got the photos... thanks a lot...
105817.gif

its very nice n very sweet looking... but i was wondering mine's next yr so by then the white may fade to yellow already...
ahahaha...

shern

hahaha..dun worry lah, doubt they'll use a yellowing cake, it'll look ancient and not 'fresh-looking' anymore. had major problem sending out the pic cos file too big. i've seen another cake, orange flowers and white with gold ribbon but guess that was the old one unless my coordinator send me the wrong file.

sweatcorn

shern, yellowed one can still be used mah... it become cream color instead of white loh
... ahahahahaha

but the cake in the picture looks nice...

smilez_bride

shern, thanks for resending me the pic.. can see liao.. the cake looks very sweet indeed but actually pink and white very common colour leh.. but think I will prefer this instead of the orange flower and white with gold ribbon.. haha...
sweatcorn,your wedding is in May, if rasa got maintenance the cake well, dun think it will turn yellowish so fast lah..

shern

so the top tier must make butter cream to match lah cos it's suppose to be given to the couple leh....hahaha...
tot of getting a simple 3 tier cake then add fresh flowers or other decorative stuff..mine near christmas...maybe should get into the festive mood hehehe

tsubame

Hi all, didn't know they ganna complained.
Room service feels quite ok to me, but I a bit shui bian one... My only cock-up was that they turned away my father's and bridesmaid car even though I had my coordinator secured parking for them in the hotel car park. Had to run down in my tea dress to "rescue" my bridesmaid who argued with the guard for half an hr b4 reluctantly "disturbing" me. My father just "gong gong" go and park near the underwater world even though he was informed he cannot park overnite there...
Check out time have a bit of Q lor, and they make a mistake in the bill (underbilled us 1 room), but later called up to rectify (since it was an underbill...?).

But good they ganna complain then they wake up what. I was worried with service too b4 my wedding with -'ve comments in the forum, but everything was smooth on my day.

shern

Hi Cat,
Can't imagine running around on AD, I'm quite a klutz when kan cheong, can imagine tripping in my gowns. But thanks again for the reassurance.

Hi ladies,extra infor:
Wedding favour- one type only

Projector S$350.00nett

No deduction will be made if not using dummy cake. Real wedding cake from S$30.00+++ per 500gram onwards, depending on cake design.

dazed

Hi shern,
thanks for the photo. hmm doesn't it look a bit small?? maybe it's the photo effect...so the top layer is for us to bring back??

sweatcorn

hi shern, thanks for the info... mi will stick to the cake given by them... dun think i wan to spend extra $$ on the cake

yes their wedding favour oni got that scented candle which i think i'll make do cos its quite special lah though i prefer magnets...
kekekeke...

btw how do u gals find their wedding cards?? i got samples from my co-ordinator... dun like the cream one leh... the red one looks so-so...

smilez_bride

Hi sweatcorn, I quite like the invitation cards, both cream and red one though the design is simple... but in fact I dun quite like the quest book bcoz I find it a bit too small.. two designs to choose from too.. one cream and one red.. design also so-so...

Dun think I will spend extra for the cake too.. but shern, is the top layer really meant for us to take back?

Think after cat encountered such scenario on her AD, we gals better make sure such scenario won't happen on us too...

shern

Find their invitations plain too but FH seems ok with it. Tot of doing a 'makeover' for it..hehehe.
I've not seen the guest book is it really plain like the cards? What's the approx measurement?
I'm keen on a theme so trying to tie in the "Romance by the sea" and the colours I have in mind.
Yup, the top tier is for us to keep. Hope it taste good.

sweatcorn

hi bride, i've yet to see the guest book leh... isit a book thingy or juz a big piece of paper??

i went to a wedding recently and the hotel simply provide a big cardboard (abt A3 size) as so call 'guest book'... dun really like that cos difficult to keep leh...

is rasa one like that?? if like that then i'll get my own guest book, as in a book...

smilez_bride

Hi sweatcorn and shern, the guest book for cream one I can't really remember the design... but it is very plain.. and the red one is something like the card. Have the word "xi" in the center lor...
It is a book but I find it too small leh... and can only choose one out of the two...

amerlinelee

hello ladies

abt the guestbook...for my wedding i chose the red one...its a A4 size book (cover is red embordiery cloth with the "xi") and inside open is a long scroll for guest to sign...i personally find it quite nice...esp in photos : p

shern

Hi Amerline,What's the colour of the scroll inside?
Was even considering re-using my ROM guestbook as there's still alot of pages left.

bugbear

Hi Hi...any ex-rasa brides here? wondering if there is any comments about the food and service? as well as the ballroom settings?
Any pictures to share?

sweatcorn

Hi Amerline, thanks for the info... will be meeting my co-ordinator this sat to finalise the agreement, mabbe will request her to show me then... at least its a book, not a A3 size cardboard...

shern

Hi sweatcorn, have fun this sat discussing the details. Make sure you sweeten the deal k...hehee

BTW, can bring in cake from outside.

bugbear

Hi sweetcorn...u going to meet the coordinators this sat izzit? i am also going to meet them...who are u meeting? u signed the package alrady?
me just going there to understand the package better lor.

sweatcorn

Hi Shern, i dunno if my co-ordinator will throw in any more 'freebies' cos we signed up during the bridal show... hopefully can nego lah... kekeke...

BugBear, i'll b meeting elaine teo... yes i signed up wif them with a minimal deposit of $200 during their bridal show in mar this yr... mi going down to finalise some stuff n sign that contract to pay the rest of the deposit - $1800... so who will u be meeting?? u can always request them to fax the package details to u first to look thru then prepare wif questions when u meet them... personally i think its more fruitful this way...

dazed

hi sweatcorn,

care to share with me what you package is like when you signed up with them at the show? can email to me, my email above....

bugbear

Hi sweetcorn, i just received the 2005 package from them. When is ur AD? If book now, are u paying the current package price, or do you have to pay like $20 more per table as advance booking fee?

BTW, did Elaine give you any complimentary entrance passes? I just started my research not too long ago...so i missed their bridal show this yr...maybe can wait for the next one since i am not so much in a hurry..me thinking of end 05 or early 06.

What are the perks like for signing at the bridal show? i presume u already have a date when u signed with them? If i sign with them now, what if i need to change date? Still can change? subject to availability izzit?

sweatcorn

hi dazed, u've got mail...

bugbear, my ad is 28 May 2005... I think i paying for the 2004/2005 prices, shld be the current one... based on elaine's advise, its better to book early if u decided on rasa cos the price per table increases yearly... like 2003 price is $20 cheaper per table when compared to 2004 price... but then again this kind of thing no one can be that sure lah e.g SARS...

errr... advance booking fee?? errr... no leh, i paid $200 for 1st deposit then follow up wif another $1800 to complete the deposit when i sign the contract (by this sat)....

U mean complimentary entrance passes for your guests isit?? yes they do give free car passes e.g certain % of confirmed guests... entrance fees waived for all guest when they produce the invitation card...

perks for signing up at bridal show?? err.. usually they give u more freebies like for my case extra 20L of beer, 1 extra night of stay (use citibank ready credit) n extra car passes etc... sorry can't remember the exact details cos the file in my FH's car...

i din hv a confirmed date then... i gave a tentative date and told elaine that I'll follow-up with a confirmed date which i did 2 mths later after consulting those 'experts'... yes definitely subjected to availability... first come first serve loh...

Personally i would advise u to book early if u really like a venue cos dec is usually very full... think jan oso... i've attended like abt 10 weddings in dec 2003 + jan 04... really...

shern

Hi bugbear, perks include extra night, more beer, slightly cheaper rates if you sign up during the fair. Ask her when is the next fair and see if you can book the date but get the fair's rate/perks. Some will if the next fair is quite near. Popular dates does get booked over a year in advance.
Check out shang's website for pics.
Ask Elaine to email you a letter stating complimentary entry by pte car/resort's shuttle (located at this building near harbourfront)

bugbear

Hi sweetcorn...the current package that i got from them is already $20nett more than the published price on the web. Do u mean if you book now, u will pay the price as of today even if ur wedding is in 2006?

Seems like there is indeed more perksif sign up during the show.

Shern...u are right. Will go ask them if i can book a date and enjoy the perks on bridal shows...but i reckon they most probably tell u that they don know what is going to be offered for the next show...but if they usually have shows 1st Qtr of the yr...then i can wait for the next coming show since i am targeting end 05, early 06

I did not talk to Elaine. Talked to Mei instead and when i asked her for photos as well as complimentary entrance pass...she only replied me with some pictures of the ballroom...no mention about passes. will get my FH to email elaine then

smilez_bride

Hi Bugbear, it's better that you make an early tentatively booking on the date and ballroom you want bcoz if wait for the next bridal show, you might not be able to get the date or ballroom you wan.

by the way, do you gals have any idea how many wine will be enough for a banquet?

sweatcorn

hi bugbear, i vaguely remember Elaine telling me that the new pricing is $20 more than the old one... u may wan to call elaine at 63711911...

The contract did put the amt per table so if u sign at this price, u'll be charge this price... i think lah... gotta confirm wif the co-ordinator... or anyone else knows??

shern

hi bugbear, my coordinator's cathy so can't help you there.

hi bride, how many tables? wine or beer drinkers? heavy drinkers? I plan to get wine from outside cos cheaper and swop the wine from the hotel for beer. I had 8 bottles of wine for 30 guests but no beer for my ROM.....scary thought...

bugbear

Shern...no no...i meant to ask for both also...the guests as well as for myself this sat
the info u gave me was helpful...so at least now i know who to ask the entrance pass for

bride...yah lor...the thing is i still can't decide where i wan it lor...u also opt for the chinese banquet? Or the paivilion?

sweatcorn...ooh, so the contract did state the price. good for u...cos i understand some hotels will impose a certain amt if u want to book an advnace date...before their new packages are out. will check with the coordinator on sat

shern

oh yah, let's say e.g. your initial plan is for 25 tables, get them to state in the contract if 30 tables and above you get e.g. $20less per table. This is to safeguard yourself in case next year you have lotsa new friends hehehe
bugbear, they had 2 shows last year if i remember correctly.

bugbear

shern...wah...thanks for ur advice. really good leh...i never thought of bargaining such things...i go ask them
my headache now is guest list also...cos come Jul, i am startng a new job...and might have more guests...heheh...they have 2 shows ar...good leh...then i must remember to ask them when is the next show...i understand most hotels will have a show sometimes in oct...cos that's when the tong shu is out

sweatcorn

shern, if u get wine from outside then wat abt the corkage charges??

juz checked wif elaine... she told me the wine is abt $24 something+++ including corkage and if we bring in our own wine, we gotta pay $25 corkage charge per bottle... so thinking mabbe getting from them to save some hassle...

bride, i share your concern cos recently i been to wedding dinners and seems that each table will require at least 1 bottle of wine...

shern

hi bugbear, no prob cos me now stressed at work so nice escape for me hehehe. jus started new job too so will need more tables than initial plan but it was expected so did negotiate for it. i like a good bargain lah

shern

sweatcorn, got waiver for every 2 cartons i bring in if i get 1 carton from them...not a very good deal actually but they're quite fixed...difficult to bargain cos they're getting more popular.

my FH has beer/wine barrel friends...those that can wipe out 2 bottles in a sitting...one bottle about 4 glasses right? recalled at my friend's wedding, the waiter gave very good service...kept topping up! hmmm.....rasa's service had bad reviews....maybe blessing in disguise...hahaha

sweatcorn

hi shern, what u hv is better than nothing leh... sorry sounded KS but at least save some $$ mah...

think 1 bottle can pour 4-6 glasses depending on how much they pour... mi not a drinker so dunno much... wah keep topping up?? think mabbe can tell the manager dun top up unless guest request...

kekekeke... sounds very 'meow' right?? ahahahaha...

think my fh guests mabbe alcoholic due to the nature of his work... better dun let him know i say that... ahahahaha...

this time sure siao liao...

shern

hi sweatcorn, me ks too hehehe, after calculation it adds up to quite a bit of savings tho.

how many tables you're having? planning for how many bottles? tot of asking them to pour lesser too but yah very meow meow...

ask them for wine list this sat then you can compare with those outside.

was direct with my FH told him his friends barrel style hehehe

shern

Sweatcorn, did you sign up with Silhoutte? was impressed with their service and gown but find it over my budget. which photographer you going for?
How about the rest of you ladies? my BS thread very silent lah. only got me and another gal.

bugbear

hi gals...

sweatcorn, me meeting them at 11am
to view the ballroom as well as the function room...cos the ballroom is buffet

Shern, u signed up ur BS with Silhoutte izzit? how does ur package consists of? me most probably going for Flamingo and photography should be Montage...haven negotiate with flamingo tho...

I think for wine, depends on ur guest lists...but so far, i think each table on average about 1.5-2 bottles...cos usually each bottle can serve 6glasses and maybe u can let the hotel know to servehalf glass...and to serve by glass instead of topping up...think serve by glass more appropriate...so guests who don like the wine, at most waste half glass lor..and maybe ask the hotel for smaller glasses...heheh

Any of you ladies heard or experience the food and service of rasa? good?

shern

Over my budget so didn't sign up with them. My BS:silver cloak..very low key...so far so good. Photography:wedd-ding cafe (not allowed to mention in this forum..dunno why)...also low key..hehe...actually my package came up to quite a bit.. me very fussy lah

Flamingo's quite good, forgot to check out quite a few BS...AD in Dec so need to rush.

Think will get between 2-3 cartons still got beer leh. Read the thread? Mostly not enough service staff...heard from friend who had it there food is quite good (her's buffet). Pavillion or ballroom? Buffet huh, take outdoor lah.

meagan

hi all, just had my solemnisation at the whitefence last weekend. It was great. Weather was great, the food was delicious. Kudos to my coordinator Cathy and the banquet manager who ensured that everything is smooth-going. My hubby and I had very pleasant memories abt the event.

Yeah parking is a bit of a problem cos Rasa is a popular site, and there are at least 2-3 weddings every weekend. The guards do not allow guests to park at the hotel even though there are lots available. Can try to be fierce or argue with the guard to see if can pass through. Those who parked at gateway car park have to wait for quite a while for the shuttle service, so they were a bit late. So can ask your guests to come early.

hi sweetcorn, we were quoted $24++ at first for the wine too, but we managed to get it at nett price. The wine is quite nice, so can consider getting it from Rasa.

bugbear

i heard of a lot of good comments about the buffet...food is good, venue is nice...but haven really heard anything about the chinese banquet.

You gals are taking the chinese banquet or the buffet? Any comments about the chinese banquets?

Seems like for guests who are driving will be a little inconvenient hor...even if they drive, they can't park near rasa...unless they arrive early

dazed,thanks for the email. got it!

shern

Hi Meagan,Congratulations and thanks for sharing your experience with us! Which wine did you get?

Bugbear, heard that the chinese banquet quite good too. Will be having it cos more convenient for older folks.

bugbear

seems like the wine from rasa is quite affordable.

shern...that's what i thought as well. my cousin had her wedding last month with buffet and most of my relatives all say no good...still the traditional 8 or 9-course dinner best