Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa

amerlinelee

hi cat...

i took 30 tables + solemnization at WF lawn...who is ur co-ordinator? so strict ah? agnes?

no worries...they will send up all the dishes (2 person portion) to ur room for u & ur hubby after the dinner....

meagan

hi Cat, thanks for the map! Heh, cos i am doing my own wedding cards, thought better start working on the design early. Been experimenting with diff paper and effects. Quite tedious but fun =)

Elaine, thanks so much for emailing the link and the info you have given me so far. I will look for you to design my cards if mine din turn out well. =)

I tried several times to bargain for a free room, but the coordinator said no cos I am taking the ROM package. In the end she agreed, provided i 'trade in' my guestbook and wedding cards. But it's alright lah, cos i just got my guestbook overseas.

I have a question. On the actual day, will the coordinator be around? Or there is only the banquet manager?

tsubame

Hi Amerline, my coordinator is Cathy. I dun mind lar, cos I also not intending to stay 1 more nite.

Got such service one har?
So nice! Gotta request or not?

amerlinelee

hi cat

no need to request one...standard for all hotels : )

hi meagan

the co-ordinator will be around somewhere in the hotel but it will be the banquet mgr running the show. he will do a handover to the mgr on the actual day abt 2 - 3 hrs b4 the dinner. ur hubby and a overall co-ordinator (ur frd) will have to meet to finalise details.

there is no need for you to go...just stay in the room and try to look ur best hee hee

buttercup

Hi all!!

So exciting to hear about you all Rasa brides. I am one myself, with my wedding and solemnisation on the 9th of may. I would like to know is, how many barrels of beer do you think it's enough for 28 tables?

amerlinelee

hi pei ee

i think 50 - 60L would be sufficient.

my 30L barrel only lasted 1/2 the dinner (30 tables). after that my guest paid for their own beer and wine...

i didn't want guests to get drunk and be unruly...

buttercup

Hi Amerline,

You got your second nite free without having to exchange something else for it? I was told that I could forward my anniversary stay to the day after the wedding, so that I can stay another nite more....so in theory, they did not exactly "throw" it in for me free...

I have 50L of beer so I think that should be enough. Plus I will be bringing in 36 bottles of wine, i managed to get it at cockage free for 3 cartons. The only issue is that hubby is a navy officer, so if they drink a lot, there may not be enough to go round.

What other arrangements did you have? I have currently 70 car passes and 4 couches.. how many do you think i need? I only have 28 tables.

amerlinelee

hi pei ee

yup....got the 2nd nite free with no terms attached....i still got my anniversary nite plus the voucher loh...

i got 40 car passes and 6 coaches....better to get ur guest to park somewhere and take coach in...parking is a BIG problem there for those 1st time driving in....

those who took the coaches found it very convenient and comment that its even better than driving in...no hassle at all.....

as i have a solemnization...i had a few rehearsals at rasa b4 the wedding...they were nice enuff to waive all entry charges....they also gave me a room during my photo shoot....

meagan

Hi Pei Ee and Amerline, when you are talking abt coaches, are you referring to the hotel shuttle services or you have actually arranged for private shuttle buses?

I actually intend to ask my non-driving frens to take the shuttle service. Not sure if this arrangement is convenient for them, or I shd arrange for a bus instead.

tsubame

Hi Meagan, it's the coaches the hotel provides for us to ferry our guests. Depending on your package you will get a certain amt of car passes and coaches. My Wedding by the Sea package (Banquet) gives me 100 car passes and 3 coaches. If want to, can exchange car passes for coaches.

Hi Amerline, do your guests have any problems with taking the hotel shuttle from Harbourfront and from the Parade Sq Carpark? Am wondering if I should exchange for a coach to pick them up from these 2 points.

They also waived all entry charges when we went down to meet coordinator, and for photoshoot. Also got a suite for the photoshoot in case of rain cannot take outdoors. Lucky do not need in the end. But we still popped in to see how it looks like. The view from the balcony is quite good.

amerlinelee

hi cat

its no problem if it doesn't rains....it drizzled on my wedding and that day have 3 weddings at the same time so it was chaotic at the parade square car-park.....

u shd put the coaches at other places instead....no pt put at parade square....i had mine at city hall, lavender, tampines, jurong east and AMK....

meagan

Oh i see. Hmm I don't think i have any free coaches, but it's all right lah if they have the usual hotel shuttle service from SPI building cos i only have 6 tables.

Yep, when i went down to meet the coordinator, they waived the entrance charges too which is quite nice.

hey cat, when's your wedding dinner?

tsubame

Hi Meagan, my dinner's 6th Mar. Fast approaching.

Hi Amerline, my wedding day have another couple in Siloso Ballrm. HB's side taking 2 coaches, cos most of his relatives dun drive. My side very hard to arrange cos all scattered, and most of them drive. The only coach for me is the one for my mum's friends from community centre.

Wondering should advise pple who drive to park at HarbourFront or Parade Sq better? As you say, if rain then Parade Sq not gd, but if park HarbourFront they need to pay carpark right?

Haven't checked out Parade Sq Carpark. Will check it out when go for Food Tasting this Sun.

buttercup

Hi Meagan,

Yah, i think since you don't have many tables, i believe it would be alright if your guests take the hottle shuttle bus. My friend has mentioned before that it was rather easy to get to the hotel using the shuttle.

Cat,
Wow! Your wedding is certainly soon! Congrats! When you check out the Parade Sq carkpark, do tell me what you think of it okie? I am not sure where is it either nor do i know if it's hard to get to. Will you be having your solemnisation there too?

meagan

Hi Pei Ee, yeah, i saw the shuttle bus when i was at the hotel. It is quite easy to recognise with the frog mascot.=)

Hi Cat, your wedding is only abt a month plus away! All details worked out? Hope everything will go on well for your wedding.

tsubame

Hi Pei Ee, thanks. We already ROMed in 2002. Will post abt the carpark.

Hi Meagan, we ever tried taking the shuttle from Paragon. It runs to Shangri-La first b4 going Rasa. The bus quite rickety, and journey quite long. A bit motion sickness when reached.

Never tried the HarbourFront shuttle. BTW, it's the same shuttle that runs to ParadeSq too. So a bit worried with another wedding will the shuttle be packed?

btb04

Hi Cat,
Congrats to you, ur big day is coming soon!
Just to add some comments on the parade sq carpark.
The place is quite dark and quiet and makes me feel that those guests who parked there n waiting for bus pick-up are quite pathetic. I won't advise pple to park there..

When u went for food-tasting, etc..did Rasa waive yr entrance fee only? do they waive the car entrance fee as well?

Hi Pei Ee,
Who is ur co-ordinator? how do you manage to get the wine corkage waiver for 36 bottles of wine, i've got 30 tables, but they can't waive my wine corkage leh?

tsubame

Hi btb04,

Just checked out the Parade Square Carpark. Agree with you.
But if they park HarbourFront they have to pay carpark...

Rasa waived everything. They'll give you a letter to show the gantry. Inform them the vehicle plate b4 hand, they inform the gantry. So when you enter, the gantry checked then just pass you a complimentary pass and let you in. Not need to pay anything.

I got waiver for only 10 bottles wine, but enough for me already.

The food ok today. Not fantastic, but not bad either. Good enough for me.

btb04

Hi Cat,
Thanks for the information.
I agree wif u that harbourfront carpark charges are quite steep. So if ur friends are driving, better advise them to come early, if not take the shuttle bus.

For me, i think 10 bottles are not enuv. Btw, who is ur co-ordinator and how do you manage to get the corkage waiver?

For me, i am not very particular abt food, so think the food should be okay, anyway have yet to go for the food tasting, mine should be ard April.

buttercup

My coordinator is Eliane. I think i got the waiver for so many bottles because my FIL was there.....and he explained "calmly" that his friends are all from the navy (retired captain) and a large part of his son's friends and colleagues (my husband) are also from the navy. Both from the navy and therefore all terribly good at drinking..in fact, I am not even sure 36 bottles are enough...sigh. TERRIBLE. I think that was why she waved it....not to mention that my FIL is 1.85m and real dark and big. Haha.

But she didn't give me an extra night... I asked for it recently and she refused. So no choice, i think I will bring forward the anniversary stay and pay an additional $250 for the bridal suite(it was actually $300, i bargained off $50, better than nothing)

I will be having my food tasting soon. My wedding is on a sun, so it's the weekday Menu? Any recommendation on the menu. what is good? Or not too bad? Golden roast Crispy Chicken or Steamed Chicken in Fragrant Lotus Leaf? Steamed prawns or wok-fried prawns with Dried red Chillies? Ee Fu noddles with mushrooms or crispy noodles with assorted meat?

tsubame

Hi btb04, mine's Cathy. Got her to waive cos she verbally said when we first went down to look at the place that they can close an eye for around 10 bottles. So put her to her word and insisted having it in B&W in the contract to avoid any problem.

Hi Pei Ee, since yours is weekend, you actually get to choose from all 4 menus.

I took the Duck, cos my SIL prefers it. We all dun like fried chicken. And also heard comments that Lotus Chicken quite hard to "share", cos everybody dunno which "part" to take (i.e. pai seh to take the wings and thighs, then everybody push around lor.
), and cos the meat all mushy.

Amerline recommended the steamed prawns. I tried the fried one and sticking to it, more because we dun want steamed dishes all the way.
I quite like, except have to peel...

BTW, we replaced the noodle/rice dish with a vegetable dish (the sweet yam ring). Cos personal experience and feedback is that most pple dun take the noodles/rice. Waste.

And please, dun take the Crisp Red Bean Pancake. We were all horrified when it was shown. The skin is pastry skin (like in curry puffs) rather than the usual skin with sesame seed. Taste
. We are changing to Almond Beancurd with Longan, so something refreshing at end of meal. Of cos, there are always pple who dun take almond (like my HB
). But can't please all.

btb04

Thanks Pei Ee and Cat.
Pei Ee,
My dinner is also on Sunday, so will be same as urs. I have not gone down for food tasting yet, but i think i will choose steam prawns as it looks more presentable and fresh, likewise for cripsy chicken over chicken in lotus leaf cos it's easier to eat, just like what Cat mentioned. The only minus pt here is that steam prawns, u hve to peel, not for lazy pple.
Hey, my father is also dark and stout, not sure if he goes down, will they waive the wine corkage as well??

Cat,
I think it is good idea to change the noodle/rice to another dish, cos most diners will be full by the last few dishes, and some even leave the noodles untouched!, what a waste right?

stomp

Am new to the thread, have been trying to catch up on all the discussions but haven't managed to read anything on these... We have shortlisted Rasa's outdoors buffet by the Waterlawn area. Can ex-Rasa brides or people who have attended similar type of wedding before comment?

(For Outdoors Buffet Wedding by the Lawn)
i)Is the lighting ok at night? I'm afraid it will be very dark, and that guests won't be able to see properly what they are eating.
ii) Is the sound system ok? Since it is outdoors, wonder if they will be able to hear songs/speeches properly
iii) There were horror stories before on how there were so many flies outside that they were dropping into the guests' drinks. Eeks... anyone experienced it before?
iv) How did you find the outdoors buffet food?
v) I heard before that Rasa can be quite slow to react when the weather turns bad and they have to move indoors. Apparently it was very chaotic and things were still not set up by 5+pm even though the organisers made the 'weather call' to move indoors at 3pm!!

Thank you so much in advance... Asking so many questions, hee hee...

Gong Xi Fa Cai to everyone!!

brambles

hi stomp... juz to share. i've attended 2 weddings at rasa b4. one outdoor n the other indoor.

so here are my comments:
i) the outdoor lighting is fine. v nice, in fact. we were sitting v near the stage, pretty near to the sea as well. v nice view. so no worries, visibility is good.
ii) sound system pretty ok (maybe partly oso cuz we're near the stage). but i do see speakers placed all around (din count how many). so i suppose guests can hear. but there were crop-ups. the sound system died when the emcee was speaking halfway. but luckily it was only for a short period of time.
iii) din see any flies
iv) the buffet food was alrite but a little salty. sushi nt well done. rice nt sticky enuf. but u mite wanna consider the elderly loh. cuz a lot of my relatives, the more elderly ones did not quite like the buffet concept. most pple would go for 2 rounds or max 3 rounds for buffet. n that's bout it cuz it's the same food over n over again. they din think food was filling enuf n yet did not go for more food cuz there wasn't any other 'new' food to 'attract' them.
v) weather was good. so dunno bout this part.

lastly, if u are taking rasa, do take note to give instructions that the waiters muz regularly top up guests' drinks. for a 3 hour plus dinner, my drink got topped up for only 2 to 3 times. n top up was upon my request! even tho' waiters were walking here n there but did not notice the empty glasses.

juz contributing my 2 cents. hope it helps

buttercup

Hi Cat,

Thanks for the advice... I do want to take the yam ring dish cos i have always liked it. Was the red bean pancake that bad?? Oh no, i kind of like the sesame one and was previously quite happy to see it on the menu. So now a little disappointed...it tasted bad too right? so sad...i guess i should stick with the longan. Did you even try the noodles?

Hi btbo4, when's your wedding? Will you be having your solemnisation there too?

I need some advice too. At the moment, my current solemnisation area is at the green lawn. It's 600+++ for 80 guests, including chairs with covers, tables and the flowers..however, my back up area is at The Lounge which cost $1200 (it was actually $1500, i bargained 300 off) and it is twice as much as the lawn area. I'm not keen on having the indoor ballroom as a backup as I feel it defeats the purpose of holding my solemnisation there at Rasa. Was anyone in a similar situation as I am in now? Or have gone through something similar? Were you charged the same?

HAPPY CHINESE NEW YEAR!

stomp

Hi Brambles,

Thanks for the advice, very helpful

Hi Pei Ee,
I asked about having an outdoor solemnization too and this is what they quoted me :

Sharkey's Courtyard at cost of S$250.00+++ for the head table setup and the theatre style
seating arrangement for 50-100pax.
Subsequently, the charges will be S$800.00+++ for 100-150 pax and S$1,000.00+++ for 150-250pax.
Sharkey's Courtyard includes the restaurant area, the beach behind the restaurant, as well as the area in front of the pool.

Now that you mentioned your quotations, I wonder if the 250+++ she quoted includes chair covers, decor and flowers. Hm... I'd better check...

By the way, are you also holding your wedding dinner reception at Rasa on the same day? 'Cos for my case I already have an indoors ballroom as backup, no extra cost.

btb04

Hi Pei Ee,
My wedding is in July this year. I will be having my solemnisation at church, not at sentosa, but my pre-dinner cocktail will be at the waterfront lawn area, follow by dinner at the ballroom.
Talking abt the menu, i think i want to change e noodles to another dish also....as most diners will be full by then and ended up leaving the noodles untouched.

tsubame

Hi Pei Ee,

The red bean is ok, just that with the pastry skin...
. No, I did not try the noodles at all, cos it is not inside my menu.

Happy Lunar New Year!

buttercup

Hi Stomp,

What is this Sharkey's Courtyard place? I suppose it's by the pool? Mine is at the White fence lawn...so i suppose it's different? Wah, $250+++ is a lot cheaper!! Hmm..maybe I should ask her about it and see what she says. I should think your pricing includes the chair covers and flowers. Especially the flowers as they are actually the same flowers that they will be giving you for the banquet itself; the flower arch, toparies, etc. They simply shift them over from the solemnisation area to the banquet later. But this is just a guess, cos i know they will be doing that for mine. So you better check it out first. Do post it when you are informed? And yup, i chose to have my back up venue at the Lounge which is indoors but faces the sea...it's actually the Lounge that is just right next to the pavilion..that's why it has a great view...but sigh..the cost.

Hi cat,

I think i shall try the pastry skin...cos we all know what the longan one taste and look like. Isn't there any changes we can make? Ask them to change skin? hahaha...

meagan

Hi stomp, i am holding my solemnisation at the whitefence area too. =) I have asked my coordinator similar questions. She said that there will be big spotlights set up in addition to the lamp-posts, so the lighting is sufficient.

About the system, i was told there is only a mic and a mini hi-fi set available for playing CDs and backgrd music. I have asked for more mics cos my frens will be singing for me that day. Now crossing my fingers that weather will be good that day.

How many tables are you having?

stomp

Sorry for the long absence... Was out of town till now on biz trip.

Pei Ee :
Sharkey's Courtyard includes the area behind the restaurant (small beach area) + the open area in front of the swimming pool. I wanted to have it at the White Fence area too but it was already booked on the same day! You're right, I just confirmed that they will just move the flower decor meant for the banquet to use for the solemnization first. Hm... I didn't realise the Lounge faces the sea, but I have that as my backup venue too. Initially they told me it was the Siloso ballroom, but now I'll rather have the Lounge!
I think I might have gotten it cheaper cos my dinner is on the same day as the solemnization.

Megan :
How nice, you have friends singing

Yeah that is the risk that all of us are taking when holding it outdoors. I think I'll only have around 15 - 20 tables max, quite small and easier to handle!

tsubame

Nice to see thread active again

Been to Rasa on Valentine Day's eve to meet my coordinator. Brisk business. She said their Valentine Package all booked.

btb04

Hi Cat,
Now wif the bird flu going around, did u ask ur coordinator whether they will still continue to serve chicken & duck? or will they subsitute for sth else?
Looks like Sentosa is getting more & more popular

bytjolia

Hi all!!
Has everyone here already booked their package with Rasa? Anyone thinking of going for their bridal show in March?

Hi Stomp...
Would like to ask u if the lounge backup area that you have is the open-air place you see when u first enter the hotel's lobby, where they serve drinks?
If not, how many ppl can it sit? It seems like such an attractive place to have a backup in tt it's ok even if it rains...

Thank you!!!

metta

I booked my AD with Rasa for 24th Dec. Will be using the Grand Ballroom. Anyone has booked that room too and has ideas how to do up the place ? I find it a bit plain. And it's crescent shape, so the march-in is very short.

btb04

Hi Metta,
I have booked that room too in 4 July. Well, you can ask ur coordinator to do a longer march in, which i did. Think they will route it from the end of the ballroom and make a turn to the stage, not sure how to describe.
Btw, did u get waiver for wine? and how many tables u have? how many nites r u staying at the bridal suite?

tsubame

Hi btb04, she says the poultry still no problem.
Personally, I think whether the guests will eat it or not is their choice.

stomp

Hi Metta,

Sorry, I actually haven't quite figured out where "The Lounge" area is... I only picked it up from Pei Ee that it is facing the sea. My coordinator didn't actually offer that to me as a possible backup venue (strange)...

metta

Hi Stomp,

I think The Lounge is the open area where u walk straight in all the way from the main entrance and there are a few big arm chairs there. The curved staircase on the right. My friend had her reception there when it rained for her wedding at The Pavillion room.

young_bride

Jus wan to know if anyone has booked banquet at Shangri-la Sentosa before? How was it? Is it good? How about the transport? I understand that there are very limited parking lots in Sentosa.

I'm thinking of maybe booking their package. Any comments are welcome!!

young_bride

I'm new to this forum..I'm also thinking of booking banquet at Rasa Sentosa but not sure if it will be convenient for guests to come. Understand that there'll be very limited parking lots. Had already met up with the coordinator and was offered abt 7 coaches to & fro. Was also told that if I book during the wedding fair, got additional perks/discounts.
Would therefore appreciate any comments from ppl who've booked or attend rasa wedding!!

btb04

Hi Theresa,
I have booked my banquet with Rasa.
Yes, if u book at the bridal show, u will get some discounts off the tables (not much), plus additional 20l of beer, more coaches, passes..etc.
Car park space is limited, esp if ur day has to be share with another couple, think max is 100cars. They will open up parade sq carpark, but personally i find that place v inconvenient and dark too. So better ask ur guests to take the free tpt, if not to come in early.

young_bride

Hi btb04,

I agree that parade square is very 'ulu' & inconvenient, especially after dark. i thought of asking my guest to park at harbourfront & then take the free tpt. Do u know how much is the parking fee at harbourfront?
Btw, where r u holding ur wedding? in the pavillion or ballroom? i prefer the pavillion. have u seen any deco yet? I'm still deciding though......

btb04

Hi theresa,
I've booked e ballroom, FH prefers that. Heard that they are doing some minor renovation at the pavilion, not sure whether it's done.

I heard the parking fee at harbourfront is quite ex during the daytime, not sure abt weekends night.

bridengroom

Please commend on their services and food...my FH n I are thinking of holding ours there. Any other suggestions for abt 30 tables? We tried looking for others but a lot are full for this year 2004.

juan

Hi Theresa

I booked my wedding there two weeks ago
I like the pavilion ballroom facing the sea. R u aware that the hotel is having a wedding fair on Mar 20? Why not go for it and take a look?

btw, when is your wedding?

bridengroom

Almost run out of place for booking of my banquet...just got hold of this venue. We only have one date for the banquet and a lot of venues are taken up liaoz.Need some comments about their service, food and perks. If they are fine, we may book them asap.

young_bride

Hi KuenKuen.

Yes, I'm aware that they're having a wedding fair on 20 March...however, i'll be overseas during that period so can't go. Anyway, was assure that if I book my banquet with them before the fair, i'm still entitled for the perks & discounts.

I've requested Rasa to send me some pics of the new deco for the pavillion n ballroom. Still waiting though, 'cause they say not ready yet..need to wait abt 2 more days.

I also understand that Rasa will be changing their contractors for the flowers deco, so would like to c how it goes before confirming.

My wedding will most likely be early 2005...MIL haven't decide date yet.

Hi Joy,
Dunno abt their food & service, but my sis had attended a wedding there before n commented that their wedding favours quite nice..think it's scented candles.

Anyway, I'm quite alright with the package..only the transport is holding me back....I heard that if there are more than 1 wedding held on the same day, it'll be chaos??

I mean how would the guests differentiate if the complimentary coaches are meant for them or for the other couples' guest???

tsubame

My wedding at Rasa tomorrow! Will post feedback after I return from honeymoon. There's another wedding in Siloso Ballroom. Mine's Pavilion. So will be able to tell you gals how's it's like with 2 weddings.

Hi Theresa,

I placed my deposit with them, dated the cheque for the day of the Wedding Fair, so they will booked me as the Fair package. Cos I was also overseas and unable to attend that Fair. You can check with your coordinator.

Your coordinator will be able to assure you of the transportation too. Basically, if most of your guests come by coach not so much headache. Mine's half, half, so half a headache?